yabby trap bait

Submitted: Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 08:18
ThreadID: 55416 Views:12528 Replies:12 FollowUps:14
heading off for a break after easter. Wentworth following Darling to Menindee, across to Broken Hill up to Tibooburra then onto Innamincka. maybe find somewhere to throw yabby trap in. what do people use for bait [have heard of canned cat food] while travelling.

Reply By: Kev & Darkie - Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 08:39

Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 08:39
If you use canned cat food make sure you pierce the tin LOL

A small bit of road kill is also a cheap alternative.

AnswerID: 292048

Follow Up By: cityslicker - Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 12:08

Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 12:08
We were camped on Kangaroo Island a couple of years ago and had tried chop bones and snags with very little success. Then we came across a wallaby carcass that was as flat as a tack and so old it didn't even smell.

When we threw that in the creek, I couldn't believe how many yabbies came out for a feed.

With a bit of lemon juice they make great eating (the yabbies, not the road kill)
FollowupID: 557436

Reply By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 08:44

Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 08:44
Don't waste you money on cat food, save the wildlife put the cat in the trap.

Neighbours cats make good hats, and of course yabby bait.

Cheers Steve.
AnswerID: 292051

Follow Up By: Krakka - Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 15:34

Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 15:34
Why dont you use your neighbour for yabbie bait, it would be their fault that the cat is a problem. Of course you wouldn't have the guts. They are probably big enough to defend themselves.
FollowupID: 557458

Follow Up By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 15:51

Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 15:51
FollowupID: 557460

Follow Up By: Members-Neil & Margie-Cairns - Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 20:36

Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 20:36
You've done it now Steve ,,upset the wrong side of the green movement ,, neighbours cats ay ,, there's a few round here ,, mmmm , who needs them again !!

All the best , Neil ..

FollowupID: 557521

Follow Up By: Krakka - Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 20:47

Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 20:47
I'm no f g greenie, Neil, but in suburbia it is the irresponsible d/head cat owners that is the problem. I am a responsible cat owner and also a responsible hunter. You can't LEGALLY harm or shoot a cat in the suburbs, but it has NEVER stopped me shooting one in the bush, where again it is Humans that have created that problem also. I reckon barking dogs would make good yabbie bait too, also not shy on shooting them in the scrub. But again it is not really the animals fault. They are just trying to survive like you and me.
Krakka
FollowupID: 557528

Follow Up By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 22:51

Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 22:51
Hey Neil and Margie.

How's things?

Life is good in Jabiru, mainly because you're not allowed to own a cat here. ROTFLMAO.

Hey Krakka, it's a sad, sad day when you loose your sense of humour! It's funny how every one that owns a cat is a "responsible cat owner", yet there is still a sh1t load of cats on the street at night, killing native wildlife for fun. That's right they kill for fun...

By the way I've never had a problem with telling people what I think.

Cheers Steve.
FollowupID: 557583

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 23:23

Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 23:23
Hahahahaha!!!

Bloody hell!
Are you stalking me Steve?
Ive only recently put that sticker on the back of my car "Neighbours cats make good hats"
The brother inlaw in WA gave me one so I chucked it on the car to $hiit the neioghbours!!!

FollowupID: 557592

Follow Up By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 23:28

Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 23:28
Hey Hairy.

I've been saying it for years, It's just a shame people don't listen.LOL

Cheers Steve.
FollowupID: 557596

Follow Up By: Kev & Darkie - Wednesday, Mar 12, 2008 at 07:36

Wednesday, Mar 12, 2008 at 07:36
"in suburbia it is the irresponsible d/head cat owners that is the problem"

Krakka,

I don't class most places on their intended route to be in surburbia as such so a cat would be fair game.

FollowupID: 557616

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Wednesday, Mar 12, 2008 at 09:18

Wednesday, Mar 12, 2008 at 09:18
Gday Steve,
Yeh too true....."All cat owners are responsible" CRAP.
I while ago we had a cat kill my kids pet chook and two parots.
When I confronted the neighbours about it and all the cat $hiit in the sand pit and foot prints all over my car, they all said "It wouldnt be my cat!"
When I told them thats good because Ive set a trap and Im going to kill it they went all funny on me.
Then about a month latter, one neighbours cat when missing and they reckoned it was me!
I didnt have the heart to tell them it wasnt......Just took the glory anyway!

