Do I need to take tyre levers?

Submitted: Friday, Apr 25, 2008 at 16:23
ThreadID: 56983 Views:4422 Replies:8 FollowUps:22
Good afternoon,

I know that many variations of this question have been asked as I have found in the archives so my apologies for asking again but I couldn't quite find the info I was after.

I am heading off in three weeks to do northern South Australia including the Simpson Desert, Innaminka etc. I have 6 good tyres on rims that I will be taking and intend to purchase a good quality repair (plug) kit. Is this considered to be a reasonable redundancy or should I also be purchasing tyre refitting tools such as the R&R beadbreaker and carrying tubes etc. I know that there are arguments for both taking or not taking but would like to know if what I have would suffice for most.

Thanks in advance,

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Apr 25, 2008 at 16:32

Friday, Apr 25, 2008 at 16:32
I've given up taking a beadbreaker. Highlift jack or carjack does the same job if needed. I'd still take the tyre irons, but we haven't needed to use them in anger for years. Plugs are great, but it can take a little practice to use them well.

Its pretty rare to get a puncture on the common tracks in the Simpson Desert. More common on the tracks leading to and from the desert.
AnswerID: 300438

Follow Up By: Davo_60 - Friday, Apr 25, 2008 at 17:46

Friday, Apr 25, 2008 at 17:46
Thanks Phil, might go and get some levers then.
FollowupID: 566606

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Apr 25, 2008 at 23:44

Friday, Apr 25, 2008 at 23:44
Dave,
Don't worry about Willem, you've asked a very good question.
If used split rims too, you'd need tyre changing tools for every puncture. But the fact that you're using tubeless, with 2 spares and a plug kit tells me you've thought about it and I'd guess you'd have a less than 1% chance of needing the levers. But if you're travelling alone, you need to be self-sufficient.

In the last 7 Simpson trips I've done, we've only had one puncture on the main desert tracks - probably talking about 40+ vehicles crossing the desert. As I said above most punctures happen on the gravel roads and people can get a good repair done at Birdsville, Mt Dare or Oodnadatta.

A pair of tyre levers is not a huge cost, and if travelling alone, I'd want to know a bit about tyre repairs. Practice taking a tyre off the rim at home is worth doing.

phil
FollowupID: 566657

Follow Up By: Davo_60 - Saturday, Apr 26, 2008 at 06:45

Saturday, Apr 26, 2008 at 06:45
Thanks Phil,

Great info, I was thinking along the lines of what you have written but was not sure of the effectiveness of these tyre plugs and whether or not taking the tyres off rims with levers was now redundant, but will definitely go the lever kit now. I admit to not having a lot of experience in tyre repair but understand the principles. I might have a practice levering the old spare that is about to be replaced off and on the rim.

FollowupID: 566669

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Apr 26, 2008 at 11:11

Saturday, Apr 26, 2008 at 11:11
Dave,
If you want to easily use the jack as beadbreaker, you can simply make one of these:Link

FollowupID: 566695

Follow Up By: Davo_60 - Saturday, Apr 26, 2008 at 16:20

Saturday, Apr 26, 2008 at 16:20
Thanks Phil,

Looks like a good idea. I have decided to go the R&R Beadbreaker kit as it seems as though it may be the easiest tool to use (just going off what I have read) and I can be sure that if I don't take it then I will surely need it now after asking the question.

Thanks for the advice.
FollowupID: 566724

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Friday, Apr 25, 2008 at 16:52

Friday, Apr 25, 2008 at 16:52
Murphy's Law Mate!
If ya dont take them now, youll need them.

AnswerID: 300442

Follow Up By: Davo_60 - Friday, Apr 25, 2008 at 17:48

Friday, Apr 25, 2008 at 17:48
FollowupID: 566607

Reply By: Willem - Friday, Apr 25, 2008 at 17:36

Friday, Apr 25, 2008 at 17:36
Nah ya don't have to take 'em

There is a big BP Servo right on the corner of the French Line and Knolls Track and another smaller servo a few km west of Purni Bore. Both have bead breakers and tyre repair facilities.

