12v <span class="highlight">Power</span> <span class="highlight">packs</span> - Ebay

Submitted: Thursday, Apr 24, 2008 at 00:21
ThreadID: 56945 Views:7084 Replies:11 FollowUps:9
G'Day all have been looking at them 12v power packs/ jump starters/ air compressor gizmo thingy's and was wondering if anyone has used them. I only wanna use it to run some fluoro lights off while camping as i dont yet have dual batteries and i have other things running off car battery. They seem a little cheap and nasty but surely the can run a light for a couple of hours? Its either one of them or make my own little set up as i have a couple of batteries lying around and plenty of wood, wire and switches. Has anyone tried this or would it be a bit silly, i know the lihgts will last a damn lot longer surely.

Reply By: Cruiserman1961 (QLD) - Thursday, Apr 24, 2008 at 07:13

Thursday, Apr 24, 2008 at 07:13
Hi Tukka,
i use one for the water pump for the gas hot water shower. works very well for weeks and saves me falling over cables strung from the car. They can be re-charged via your cars cigarette lighter. A word of warning though, unless your fourby is powered by a Briggs & Stratton motor dont expect it to jump start it....
Cheers, Udo
AnswerID: 300200

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Thursday, Apr 24, 2008 at 07:50

Thursday, Apr 24, 2008 at 07:50
I have seen one of those little yellow $70 jobs with the built in compressor start a 5.7L Holden V8. And, according to the volt meter on the unit it was only at about 50% charge.

If I hadn't seen it with my own eyes I wouldn't have believed it.

FollowupID: 566367

Reply By: tukka - Thursday, Apr 24, 2008 at 07:32

Thursday, Apr 24, 2008 at 07:32
Cheers mate, yeah i didnt think for one minute that they could turn over a 1HZ. Also thinking of using it to run a little 12v fan for the warmer times when the mozzie net is needed and there is no breeze. (Live in the Kimberleys)
AnswerID: 300202

Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Thursday, Apr 24, 2008 at 08:08

Thursday, Apr 24, 2008 at 08:08
Hi tukka,

Mine works a treat. It doesn't have the compressor; I already have one. Make sure you get one with 900 amps or more. My wife uses it at the markets to run a 12v fan. When we are away it runs the 12v light, 12v shower and 'AA' battery charger.

When you go for a drive, plug it in to the ciggie lighter and top her up.

FollowupID: 566368

Reply By: Member - Tony W (VIC) - Thursday, Apr 24, 2008 at 08:09

Thursday, Apr 24, 2008 at 08:09
Most of them have a 7AH SLA battery inside. If you don't want the compressor you can save a ton of space by just getting a small 7AH or 18 AH SLA battery. Probably won't be much cheaper though. You can even get cary bags from 4x4 equip etc.

AnswerID: 300211

Reply By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Apr 24, 2008 at 08:25

Thursday, Apr 24, 2008 at 08:25
Hi Tukka

I just use a $40 18ah SLA from jaycar , it more than does the job and its construction is such that with a bit of care you can add extra 12v banna plug or similar terminals direct to the battery.

I even use a $40 laptop charger to charge it , or the car battery from it if required.

Sort of a multi-use tool, as we often have UHF radios at camp running of it as well.

AnswerID: 300214

Reply By: Grinner - Thursday, Apr 24, 2008 at 10:21

Thursday, Apr 24, 2008 at 10:21
Go to Kmart or Supercheap, buy the cheapest car battery you can find $50?, while at Supercheap but a plastic battery box to suit $15 and some cigarette lighter sockets $10. Mount the sockets in the lid of the battery box, wire them up to battery.

While technically a deep cycle battery would be better suited for this application, with a bit of care (don't let the battery get too flat) it works fine.

Grinner
AnswerID: 300229

Follow Up By: tukka - Thursday, Apr 24, 2008 at 16:11

Thursday, Apr 24, 2008 at 16:11
Thats what i was thinking, i already have a couple of batteries laying around doing nothing plus all the other bits and pieces so might just do that. I wouldnt need to earth the battery would i just the lighter sockets.
FollowupID: 566426

Follow Up By: Grinner - Friday, Apr 25, 2008 at 21:07

Friday, Apr 25, 2008 at 21:07
Just connect the earth or the negative of the lighter socket to the battery negative, and the positive of the lighter socket to the positive of the battery.

If you just want to run lights for a few hours at night, this should be fine, just remember that if you run the battery down too flat too often it will stuff it.

Grinner
FollowupID: 566639

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Apr 24, 2008 at 10:25

Thursday, Apr 24, 2008 at 10:25
Tukka,
Like Robin, I've just bought the stuff from Jaycar. I've used the small 7Ah SLA alarm batteries (SB2486 $30) in the carry bag (HB6360 $19) and keep it charged via a relay that turns on with the ignition. It will run the 1amp fluoros for a few nights. One of those cheaper powerpacks might cost the same money, but what I use is way more compact. The batteries are very common and are used in alarms, power supplies etc.