FollowupID: 557626

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Wednesday, Mar 12, 2008 at 14:09

Wednesday, Mar 12, 2008 at 14:09
I got sick of seeing this in my yard

so the last cat left in mondays rubishtruck in a large green bag with a ventilated head, more is to be expected
FollowupID: 557677

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Wednesday, Mar 12, 2008 at 15:32

Wednesday, Mar 12, 2008 at 15:32
Look out Davoe....
I reckon that might wind up some ferrals!!
FollowupID: 557686

Follow Up By: Krakka - Wednesday, Mar 12, 2008 at 22:37

Wednesday, Mar 12, 2008 at 22:37
Sorry Davoe, but that cant be the work of a cat, Steve says they kill for fun. Looks like that one was eaten. Anyway getting O/T on my behalf and I would use cow livers for bait, 1/4 or a 1/3 at a time, what ever you use it is important to change bait regularly. Cheers
FollowupID: 557816

Reply By: BarryMcKenzie - Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 09:38

Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 09:38
We have always used an old cake of soap in our yabby traps for cod fishing and it works a treat and you don't have to worry about keeping it fresh......(old style with the "tallowy smell" about it.)
The tinned cat food would work very well tho i would imagine as we have also used chicken necks on occasion and they worked well.
Have fun, hope you get a feed.
AnswerID: 292060

Reply By: Member - Robert G (WA) - Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 09:40

Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 09:40
chook pellets or any piece of red meat work.
AnswerID: 292061

Reply By: normo - Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 10:06

Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 10:06
Chicken laying pallets in a stocking and pinned inside the trap with a bait hook.
AnswerID: 292066

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 10:39

Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 10:39
If your travelling use dry cat or dog food in a stocking
AnswerID: 292068

Reply By: Member - Tour Boy- Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 12:41

Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 12:41
Around here they swear by potato for red claw.
2010 Isuzu FTS800 Expedition camper
2015 Fortuner
Had 72 cruisers in my time

AnswerID: 292080

Reply By: Member -Dodger - Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 16:56

Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 16:56
Road kill is the go, Carry a plastic bag and put the kill in it after you cut it small enough. Have found the stinkier the better. I hang mine off the rear spare. Other than that a small bag of chook pellets placed in a piece of stocking before putting into the trap will get a result most times. But road kill is a sure getter.
I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

AnswerID: 292113

Follow Up By: Ralph2 - Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 21:06

Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 21:06
Hi Rodney, Smelly old carp is the go, Not sure if you can use it in QLD, a few yrs ago a guy in Thargominda was having a bitch about people from down south bringing dead carp into waters that are carp free.I couldnt see what harm a dead carp could do, so I rang SA Gov fishing mob, they said if the fish was dead then its eggs would be also, but since then Ive heard the same bitching again from people who should know one way or the other. Beats me. Should be plenty of Yabbies in cooper channels east of Innamincka.Good Luck.
FollowupID: 557542

Reply By: Member - Keith C (NSW) - Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 21:26

Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 21:26
G/day Rodney,A good trip,went up the east side of the Darling last year. Wentworth to Tilpa then crossed to west side and went to Trilby station,Louth,and on to Bourke,good fishing,but not many yabbies in the river.Make sure you stop at Pooncarie,camp on the river,behind sports ground,fresh water h/c showers etc.. We`ll be out that way in April.Have a good one.
KeithC.
AnswerID: 292199

Reply By: Member - Luke (SA) - Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 21:59

Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 21:59
Go to your local butchers and buy a bag of dog bones with the meat still on them. That's all I used last time and everyone else was using some sort of pellet. They caught a few but the red meat is the real goer for yabbies.

As some have said above, road kill would do the job just as well

Cheers Luke
AnswerID: 292210

Reply By: Luxy - Wednesday, Mar 12, 2008 at 05:37

Wednesday, Mar 12, 2008 at 05:37
I have also had good success with dry dogfood.
Well, its dry to start with anyway!

I tried a can of whiskers in a yabbie net when up north a few years ago near Kurumba.
And guess what was half stuck in the net... yep...CATfish.... typical eh! It was after the tuna! haha
AnswerID: 292242

Reply By: warfer69 - Wednesday, Mar 12, 2008 at 13:03

Wednesday, Mar 12, 2008 at 13:03
Mate of mine said he uses dead magpies when he comes across them !

Oh and while we are on the cat issue,I was sitting at my computer last week with the front door open enjoying the breeze with my cockatiel in its cage mext to me,when a cat walked in and then saw me and bleep itself,as i got up it forgot where it came in and went Psycho.Ran up the cutains and shredded the lacie stuff in front of two windows,they need replacing now.Then it ran across my leather couch with claws out.
Eventually it found its way out aided...

Time to get the council involved...

AnswerID: 292306