Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
Section Image

Innamincka Update

Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 19:09

Willem

Have just come off the phone to John Osborne, President of the Progress Association at Innamincka.

Old Strzelecki Track still has water over it in places and best to avoid

All other roads in are in good condition.

There is water over the causeway to Coongie/Cordillo but it is passable

Town Common Campsite is on good order with plenty of space
Please pay your dues at the Honesty Box on your way in. Camping is $5 per vehicle per night.

Fuel is $2.18 per litre at the Innamincka Store

Thats all.

Karoo Jackal
Click Image to Enlarge
Willem

There is more than one way to bag a bunny

ThreadID: 59440 Replies: 6
Views: 968 FollowUps: 11
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 313485   Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 19:22

Sir Kev & Darkie replied:

I don't think there will be much space when we all arrive LOL

Not long now..................

The Pyrenees
Click Image to Enlarge
I am NOW living in Chinchilla, the Australian Melon Capital ;)
Lifetime Member: My Profile  My Blog  Send Message
Reply 1 of 6
FollowupID: 579544   Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 20:17

Member - DAZA (QLD) posted:

I hope I am not hijacking Willems thread, but I would like to wish all
those going to the Gathering at Innamincka, a Safe and Joyfull trip,
my Cook and I have been reading your various threads with great
interest, our Business commitments wont allow us to go this time,
but I guarantee we will attend the next one,I reckon we would
gain a hell of a lot of experience and knowledge, I would love to
meet some of the NO make that ALL of the Hard Cases lol I have been communicating with on this Forum.

Good Luck

Daza
Patrol and Lassiter Off Road Van
Click Image to Enlarge
Daza and the Cook.
Lifes Good.

FollowUp 1 of 2
FollowupID: 579549   Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 20:30

Member - DAZA (QLD) posted:

P S. When I say Hard Cases I am not being offensive, it means
Fair Dinkum People.
Patrol and Lassiter Off Road Van
Click Image to Enlarge
Daza and the Cook.
Lifes Good.

FollowUp 2 of 2
AnswerID: 313486   Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 19:24

Dave B (NSW) replied:

Thanks for the update Willem, I am going to find out tonight what the road is like from Camerons Corner.

I was advised today by a local trucking company that it was best to go via Camerons corner rather than Nappa Merrie.

I will update the latest info about the road later tonight I hope.

Where is the snatch strap
Click Image to Enlarge
'Wouldn't be dead for quids'
Reply 2 of 6
FollowupID: 579530   Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 19:42

Dave B (NSW) posted:

The latest info that I can get is that across the sandhills, the road is perfect at the moment.

Watch the creek crossings out of Tibooburra, some are a bit rough at the bottom.

Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 1 of 5
FollowupID: 579535   Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 19:51

Sir Kev & Darkie posted:

I am intending on comming in via Nappa Merrie so I will have to check before I leave as I may have to change plans LOL

Another 5 days of fine weather should dry it out a bit though (I hope)

The Pyrenees
Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 2 of 5
FollowupID: 579554   Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 20:50

Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath posted:

Kev, you better look at my post on the weather front
On the way to Gemtree
Click Image to Enlarge
Who?
Multi famam, conscientiam pauci verentur
FollowUp 3 of 5
FollowupID: 579557   Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 21:01

Dave B (NSW) posted:

Kev, Not sure why it was recommended to go via Camerons Corner.
I assume that the road is a bit cut up out there somewhere between Tib and Innaminka, but not too sure where.

Have you thought of coming via Three Ways ?????

I was going to tell Laura something, but can't remember what it was now.

Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 4 of 5
FollowupID: 579559   Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 21:06

Sir Kev & Darkie posted:

You had to tell her to pack the spare motor as well as the Trivia questions LOL

From what I have found the track is open with extreme caution as it is very cut up, so nothing different to what I have been driving the Falcon work ute over then ;)

The Pyrenees
Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 5 of 5
AnswerID: 313488   Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 19:32

Member - Brian H (QLD) replied:

Bugger there goes my travel plans ..... Old stez is out.

