Do we take the dog camping?

Submitted: Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 19:04
ThreadID: 58420 Views:7246 Replies:29 FollowUps:44
As some of you may know, we recently purchased a puppy for the kids. He is a Cavalier King Charles spaniel. Later this month we are heading off on a 4 week trip - beach camping at Sth Lefory, Ningaloo. I have prepared for this for a long time, and I think I've got just about everything covered (dog tent, tie up pole, water-less shampoo, desexing, microchipping etc) - the problem is that my dog is still a crazy, mental puppy and now as we near the departure I am having second doubts about my ability to cope with him running off and getting into mischeif for 4 long weeks.
Does anyone have any advice, comments, previous experience camping with a Cavalier puppy that is not a lap dog by any stretch of the imagination... think chews everything in sight, dashes off to chase birds, rabbits, cats and dogs - very bold, shy of nothing at all but a total sook at night (sleeps at the foot of our bed - up on it, not on the floor mind you). Am I the mental one? Kids will be heartbroken if we don't take him but perhaps that is better than the dog getting hurt or me losing the plot on our holiday. Tell me your thoughts!
Michelle
David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
---------------------------------
Always working not enough travelling!

Reply By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 19:19

Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 19:19
G'day michelle, My Kelpie cross is still a spastic 3years down the track, But seams the first day is the worst, then she settles down after that and is well behaved and obedient.

maybe she is just to tired to be bad after the first day of mayhem

Cheers Stefan
AnswerID: 307949

Follow Up By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 19:32

Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 19:32
Thanks Stefan, my original line of thought was that Harry would do exactly that, go beserk for a few days then settle down. I am now concerned that every day will be groundhog day. But I am pleased to hear that at least your dog settle downs ... I hope more people will tell me theirs do too?

FollowupID: 573762

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 19:23

Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 19:23
Hi Michelle,

Ah the responsibilities of being a dog owner.

Now listen here, you think you have problems. Well my dog is a Border Collie male, who thinks he is number one. He's 20 months old and showing no signs of slowing down. Has reached grade 3 at obedience school, but that all goes out the window when he's off the lead and sees another person, or dog.

The only way I can restrain him is to place him on a length of chain. When we go to our friends place on the peninsula for a long weekend, I have a "run" made from a couple of star droppers linked by a length of stainless steel wire, which the chain can run along. The chain is so he can't chew through it, like he would a lead, or rope.
This gives the fella a reasonable area of "restricted" freedom to roam about, go to the toilet, sleep, etc. You don't have to watch him all the time. Our friends always ask us if we are bringing "Charlie" when we are going. They love him. Being on the beach front, he gets plenty of "off lead" exercise as well. He is also a great traveler in the vehicle, so no problems there.

I guess four weeks is a fair amount of time, but if you are staying in the one location it could work out OK. It would be good companionship for the kiddies too.
I think it is a matter of "containment" so you don't have to watch him constantly.

We take our dog on most "short term" excursions, but book him into the kennels when we head "bush".

Bill.

AnswerID: 307951

Follow Up By: Wizard1 - Friday, Jun 06, 2008 at 08:38

Friday, Jun 06, 2008 at 08:38
We have a genuine "off the farm roundin up real sheep" border collie. He was a bit of a hand ful until he was about 3 YO, ever since he's been fine.

Never been to obedience school but reacts to my whistle and is very well behaved. He still loves a good old play especially with kids in caravan parks and camp grounds.

He quite happily sits on the back seat but when we stop its straight to a stick, while the retreaver is looking for a bod of water and a swim.

Adults and kids alike gravitate toward them where ever we stay.

Wouldn't ever travel without them. As soon as the caravan is driven out they know and want to get in the car.

They can be a little inconvenient at times but we wouldn't have it any other way.
FollowupID: 573879

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 19:25

Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 19:25
No experience with Cavalier King Charles Spaniels but my advice would be to find a good boarding kennel. As a dog owner(german shep) i think that we fail to see the short falls of our beloved dish lickers whilst on the road. The kids will miss the puppy for all of 2 days and they will look forward to the re-union after the trip.
I know plenty of people travel with dogs but most are short sighted about the problems they cause both to the environment and other campers.
AnswerID: 307953

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 20:08

Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 20:08
What he said!!! ;-))
FollowupID: 573774

Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 21:13

Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 21:13
I,m sure to you and yours your little spaniel is just the cutest little thing when he,s chasing, chewing and generally having a great time. Just maybe the people camped next to you may have a slightly different opinion. Oh I am a dog owner too (Border Collie) but I wouldnt inflict her on others that might not think her high jinks are quite so cute.

