CSR - No Fuel at Well 23

Submitted: Monday, Mar 31, 2008 at 17:24
ThreadID: 56120 Views:2658 Replies:8 FollowUps:24
To whom it may concern:

Just received following mail from Capricorn Roadhouse:

Hi Lukas.

We are unable to deliver fuel out to well 23 this year as our truck has blown up. You can purchase fuel from well 33 which is an aboriginal community. The phone number for them is 08 91769040.

We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause.

Kind regards, Kate Woods

Reply By: dedabato270 - Monday, Mar 31, 2008 at 17:45

Monday, Mar 31, 2008 at 17:45
Thanks mate for the info......

AnswerID: 295815

Reply By: George_M - Monday, Mar 31, 2008 at 20:12

Monday, Mar 31, 2008 at 20:12
Bugger!
Come any closer and I'll rip your throat out!

AnswerID: 295849

Reply By: Dave & Shelley (NT) - Monday, Mar 31, 2008 at 20:34

Monday, Mar 31, 2008 at 20:34
Thanks for the info mate.

I will have to make some arrangements!!!!!!!!!!! Thanks again.

AnswerID: 295856

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Mar 31, 2008 at 21:03

Monday, Mar 31, 2008 at 21:03
You will be able tio get fuel from Parnngurr(Cotton Creek) by prior arrangement. It is 180km return from Georgia Bore but if you need fuel....................................

FollowupID: 561884

Follow Up By: Member - Oppikofer L (Int) - Monday, Mar 31, 2008 at 21:06

Monday, Mar 31, 2008 at 21:06
G'day Willem,

any idea how far it is from Wiluna to Parnngurr? any shorter than Kunawarritji?

cheers - lukas
FollowupID: 561886

Follow Up By: Member - Oppikofer L (Int) - Monday, Mar 31, 2008 at 21:37

Monday, Mar 31, 2008 at 21:37
G'day Dave & Shelley,

I dare to assume that u plan to do the CSR in the near future?
May i ask when u plan to be in the track?

cheers - lukas
FollowupID: 561892

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Mar 31, 2008 at 22:42

Monday, Mar 31, 2008 at 22:42
Lukas

I seem to remember that is was around 760km from Georgia Bore to Wiluna. So about 850 maybe. Someone might correct me on this.

FollowupID: 561905

Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Monday, Mar 31, 2008 at 22:55

Monday, Mar 31, 2008 at 22:55
depends on whether you take the track at face value or go in via Granite Peak or Glen Ayle.

711 Willuna to Well 23 which is 22km after Georgia Bore if you stick to the main track.

Unless we hear from bureaupologists soon I'll be out there from about 17th May heading North. Draft plan puts us in Billi about 30th or 31st.

I do plan to go out to Rudall River NP so I guess I'll be making friends at Cotton Creek and Kunawarritji.
FollowupID: 561911

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Mar 31, 2008 at 23:04

Monday, Mar 31, 2008 at 23:04
There you go...seee....I knew someone would give the correct data.

Hmmm, Andrew, you get appointed Chief Whip and now you are backing off! C'mon a bit of brown nosing won't hurt....hahahaha

FollowupID: 561915

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Mar 31, 2008 at 23:05

Monday, Mar 31, 2008 at 23:05
And BTW... friend with Cayenne rang today to say he could'nt make it.......hahahahaha....just as well................
FollowupID: 561917

Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Monday, Mar 31, 2008 at 23:07

Monday, Mar 31, 2008 at 23:07
Hedging bets... do I need to whip Noel to work with the CEO?
Worst case I'll be calling in at Yuendemu on the way back from CSR and also saying hello to Lindsay... I'm sure he will help but only if I can have a beer with him.
FollowupID: 561918

Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Monday, Mar 31, 2008 at 23:08

Monday, Mar 31, 2008 at 23:08
You are down to fix every one of the Cayenne's punctures... unless he can put split rims on it... that would slow him down!
FollowupID: 561921

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Monday, Mar 31, 2008 at 23:22

Monday, Mar 31, 2008 at 23:22
Andrew, that would have to be ALLOY splits wouldn't it?
FollowupID: 561930

Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Monday, Mar 31, 2008 at 23:34

Monday, Mar 31, 2008 at 23:34
Yeah John, but be careful with those tyre levers not to dent them!
FollowupID: 561935

Follow Up By: Dave & Shelley (NT) - Tuesday, Apr 01, 2008 at 23:02

Tuesday, Apr 01, 2008 at 23:02
Hi Oppikofer,

Yes mate, we will be travelling the CSR late from late June and early July. We are heading from Wiluna to Halls creek. Maybe we will cross paths!!!!!!!!! I am travelling with a some family and friends. Six vehicles in all, I can't wait!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

FollowupID: 562100

Reply By: KiwiAngler - Monday, Mar 31, 2008 at 21:10

Monday, Mar 31, 2008 at 21:10
mmmm...

The last summary I have read re Well 33 (Kunawarritji) was:

" Some very basic food supplies and showers are available here - Fuel needs to be ordered at least 2 weeks in advance but can still be unreliable and it is closed on public holidays, Sunday and Saturday after 12 noon"

Would this summary still apply?

AnswerID: 295863

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Monday, Mar 31, 2008 at 21:30

Monday, Mar 31, 2008 at 21:30
AFAIK yes. There is a LOT of traffic comes in from the CSR at times, all needing fuel. I can recommend the shower, basic but great stuff. Basic foods can include a pie, coffee and ice cream. What more could you want?
I still can't see why remote fuel stops open and close at strange times...even the Quilpie diesel depot closes at 12 on Saturday.
FollowupID: 561889

Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Monday, Mar 31, 2008 at 22:59

Monday, Mar 31, 2008 at 22:59
Don't talk to me about Quilpie fuel ... you can't get it at all on a Sunday and not even the dogs were moving.

