Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
You have 4 items in your shopping cart
Section Image

Disappointed with Stratos Seating..............

Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 13:01

Sir Kev & Darkie

I ordered a Stratos Suspension seat (This one) on the 29th of May c/w air lumber and forward tilt, to fit into Darkie to replace the standard driver seat. When I ordered it I was told that it would take 2.5 weeks max to get it supplied from Stratos.
I was hoping to have it before the trip to Innamincka next week. How silly am I??
I have been told today that it will be at least another 1 - 2 weeks before they can supply it. WTF it has been nearly 6 weeks now.

I hope the seat will live up to the reputation of being very good. If I had to buy it myself (this one is being paid for by DVA) I would buy a second hand one as it would have to be quicker than waiting for a new on to be supplied from Stratos.

Rant over

The Pyrenees
Click Image to Enlarge
I am NOW living in Chinchilla, the Australian Melon Capital ;)
Lifetime Member: My Profile  My Blog  Send Message
Advertisement
ThreadID: 59400 Replies: 8
Views: 1286 FollowUps: 21
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 313249   Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 13:07

Wizard1 replied:

How did you get DVA to pay for it?

Happy to communicate by email.
Reply 1 of 8
FollowupID: 579284   Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 13:22

Matt(WA) posted:

Wizard,
Got mine through DVA to. I had a assessment done on my house and car for my accepted condition and they went from there, told them what I wanted and they did the research and said yes. Email is mattbrook@pgsr.com.au

Matt

Click Image to Enlarge
Ok I'll go first
Lifetime Member: My Profile  Send Message
FollowUp 1 of 2
FollowupID: 579285   Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 13:23

Sir Kev & Darkie posted:

Most people know about it already ;)

Due to have a stuffed back and having it accepted by DVA, I requested that I have an assessment done by an occupational Therapist.
The OT recommended that I get a replacement seat for both the car and the office.
From there they sought approval from DVA for the supply of the seats. Once the approval was granted by DVA they contacted the relevant companies and me to organise the supply and fit of the car seat. The invoice for the seat is sent directly to DVA for payment.

The Pyrenees
Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 2 of 2
AnswerID: 313253   Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 13:21

Matt(WA) replied:

Mate,
Mine took about 2-3 months to get here. They are worth the wait!!!
And that was through a OL Dealership.
Matt

Click Image to Enlarge
Ok I'll go first
Reply 2 of 8
FollowupID: 579286   Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 13:26

Sir Kev & Darkie posted:

I know it just schites me when they don't supply within the time frame they give you.
I could have gotten 2 never used ones with the wrong bases for $750 each of E Bay last week but the seller wouldn't freight them :(

The Pyrenees
Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 1 of 3
FollowupID: 579287   Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 13:27

Sir Kev & Darkie posted:

I have also just rang around the dealers within 200km of here to see if they have one in stock but no joy :(
The Pyrenees
Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 2 of 3
FollowupID: 579341   Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 17:35

Member - Roachie (SA) posted:

Matt,

Could I ask you whether this type of suspension seat affects the amount of legroom for the person sitting behind the driver? Also, is there any space under the seat for the back seat passenger's feet to fit?

I've wanted one of these seats for a while now, but cannot take away any legroon from my 3 growing boys who have to "live" in the back for hours on end....

Thanks in advance,

Click Image to Enlarge
There's only one thing more painful than learning from experience and that is NOT learning from experience!
FollowUp 3 of 3
AnswerID: 313262   Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 13:59

Member -Signman replied:

Geez- ya getting the thing for nothing & ya still whinging !!

The Ultimate Hitch-hiker
Click Image to Enlarge
Each morning I seize the day...
but by mid afternoon it has escaped!
Signman- NSW
VKS737 M3364 Selcall3364
Amateur Callsign: VK2EZY
Reply 3 of 8
FollowupID: 579298   Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 14:00

Sir Kev & Darkie posted:

So 13 years of serving my nation and being disabled due to it, is for nothing then............ Get a grip
The Pyrenees
Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 1 of 8
FollowupID: 579301   Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 14:06

Member -Signman posted:

Been there- done that..but only 12 years !!

