Scangauge

Submitted: Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 00:55
ThreadID: 54383 Views:30572 Replies:14 FollowUps:44
I recently installed a Scangauge in my TDV8 Toyota trayback. I got it from this place:

Wooders Garage

It shows all sorts of good stuff direct from the vehicle's computer. Especially handy is instant litres/100Kms. It also show water temp (a rock steady 80 deg C), manifold pressure, and heaps more. Especially interesting, and I think the Tacho backs this up, when I back off the accelerator and coast the engine seems to cut the fuel flow. The Scangauge shows zero litres/100Ks and the engine drops to idle rpm as if it has been disconnected from the drivetrain. Happens on the LC200 too. (More research needed here).

The current TDV8 trayback has a rear track width 4 inches narrower than the front. I can't be sure but I have my suspicions that this may be contributing to a slight fishtailing feeling when towing my van. So I have installed a set of spacers from here:

Rear Wheel Spacers for current Cruiser trayback

My rear track is now the same as my front track which has to be a good thing. My van towball weight may also be a light so we'll see how it goes next time I'm towing.

Anyway, I'll let anyone who is interested know about how, or if, the spacers effect the vehicle. As for the Scangauge, it should fit all vehicles less than 4 or 5 years old as the diagnostic socket is, I believe, a standard fitting.

It's got buttons and gives good info so it must be an essential purchase !!

While I have the opportunity I wish to apologise for my bad manners in hi-jacking a thread a week or so ago. I made a flippant comment on a complex issue and incurred the displeasure of a few people. The subject matter was the same as a very heated thread happening again right now. It's a very difficult subject and does not deserve flippancy.

Reply By: Member - Mike DID - Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 08:35

Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 08:35
"when I back off the accelerator and coast the engine seems to cut the fuel flow. The Scangauge shows zero litres/100Ks "

The inbuilt Fuel economy meter in the current shows exactly the same thing.

Most fuel-injected engines will cut fuel totally while coasting with the engine above 1500rpm to save fuel. It's impractical to do that with carburettor engines.

AnswerID: 286493

Reply By: Peter 2 - Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 08:40

Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 08:40
Are wheel spacers road legal in WA? they aren't here in NSW I suspect in most if not all states.
Could lead to big problems in the event of an accident.
They would also shift the load well outboard of both the wheel bearings and wheel studs which could result in premature failure od both or either.
AnswerID: 286494

Follow Up By: Crackles - Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 14:42

Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 14:42
Definately illegal on the road & something those doing roadworthys look for. Even mentions on the Snake site:(Note - Wheel spacers are for off road use only !!!!!) The GXL has an offset of 120mm so matching the track on them could have the tyres out past the gaurds as well. A bleep poor design that you wouldn't expect on a $58+K car.
Cheers Craig...............
FollowupID: 551687

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 16:04

Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 16:04
The tyres stick out about half an inch past the gaurds but not outside the width of the tray. So it can be argued that they are not outside the body of the vehicle.

FollowupID: 551707

Follow Up By: Crackles - Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 16:26

Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 16:26
Thinking about it I suppose a trayback would not be an issue as anyone could build it wide enough to cover anyway. The 70 series Troopy & Wagon would most likely need flares, that's if the wheels even fitted in the arch without touching.
Cheers Craig............
FollowupID: 551711

Reply By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 08:49

Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 08:49
Both those items are preatty handy, however when I read the fine print RE spacers, it says FOR OFF ROAD USE only?
That, to me, sounds like a disclaimer.

Shane
AnswerID: 286500

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 09:43

Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 09:43
In NSW apparently it is illegal to widen the track by more than 1 inch. Not sure about WA. However, I can't see any valid criticism about actually making the tracks EQUAL, and therefore safer. We don't have annual inspections over here either.

I also think the bearings and hubs in the 79 series are strong enough to take any load shift.

Snake Racing say they have sold many dozens, if not hundreds, to the mining industry in QLD without mishap. We'll see how they go.

FollowupID: 551657

Follow Up By: Gronk - Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 10:57

Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 10:57
Yes you can widen the track.......with wider wheels........but not spacers....unless they are OME fit........Porsche have been using spacers for years........but the difference is they are approved from the factory !!