Anyways, back to Kuna... they will open up for $20 from what I recall...
FollowupID: 561913

Follow Up By: equinox - Monday, Mar 31, 2008 at 23:08

Monday, Mar 31, 2008 at 23:08
I hope Punmu is well stocked in case Kunwarritji runs a bit low.

FollowupID: 561919

Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Monday, Mar 31, 2008 at 23:19

Monday, Mar 31, 2008 at 23:19
Kunawarritji allegedy have a new big tank...
FollowupID: 561928

Follow Up By: Member - Oppikofer L (Int) - Monday, Mar 31, 2008 at 23:48

Monday, Mar 31, 2008 at 23:48
by the way, does one need a permit to enter Punmu to get fuel there?

cheers - lukas
FollowupID: 561939

Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Tuesday, Apr 01, 2008 at 00:10

Tuesday, Apr 01, 2008 at 00:10
nup. but it is polite to tell them you're coming, and to check that they will have fuel for you...
FollowupID: 561941

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Monday, Mar 31, 2008 at 21:16

Monday, Mar 31, 2008 at 21:16
Oppikofer,

While this is not good news I would have thought at about $500 a drum of fuel that they could get another truck.

The community could not cope last year and with all this extra fuel going through there would be a queue for fuel back to Well 32.

AnswerID: 295865

Follow Up By: Member - Oppikofer L (Int) - Monday, Mar 31, 2008 at 21:18

Monday, Mar 31, 2008 at 21:18
Hey Wayne,

dont frighten me off!!!

and regarding the truck....same thought crossed my mind!

cheers - lukas
FollowupID: 561888

Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Monday, Mar 31, 2008 at 23:01

Monday, Mar 31, 2008 at 23:01
hmmm... makes one suspicious. Please take a look next time you run by Capricorn RH, but I'd guess the truck they used to use is making good money taking fuel out to exploration teams, and the blown up truck was always going to blow up being asked to head out on the Tala...
FollowupID: 561914

Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Monday, Mar 31, 2008 at 23:24

Monday, Mar 31, 2008 at 23:24
Hmmm. I can make a conspiracy theory here.

Interesting that Kuna have a new big tank allegedly. Most of these tanks on stations and whatever are paid for by the fuel distributors. Sometimes they will even fund the stock in them... until it is used.

I'd be surprised if the new tank wasn't filled by a tanker on Capricorn's account... perhaps even paid for by Capricorn...

I can see it would make life hellishly simpler for Capricorn and would save them dramas with Fuel Excise accounting and other crap... Forklift. Filling 44 gallon drums. Putting them on truck. Unloading them. Picking them up. Emptying the old fuel. blah blah...
FollowupID: 561931

Follow Up By: Member - Oppikofer L (Int) - Monday, Mar 31, 2008 at 23:46

Monday, Mar 31, 2008 at 23:46
g'day Andrew,

ur imagination is running wild... ;-)
FollowupID: 561938

Follow Up By: Trekkie (Member - WA) - Tuesday, Apr 01, 2008 at 00:25

Tuesday, Apr 01, 2008 at 00:25
Not too sure about the new tank - I was told several years ago that the existing tank was put in by one of the mining companies as part of a deal with the community
FollowupID: 561942

Reply By: Dave & Shelley (NT) - Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 20:41

Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 20:41

For those who are considering the CSR this year, the news about the fuel at well 23 (or the lack there of) is rather disturbing to say the least. My uncle who is chasing up some of our fuel stops during our big trip for this year sent me this e-mail today. It might make some think twice without long range tanks.

"Just spoke to cotton creek re fuel.

They get 40,000 litres every six weeks. 20,000 goes to the community for power generation and the other 20,000 goes to the outlet. Because it is first in gets fuel basis there is no hard guarantee that fuel will be available when you need it. This will probably be made worse by others trying to do the same thing as us. use them in lieu of well 23.They only way they can give reasonable surety is if we ring about a week before and they could give us a pretty good indication.
They now have EFTPOS."
AnswerID: 296219

Follow Up By: Member - Oppikofer L (Int) - Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 21:00

Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 21:00
G'day Dave,

thanks heaps for this additional info!!! was changing my plans considering Cotton Creek as alternative to Well 23. But reading you mail makes me wonder....!

Does anybody know how reliably Kunawarritji can provide fuel i.e. Diesel for that matter?

cheers - lukas
FollowupID: 562285

Reply By: Dave & Shelley (NT) - Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 21:19

Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 21:19
Hi mate,

I believe they will be in the same boat. I think there might be a chance people will be stranded in a community for a week waiting for fuel (hahahahahahahaha). I am going to try and fit another 6 jerries for the trip but space is tight already !!!!!!!!!!!!.

AnswerID: 296236

Reply By: Member - Brett C (WA) - Monday, Apr 21, 2008 at 22:15

Monday, Apr 21, 2008 at 22:15
G'day All,

Spoke with Graham the CDO Kunawarritji community just over a week ago.

The community is fully aware of the fuel drop issue this year. They will be carrying extra fuel, and much more supplies than they normally carry for this purpose.

He believes that they will be able to cope with the fuel requirements for travellers.

He told me that he has it on good advice that some vehicles will need to allow for up to 260l for the trip to Wiluna....these ones much chew a bit for the 1100km on that leg.

He seems confident that they travellers will be fine.

Brett.....
AnswerID: 299732