AnswerID: 300231

Follow Up By: Dean - Thursday, Apr 24, 2008 at 10:43

Thursday, Apr 24, 2008 at 10:43
Phil,
Does the relay have a 12v attachment or wired directly?
Dean
FollowupID: 566387

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Apr 24, 2008 at 12:43

Thursday, Apr 24, 2008 at 12:43
Dean,
Not sure what you mean.
I use a standard 30amp relay and it lives in a jiffy box - coil is powered from IGN, power is drawn from starting battery and a charging lead goes to a shielded connector where the battery is stored.
Only issue with these batteries is trying to limit the current to the stated 2.1 amps - only seems to be exceeded when the battery is well run down.
FollowupID: 566396

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Apr 24, 2008 at 13:36

Thursday, Apr 24, 2008 at 13:36
Just for fun Phil , I am working on a lightweight rechargeable lithium power cell at the moment.

At 1/2 kg an 2AH I expect it to at start my electric start trail bike and from what I calculate a 1kg version should turn over the car.

Let you know how it goes as backup system If I don't blow myself up first .

FollowupID: 566399

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Apr 24, 2008 at 15:01

Thursday, Apr 24, 2008 at 15:01
Robin, that does sound like Fun!

I played a lot with rechargables in the past when my son was racing R/C cars. We bought Sub-C NiCads in bulk, and enhanced their voltage by Zapping them with 100Volts via a rather large Capacitor. I think I was lucky not to blow myself up there. We used to measure their capacity and match packs which were sold by a local hobby shop.

I don't know much about Lithium Polymer, having not used them, but my son, who now flies electric helicopters as well, reckons they're pretty good......as long as you don't blow yourself up :-))))

I just read some blurb on them on the Model Flight Website.

But the stats look pretty impressive as far as burst current goes, which I guess is what you're after.
FollowupID: 566406

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Apr 24, 2008 at 16:09

Thursday, Apr 24, 2008 at 16:09
Yep! fun all right but its all coming up to fast - trying to get it ready for riding my bike ride out of Birdsville July.
Predict 150a pulse current - but bike has no kick start lever so I might chicken out yet and carry the normal one.

Other issues which I haven't appreciated include higher radiation from bikes wires (based on Ni-cads and reduced electrical load) and these have reduced the reliability of GPS readings from a Garmin Quest I fitted to bike for Navigation.

FollowupID: 566423

Reply By: Rut Tearer - Thursday, Apr 24, 2008 at 13:28

Thursday, Apr 24, 2008 at 13:28
I think you need at least the 20AH battery to help jump start a car, for example the Projecta brand has around that capacity from memory and I have jumped start various things with this, if for just running small 12v appliances I would look for the better brand, the cheap and nasty ones with compressors etc seem very shabby construction wise.

There are various Projecta models on Ebay for a quick price reference.
AnswerID: 300255

Reply By: Biglinz - Thursday, Apr 24, 2008 at 21:02

Thursday, Apr 24, 2008 at 21:02
I have a 1100 amp powerpack I got from superjunk for about $90. I was lazy and didn't want to run the cabling from the car to the camper so fitted the pack into the storage box on the trailer. After charging it will run my fluoros for a long weekend away with no problems. I did an outback run last year for 14 nights and it worked right thru till the very last night, when the missus left the lights on while we were out. We chucked it in the back of the car while travelling and that kept the charge up enough. A good charge on 240v and it would have been good for another 2 weeks.
AnswerID: 300312

Reply By: Member - Tessa (NSW) - Friday, Apr 25, 2008 at 10:48

Friday, Apr 25, 2008 at 10:48
Tukka
I Started with one of the Soooopacheeeep ones and it worked well for 18 months and then died. I used it for lights etc while camping and on one occasion it started the Prado. My next door neighbour was so impressed he bought one too. His also lasted 18 months. I then noticed my local servo was using a Projecta brand. So I bought one of them at KMart, on special I think they come down to about $70. It's only 400amp cc but it certainly does the job for me. BTW I charge it with my 20 year old (?? not sure but seems that old) projecta 4 amp charger, just by attaching the alligator clips on the battery pack to the charger clips.

tessa
AnswerID: 300403

Reply By: neil&brenda - Monday, Apr 28, 2008 at 00:41

Monday, Apr 28, 2008 at 00:41
Just picked up a motorpro 5 in One from K-mart for $69. Has 2x 12 volt outlets, led work light, compressor, jump start capability and 200 watt inverter. Supposed 900 amp capacity (cca) assumed.
Even if this unit only lasts 12 months, so what??
AnswerID: 300873

Reply By: tukka - Monday, Apr 28, 2008 at 12:49

Monday, Apr 28, 2008 at 12:49
Thanks everyone for your help, i think i might just go for an 18A/H SLA battery in a box wired up to a couple of cigarette lighter plugs. Take up less space and plus i already have Compressor and lights. Really its just an excuse to get out the tools and build something.
AnswerID: 300929