Mining industry ??? their 4x4's are probably not registered ??
FollowupID: 551665

Follow Up By: Peter 2 - Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 17:28

Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 17:28
After a bit of searching through the individual states RTA equivalents it appears that wheel spacers are illegal in all states and territories for road use unless a factory fitment.
It has absolutely nothing to do with protrusion beyond the bodywork, widening the track beyond 1" or anything else.
They are illegal for road use fullstop. So in the event of an accident your insurance company would be fully entitled to refuse the claim and in the event of mechanical failure the manufacturer could deny liability.
FollowupID: 551718

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 20:36

Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 20:36
OK I'll take 'em off and chuck them in the bin.

FollowupID: 551764

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Feb 20, 2008 at 11:00

Wednesday, Feb 20, 2008 at 11:00
Common Sense oftens make us do things that some authority deems illegal Gone Bush.

FollowupID: 553747

Reply By: Member - Rob S (NSW) - Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 09:13

Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 09:13
Hi looks good i want on, but i would not be to sure on the
temperature gauge rock steady at 80 deg c
as this information is only as good as the sender unit.
I fitted one of theseSite Link
My factory gauge on my 80 series moves to the centre and stays there.
This gauge shows much more variation, from 70 to 92 deg c
from the testing i have done so far round town.

Regards Rob.
I only ever made one mistake
and that's when I thought I was wrong!

AnswerID: 286503

Reply By: Willem - Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 09:39

Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 09:39
We forgive ya.......LOL

AnswerID: 286507

Follow Up By: Twintrail(W.A.) - Monday, Feb 11, 2008 at 00:49

Monday, Feb 11, 2008 at 00:49
hi willem. not much happening. Regards Pedro
FollowupID: 552052

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Feb 11, 2008 at 05:47

Monday, Feb 11, 2008 at 05:47
G'day Pedro

Found any of the yellow stuff yet :-)

FollowupID: 552056

Reply By: Member - bungarra (WA) - Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 11:32

Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 11:32
Hi Gone Bush

very interesting and informative post....our Toyota TD tray back should be available for pick up 22nd of this month...finally !.......

as we exchanged PM a while back I will be in touch to chat once we have taken delivery....looking forward to fitting it out...you may have found me some "necessary's and must haves...lol"
Life is a journey, it is not how we fall down, it is how we get up.
VKS 1341

AnswerID: 286513

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 14:23

Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 14:23
Looking forward to it.

FollowupID: 551678

Reply By: Member - The Crow (QLD) - Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 11:53

Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 11:53
Does it connect to the OBDII conection?
200 Series V8 Diesel
Thanks for the Rest Flying West and Flying Very Low along the track not coming back. The Crow

AnswerID: 286517

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 14:24

Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 14:24
Sure does.

FollowupID: 551679

Follow Up By: KiwiAngler - Sunday, Feb 10, 2008 at 20:44

Sunday, Feb 10, 2008 at 20:44
I have a 2004 Nissan patrol and purchased a Scangauge unit about 6 months ago and it does not work on the OBD11

By that I don't mean that the unit doesnt work- because it does (I have run it in my other car very successfully) just doesnt get data from the OBD11 unit on the Patrol
FollowupID: 552010

Reply By: normglenda - Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 12:19

Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 12:19
Would the the Scangauge work ok on a 2003 100seies V8 Landcruiser fitted with injection LPG.

Regards Norm
AnswerID: 286521

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 14:26

Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 14:26
Not sure Norm. There is a list of compatible vehicles on Wooders website. You can select the fuel type to suit your vehicle.

If it's EFI it's likely that it will work.

Email Dave Woodley, he's very helpful.

FollowupID: 551680

Follow Up By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 20:59

Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 20:59
Where is the list? I can't find it?
FollowupID: 551774

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 21:37

Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 21:37
Troll, try this site,

http://www.scangauge.com/

there's a list there for sure.