Cheers Pop
FollowupID: 573788

Follow Up By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 21:58

Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 21:58
Hi Pop - yes, I agree with you on this point. Thankfully, this was not a well known spot till I mentioned it LOL and camping can be quite spread out (shhh no more details!). People with generators bothered us a little last time, so I am conscious of not being a hypocrite with an annoying dog. CKC don't tend to bark - but Harry does when we leave him, which I really don't intend on doing unless having him with us would cause him to be in danger. There is miles and miles of untamed beach for us to do our thing in relative isolation from others.

FollowupID: 573810

Follow Up By: Member - Jaap C (QLD) - Friday, Jun 06, 2008 at 11:27

Friday, Jun 06, 2008 at 11:27
If you wish to enjoy your trip then find a good kennel for the mutt

I did with our last dog and the new pup will also be going to the kennel as required

Jaap
FollowupID: 573910

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 19:30

Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 19:30

Take the dog, you will not regret it,the kids will enjoy taking it for walks ect, you will be surprised how it will adapt, might have to chain
it up on a running wire, eg long length of clothes line wire connected
to long tent pegs either end, and the dog chain, the dog can run up
and down the wire.

Daza

AnswerID: 307956

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 19:35

Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 19:35
Oops I just read Sand Mans reply, great minds think alike.

Daza
FollowupID: 573763

Follow Up By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 19:37

Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 19:37
Thanks - we had planned on that but still concerned he'll pull it out of the sand when we're out on the boat and bark too much when he can't see us. I guess it's just like taking another kid... with you all the time. Since our dog swims, do you think there is any reason to put a dog lifejacket on him if we put him on the boat? I thought I could tie him to the seat posts or rails. He'd be useless fishing I think but could be good for when we all just want to be on the water for a bit of sight seeing rather than leaving him behind? Maybe he'll fall alseep like Chardae does on the boat though - oh I'm really not sure about this!
Michelle,

FollowupID: 573765

Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 22:17

Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 22:17
The dog lifejacket makes them easier to retrieve back into the boat if they do happen to fall in, as they float higher & the jacket has a handle on the back.
FollowupID: 573818

Reply By: On Patrol - Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 19:32

Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 19:32
G'day Michelle
The first trip is always going to be the hardest, but pups are like kids, set the rules fair and firm.
Let the dog do what it wants to do "under supervision" and when it strays too far, chases a rabbit or whatever let it know in no uncertain terms that you are not pleased. Slowly allow it more freedom as it earns that "privilege" and in time, as long as you are consistent, it will learn.

As Stefan said his dog is stuffed in the head but she keeps within the rules now, as she matures. As for my dog she was born with a wise head on her shoulders, BUT we had a few encounters and problems at first but now it's a lot of fun to go camping with the kids, grand kids & fur kids.
Colin
AnswerID: 307958

Follow Up By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 22:01

Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 22:01
Thanks for your vote of confidence. Obviously I would like our dog to like what we do. He loves to be with us 24/7 - I just hope I can cope with him 24/7 away from home.

FollowupID: 573812

Reply By: The Geriatric Gypsies - Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 20:07

Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 20:07
goodday michelle
where do i start
Take the pup we have had our new pup for about 6 weeks ,our van is our home and not once has he messed in the van, we are currently in queensland for a few days then back to lightening ridge. our pup curls up and sleeps about every 2 hours we stop for a break he has a stretch and a pee and like yours he's the boss and lets us share his bed but he is no problem
we have a chain and he is becoming use to it during times when he has to stay on it , we also carry plenty treats and tell him hes a good boy even if hes playing up a bit but he is learning to come when called (for a traet although the little bugger found them in the car door this morning and helped himself
take him he is part of the family also

jmo
our pup will be going to innamincka
AnswerID: 307964

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 20:14

Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 20:14
Michelle, it's geat that your dog swims.

How handy will that be on your next trip to the Kimberley?

After all, you don't want to be testing the water for crocs with the kids !!

Unless they are really naughty of course.

AnswerID: 307970

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 20:16

Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 20:16
Kennel might be the go - from what I've seen and read, the smaller dogs are so easily lost in the bush. They can easily chase a critter and cover a lot of ground quite quickly. Some VKS737 members lost their Jack Russel on the Tanami track a few years back - just wandered off from the camp - they stayed extra time and searched for him - never found him. Station owners we met just south of the Alice in 05 bought a small dog for their kids - the dingoes finished him off in very short order...... and none of the above is the fault of the dogs :-o) !
AnswerID: 307971

Follow Up By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 22:14

Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 22:14
Oh I couldn't put him in a kennel - I think he'd die of loneliness. Thankfully there is another option with a family that have already taken him for 3 nights. They have said that they'll have him but we may not get him back! The risk factor is certainly realistic tho - imagine loosing your dog on a trip! That could be traumatic!

