Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
Section Image

Trip 2008 Anne Beadell Hwy

Submitted: Sunday, Jun 01, 2008 at 02:11

Richard Kovac

If anyone would like to check out my photos of our latest trip please do so theres 480 of them .. LOL

will try and do a report tomorrow

Trip 2008
Camped under Mt Leisler
Click Image to Enlarge
Still Getting There
ThreadID: 58240 Replies: 12
Views: 1096 FollowUps: 15
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 307047   Submitted: Sunday, Jun 01, 2008 at 06:20

Member - Dennis P (Scotland) replied:

Just spent the last hour and a bit looking at the photos, they tell the story of your trip beautifully and make me realise just much I miss home.
Well done, mate. I envy you.

Click Image to Enlarge
Aussie, moved to Scotland in '02, coming home to retire one day.
Reply 1 of 12
FollowupID: 572944   Submitted: Sunday, Jun 01, 2008 at 12:21

Richard Kovac posted:

Thanks Dennis

It was a good trip

Camped under Mt Leisler
Click Image to Enlarge
Still Getting There
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 307083   Submitted: Sunday, Jun 01, 2008 at 11:50

Member - Duncan W (WA) replied:

Excellent photos Richard; I stopped at 243 will have a further look when I get home tonight.
Excellent timing with the posting of your photos Richard as I'll be heading around that area at the end of the month for 16 days. The corrugations didn't look as bad as I've heard, which is good. Interesting to note all the new camp sites that have been built which makes camping a little easier.
You would think that people could take their rubbish with them or bury it deep, wouldn't you. Ruins it for everybody else who follows them.
BTW did you find any water in any of the rock holes?
YAMARNA STATION
Click Image to Enlarge
Reply 2 of 12
FollowupID: 572945   Submitted: Sunday, Jun 01, 2008 at 12:27

Richard Kovac posted:

Duncan

we passed 20 vehicles and over took 1, we where being told that east of Emu where the worst corrugations they have ever seen, except for the WA side it was the fastest part of the trip, I we could get into third.. LOL

No good trip it's meant to be ruff, thats why we buy 4WD's for, unless your in a rush.

Water in Rock Holes no, it had rained around Emu to Cooper Pedy but all OK. most had dried out by the time we travelled on it.

Camped under Mt Leisler
Click Image to Enlarge
Still Getting There
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 307084   Submitted: Sunday, Jun 01, 2008 at 11:55

Member - John (Vic) replied:

Nice one Richard, It brings back some good memories.

Canning Stock Route - June 2009
Click Image to Enlarge
Photo 1 - Canning Stock Route - June 2009
Photo 2 - Flinders Ranges - July 2009

Reply 3 of 12
FollowupID: 572946   Submitted: Sunday, Jun 01, 2008 at 12:29

Richard Kovac posted:

Yes it was a good trip John, glad we did it.

have to make a booking to run the Roadhouse when we retire..

Camped under Mt Leisler
Click Image to Enlarge
Still Getting There
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 307094   Submitted: Sunday, Jun 01, 2008 at 12:41

Member - Mick O (VIC) replied:

Enjoyed those Richard. 18 days to go before I depart. Pulling the last of the permits together now. Cheers. Mick.
Crossing the King Edward River - Kimberley WA
Click Image to Enlarge
A written note outlasts the longest memory!
Lifetime Member: My Profile  My Blog  Send Message
Reply 4 of 12
FollowupID: 573001   Submitted: Sunday, Jun 01, 2008 at 17:33

Richard Kovac posted:

where you off to Mick?
Camped under Mt Leisler
Click Image to Enlarge
Still Getting There
FollowUp 1 of 2
FollowupID: 573003   Submitted: Sunday, Jun 01, 2008 at 17:40

Member - Mick O (VIC) posted:

Back to Rudall River via Surveyor generals Corner, Hunt Oil Road, Canning to Durba, then west on the Puntawarri, and others. Plan to spend a fortnight in Rudall exploring and then out the back way up to Skull Springs Track, and across the Boreline track popping out at 80 Mile Beach for a wash. Come home via the Wapet, Gary Junction, Veevers, Sandyblight, Uluru, Alice, Hay River and the Simpson down to Innamincka and home to Melbourne via the Flinders. 9,400 km and two months. Can hardly wait.
Crossing the King Edward River - Kimberley WA
Click Image to Enlarge
A written note outlasts the longest memory!
FollowUp 2 of 2
Activities Index
Harley Trike Picnic Ride For 2 - QLD Harley Trike Picnic Ride For 2 - QLD
Sunshine Coast - QLD
A lazy picnic lunch by the beach or at Mary Cairncross Park near Maleny, and a dream ride on a Harle
Day Spa Pedicure Treatment - Canterbury Day Spa Pedicure Treatment - Canterbury
Melbourne - VIC
Indulge in this heavenly day spa treat for your hard working feet and legs!
Yarra Valley Wineries and Puffing Billy Yarra Valley Wineries and Puffing Billy
Melbourne - VIC
Sample renowned Yarra Valley wines and ride through lush forests of Victoria's premier wine region.
Seppelt Deep in the Drives Tour Seppelt Deep in the Drives Tour
The Grampians - VIC
Discover the largest underground 'Drives' in the Southern Hemisphere on this 1 hour tour at Seppelt
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 307104   Submitted: Sunday, Jun 01, 2008 at 13:26