FollowupID: 551785

Reply By: garrycol - Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 18:45

Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 18:45
Wooders know how to charge they are under $200 anywhere else and even cheaper if you import direct from the US - about $180AUD and they have the lastest model.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&ih=017&sspagename=STRK%3AMEWA%3AIT&viewitem=&item=270204204494&rd=1
AnswerID: 286568

Follow Up By: Member - Tony W (VIC) - Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 19:43

Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 19:43
Normally I am a big fan of buying over the internet when local products are priced higher. But in this case there are issues like different plugs for some vehicles and I would not leave this to chance. US vehicles can be very different even for hte "same" model.

If you take into consideration the taxes and different types of plugs available in different cars go the local expertise and help on this one IMHO. Wooders aren't over the top on this basis.

I haven't bought one yet but will get it locally when I do.
FollowupID: 551748

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 20:35

Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 20:35
And if you ask they will knock $20 off.

At least they are there to ask for advice.

FollowupID: 551763

Follow Up By: Wooders - Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 21:19

Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 21:19
Garry,
Sorry you feel we are so expensive.... But I'd like to point out a few things in our defence.
Firstly you are refering to a US ebay site - I bet they don't offer free postage to Australia - so that will be extra.
Secondly, as an austrlian business, I need to add the usual GST (not my fault).
Third, I generally keep these units on the shelf.
Fourth, if your unit stuffs up we backup the manufacturers warranty etc.
Fifth, how many US products have you priced in the US, then compared to local prices? I think you'll find that overall our prices are quite fair....but you are welcome to disagree.
Lastly, we have had several groups conatct us to provide better pricing for a groupbuy - which we have done quite happily.

FollowupID: 551778

Follow Up By: normglenda - Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 21:31

Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 21:31
Hi Wooders
I am considering buying a gauge from you. I have a 2003 V8 Landcruiser on duel fuel petrol and lpg. Does the gauge operate on the duel fuel and this model Landcruiser.
Norm
FollowupID: 551782

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 21:41

Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 21:41
Norm, if you look up this website:

www.scangauge.com

you will see this in the list:

2003 WORKS ON ALL EXCEPT: Jeep Liberty with the diesel engine does not report fuel use or trip functions and some of the gauges. Unless the recall ECU software update has been completed.

Mercedes 300 series and E500 are not compatible.

FollowupID: 551787

Follow Up By: Wooders - Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 21:46

Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 21:46
Norm,
I don't have a list of compatible vehicle on our site yet - but I;m working on it - as you could appreciate to cover all makes/models/engine variants and year models is an onerous task.

The ScanGauge will work with LPG, but unfortunately it's unlikely to work on your year model of Cruiser as we foundit was not until 2006 that they were compliant with the software protocol.

Sorry mate.
FollowupID: 551788

Follow Up By: garrycol - Sunday, Feb 10, 2008 at 11:08

Sunday, Feb 10, 2008 at 11:08
If you read my post again - I wasn't only refering to the US site - I also treferred to Aust suppliers - there are suppliers in Aust who supply for under $200 - eg there is a supplier in Lithgow.

If you are able to get more for you product - thats fine - but if people look around they can do cheaper - that is what this site is about.

For those who are worried about the the coonector might be different overseas - an OBDII connector is an OBDII connector -m they are the same everywhere - the problems is some car computers even though they have OBDII may not be fully compliant.

My point - do your research on price and suitability

Garry
FollowupID: 551876

Reply By: Member - BIGDOG G (WA) - Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 21:15

Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 21:15
Gday Gone bush,
Picked up my 70series yesterday so am very interested in your post.
Thanks for sharing.

Cheers...............BIGDOG
AnswerID: 286599

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 21:35

Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 21:35
Congrats Big Dog.

Maybe after Bungarra gets his we should have a mini get together exclusive to TDV8 traybacks.

FollowupID: 551783

Follow Up By: Member - bungarra (WA) - Monday, Feb 11, 2008 at 00:21

Monday, Feb 11, 2008 at 00:21
sounds good...you show me yours first...I will show you mine.....lol

but I dont think we were talking cruisers back in those days!
VKS 1341

FollowupID: 552049

Follow Up By: Member - John H (WA) - Monday, Feb 11, 2008 at 10:15

Monday, Feb 11, 2008 at 10:15
I'll be in that - well the WA TDV8 trayback get-together at any rate.