FollowupID: 573816

Reply By: Steve - Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 20:22

Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 20:22
David/Michelle,

Try a Jack Russell. It's like they're on steroids and Ice/Ecstacy or whatever those weird kids get on these days. He's now 4 and I think those first few times have just got to be gone through. Not that it's that bad, you just need to train yourselves and dog. It'll take a few trips, never mind a few days to settle him down but you'll get there. Trouble is, we can't leave home without him now, he loves camping so much - the wife and kids would just keep on about him if we left him behind - but there's no chance of that. If he doesn't go, I don't go - and I was the one who didn't want a dog because of the restrictions. National Parks can wait. It's also amazing how many places you find to go that you never bothered to look for before and you meet some great people that your doggy will introduce you to. A nw dimension to your trips. Good luck and enjoy.
AnswerID: 307974

Follow Up By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 21:37

Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 21:37
Funny that, My Kelpie is on all the drugs you listed and is 3. My 1 year old Jack Russell is like a 12 yo dog...SO quiet and well behaved???? Go figure hey???

Stefan
FollowupID: 573803

Reply By: oz doc - Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 20:33

Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 20:33
Hi David and Michelle, I guess you won't know how much of a disaster your dog might be until you get there. How about a compromise? Take the dog and if he does turn out a right royal nutter - then consider putting him into the kennel at Exmouth. Not exactly a convenient plan but better than cancelling the trip if he is really bad, and no worse than leaving him behind in Perth. Also I strongly recommend you buy a book called "The Dog Listener" by Jan Fennel. She is to dogs what the "horse whisperer" is to horses. This book will give you a great insight into raising a dog . It is an easy read- not filled with jargon or difficult concepts. Once you have read it you will have a new understanding of your dogs behaviour and have a much better relationship with him.You will also learn how to avoid causing behaviour problems and the basis of how to deal with them when they arise. Another thing to consider - you can buy a dog tether device which looks like a giant corkscrew. It screws into the ground easily but in most terrain is very difficult for the dog to pull out. It has a ring on top which you attach his lead to and he can run around in a circle without tangling. Quite cheap to buy and won't take up much room. Don't know how it will go in really soft sand, but for most other ground it will work a treat. Happy holidays!
AnswerID: 307977

Follow Up By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 22:15

Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 22:15
OK thanks, I'll follow up on that book. Do you know if there is a kennel in Exmouth? I guess that is a good fallback.

FollowupID: 573817

Follow Up By: oz doc - Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 23:46

Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 23:46
David and Michelle, I did a quick google and found a kennel listed for Exmouth. Obviously if you were wanting to take the dog and use the kennel as a back up you would be best to call them and make sure that they are not booked out and what requirements they have for boarding a dog. In my experience the CKCS is a very resilient family oriented pet and with the correct upbringing he should be a good candidate to take camping. As other people have commented -the sooner you get him used to travel the better. However it is always nice to have a back up plan. Also - be warned - this breed (as with many others) can suffer the "small dog syndrome"- and quickly turn into the spoiled brat. This is where the book comes in. It will set you off on the right foot and have you well prepared to deal with problems early on.
FollowupID: 573853

Reply By: Mike Harding - Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 20:44

Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 20:44
To my great sadness I had my 12 year old Cavalier King Charles Spaniel (Digi Dog) put to sleep around two years ago - she was an old lady and her time was nigh so it was a kindness but I still regret not doing it myself - didn't have the fortitude I'm afraid. Took a long time to handle the grief – no different to a close friend dying.

Cavs are very special dogs, they are family members and should be taken with the family on all occasions, if you don’t wish to do that don’t take on the responsibility of a Cav – or, probably, any dog.

Like all puppies he’ll grow out of chewing in good time and, of course, he’ll chase everything, he’s a puppy! That’s what they do :)

Take him with you.

AnswerID: 307978

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 21:02

Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 21:02
Utter Bollocks.....................get a life.
FollowupID: 573783

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 21:04

Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 21:04
Wow! So much anger.
FollowupID: 573785

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 22:08

Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 22:08
"Utter Bollocks.....................get a life"

Hi Brew69, obviously you have never had a dog that has become part of the family, we had to put our 11yo Kelpie/ Collie down on the 31st of March and it still hurts. Before you tell me to go and get a life I can assure you there is not enough time in the day for us to do all the things we want to do, we are definitely not sitting on the front veranda waiting for the kids to come and visit LOL.

D

Simba, our much missed baby.

FollowupID: 573813

Follow Up By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 22:19

Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 22:19
So sorry to hear that Mark. I take on your comments with interest as I know you know you like the type of camp experience we do, and since you know first-hand what this breed is like, I'm listening!