Member - Dick (Int) replied:

Hi Richard

Great photo's, I could not get away from them once I started looking. Looks like you had a fantastic trip. You did not take your offroad van, did you consider the road to be too rough.

I am planning to go through that area in Sept and was going to tow my TVan. Do you think I will have any problems with the TVan.

Lifetime Member: My Profile  Send Message
Reply 5 of 12
FollowupID: 572963   Submitted: Sunday, Jun 01, 2008 at 13:39

Richard Kovac posted:

Hi Dick

We will not tow anything in the again after the old CT broke on the Kidson.

Will take only the Troopy and tent it, the off road van will be used on dirt roads (I,m a chicken).

The last two vehicles we passed had TVans behind them, didn't even stop to talk when we pulled off the road for them, oh well. (they where driving Nissan's). LOL

To me the AB, is less a hard drive than the Kidson (washouts) and Gunbarrel (corrugations).

The Troopy and TVan will make it no problems, run low tyre pressures and take it slow..

Camped under Mt Leisler
Click Image to Enlarge
Still Getting There
FollowUp 1 of 2
FollowupID: 572974   Submitted: Sunday, Jun 01, 2008 at 15:09

Member - Dick (Int) posted:

Hi Richard

Yes I agree that towing any type of trailer on these tracks is an added risk and I can understand why you are not doing it as it is something you don't need to do particularly after you have had a problem previously.

I have a good OzTent and am thinking that is probably the best way to go. I travel alone so camping in a tent is really no problem and I can erect the Oztent easier then I can set up the TVan fully.
Lifetime Member: My Profile  Send Message
FollowUp 2 of 2
AnswerID: 307108   Submitted: Sunday, Jun 01, 2008 at 13:48

Member - Footloose replied:

Great pix...I look forward to the trip report.
Thanks Richard.

Click Image to Enlarge
Footy Illegitimi non carborundum
Reply 6 of 12
FollowupID: 572964   Submitted: Sunday, Jun 01, 2008 at 13:51

Member - Footloose posted:

Interesting comments on the Kidson BTW.

Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 1 of 4
FollowupID: 573000   Submitted: Sunday, Jun 01, 2008 at 17:33

Richard Kovac posted:

Whys that footy?
Camped under Mt Leisler
Click Image to Enlarge
Still Getting There
FollowUp 2 of 4
FollowupID: 573040   Submitted: Sunday, Jun 01, 2008 at 19:15

Member - Footloose posted:

I'd been led to believe that the AB was far worse.

Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 3 of 4
FollowupID: 573058   Submitted: Sunday, Jun 01, 2008 at 20:03

Richard Kovac posted:

Maybe because it,s longer so theres more bumps ... LOL, but the road doesn't have as many side tracks as the two others.

Camped under Mt Leisler
Click Image to Enlarge
Still Getting There
FollowUp 4 of 4
AnswerID: 307152   Submitted: Sunday, Jun 01, 2008 at 17:23

Motherhen replied:

Wow Richard - what an amazing journey captured in glorious colours for us to enjoy and envy. How long were you away?

We are staying at Wickham for a couple of weeks before heading off to the Kimberley, and possibly if all goes well, the Tanami and back through the Central Road.

Near the Stuart Highway NT
Click Image to Enlarge
Home to reality - The dream trip is over
Reply 7 of 12
FollowupID: 572999   Submitted: Sunday, Jun 01, 2008 at 17:31

Richard Kovac posted:

We left on the 12/05/08 got back on the 26/05/08 to Bruce Rock for the rest of the week. Back home in Perth last night, back to work on Tue. dam it.

I,m still getting around to writing a report, been stuffing around on the site to much updating places and trips.

