Blue Streak Rocket (part) found in Simpson Desert

Submitted: Wednesday, Jun 04, 2008 at 20:21
ThreadID: 58383 Views:4767 Replies:3 FollowUps:5
Interesting - I didn't even know the Simpson was in the flight path.

From ABC News: Blue Streak Rocket found in Simpson Desert

Surveyors on the Northern Territory/Queensland border believe they have discovered a rocket launched at Woomera in the 1960s.

Simon Fanning and his geological survey team were flying over the Simpson Desert when they saw what they believed was part of satellite in the scrub.

"It turns out this wreck is not in fact a satellite but a rocket - at least a chunk of one anyway" he said.

"I'd seen ET as a kid, Star Wars and all that stuff, but to actually find something was really different."

Dr Alice Gorman of Flinders University in Adelaide believes the rocket could be one of 10 blue streak rockets launched at Woomera in South Australia in the 1960s by the European Launcher Development Organisation.

"The blue streak's very distinctive and the location in the Simpson Desert and the details on the rocket indicate it's most likely from one of the two 1966 launches" she said.

Mr Fanning is reluctant to disclose the precise location of the find, but the ABC has found a EBay site offering the GPS coordinates for sale.

There is private collector interest in blue streaks, but Dr Gorman says this discovery belongs in a museum.

"There was only a handful of them launched here in Australia" she said.

"I think it would be appropriate to put this one in a museum."

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Jun 04, 2008 at 20:28

Wednesday, Jun 04, 2008 at 20:28
Lots of Blue Streak bits displayed at Woomera salvaged from the Simpson over the years.

I think this bit has been found before as I recall seeing pretty similar photos.

AnswerID: 307782

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 09:38

Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 09:38
G'day John,

not sure about that. My records seem to show a gap around 1966, when the Blue Streak project was. There are Blue Steel (1956-64,) Black Knights (1958- ?,) Redstone/Wresat (1967,) Black Arrow (1969-71) on display at Woomera. Could be wrong though.....

FollowupID: 573690

Reply By: Member -Signman - Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 08:43

Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 08:43
I have a decent chunk of Skylab !!
'Found' out of Balladonia early '80s...

AnswerID: 307846

Reply By: Member - Footloose - Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 11:27

Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 11:27
I put this search into Ebay with nil results " blue streak gps co ordinates".
I have a feeling that a bit of a blue streak was visited by Willem on his north south trek through the Simpson ? It was on a station south of the Plenty Highway, and well known by some.
Perhaps not.
AnswerID: 307864

Follow Up By: equinox - Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 13:13

Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 13:13
Gee footy,

If I found that out in the bush it would be on the back of my ute in no time not without some difficulty no doubt.

FollowupID: 573707

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 13:18

Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 13:18
I think I'd POQ in case the men in black were around LOL
FollowupID: 573708

Follow Up By: equinox - Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 13:29

Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 13:29
Yeah, you're right - I'm already on their list; better not push my luck :))

FollowupID: 573710

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 13:39

Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 13:39
You might do be safer if you didn't shift the locations of geographical features :))
FollowupID: 573712