Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
You have 4 items in your shopping cart
Section Image

Will a diesel run with a flat battery

Submitted: Monday, Jun 02, 2008 at 19:48

Member - Cruiser (NSW)

I have a friend who is away at the moment and has a 100 seies turbo diesel that has both batterys failing (about 4 years old) and he has been told that if the batterys go flat or die while the car is running that the motor will stop.

Any thoughts on that.

I was under the impression that as a diesel uses compression to run as opposed to ignition, then it will continue to run without a battery.

Obviously a battery is required to start it (probably via jumper leads) but will it continue to run without a fully chatged functional battery.

Cruiser

Click Image to Enlarge
The first step to getting the things you want out of life, is this is to decide what you want.
Advertisement
ThreadID: 58301 Replies: 7
Views: 1653 FollowUps: 13
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 307368   Submitted: Monday, Jun 02, 2008 at 19:57

autosparky replied:

it may for a little while , 100 series t/d is common rail and is computer driven. so as long as the battery maintains 10.5 to 12v , should be ok
Reply 1 of 7
FollowupID: 573247   Submitted: Monday, Jun 02, 2008 at 21:44

Member - Graham H (QLD) posted:

Sorry but I thought that the 100 T/d are direct injection motors.
Our new home away from home
Click Image to Enlarge
Another Kiwi that flew the coop

FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 307370   Submitted: Monday, Jun 02, 2008 at 19:58

Member - 120scruiser (NSW) replied:

It should keep going as the alternator provides the power.
Nissan 3.0 Patrol ZD30 Piston Broke.
Click Image to Enlarge
Nissan Patrol GU 3.0 ZD30 Piston Broke.
Reply 2 of 7
FollowupID: 573269   Submitted: Monday, Jun 02, 2008 at 23:16

Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath posted:

and there is sufficient battery power to excite the alternator. I do know that some alternators are self exciting but I don't think car ones are.
On the way to Gemtree
Click Image to Enlarge
Who?
Multi famam, conscientiam pauci verentur
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 307371   Submitted: Monday, Jun 02, 2008 at 19:59

Member - DOZER replied:

Mate, as long as the alt is charging, the motor will run...if his accessories are such that they use the 120 amps the alt can supply, he has a very large sound system in there and should turn it down :)
Once the motor stopps, thats a different story...it will never go again if it a factory turbo unit with EFI computer.

Click Image to Enlarge
b4 you bag me out, walk a mile in my shoes, then your a mile away and have my shoes :)
Reply 3 of 7
FollowupID: 573235   Submitted: Monday, Jun 02, 2008 at 20:27

Member - Doug T (FNQ) posted:

DOZER
Oh how wonderful it is to own and drive a non computerised , standard basic true 4x4,with $18 headlights, no central locking, no electric windows, no turbo, no air bags,

Along the Gibbie Creek Track
Click Image to Enlarge
Doug & Dusty
Gregory National Park
FollowUp 1 of 9
FollowupID: 573237   Submitted: Monday, Jun 02, 2008 at 20:47

Member - Oldplodder (QLD) posted:

Doug,

Did you forget the fuel solenoid valve?
OK while the alternator provides power, no good otherwise :O0

I do however liking my old diesel too with mechanical injection.
Onlyned about 6 to 8 volts and a hill to clutch start it. O0

Click Image to Enlarge
John C - aka Oldplodder
In touring mode, the way it should be.
FollowUp 2 of 9
FollowupID: 573238   Submitted: Monday, Jun 02, 2008 at 20:55

Member - Doug T (FNQ) posted:

Oldplodder
Yeh once going you can disconnect the battery, the Fusable link can be a minor problem sometimes, I had a problem once with that over heating and getting very hot due to an alternator problem , just connect it to start and then disconnect it again.

Click Image to Enlarge
Doug & Dusty
Gregory National Park
FollowUp 3 of 9
FollowupID: 573254   Submitted: Monday, Jun 02, 2008 at 21:59

Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) posted:

Not true about the air bag - he drives it...LOLOL

By the way Doug - how is the "New Program" that I sent you as payback for the fake formatter ya sent me eh?

Grrr!!!

Click Image to Enlarge
Crazy Dog... Cairns FNQ (I love poor defenceless little animals - especially in gravy)
FollowUp 4 of 9
FollowupID: 573267   Submitted: Monday, Jun 02, 2008 at 22:53

autosparky posted:

100 series after 2002 are common rail in t/d
FollowUp 5 of 9
FollowupID: 573275   Submitted: Tuesday, Jun 03, 2008 at 00:17

Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) posted:

You sure about that? I dont think and cruiser came out with a common rail injected 6 cyl
you dont need to leave perth to go bush
Click Image to Enlarge
You dont need to leave Perth to go bush
FollowUp 6 of 9
FollowupID: 573282   Submitted: Tuesday, Jun 03, 2008 at 00:57

Member - Brett C (WA) posted:

Just spoke to a friend who is a Service Manager for a Toyota Dealership in the Southern Suburbs of Perth. He said the hungy never had common rail injection.
Brett....
CSR Well 18
Click Image to Enlarge
When a telemarketer calls you, say to them, “I'm busy now, but if you give me your home number, I'll call you back later"
FollowUp 7 of 9
FollowupID: 573294   Submitted: Tuesday, Jun 03, 2008 at 07:32

Grungle posted:

Not common rail but direct injection so still computer controlled.

