Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
You have 4 items in your shopping cart
Section Image

Cane Toad Tolls

Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 19:44

Brew69(SA)

I'm heading over on the weekend for a visit to the Gold Coast. Do you have those horrible Tolls in QLD? My Navman seems to think i will encounter one or more. How much do they cost and is it worth avoiding them? I will be coming in via Inglewood and Warwick. Cheers Brew
Beer is evil.........And i am an evil man.
Advertisement
ThreadID: 59414 Replies: 7
Views: 807 FollowUps: 12
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 313328   Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 19:57

Member - Footloose replied:

Do you want the good news or the bad news?
Bad news is yes.
Good news is that they save you going into Brisbane to come down to the Coast...and with the price of fuel you don't want to do that.
Cost ? About $5 total from memory for a single 4 legged vehicle.

Click Image to Enlarge
Footy Illegitimi non carborundum
Reply 1 of 7
FollowupID: 579375   Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 20:02

Brew69(SA) posted:

Ok thats not too bad. I was in Sidernee a few years back and got stung by two tolls combining about $15. Thats half a carton of good stuff. I'll never understand how some people accept that tolls are a good thing. Look at how much money is take in fuel tax's and then tell me we need private enterprise to build roads and then charge us more to use them.
FollowUp 1 of 4
FollowupID: 579394   Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 21:07

Member - Dunworkin (WA) posted:

"Cost ? About $5 total from memory for a single 4 legged vehicle"

Hi Footloose, do you mean that it costs more if you are towing????????

D
Simba our much missed baby
Click Image to Enlarge
Simba, our much missed baby.
Now we have had to say Goodbye to her Sister.
Into the family comes Simba's & Bonnie's Niece, Photo in my Gallery.
FollowUp 2 of 4
FollowupID: 579398   Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 21:18

Member - Footloose posted:

D, I can't answer that one, as I've never been in that situation sorry.

Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 3 of 4
FollowupID: 579452   Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 10:41

Redeye posted:

The fee covers a vehicle and trailer.

The fee for enjoying these roads rose on July 1 by 10 cents each.

You will get away with $5.

Redeye
FollowUp 4 of 4
AnswerID: 313329   Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 20:00

Saharaman (aka Geepeem) replied:

Hi Brew69,

Tolls all increased from today July 1.
For a car:
Gateway $2.90
Logan Motorway - $1.90 at Kuraby; $1.20 at Loganlea; $2.00 at Stapylton Rd & Paradise Rd Interchange.
Its up to you whether you use them - may use more in fuel going through lights etc to avoid them.
GPM

Click Image to Enlarge
He who is not courageous enough to take risks will accomplish nothing in life.
(Muhammad Ali)
Reply 2 of 7
FollowupID: 579376   Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 20:03

Brew69(SA) posted:

Thanks mate. Will i need all of these?
FollowUp 1 of 5
FollowupID: 579378   Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 20:09

Saharaman (aka Geepeem) posted:

Only the Logan Motorway - 3 tolls to pay at various sections coming from Warwick on to Ipswich Road and then onto Logan Motorway at Gailes..
Only Gateway if you head north to Sunshine Coast at any stage.

Click Image to Enlarge
He who is not courageous enough to take risks will accomplish nothing in life.
(Muhammad Ali)
FollowUp 2 of 5
FollowupID: 579386   Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 20:32

Member - Oldplodder (QLD) posted:

And good news is that they havn't gone fully electronic - yet.

So you can pay in the hardstuff as you go through.

And if one of the toll keepers (female) sees your exploroz sticker and gets all exited, it's most probably Jo of Jo & Mark. So say hello.

Click Image to Enlarge
John C - aka Oldplodder
In touring mode, the way it should be.
FollowUp 3 of 5
FollowupID: 579397   Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 21:17

Member - Footloose posted:

I know one young lady is always a happy chappy there ....wonder if she sees the 4wd and thinks...YES!
Unlikely...unfortunately.

Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 4 of 5
FollowupID: 579430   Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 06:26

Brew69(SA) posted:

I'll be in a Falcon, so no sticker :(. Could always kit the girl out with one before we leave.
FollowUp 5 of 5
AnswerID: 313330   Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 01, 2008 at 20:03

Brian B (Brisbane) replied:

G'day Brew,

The following link will take you to the QLD Motorways site. It shows where the toll plazas are and if my memory serves me correctly the prices just went up today. (like every other thing)

QLD Motorways Information

Enjoy your trip
Our 2004 Hilux SR5
Click Image to Enlarge

Reply 3 of 7
FollowupID: 579431   Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 06:27

Brew69(SA) posted:

Thanks mate. Good link.
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 313383   Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 08:03

Mikee5 (Logan QLD) replied:

Hi there Brew,
Price of tolls is right as posted, there is no extra toll charge for a caravan or trailer. I suggest you get the right money sorted ahead of your trip (no 5 cents) and use the automatic lane.
Mike.

Click Image to Enlarge
Reply 4 of 7
FollowupID: 579514   Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 18:02

SMICK posted:

If they dont accept my 5 cent pieces I dont move away. a 5 cent piece is legal tender and has to be accepted. They pull the wool over your eyes by just putting up signs.
FollowUp 1 of 1
Activities Index
Oyster Cove Half Day Kayaking Tour Oyster Cove Half Day Kayaking Tour
Hobart - TAS
Hobart is spoilt by having some of the world's best sea kayaking at its doorstep!
See Tasmania Attraction Pass - 3 days See Tasmania Attraction Pass - 3 days
Hobart - TAS
Attraction pass for all of Tasmania. Save over $1000 worth of admission fees.
NYE 09 on the Latest Catamaran on Sydney Harbour NYE 09 on the Latest Catamaran on Sydney Harb
Sydney - NSW
NYE on a catamaran on Sydney Harbour with a fun-packed 6+ hour dinner cruise with unlimited premium
Rejuvenation Pamper Package Rejuvenation Pamper Package
Macedon Ranges - VIC
Detoxify your skin and feel all the impurities just gushing away with aroma salt glow and a body wra
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 313384   Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 08:13

Ray replied:

We do not have toll roads here in W.A. (yet) but if they were introduced it would cost the government their jobs.
A friend from here was over there and went on a toll road without paying and received an infringement notice when he got home and then filed it in the round filing cabinet. He never heard anything else.
Reply 5 of 7
AnswerID: 313389   Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 09:10

Mr Pointyhead replied:

Don't forget you will need your passport to cross the banana curtain into QLD :)
Reply 6 of 7
AnswerID: 313425   Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 13:08

Member - Jan Z (QLD) replied:

Hi Brew,
We live here and if you are coming via Warwick, you will not have to go through any tolls. Avoid any roads indicating Brisbane or Logan, just follow roads to Beaudesert, Nerang, Southport, and you will be fine. Roads are all good, watch out along the Cunningham Gap for radar, etc. The weather is just gorgeous but cold at night. Have a great time here. Jan
Off the Oodnadatta Track July 07
Click Image to Enlarge
Couldn't ask for any better!
Lifetime Member: My Profile  Send Message
Reply 7 of 7
FollowupID: 579610   Submitted: Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 06:15

Brew69(SA) posted:

Thanks Jan
FollowUp 1 of 1