FollowupID: 573820

Reply By: Member - Nev (TAS) - Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 20:49

Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 20:49
Hi there,
Take the dog and spend the time to make him feel wanted but show him who is the boss. I take my Border Collie/Springer cross everywhere and he has an IQ of zero. Bloody thing is a mental case. However as soon as the boat trailer hits the car it changes. It sits in the boat (tinnie) all day and is great company. I have a water and food container on board under a sun cover for him but he seems to spend most of his time sleeping on the seat cushions or just watching. If I ever have to tie him up I tie him to the car so he can get underneath if needed and is a great deterrent. He actually ran off the first time out and when he got back I tied him up for the day so he could see us fishing and crikey he put on a scene. Never done it since. Mind you we have done dog training classes which has helped us, but I am not sure of him.
My kids would slit my throat if he wasn't part of the crew. We also allocate chores like feeding and walking the dog etc so everyone shares the load.

Everyone have fun!!!
AnswerID: 307982

Follow Up By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 22:21

Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 22:21
Ok - now I'm feeling a little more convinced :-) Thanks,
Michelle

FollowupID: 573822

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 21:12

Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 21:12
The quicker you get the dog used to doing the things you want to do and doing them the way you want them done, the quicker you will have a well rounded dog suited to your lifestyle. Take the dog everywhere you want to take it (not N.P of course hehehe) but like other "responsible" owners, just respect not everyone likes dogs and that is their perogative to have a dog free camp.

Enjoy your trip up nth, with the "whole" family.
Regards, Trevor.
AnswerID: 307994

Reply By: Bap - Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 21:49

Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 21:49
Hi Michelle
we camp at Sth Lefroy, Ningaloo as often as we can and I have to say, as much as I like dogs, it would be very annoying to have a dog barking all day (if you were out in the boat and left it on the beach). We go there for the peace and to escape the "rat race". If we want to hear dogs bark all day, we would stay home!
Also, it you do take him, please make sure he doesn't defecate all over the beach. We had some neighbours up there last time that let their dog poo wherever he wanted. With kids playing on the beach this is pretty disgusting. If you are considerate to other campers, I guess he won't be a problem.
Michelle
AnswerID: 308005

Follow Up By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 22:30

Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 22:30
No worries about that! I hope it goes without saying that we would never think of doing anything inconsiderate to our camping neighbours. By the way we have 4 yr old and 7 year old girls and our friends have 2 kids same age also so it's certainly all about the kids and their safety, and happiness! Actually, one of the reasons we chose this breed is that are renowed for not barking - he doesn't even raise a hair when the door bell goes.

FollowupID: 573825

Follow Up By: Bap - Friday, Jun 06, 2008 at 00:44

Friday, Jun 06, 2008 at 00:44
Just remembered something else! You will not be able to go up past Yardie Creek Gorge as it is national park. Can't even travel through without stopping, as I heard someone tried to do and got fined.
May also want to check with the station owners regarding their thoughts on dogs in the area.
FollowupID: 573855

Reply By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 22:02

Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 22:02
Well, good luck what ever you do Michelle!!!

We took our 12 month old staffie camping for 4 days last yr...the prob was in the car....had a towel for her in the back to lay on but she thought the waeco was much more comfy...plus if we knew she would do that we wouldnt have totally re-arranged the entire back set up to fit her in.

Take the pup and a bottle of wine!!LOL!!

Laura
AnswerID: 308009

Reply By: Wayne's 60 - Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 22:10

Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 22:10
Hi David and Michelle,

While some of the previous respondents have, IMO, skirted the issue…………… we won’t.

Please don’t take the dog.

DEC regulations don’t allow any canine………….. big……..small………. or otherwise ………into National Parks, Nature Reserves or Conservation areas.

You will miss out on (legal) access to a large number of areas because you have the dog in your vehicle.

There is a very real threat that your dog will pick up a 1080 bait and by accounts we’ve heard……….. it is not pleasant death. The dog grave at Victoria Rock and a recent post on EO, bear testament to that.

On the other side of the coin……………….

We have along the Holland Track with a small dog in tow, muzzled and on a lead.
It is an area that is baited and there was concern about the dog’s safety.

At the end of the day it will be your call.

We wish you well in making the right decision.

Wayne & Sally.
AnswerID: 308012

Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 22:20

Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 22:20
They are obviously not going to a NP.
FollowupID: 573821

Follow Up By: equinox - Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 22:26

Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 22:26
Hi Wayne and Sally,

When you went along the Holland Track with your dog, what did you do when you had to cross Jilbadji Nature Reserve, Goldfields Woodlands Conservation Park and Kangaroo Hills Reserve?