The Ultimate Hitch-hiker
Click Image to Enlarge
Signman- NSW
VKS737 M3364 Selcall3364
FollowUp 2 of 8
FollowupID: 579303   Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 14:07

Sir Kev & Darkie posted:

So why comment then??

The Pyrenees
Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 3 of 8
FollowupID: 579310   Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 15:04

Wizard1 posted:

Done more than both you blokes combined and still hanging in there after 28 years.

Waiting for a few new service conditions to kick in before pulling the pin that will make life easier once out.

FollowUp 4 of 8
FollowupID: 579311   Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 15:07

Sir Kev & Darkie posted:

If they didn't give me the boot I would still be there. I loved my time in the Army.

The Pyrenees
Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 5 of 8
FollowupID: 579314   Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 15:19

Member -Signman posted:

Hi Wizard..
I'd been in and out before you even started..
Marched into Portsea OCS Dec. 64- and packed the kitbag Nov. 76.
Walked out with my DFRB payment, and have no intentions of claiming any Service benefits, even after 2 stints in SE Asia..

The Ultimate Hitch-hiker
Click Image to Enlarge
Signman- NSW
VKS737 M3364 Selcall3364
FollowUp 6 of 8
FollowupID: 579349   Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 18:15

stefan P (Penrith NSW) posted:

does being a member of the APS count as serving my nation??
getting her toes wet...was a hot day :)
Click Image to Enlarge
aussie day fun
FollowUp 7 of 8
FollowupID: 579390   Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 20:54

Matt(WA) posted:

Dont think your comment is really valid Signman. Its great that your not claiming any benefits. I have only claimed what I have been entitled to. I lost my job after 10.5 years in the Navy. I didnt want to leave. I now cant play any of the sports I used to play and have had to swap from being a hands on tradie to a manager. So good on you mate but I didnt ask to get pensioned off and some of these little things they give us help to enjoy some of the thing that I used to be able to, like accually drive a car! Just my two cents worth. Have a nice day.

Matt

Click Image to Enlarge
Ok I'll go first
FollowUp 8 of 8
AnswerID: 313265   Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 14:31

Isuzumu replied:

Hope it does not stuff up your trip mate....we are currently in Thargomindah, all going great so far....waiting for Trevor to catch up, he may not get away till tomorrow.
Fuel price in Thargo today Thargo Motors (Toyota Dealer) was 192.9 and Shell 195.1 and the caravan park has free wireless internet and Annie just said $2 to do the washing.

Cheers Bruce

Click Image to Enlarge
Cheers Bruce
Reply 4 of 8
FollowupID: 579307   Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 14:33

Sir Kev & Darkie posted:

I will probably fuel up in Thargo this time next week.

I will just have to use the back brace and lumber cushion again. As well as have a supply of medications for when I arrive as I don't like driving whilst on some of the medications I have.

See ya there
The Pyrenees
Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 1 of 2
FollowupID: 579348   Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 18:13

stefan P (Penrith NSW) posted:

"as I don't like driving whilst on some of the medications I have."

Don't blame ya mate.....they make you do silly things like support QLD! :):):)

getting her toes wet...was a hot day :)
Click Image to Enlarge
aussie day fun
FollowUp 2 of 2
Activities Index
Relaxation Massage Relaxation Massage
Sydney - NSW
We understand the pressures of everyday life and the importance of relaxation.
Tandem Skydive Over Coffs Harbour Tandem Skydive Over Coffs Harbour
Coffs / Mid North - NSW
Skydive and experience up to 50 seconds of free-fall time over one of the most picturesque locations
Flight Simulator Experience at Q1 Flight Simulator Experience at Q1
Gold Coast - QLD
Have you ever wondered what it's like to fly a commercial aircraft or tired of flying as a passenger
V8 Race Buggy and WRX Rally Car - 32 Lap Combo V8 Race Buggy and WRX Rally Car - 32 Lap Comb
Gold Coast - QLD
The ultimate in dirt driving!
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 313287   Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 17:04