79 series trayback, ARB barwork and winch, dual batteries, OME suspension, firestone airbags, 33" BFG muds, Boston canopy - fitted out for touring.

By the way, very interesting post. Will certainly be keeping an eye on how you find the spacers go.

FollowupID: 552074

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 23:33

Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 23:33
Wood one of them work on my 3.0l pootrol? Where wood I pluf it in?

AnswerID: 286634

Follow Up By: KiwiAngler - Sunday, Feb 10, 2008 at 21:14

Sunday, Feb 10, 2008 at 21:14
I have a 3.0lt 2004 Nissan Patrol and purchased a Scangauge unit about 6 months ago and it does not work on the OBD11

By that I don't mean that the unit doesnt work- because it does (I have run it in my other car very successfully) just doesnt get data from the OBD11 unit on the Patrol

If it had of worked out ok I would have probably mounted it on top of the steering wheel shroud, in front of the speedo - I think it would fit there ok without being too obstructive to the speedo/tacho etc etc - but because it didnt workoiut I never really tried to mount it - so it now sits patiently in my spare bedroom cupboard waiting for either a software update to the Patrol or I buy another vehicle:-)))
FollowupID: 552014

Follow Up By: KiwiAngler - Sunday, Feb 10, 2008 at 21:51

Sunday, Feb 10, 2008 at 21:51
ooops

Forgot the rest of your question

You plug it into the OBD11 diagnostic plug which should be located about where your right knee is - it is the white plug
FollowupID: 552026

Reply By: PeteS - Sunday, Feb 10, 2008 at 07:38

Sunday, Feb 10, 2008 at 07:38
I have had a Scangauge in my Prado D4D for 8 months now and I found Dave excellent to deal with. It's great to be able to talk to someone for a change when you deal with them and receive their support if and when needed. I even picked up my unit from Dave's house late in the evening (saves postage).

I've purchased many things over the internet however as was pointed out me some time ago, we are losing a lot in the basic human interaction of a 'good old chat' these days.

I must also say the Scanguage was the easiest thing I have ever added to my Prado. I simply plugged it when I picked it up (in the dark at night when I do my best work) and drove away with it working. The only think you really need to do is spend some time in the first few tank fulls and calibrate the gauge to the litres added.

PeteS

AnswerID: 286644

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Sunday, Feb 10, 2008 at 18:28

Sunday, Feb 10, 2008 at 18:28
Pete Hi

Does it read Mpg/Mph or L/km and km/h?

FollowupID: 551982

Follow Up By: PeteS - Sunday, Feb 10, 2008 at 18:45

Sunday, Feb 10, 2008 at 18:45
Hi Richard
It all depends on what information is available from your vehicles diagnostic port. Mine reads Litres per Hour, Litres per Hundred Km, Intake Air temp, Coolant Temp, Manifold Pressure, Engine Load, RPM, KM/Hr etc. Most readings such as fuel consumption etc, are available for the trip, the day or the previous day.

I think on setup you have a choice of Metric or Imperial readings.
Cheers, PeteS
FollowupID: 551986

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Sunday, Feb 10, 2008 at 18:52

Sunday, Feb 10, 2008 at 18:52
Thanks Pete

I will buy one now, it looks a good device

Cheers Richard
FollowupID: 551988

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Sunday, Feb 10, 2008 at 19:02

Sunday, Feb 10, 2008 at 19:02
Richard and Pete,

that is correct. If you choose to use litres for tank capacity consumption will be litres per 100kays (LHK). If you choose gallons it will be miles per gallon.

It is very satisfying to look down and see an instant accurate fuel consumption instead of getting out the calculator at the end of the day.

Richard, my OBD2 socket is just under the plastic, above/behind the aircon ducting just in front of your left shin when sitting in the driving position. It is white, similar to a parallel port on a PC.