You have already stated you can't take dogs into those areas.

You can't have it both ways.

Ps- my last dog died of 1080 in my lap, it certainly is not a pleasent death.

FollowupID: 573824

Follow Up By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 22:38

Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 22:38
Hi Wayne & Sally,
Thank you for commenting. I'm happy to hear both sides - particuarly from this forum it gives me a good gauge of the situation from all angles and that was the point of the exercise. I suspect you are unfamiliar with the place I mentioned - it is private property and dog friendly and I have called to let them know about our intentions. We've also been there previously so know exactly what to expect. This is not a touring trip and we'll be there with just 2 overnight stays along the way so that side of things is all covered and ok.

FollowupID: 573829

Reply By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 22:25

Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 22:25
Hi Michelle, I don't know too much about Cavs but there is something about any dog and when one becomes part of the family well that's just what they are. We had a Kelpie/ Collie cross and she was one who let us live in her kennel, she let us sleep in her bed in fact she was always there for us but unfortunately now she has gone and we no longer have her company so take your dog, train him now so that in the future you will not have to hesitate before taking him on the family holiday, you and the kids won't regret it.

D

AnswerID: 308015

Follow Up By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 22:32

Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 22:32
Thanks, and may I say what a gorgeous looking creature your Simbo was.

FollowupID: 573828

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Friday, Jun 06, 2008 at 11:30

Friday, Jun 06, 2008 at 11:30
Thanks Michelle, yes Simba was a gorgeous dog and she had such a lovely nature to go with it, she was also a very clever dog, I always said that she knew what we were going to do befrore we did. It has been 2 1/2 months since she went but I still have tears when I think of her. Thet do become so much part of the family and I can tell you that when ever we went away and left her behind we always tried to get back early for her. Simba was our fith child

FollowupID: 573911

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Friday, Jun 06, 2008 at 11:31

Friday, Jun 06, 2008 at 11:31
Oops sorry hit the wrong button before signing off.

D

FollowupID: 573912

Reply By: Top End Explorer Tours - Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 23:00

Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 23:00
Hey Dave and Michelle.

It's great to own a dog and consider it part of the family, we have just saved a dog from town camp and change her life.

But the travelling we do, I can't think of a reason why she can come with us, this being said she will be well looked after by my sister and her 2 girls.

The only dogs that I believe should travel with their owners are seeing eye dogs, hearing dogs or as I told Doug T that Dusty could be properly classified as a companion dog.

A dog as a pet IMOA is not for travelling, we love Josie but she will not travel with us, some may say you should take them everywhere but when we travel to Europe next year she definitely wont be able to go there, so where do you draw the line.

Cheers Steve.
AnswerID: 308023

Reply By: disco driver - Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 23:25

Thursday, Jun 05, 2008 at 23:25
Hi David & Michelle,
Without wanting to be too much of a "wet blanket" I hope that you are aware that a lot of the area, particularly inland, is often baited with 1080 for fox control.
Anywhere there are turtles you can bet that 1080 is around to protect the littlies from fox depredation.

Take your pup but make sure that you have a muzzle that works and use it whenever you have any doubts about his safety.

There may not be a lot of signage if the baits have been airdropped. (Legal requirement is on the landholder, he has to notify neighbours and place signs at property entries and on gates of baited paddocks (which may be as big as 1000ha).

Hope you have a fab time in that area.

Disco.

AnswerID: 308025

Reply By: ExplorOz Team - Kerry W (QLD) - Friday, Jun 06, 2008 at 00:44

Friday, Jun 06, 2008 at 00:44
Hi Michelle,
Thought Id put my thoughts in as well.
I'd take the dog,
You are its mum and the kids are the rest of its pack.
(Oh and David will be the Top Dog so the dog would be happy if David didnt go - but I cant see that happening - unless there are some good k ... nah.... better not go there..)
Ha!
Make a deal with the kids that the only way the dog comes on the trip if if they take turns to help you keep any eye on him. Honestly they will love that responsibility and they will be so eager make sure the dog goes too.
Give the dog some free reign but always have some yummy food to reward him every time he comes when you call.

He will be extra work but so is having 2 kids. (well this will be 3)

He will distract the kids and the kids will distract him so it will be a win win for you- Plus it will create a good bond with all concerned.

Mad as they are at that age they dont stray too far from you but if you and the girls make sure he is as safe as all the other members of the family (without stressing yourselves out) he will settle down fast.