Member - T N (Qld) replied:

Kev
alway's remember the grunt's motto,

Up the Old Red Rooster and More Pi$$.
Reply 5 of 8
FollowupID: 579444   Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 08:48

brushmarx posted:

Hey, TN(Qld)
Mate, get your facts right.
That's the 21 Construction (Engineers) motto, nothing to do with mindless grunts.
Looking up a windmills skirt
Click Image to Enlarge
I wish I could get lost more often. At least it would mean I've gone somewhere different.
FollowUp 1 of 4
FollowupID: 579451   Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 10:34

Sir Kev & Darkie posted:

21 Const Sqn at that and not the 21 Const Regt (Reserve Unit).

I spent a few good years with the Red Rooster.
The Pyrenees
Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 2 of 4
FollowupID: 579471   Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 12:56

Dasher Des posted:

Was the 21st Construction Co. the one based at Holsworthy. Spent 18 months there in 71/72 and it was absorbed into 1 Field Reg back then. Gezz we had some good times. and some crap ones too I might add.
FollowUp 3 of 4
FollowupID: 579477   Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 13:18

Sir Kev & Darkie posted:

I think it was 17 Const Sqn (a little bear will fix it) that was part of 1 Field Regt which is now 1 Combat Engineer Regiment in Darwin. 17 Const Sqn is a stand alone unit still based in the same old lines at Holsworthy. I was posted to 17 Const Sqn for 8 years.

21 Const Sqn were based at Pucka and have moved to Enoggera (Brisbane).

Both 21 and 17 Const Sqn are the main Army units that have been rebuilding Aboriginal communities throughout Aust as well as providing support to OS deployments.

The Pyrenees
Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 4 of 4
AnswerID: 313292   Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 17:41

Member - barry F (NSW) replied:

Sorry to hear it hasn't been delivered Kev as I know you were particuarly keen to have it fitted prior to the Innaminka trip. Let's hope it lives up to your expectations when it finaly arrives & makes driving that much more comfortable for you. Cheers.
Reply 6 of 8
AnswerID: 313351   Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 21:24

S&N replied:

just wondering why that particular model? we are looking at the;
http://www.stratos.com.au/products/4x4/
the 3000 LTSS which is the "4X4" seat not a "light commercial" seat. is it better? i know the LTSS has good side support so when you are off road you dont slip and slide around in the seat, what made you choose your one???
Reply 7 of 8
FollowupID: 579453   Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 10:41

Sir Kev & Darkie posted:

From what I have found the 3000 LTSS is the same as the Light Truck version as it is offered in both the 4x4 and Light Truck variants.
I just ordered an LTSS seat to suit the vehicle.

The Pyrenees
Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 315532   Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 23:20

S&N replied:

have you heard anything on your seats yet?
Reply 8 of 8
FollowupID: 581732   Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 08:26

Sir Kev & Darkie posted:

Still waiting and waiting and waiting.

Stratos wont even reply via phone or email to discuss.

The Pyrenees
Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 1 of 1

Page Sponsors

WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd Premium Listing
Portable refrigeration provider WAECO, is celebrating 10 years in Australia in 2009. Established in high-technology headquarters in Germany 35 years ago, WAECO has developed a wide range of mobile technology for people on the move.
1 JOHN DUNCAN COURT   VARSITY LAKES, QLD, 4227
Phone: 1800 21 21 21
More info | Website | Driving Directions
ExplorOz ExplorOz
Become a Member of ExplorOz; buy or sell in Trader; buy Maps, Books, DVDs, camping accessories, and ExplorOz wheel covers, shirts, hats and stubby holders from the ExplorOz Shop; and book Activities &Tours or buy someone a gift certificate from our Activities section. Become an ExplorOz Member for just $60 in your first year, and $40 when you renew.
PO BOX 967  HILLARYS, WA, 6923
Phone: (08) 9403 3737
More info | Website