Might be worthwhile checking with Wooders about your vehicle suitability, an LC100 from 2003 didn't make it (see above).

FollowupID: 551991

Follow Up By: PeteS - Sunday, Feb 10, 2008 at 19:10

Sunday, Feb 10, 2008 at 19:10
Hi Richard
Agree with Gone Bush to check first with Dave from Woodgers first for suitability.
Best of luck
PeteS
FollowupID: 551994

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Sunday, Feb 10, 2008 at 19:11

Sunday, Feb 10, 2008 at 19:11
Had a look and found socket, just ordered one from Wooders even know I don't like having to sign up as a member to buy it, but it's the same as a lot of sites including this one...

If it doest work I,ll blame you anyway... LOL

FollowupID: 551995

Follow Up By: Member - bungarra (WA) - Monday, Feb 11, 2008 at 00:27

Monday, Feb 11, 2008 at 00:27
based on all of the above positive info ..... I am going to order mine tonight...... and I won't even have the vehicle for another two weeks

VKS 1341

FollowupID: 552050

Follow Up By: Dunco (NSW) - Monday, Feb 18, 2008 at 23:46

Monday, Feb 18, 2008 at 23:46
Richard,

Did you buy one ?

Did it fit OK ?
Is it worth it ?

And where did you fit it ?

Thanks mate

Gary

FollowupID: 553529

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Tuesday, Feb 19, 2008 at 00:36

Tuesday, Feb 19, 2008 at 00:36
Gary

Yes I,v got one.

Yes it fitted.

No it didn't work.. :-(

Works on Robyn's VW polo

So I know someone who's got one... LOL

FollowupID: 553532

Follow Up By: Wooders - Tuesday, Feb 19, 2008 at 00:42

Tuesday, Feb 19, 2008 at 00:42
Richard,
If it doesn't work send it back - happy to give you a refund on it.
FollowupID: 553533

Follow Up By: Dunco (NSW) - Tuesday, Feb 19, 2008 at 11:02

Tuesday, Feb 19, 2008 at 11:02
Why didn't it work in your car...I take it you have a 80 series ?

I will be going up there later today.

FollowupID: 553566

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Tuesday, Feb 19, 2008 at 21:39

Tuesday, Feb 19, 2008 at 21:39
Thanks Dave

But do you know if it should work in a HDJ78R Turbo 4.2 Toyota Troopy? It will power up just not fined the info, tyred to force it as per manual but only turned up on Friday and I went anyway for the weekend, then work, spending hours on this site..LOL I haven't had time to have another look.

Nothing wrong with the gauge as said it works fine in the VW..

PS. I did sent an e-mail to your site (e: addie) but no reply..??
FollowupID: 553687

Follow Up By: Wooders - Tuesday, Feb 19, 2008 at 22:47

Tuesday, Feb 19, 2008 at 22:47
Richard,
More important is the year model.
in our experience it wasn't until late 2005/6 that Toyota Land cruisers became compatible - I would envisage this would be consistent with the troopy series too.
The email today? Only now getting online to answer todays emails ;-)
FollowupID: 553712

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Feb 20, 2008 at 00:36

Wednesday, Feb 20, 2008 at 00:36
yer... 2003 :-(((
FollowupID: 553725

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Monday, Feb 11, 2008 at 08:35

Monday, Feb 11, 2008 at 08:35
Have a look at this site for a series of photos of a Scangauge fitted to a 200 series:

Scangauge on an LC200

AnswerID: 286832

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Monday, Feb 11, 2008 at 08:38

Monday, Feb 11, 2008 at 08:38
...need to be logged into that site to view anything.

FollowupID: 552065

Reply By: Whitepony - Tuesday, Feb 26, 2008 at 19:39

Tuesday, Feb 26, 2008 at 19:39
Gone Bush

Would you happen to have a picture of where you installed the scangauge on your 79. I'm not happy with what I have come up with so I'm looking for ideas.
AnswerID: 289521

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 22:45

Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 22:45
Whitepony,

I haven't forgotten a photo. I've been away but I'll get it on the Forum in the next few days.

FollowupID: 555234