ROFLMAO

Idiot question!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

AnswerID: 300445

Follow Up By: Davo_60 - Friday, Apr 25, 2008 at 17:45

Friday, Apr 25, 2008 at 17:45
Thanks Willem, so I will take it as you recommending tyre refitting tools. Thanks for the advice, I realise it is remote country but I won't be taking a spare engine and gearbox either.

FollowupID: 566605

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (SA) - Friday, Apr 25, 2008 at 17:49

Friday, Apr 25, 2008 at 17:49
Hi Willem
I must have been to busy looking at the scenery and driven straight past the service station at the Knolls Junction. That will teach me for not looking at where I was driving, and I thought that I knew the Simpson inside and out. The one at Purnie was closed for lunch, back in 1 hour sign was up.

FollowupID: 566608

Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Friday, Apr 25, 2008 at 18:03

Friday, Apr 25, 2008 at 18:03
Hi Davo,

Most times you get good info in amongst a lot of other stuff. Take what you need. IMVHO take the levers.

Cheers Pop
FollowupID: 566611

Follow Up By: Davo_60 - Friday, Apr 25, 2008 at 18:21

Friday, Apr 25, 2008 at 18:21
Thanks pop,

Perhaps the question wasn't worded too well. Thanks for the advice and will be purchasing some levers.

FollowupID: 566612

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Apr 25, 2008 at 18:29

Friday, Apr 25, 2008 at 18:29
OK..... to follow up on the smart arse comments to my smart arse comment.

You should be self sufficient when travelling in remote areas.

You should have with you(in no particular order)

1.Good tool kit for minor repair jobs
2.Good communications other than UHF radio
3.Good water supply
4.Good tyre repair kit including bead breakers, tyre levers and air compressor, extra spare tyre casing(or complete wheel) and a good jack.
5.Good First Aid kit
6.Enough food to sustain you for a week beyond your travel time

You are unlikely to sustain a puncture on the tracks of the Simpson Desert but it has happened. You could stake two tyres one after the other on the same stake and then you will need all the equipment mentioned to solve the riddle.

FollowupID: 566613

Follow Up By: Davo_60 - Friday, Apr 25, 2008 at 19:14

Friday, Apr 25, 2008 at 19:14
Thanks Willem. I have all the other stuff covered but I appreciate the feedback and know that you have extensive experience in those areas. I was unsure of whether or not to purchase a bead breaker and tyre levers but it appears it is considered an essential item and will purchase. I have put in considerable planning and preparation for the trip but I don't mind asking a silly question if it gets me the info I needed which it has.

FollowupID: 566621

Follow Up By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Friday, Apr 25, 2008 at 19:23

Friday, Apr 25, 2008 at 19:23
#OK..... to follow up on the smart arse comments to my smart arse comment.#

I think Judith carries a pair of Tyre Levers under her front seat,Keep him in check !

FollowupID: 566623

Follow Up By: vuduguru - Friday, Apr 25, 2008 at 20:27

Friday, Apr 25, 2008 at 20:27
Yeah and Willem's been doing it for years. 4WDTV had a story on a bloke doing outback who took a tyre but no rim. You can pack all sorts of stuff in it, decreased weight bla bla. You need to know what you ae doing. On the other hand if you have the bits there are plenty out there that will help. A carton of beer being reasonable payment.
Be as well equipped as possible and you will have not dramas. Imagine waiting a hour for the mechanic having a lunch. Not a problem here!
FollowupID: 566632

Reply By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Friday, Apr 25, 2008 at 18:44

Friday, Apr 25, 2008 at 18:44
I presume you have tubeless tyres ?

AnswerID: 300462

Follow Up By: Davo_60 - Friday, Apr 25, 2008 at 19:15

Friday, Apr 25, 2008 at 19:15
Yes.
FollowupID: 566622

Follow Up By: vuduguru - Friday, Apr 25, 2008 at 20:29

Friday, Apr 25, 2008 at 20:29
Let me say.........Not and idiot question.
FollowupID: 566634

