Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
You have 4 items in your shopping cart
Section Image

red stain

Submitted: Sunday, Mar 02, 2008 at 11:50

joshleahin

hi all

does anyone know how to remove red dust stain (the real baked on won't scrub off crap!) from my chassis & engine? any ideas appreciated
Advertisement
ThreadID: 55109 Replies: 6
Views: 665 FollowUps: None
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 290376   Submitted: Sunday, Mar 02, 2008 at 12:40

Shaker replied:

Last year somebody here advised mixing up Napisan & using that.
Reply 1 of 6
AnswerID: 290378   Submitted: Sunday, Mar 02, 2008 at 12:41

DIO replied:

Gee I've heard of people who consider the red dust stain akin to a 'right of passage' and are happy to leave it in placed as an indication of having 'been there and done that'. Guess that's not exactly what you were wanting to hear though.
I believe that NapiSan made into a paste solution and applied with a stiff bristle brush may help. Use a toothbrush on delicate paintwork etc. Good luck with it.
Reply 2 of 6
AnswerID: 290400   Submitted: Sunday, Mar 02, 2008 at 14:23

Member - andrew B (Kununurra) replied:

Gday John

Black paint works a treat on the chasis, try a car dealer for info, they can make cars very clean and respectable looking

Cheers Andrew
Cape Dommet Camping
Click Image to Enlarge
Daddy/Daughter Camping trip - cape dommett
Reply 3 of 6
AnswerID: 290403   Submitted: Sunday, Mar 02, 2008 at 14:44

Member - Adam S (SA) replied:

I use WD 40, spray on heaps, I try not to get it on rubbers as some people claim it dries them out.

Give it a scrub, then I hit with high pressure washer.

Takes a few times but eventually wears it down.

Adam.

Click Image to Enlarge
2008 Troopy Cameron Camper
Reply 4 of 6
Activities Index
Day Spa Relaxation Massage - Canterbury Day Spa Relaxation Massage - Canterbury
Melbourne - VIC
A relaxing day spa experience in one of Melbourne's most renowned salons.
Horse Ride and Gourmet Picnic for 2 Horse Ride and Gourmet Picnic for 2
Perth - WA
Experience the Australian bush by horse riding at sunset through native forest abundant with wildflo
CONVERTIBLE WINE TOUR YARRA VALLEY CONVERTIBLE WINE TOUR YARRA VALLEY
Melbourne - VIC
You love good wine good food and you love the undulating countryside which breaths wineries.
Coral Trekker Tallship Sailing Coral Trekker Tallship Sailing
The Whitsundays - QLD
Nothing matches the feeling of standing on a square rigger with the wind in your face and the smell
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 290411   Submitted: Sunday, Mar 02, 2008 at 15:19

tonysmc replied:

I know a guy who uses CT18. Its an aluminium cleaner which is slightly acidic, good for chassis and engine, however I wouldn't use it on the body at all. He just sprays it on and hoses off almost straight away. Amazing how the red dirt disappears. He was showing me how well it cleaned his boat and we wiped a bit on the trailer, so then we had to do the whole trailer as there was one shiny patch.
I also know someone who uses a floor cleaner to clean his engine and swears by it. His cars are always immaculate, however he doesn't live in an area with red dust. I will find out the name of the floor cleaner tomorrow and post a follow up.
Tony
Reply 5 of 6
AnswerID: 290526   Submitted: Monday, Mar 03, 2008 at 07:21

jeepthing replied:

Best of luck I say it contains a pigment that in my opinion will not be completely removed you'll always have it. If it's on a galvanised chassis such as a camper trailer clean it as best you can and leave the rest otherwise you are likely to compromise the gal. On a vehicle I'd cleans as best you can and paint over if you don't want the outback initiation to be seen.
Reply 6 of 6

Page Sponsors

ExplorOz ExplorOz
Become a Member of ExplorOz; buy or sell in Trader; buy Maps, Books, DVDs, camping accessories, and ExplorOz wheel covers, shirts, hats and stubby holders from the ExplorOz Shop; and book Activities &Tours or buy someone a gift certificate from our Activities section. Become an ExplorOz Member for just $60 in your first year, and $40 when you renew.
PO BOX 967  HILLARYS, WA, 6923
Phone: (08) 9403 3737
More info | Website