Camped under Mt Leisler
Click Image to Enlarge
Still Getting There
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 307202   Submitted: Sunday, Jun 01, 2008 at 19:45

Member - bushfix replied:

nice one Richard,

was going to be doing an AB/GB/CS loop next year, not so sure I can afford it all now but your pics gave me some tonic.

thanks for the pics, good stuff.
Sunset at Yardea Station
Click Image to Enlarge
my wife & kids, the bush...
Reply 8 of 12
FollowupID: 573054   Submitted: Sunday, Jun 01, 2008 at 19:59

Richard Kovac posted:

Only cost $1415.03 in fuel for the trip, min $1.796/l max $2.30/l who knows what it will cost next year, still it works out to be 27 cents per km... LOL

Camped under Mt Leisler
Click Image to Enlarge
Still Getting There
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 307211   Submitted: Sunday, Jun 01, 2008 at 20:22

equinox replied:

Good trip Richard, enjoyed looking at all the photos. Took me a while.

Do you know what the historic marker is 2 kms west of Ooldea, marked on Natmaps? Or is it the Daisy Bates sign you took a photo of?

Red Rock
Click Image to Enlarge
Red Rock,
Great Victoria Desert
Reply 9 of 12
FollowupID: 573084   Submitted: Sunday, Jun 01, 2008 at 20:40

Richard Kovac posted:

this is the historic marker (fingers crossed) Monument to Joining of the east and west section of Railway line 17th October 1917

I have up loaded my plot file now as well

Camped under Mt Leisler
Click Image to Enlarge
Still Getting There
FollowUp 1 of 2
FollowupID: 573093   Submitted: Sunday, Jun 01, 2008 at 21:02

equinox posted:

Learn something new everyday.

Will download your plot.

Red Rock
Click Image to Enlarge
Red Rock,
Great Victoria Desert
FollowUp 2 of 2
AnswerID: 307325   Submitted: Monday, Jun 02, 2008 at 14:16

Member - Vince B (NSW) replied:

Hi Richard.
Just finished your marvelous photos.
You must have had agreat trip exploring a wonderful part of the countryside.
Vince
Tibooburra July 2007
Click Image to Enlarge
Accept good advice gracefully - as long as it doesn't interfere with what you intend to do.
Reply 10 of 12
AnswerID: 307347   Submitted: Monday, Jun 02, 2008 at 16:08

Member - Joan M (NSW) replied:

Hi Richard,
Just waved hubby and mates off last night for their big trip, 4 weeks. Needless to say I,m green with envy.
They are heading to Broken Hill- Leigh Creek - Oonadatta- Chambers Pliiar- Finke- Alice Springs and spending a week in Glen Helen until meeting up with another group to continue out to Kintore- Warakurna- Warburton- Neale Junction-Anne Beadell H'way- Coober Pedy and take a week from there to get back to W'gong.
I feel better having seen your photos of AB H'way as the condition of the road had been a concern.
Have only seen 210 pics so far, but look forward to enjoying the rest.
Won't be staying at home next time.
Joan
4WD Training Weekend at Braidwood- Nov 2006
Click Image to Enlarge
getting out there and lovin' it
Reply 11 of 12
AnswerID: 307430   Submitted: Tuesday, Jun 03, 2008 at 00:41

Richard Kovac replied:

Here a cross link Trip report 2008
Camped under Mt Leisler
Click Image to Enlarge
Still Getting There
Reply 12 of 12
Activities Index
Motorcycle Hire & Ride Day - VIC Motorcycle Hire & Ride Day - VIC
Melbourne - VIC
Hire a bike and ride all day, as fast as you like!
Pole Dancing Group Package Pole Dancing Group Package
Melbourne - VIC
Be a part of the sexiest new phenomenon to hit the party scene!
Kids Surfing Day Camps Kids Surfing Day Camps
Sydney - NSW
Head to the beach this holiday and fill your days with waves, bbq lunches, beach games & laughs!
Kuranda Day Tour Kuranda Day Tour
Cairns and Tropical North QLD - QLD
Integrating intimate group sizes of like-minded travellers, superior first class vehicles, specialis
Book Now - Things To Do

Page Sponsors

WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd Premium Listing
Portable refrigeration provider WAECO, is celebrating 10 years in Australia in 2009. Established in high-technology headquarters in Germany 35 years ago, WAECO has developed a wide range of mobile technology for people on the move.
1 JOHN DUNCAN COURT   VARSITY LAKES, QLD, 4227
Phone: 1800 21 21 21
More info | Website | Driving Directions
ExplorOz ExplorOz
Become a Member of ExplorOz; buy or sell in Trader; buy Maps, Books, DVDs, camping accessories, and ExplorOz wheel covers, shirts, hats and stubby holders from the ExplorOz Shop; and book Activities &Tours or buy someone a gift certificate from our Activities section. Become an ExplorOz Member for just $60 in your first year, and $40 when you renew.
PO BOX 967  HILLARYS, WA, 6923
Phone: (08) 9403 3737
More info | Website