Reply By: Crackles - Friday, Apr 25, 2008 at 23:55

Friday, Apr 25, 2008 at 23:55
I'd say Dave that with 6 good tyres including 2 complete spares & a plug kit you would be well covered. As Phil has mentioned most serious tyre damage occurs to & from the desert so despite Willem's sarcasm you would in that case have Innamincka, Birdsville & Oodnadatta to get repairs done. The chance of destroying 3 tyres on that route when driving sensibly that couldn't be fixed using plugs would be highly unlikely. To put it in context I have destroyed only 4 tyres in 25 years that couldn't be plugged!
On the desert crossing itself it would be near impossible to wreck a tyre in the sand that couldn't be plugged. I'm yet to a single flat tyre in any group I've travelled with on the main Simpson Desert routes despite 9 crossings & that has included convoys up to 25.
I know allot of people that travel central Oz with the 2 spares & wouldn't have a clue how to take a tyre off the rim. Many would be surprised at the numbers that travel that way.
To save weight now on all but the most remote trips I run with just a single spare but carry the full repair kit, tubes & patches etc.
Cheers Craig................
AnswerID: 300515

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Apr 26, 2008 at 11:04

Saturday, Apr 26, 2008 at 11:04
Gday Craig,
Just to add to your comments that I think there's a difference between the lone traveller and someone in a group. Lone traveller has to take 2 spares - its a pretty empty feeling if you damage or can't repair the first puncture on a desert crossing. Group traveller can share in the very unlikely event of 2 unrepairable tyres.

phil
FollowupID: 566694

Follow Up By: Crackles - Saturday, Apr 26, 2008 at 14:19

Saturday, Apr 26, 2008 at 14:19
Agree Phil about the difference with travel group (rarely travel alone) & in the past when going by ourselves remotely I've usually just carried one fitted spare & the 2nd without the rim.
Cheers Craig...............
FollowupID: 566705

Follow Up By: Davo_60 - Saturday, Apr 26, 2008 at 16:30

Saturday, Apr 26, 2008 at 16:30
Thanks Craig,

I was thinking along the lines of your experiences as described in your reply when I asked the question. I was thinking that maybe I would not need to bother with the tools, however I am now going down the R&R Beadbreaker route. I agree that some people probably don't bother with such things and never have a problem but I don't want to become a burden on someone else's holiday if things don't go so well by not preparing properly myself.

Thanks for the advice.
FollowupID: 566728

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Saturday, Apr 26, 2008 at 01:15

Saturday, Apr 26, 2008 at 01:15
The only reason you would need levers is in the case you had totally destroyed2 tyre and your 6th spare had major damge.
not fixable by plug
In this case you would need to back your levers up with BIG patches for tyres - the kind that will cover a substantial sidewall rip 2 inches pluss along with special cement rather than vulcanising glue and also a tube or 2
bottom line if you have 6 wheels and plugs by the time you reach for the levers it is because you are in deep pooo
AnswerID: 300519

Follow Up By: Davo_60 - Saturday, Apr 26, 2008 at 16:32

Saturday, Apr 26, 2008 at 16:32
Thanks Davoe,

Am going to make sure I have something to reach for!

FollowupID: 566729

Reply By: jdbb - Saturday, Apr 26, 2008 at 08:02

Saturday, Apr 26, 2008 at 08:02
We go out by ourselves a fair bit so I bought an r&r beadbreaker kit so that I could do a repair if needed. Despite our local tyre repair guy telling me I would never get the tyre off and on the rims on my LC100, I did it first time in about 30 minutes - too easy. I figure that for something that weighs about 8 kg and doesn't take up too much room it is pretty good insurance.
AnswerID: 300541

Follow Up By: Davo_60 - Saturday, Apr 26, 2008 at 16:34

Saturday, Apr 26, 2008 at 16:34
Thanks for the advice. Will be going the R&R as I have read similar feedback to yours before.

FollowupID: 566730

Reply By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Saturday, Apr 26, 2008 at 11:45

Saturday, Apr 26, 2008 at 11:45
Dave if you do get the R & R Beadbreaker practice a few times before leaving home. I've done it a few times and I struggle with it. Set my lap top up next to me and watch the instructional DVD as I go. With more practice I won't need to keep watching the DVD.
Also make sure that your compressor will reset your tyres from flat. Many won't.

AnswerID: 300573

Follow Up By: Davo_60 - Saturday, Apr 26, 2008 at 16:35

Saturday, Apr 26, 2008 at 16:35
Thanks Dunc,

Will have a practice run before leaving.

FollowupID: 566732