I have traveled with dogs since I was a kid. having downsized to a toy Poodle and a Maltese (from German Shepherds) the poodle goes everywhere (except national Parks) and if we are away for a week where he cant go, he stays with someone he knows real well.(Oldest daughter or my Mum and Dad)
The Maltese well she's my eldest daughters dog and .. well shes not quite like the other dogs....

Kerry W (Qld)
Security is mostly a superstition. It doesnt exist in nature. Life is either a daring adventure or nothing.
-Helen Keller

AnswerID: 308032

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Jun 07, 2008 at 12:00

Saturday, Jun 07, 2008 at 12:00
I can still see Michelle sending David in to check the croc infested water crossing ahead of the dog Kerry!

FollowupID: 574173

Reply By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Friday, Jun 06, 2008 at 01:22

Friday, Jun 06, 2008 at 01:22
G'day David & Michelle

I would take the dog with you Michelle, she might be a pain for the first day or two , but after that she will more than likely adapt...we take our dog everywhere with us , have done since she was a pup, she is 11 yrs old now and still acts like a little puppy some times......

Cheers.......Borgy

AnswerID: 308036

Follow Up By: Boobook2 - Saturday, Jun 07, 2008 at 06:42

Saturday, Jun 07, 2008 at 06:42
That is bloody dangerous and will cause an "accident" one day. Could be a fatal one on a highway like in the photo.
FollowupID: 574135

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Saturday, Jun 07, 2008 at 07:14

Saturday, Jun 07, 2008 at 07:14
yeh, everyone knows that is where you suppose to mount your UHF/HF and in-car navigation systems....sheez.

FollowupID: 574138

Follow Up By: Boobook2 - Saturday, Jun 07, 2008 at 07:56

Saturday, Jun 07, 2008 at 07:56
Except UHF and GPS's that move or can get a fright.

It is a very stupid thing to do....sheez
FollowupID: 574142

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Saturday, Jun 07, 2008 at 11:57

Saturday, Jun 07, 2008 at 11:57
Hey BOOBOO

I dont appreciate you telling my dog she is stupid!!
FollowupID: 574172

Reply By: Ray - Friday, Jun 06, 2008 at 08:28

Friday, Jun 06, 2008 at 08:28
Hi Best bet is to leave the kids at home and take the dog
AnswerID: 308058

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Friday, Jun 06, 2008 at 09:25

Friday, Jun 06, 2008 at 09:25
ROFLMAO!!! we often used to say "I would prefer to camp near camps with dogs than kids" but that was before we had kids of our own hehehehe.

Trevor.
FollowupID: 573887

Follow Up By: Shaker - Friday, Jun 06, 2008 at 09:49

Friday, Jun 06, 2008 at 09:49
Sad, but true!
We have been annoyed far more by kids than dogs, particularly kids on mini-bikes.
FollowupID: 573894

Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Friday, Jun 06, 2008 at 11:17

Friday, Jun 06, 2008 at 11:17
We have two kids (6 and 2) but I agree that some kids are a nightmare and the parents are usually oblivious to it all. Running through other peoples camps tripping over guy ropes and pulling tent pegs out and kicking up sand. Or kicking footballs or playing cricket well within range of my vehicle windows. Very unrelaxing...
FollowupID: 573909

Follow Up By: gvn - Wednesday, Jun 11, 2008 at 20:52

Wednesday, Jun 11, 2008 at 20:52
or feral/unparented children who teach your darling girls all sorts of new words?! yes, the dog sounds MUCH easier. You can feed it just once a day and it won't whine about being hungry 215 times a day....:)
FollowupID: 575333

Reply By: Ozboc - Friday, Jun 06, 2008 at 08:32

Friday, Jun 06, 2008 at 08:32
Wont help you now David , but this will hopefully help others.

I have recently also got a dog for the kids , and as a camping companion. i was also exploring the Puppy option , but as i have done this in the past and ended up with a dog that would just do exactly as you describe , always run off - dig ,chew everything and would not travel well , NO MATTER HOW MUCH TRAINING WAS DONE.

I am now a strong advocate of getting Rescue dogs ( dogs on death row ) long before i even look for a pet in a pet store. With these animals you actually get a few weeks of test driving the animal , if he does not fit into your family - you return him for a full refund OR change for another

This is the dog that we have adopted petrescue click here He has obviously had previous training - already desexed , fetches ball listens to commands - travels well in the car as he is happy to sit at the kids feet for hours at a time and does not try to jump around the cabin

Getting a rescue dog also makes you feel all warm and fuzzy inside as you know you have just saved a dog from imminent death where as a dog in a pet shop will eventually be sold and not killed

so people please consider this option first - sure you may not get a 3 month old puppy thats all cute - but someone has already done all the hard work and you get a dog that fits into the family almost instantly without all the headache

Boc
AnswerID: 308060

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Jun 07, 2008 at 12:04

Saturday, Jun 07, 2008 at 12:04
Right behind you Boc, we got a death row dog for Imogen, a kelpie cross (Oh My wont she need lots of exercise or she'll get bored and trash the back yard??)

