<span class="highlight">Watch</span> <span class="highlight">This</span> <span class="highlight">Space</span>.

Submitted: Sunday, Apr 27, 2008 at 21:28
ThreadID: 57053 Views:3544 Replies:7 FollowUps:8
Yesterday 4 of us took our 4wds on a 4wd expedition, The trip when to a small spring near Jabiru we all got there with 2 small bogs in about 2 1/2 hour.

Well, after leaving 4 cars in the bush over night we went out to retrieve them this morning about 10.30.

Well, we got home at 5.30 this afternoon, It took another 4 cars and over 12 major bogings to get home.

We walked in the dark for 2/3 kms last night, while Nigel came to pick us up in one of my other trucks. On the walk home I trod on a snake of some description while bare foot, the whole 2 days was a huge laugh.

Anja will do the 100 or so photos she took today and I will post them tomorrow, well the good ones anyway.

One of the rangers came to help and he got bogged big time as well, so he gave us his hand winch and went home, the 9000 pound winch on the Land Rover was not up to the task of the hand winch at all. Without the hand winch we would still be there.

So watch this space for the photos.

Cheers Steve.

Reply By: Member - Footloose - Sunday, Apr 27, 2008 at 23:10

Sunday, Apr 27, 2008 at 23:10
Hand winch = hard yakka. Stepping on snake in bare feet? No thanks :)) Pix will be interesting ...
AnswerID: 300854

Reply By: Member -Signman - Monday, Apr 28, 2008 at 08:43

Monday, Apr 28, 2008 at 08:43
Remind me not to go on a trip with Explore Tours when we're up your way !! Sounds a bit too adventurous for my liking ....

AnswerID: 300895

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Apr 28, 2008 at 08:45

Monday, Apr 28, 2008 at 08:45
What!!!! Geting there is half the fun!
Maybe you might be better suited to the Darwin pottery tour or a good night out at a tupperware party...I hear they are a real hoot.

FollowupID: 566981

Follow Up By: Top End Explorer Tours - Tuesday, Apr 29, 2008 at 16:48

Tuesday, Apr 29, 2008 at 16:48
Hey Hairy

He could do the AAT kings day tour, that,s the one for 80 years plus, nothing adventurous about that one.

Cheers Steve.
FollowupID: 567243

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Apr 28, 2008 at 08:43

Monday, Apr 28, 2008 at 08:43
Gday Steve,
I had a mate call in here the other night on his usuall South to North migration for the winter.
You might know him? Barney....he does Kakadu tours from Darwin?

AnswerID: 300896

Reply By: Top End Explorer Tours - Monday, Apr 28, 2008 at 21:08

Monday, Apr 28, 2008 at 21:08
Here are some of the pics as promised, the first one is what started it all, as I gave Dave a big rooster tail, then I saw the in the mirror and laughed so hard I drove of the road and this resulted in the next photo.

The next photo was in the morning we were pulling out Kyle's car, this was the last car stuck the night before.

There were 2 more boggings before the next photo, this photo is inspecting the damage.

After we got the car out, they had to pull me out.

I got XPLORE bogged in this hole, before the next lot of photos.

This is me just clearing the same hole in 4WD 2RS, then Mat who had his fair share of bogging got through as well and the next lot of photos were his car being the last one through.

There were plenty more photos, but these were the picks for tonight, hope you enjoy them.

Cheers Steve.
AnswerID: 301049

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Apr 29, 2008 at 19:50

Tuesday, Apr 29, 2008 at 19:50
Looks like any typical day's drive down the Hume Hwy (aka Sesame Street), between Holbrook and Albury to me....hahaha
FollowupID: 567278

Reply By: Member - Pixie - Monday, Apr 28, 2008 at 22:13

Monday, Apr 28, 2008 at 22:13
i love pics of other people doing hard yakka - thanks for sharing!!
AnswerID: 301075

Follow Up By: Top End Explorer Tours - Monday, Apr 28, 2008 at 23:09

Monday, Apr 28, 2008 at 23:09
Year hard work, the lads under 25 Kyle and Matt went home and to bed as they were stuffed, the boys over 35 went back to my place laughed at the photos, we had a few beers and a BBQ.

It was all laughs at the work shop today, but us older boys felt a bit sore around the shoulders.

Cheers Steve.
FollowupID: 567159

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Monday, Apr 28, 2008 at 23:21

Monday, Apr 28, 2008 at 23:21
Thanks for the pix Steve. Takes me back to the days when I used to "play" with 4wds :))

The young blokes were probably getting over a night on the booze, and the older ones probably know how to pace themselves with the work and the booze :))
FollowupID: 567163

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Tuesday, Apr 29, 2008 at 17:22

Tuesday, Apr 29, 2008 at 17:22
Gday Steve,
Looks like a lot of fun,
Im comming on one of your tours one day!

AnswerID: 301170

Reply By: Member - Barnesy - Thursday, May 01, 2008 at 14:35

Thursday, May 01, 2008 at 14:35
Good pics Steve thanks. Just curious which was the most capable car/driver/tyre combo through this bog? There is a good mixture of 4wds in that lot.

I also notice that you don't have a winch on your 100 series. Is there a reason for this as i would have thought a winch would get used a lot travelling up the top end?
AnswerID: 301453

Follow Up By: Top End Explorer Tours - Thursday, May 01, 2008 at 21:26

Thursday, May 01, 2008 at 21:26
Hey Barnesy.

2 out of 3 Hiluxs never got bogged, I had both my 100 series bogged 5 times, the 60 series got bogged 3 times and the recovery Landrover got bogged 5 times.

I have never had a winch in 30 years of 4wding, having said that the 9000 pound winch was at best useless, and the Turfur was worth its weight in gold 10 times over.

99% of the tracks I do are in the dry season and a winch is not necessary.

Cheers Steve.
FollowupID: 567628

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Friday, May 02, 2008 at 08:04

Friday, May 02, 2008 at 08:04
"the 9000 pound winch was at best useless, and the Turfur was worth its weight in gold 10 times over."

- this may surprise a few people ! Can you help by explaining why this was so ?
FollowupID: 567681

Follow Up By: Top End Explorer Tours - Friday, May 02, 2008 at 22:04

Friday, May 02, 2008 at 22:04
Hey Mike DiD.

Yeah I can.

Take the photo of me beside 4WD 2RS we put XPLORE the car in the back ground behind the Landrover with the winch, we both reversed and pulled with the winch , and 4WD 2RS didn't move 200 mm.

We couldn't get the Rover behind the car so the Turfur came out and with in minutes so did the car.

The rover in the bog, we tried for nearly an hour to free it by digging and using the 9000 pound winch, but with in minutes of using the Turfur it was out and mobile again.

We didn't use the winch again that day and used the Turfur another several times without difficulty.

Cheers Steve.
FollowupID: 567865