Click Image to Enlarge
I have taken a vow of poverty...To annoy me send me money ;-)
FollowUp 8 of 9
FollowupID: 573307   Submitted: Tuesday, Jun 03, 2008 at 08:16

Yeah,

Same going from the 2.8 diesel I have to the 3.2 diesel in the NM/NP (2000 - 2007).
I am purely mechanical., with a 'bosch' style rotary pump and direct injection, while the 3.2 has the same system but with computer controlled rotary pump. Still pump to mechanical injector injection, just better pump control, and no common rail. Electronic throttle, and a few sensors on the 3.2 that need the right voltage.
New NS (2008) pajero has full level 2 common rail with solenoid controlled injectors.
Those 2008 emission controls brought in by the government changed a few things in the diesel world, like the death of the 4.2 in the nissan, and the birth of the D4D in the toyotas. All the diesel utes have now gone full electronic common rail. They get good economy though.

Click Image to Enlarge
John C - aka Oldplodder
FollowUp 9 of 9
AnswerID: 307372   Submitted: Monday, Jun 02, 2008 at 20:02

TD100 replied:

Cruiser,

a 100 series does need some power to run the electric solenoids that supply fuel to the injectors, as for it running with failing batteries-- it should providing they dont have internal shorts pulling alternator down, it may run once started and batteries disconnected-unsure as i havee not tried this on mine or know anyone that has. usually any thing that has electronics controlling engine and trans mixed with failing batteries usually spells problems. cheers Paul
Reply 4 of 7
FollowupID: 573239   Submitted: Monday, Jun 02, 2008 at 20:57

Peter 2 posted:

Disconnecting the batteries while the engine is running will totally trash the alternator and the resultant voltage spike will probably stuff anything electronic running at the time.
You MUST have a battery connected to any vehicle with an alternator whilst it is running. Doesn't matter whether the battery is cactus there must still be one in the system.
You might get away with it on an older vehicle with an external regualtor and no electronics but most later model ones will come to grief.
Madigan Line 07
Click Image to Enlarge
1988 M1026 Humvee
FollowUp 1 of 2
FollowupID: 573308   Submitted: Tuesday, Jun 03, 2008 at 08:18

Thanks Peter2, good point to remember.

Click Image to Enlarge
John C - aka Oldplodder
FollowUp 2 of 2
Activities Index
Byron Bay Roadster Tour Byron Bay Roadster Tour
Far Nth Coast / Byron - NSW
Spyder Ryder Tours are tag-along, you ride, half day tours.
The Mount Wellington Adventure Tour The Mount Wellington Adventure Tour
Hobart - TAS
A "must do" whilst in Hobart.
Hot Air Ballooning Over Canberra - Weekend Hot Air Ballooning Over Canberra - Weekend
Canberra - INT
Take a hot air balloon ride and view Canberra's top attractions.
Maxi Yacht Racing Maxi Yacht Racing
Sydney - NSW
The ultimate in team building and client hospitality!
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 307449   Submitted: Tuesday, Jun 03, 2008 at 07:26

Richard W (NSW) replied:

Cruiser,
I ran my TD100 with failing batteries from Karumba to Mr Isa where I had the 2.5y old originals replaced with N70Z's.
This vehicle has two starters in parallel and the main battery only had 8V.
Awaba
Click Image to Enlarge
http://richardw.redbubble.com/
Reply 5 of 7
AnswerID: 307545   Submitted: Tuesday, Jun 03, 2008 at 16:57

StormyKnight replied:

My old Hj60 2H Diesel needed electricity to start & to stop, but not to actually run....

My AUTO Prado Diesel however does need electricity to run....

After a recent alternator failure, she ran for about 140km before I finally got home. Albeit the following things had failed in this order...
..UHF
..AM/FM Radio back lights...radio itself was already off
..Using the brakes made the dash lights dim...did I mention this was at night? I used the tail lights of my mate in front to guide me & I only turned my lights on when oncoming traffic was about.
..tacho
..Auto gearbox stuck in 1st - probablt related to tacho not working
..Finally...odd changes in injector noise when appling the brakes...the brake lights take a lot of power & as such were now effecting the injectors...

Also of note 2 petrol Prados who also had alternator failures from the same mud puddle made it only 8km before needing a tow!

Reply 6 of 7
AnswerID: 307651   Submitted: Wednesday, Jun 04, 2008 at 01:06

Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) replied:

When travelling remote I would pull the fuel control rod off of my 2H deisal and turn it off to stop electrical interferance while I was listening to the cricket while driving
you dont need to leave perth to go bush
Click Image to Enlarge
You dont need to leave Perth to go bush
Reply 7 of 7