She is THE best behaved thing in the household, no puppy magic, with towels torn off the line or chewing biting and housetraining just a pleasure. Heartily recommend it

FollowupID: 574174

Reply By: Drew - Karratha - Friday, Jun 06, 2008 at 10:33

Friday, Jun 06, 2008 at 10:33
Hi Michelle
I camp at Ningaloo once per year and have done so for the past 20 odd years. We camp just behind the homestead but due to the changes in the Sanctuary zones will probably start staying at South Lefroy Bay. I have a 11yr old German Shepherd that comes with us every time we go there. She is a different dog when she is at Ningaloo - she absolutely loves it!! During the day when we are in camp she is free to run around and do as she pleases - she soon learnt how far she was allowed to roam from camp, and when we are out in the boat, or at night she is tied up (and usually sleeps because she has worn herself out).
I would suggest to take him - the owners of the station are happy for people to take dogs there as long as they arent causing any trouble to other people or their livestock.
Have fun (wish I was going this year but due to baby number 1 (and fuel prices) will probably have to give this year a miss.....)
Drew
AnswerID: 308097

Reply By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Friday, Jun 06, 2008 at 11:09

Friday, Jun 06, 2008 at 11:09
Hi Michelle,

Some people have talked about dogs adjusting to travelling after a few days or a couple of trips, but a crazy dog (like ours) will not change his nature. He will still want to bark and jump up on people and lick them to death, chase wildlife etc. I would be loath to inflict our dog’s behaviour on others.

Also in these excitable situations he doesn’t obey the wife or kids so it falls on me to keep him in line. Selfishly, I don’t want to be on ‘dog duty’ 24hrs a day when I want to relax on my well-earned and infrequent holidays.

I enjoy observing wildlife, so a dog that barks and chases things will put an end to that. At night he would be sure to wake everyone barking at possums, bandicoots etc.

I am not opposed to dogs camping. Last week I took my son (6yo) camping and there was a very well behaved terrier with some fellow campers. We all got on and had a great time.

AnswerID: 308103

Reply By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) - Friday, Jun 06, 2008 at 14:25

Friday, Jun 06, 2008 at 14:25
Three of the most important things about having a good strong happy relationship with you canine is...

1) Let a puppy be a puppy for at least 6 months.

2) Let a canine be a canine and don't try and convert it to a human.

3) Set up a strong pack order early ensuring the humans who have a lot of contact with the canine comes first, part of a strong pack order is also letting the canine sleep in side the house...not out side and giving it food after everyone else in your family has eaten.

DO NOT take the puppy out or socialise with other canines for about 1 month after the final vaccination.

Don't play to rough with it and only allow 15 per day physical activities a day (throwing a tennis ball, running, playing fetch.) for the first 6 months.

Allow the canine to have a special area where it can go and not be disturbed for time out.

Don't smack or yell at it if it does something wrong....growl or put you hand over it's muzzle firmly for 5 seconds, don't punish it after it has done something wrong you have to catch it in the act and if it has done something wrong don't call it over to punish it; you go over to it.

Set an morning and evening feed time.

If taking it for walks always have the canine walk a little behind you not way out in front.

You give the canine attention when you want to not when they want to.

Start at an early age taking food away from them and then giving it back to them.

Use food for most training (sit, stay, drop, come...etc.)

Cavalier King Charles spaniels are a very strong minded canine and has a tendency to be dominating if given the chance.

Make the canine user friendly and you will have many happy years together and remember let it be a canine.

Regards Richard

AnswerID: 308134

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Friday, Jun 06, 2008 at 17:33

Friday, Jun 06, 2008 at 17:33
>remember let it be a canine.

As was the rest of your post... very good advice.

FollowupID: 573976

Follow Up By: ExplorOz - Wednesday, Jun 11, 2008 at 00:24

Wednesday, Jun 11, 2008 at 00:24
Gee - I think I've already failed on a few counts there, but I do see the gist. I grew up in a family with German Shepherds - had 3 in total so I'm not new to dogs, just little dogs, and the responsibility of owning a puppy and being the alpha family member. Thanks and hey - Happy Birthday :-)

Michelle
ExplorOz

Business Member
My Profile  My Blog

FollowupID: 575171

Reply By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Saturday, Jun 07, 2008 at 02:09

Saturday, Jun 07, 2008 at 02:09
Just wanted to say a huge thanks to everyone for your amazing responses. the overwhelming positive response actually surprised me so I've been convinced - he's coming!

