AnswerID: 307180 Submitted: Sunday, Jun 01, 2008 at 18:34
Member - Davoe (Yalgoo)
replied:
My Missus is finding the same thing.
Its not hard to get a job which pays crap or is in the middle of nowhwere with no accomadation or transport or where you get treated like crap
but 1/2 decent jobs are like gold with employers after 5 pluss years experience on specific machinery before they will touch you.
WA is currently awash with truckies and machinery operators who have headed over to make a fortune on the mines.
Theres not that many jobs though so most squabble over the lean pickings in
perth.
she has a freind with 6 years experience on a digger including subdivisions and maintenance. His $26 per hour job out of town finished and all the other work hes tried for has had ques to operate a digger for $20-$22 per hour.You cant live in
perth on that.
The missus is currently on a roller bulding the highway to
bunbury for $24 PH but she has to live in the back of her ute in a Pinjarra caravan park and drive 40k a day for that.
Its only boom times for some - alot of others are doing it tough and Business owners are preying on it
 Click Image to Enlarge |
| You dont need to leave Perth to go bush |
Reply 3 of 3
FollowupID: 573081 Submitted:
Sunday, Jun 01, 2008 at 20:34
Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) posted:
Id be checking out the facts properly before you go over on the sterngth of stories like that
I can tell you Readymix pay their underground AGI drivers $26 PH and the Jetcrete were about 80-85 a year . Surface for Hanson in Karratha/Pt Headland is $19 per hour
All well short of 120k .
Maybe if you were doing a 6/1 swing you might get closer .
Beware of alot of the talk - Most of it is Hyped up
 Click Image to Enlarge |
| You dont need to leave Perth to go bush |
FollowUp 5 of 8
FollowupID: 573233 Submitted:
Monday, Jun 02, 2008 at 19:55
Hairy (NT) posted:
Gday Davoe,
We're looking at moving over to Northampton sorta area after Christmas. Not because of the work situation,... but I did check it out while we were there. The money sounds great, but after takeing out the cost of land and housing........ its pretty good I reckon.There also seemed to be plenty of it. Like any where there is a shortage of trades.......so trades get paid accordingly.
I have relatives over there who do earn a lot of money un-qualified but thats not the case for everyone.
Ive certainly seen a lot worse
places to work.
 Click Image to Enlarge |
| . |
FollowUp 8 of 8