AnswerID: 308278

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Saturday, Jun 07, 2008 at 06:16

Saturday, Jun 07, 2008 at 06:16
Good decision IMHO.

We find our dog adds so much to our camping trips.

We take her camping with us for the same reason we have her at home; we like her company.

FollowupID: 574133

Reply By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) - Saturday, Jun 07, 2008 at 11:36

Saturday, Jun 07, 2008 at 11:36
Four quick things..

1) Get your canine use to boarding kennels, it's sometimes nice to have a break for both of yous. We have a friend who can not leave his canine anywhere unless it's at home or with his father..bad mistake.

2) Get it use to eating other brands of pet food, makes it a lot easier when put into boarding or someone else has to look after it.

3) Use good quality pet food like Eukanuba, Royal Canin, Hills Science Diet etc. Expect to pay between $50.00 to $120.00 a bag...(depending on bag size and breed) do not use the cheap supermarket brands like Pedigree and DO NOT USE canned pet food. The friend I mentioned above feeds his dog on the BARF diet...very expensive in money and time with no added benefits..anyway his canine will not eat anything else.

We have some friends who have 2 German Shepard's and they were spending about $100.00 per week on cheap pet food, we introduced then to a good brand $120.00 a bag pet food we use and they saved about $50.00 a week and there canines health and coats improved.

Dry food is better then wet.

AnswerID: 308317

Follow Up By: ExplorOz - Wednesday, Jun 11, 2008 at 00:28

Wednesday, Jun 11, 2008 at 00:28
Hi Olcoolone - happy birthday, and thanks for your reply. As opposed to your earlier reply I can say I've got 3 of your 4 in this list covered. He already eats Eukanuba and I only feed dry food, with the odd chicken neck as a treat. He has already been farmed out to 2 different families that have volunteered to take him for us when we've been on weekend trips to non-dog friendly places and he seems to adjust very well but I tried to avoid kennels, can't really say why. As we have no family in this state, we always have babysitting issues so training our dog to be with us is our aim. Great to get tips from other experienced doggy campers. Thanks for your input. Will keep you in mind for future doggy chats.

Michelle
ExplorOz

Business Member
My Profile  My Blog

FollowupID: 575174

Follow Up By: gvn - Wednesday, Jun 11, 2008 at 21:22

Wednesday, Jun 11, 2008 at 21:22
I don't know if "let your canine be a canine" and "only feed it dry dog food" go together. I only use dry food when I'm lazy. And will you be shocked that i throw it on the grass for them? Slows them down i think, one of my dogs would swallow a chicken whole if she thought it would mean more food. "let it sleep inside" ? said by the person who does NOT mop the floors LOL!! no, canines aren't humans and therefore don't need to sleep indoors on my couch.

We took our Lab to Fraser all the time when I was growing up (yes, it was legal back then!). It was lovely, lying around the campfire together. But Labs are lazy and content to sit rather than chase things.

half of that list of dos and don'ts could easily be converted to deal with human children! :)
FollowupID: 575355

Reply By: Members-Neil & Margie-Cairns - Tuesday, Jun 10, 2008 at 21:42

Tuesday, Jun 10, 2008 at 21:42
G'day David ,, as a puppy now is the time to start taking him so as he will start to learn ,, we have a 12 year old Cav ,, he has been coming with us all the time , is a bit trying at first , but they do learn ,, we just won't leave him , he is part of the family ,, it does mean some places are out ,, but ya get that !!

All the best ,, Neil ..Image Could Not Be Found

AnswerID: 309116

Follow Up By: ExplorOz - Wednesday, Jun 11, 2008 at 00:31

Wednesday, Jun 11, 2008 at 00:31
Thanks for the pic Neil - I rarely see a Cav at our dog beach? Most probably stay on the couch! Can I ask if you use a crate or pen when camping?

Thanks, Michelle
PS and your cav is beautiful. Love those ears!
ExplorOz

Business Member
My Profile  My Blog

FollowupID: 575175

Follow Up By: Members-Neil & Margie-Cairns - Wednesday, Jun 11, 2008 at 20:02

Wednesday, Jun 11, 2008 at 20:02
G'day Michelle ,, he has learnt from a puppy how to just sit and look out the window ,, or just claim a seat and sleep ,, we have never put him in any sort of crate ,, don't think he would've handled that ,, he knows he in not aloud in the drivers area ,, so its all good ,, I know he should be harnessed in ,, but he's been everywhere with us , so he knows to just sit and behave !!

All the best ,, Neil ..Image Could Not Be Found

FollowupID: 575309