Ho Hum looks like the bore track.

Does me
Click Image to Enlarge
Work is not a life just a means to have one
Reply 3 of 6
AnswerID: 313493   Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 19:49

Sand Man (SA) replied:

Hi Willem,

Does that mean the Bore Track is open?
This is my first preference on the way up. (from Cameron Corner)

Old Strzelecki was my second reference on the way up, or preferred route on the way back, but we always have to work in with Mother Nature hey.

Bill.

Click Image to Enlarge
HooRoo !

Reply 4 of 6
FollowupID: 579542   Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 20:12

Willem posted:

Don't know about the Bore Track. Best to ring the Innamincka Trading Post 08 86759900 or Bollards Lagoon Station.

Karoo Jackal
Click Image to Enlarge
Willem

FollowUp 1 of 2
FollowupID: 579585   Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 22:50

Dave B (NSW) posted:

SandMan, I also asked about the Bore Track tonight, but was told that the best information about that would be from Bill at Cameron Cornerwhen we get there.
We will be there Monday.
Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 2 of 2
Activities Index
Aussie Night Safari - Tour Only Aussie Night Safari - Tour Only
Gold Coast - QLD
Join a Park Ranger on a spotlight walk where you will see a variety of rare & endangered Austral
2 day surf camp to Seal Rocks 2 day surf camp to Seal Rocks
Coffs / Mid North - NSW
2 day surf camp to seal rocks Learn to surf and discover the beautiful Seal Rocks Inclusions:
Helicopter Whitehaven Beach Picnic Adventure Helicopter Whitehaven Beach Picnic Adventure
The Whitsundays - QLD
Join us for a scenic adventure!
Beginner Surfing Course (3.5 hours) Beginner Surfing Course (3.5 hours)
Far Nth Coast / Byron - NSW
Learn to surf in the best waves on Byron Bay's Beaches. Small groups.
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 313496   Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 02, 2008 at 19:55

Member - Bob & Lorraine S (NSW replied:

Thanks for the update Willem. Leaving Tibooburra Thurs for Olive Downs and Fort Grey. Cameron Corner on Saturday. There's a few long trucks with pipes coming through Tibooburra heading north. Will check best roads when we get to CC. Scrubcat just called and he is in White Cliffs and should be CC by Saturday also. We have some wood and a bag of goodies for trivia etc..
Bob & Lorraine
UHF18 Clipper811
VKS737-Romeo2954/Selcal2954
M 0438543662
Bob & Lorraine
Clipper 811
On the Road
Reply 5 of 6
AnswerID: 313567   Submitted: Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 07:30

Kiwi & "Grenade" replied:

Thanks Willem.....so when you say "Fuel" are you talking diesel or ulp????
The GPS!!
Click Image to Enlarge
'Why be difficult when with a little extra effort you can be bloody impossible'
Reply 6 of 6
FollowupID: 579623   Submitted: Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 07:59

Sir Kev & Darkie posted:

Diesel, Firewood and food at a guess LOL
The Pyrenees
Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 1 of 2
FollowupID: 579626   Submitted: Thursday, Jul 03, 2008 at 08:05

Willem posted:

Laura

In small outback places Diesel and ULP are normally the same price and I assume that is what John Osborn meant.

Karoo Jackal
Click Image to Enlarge
Willem

FollowUp 2 of 2

Page Sponsors

WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd Premium Listing
Portable refrigeration provider WAECO, is celebrating 10 years in Australia in 2009. Established in high-technology headquarters in Germany 35 years ago, WAECO has developed a wide range of mobile technology for people on the move.
1 JOHN DUNCAN COURT   VARSITY LAKES, QLD, 4227
Phone: 1800 21 21 21
More info | Website | Driving Directions
ExplorOz ExplorOz
Become a Member of ExplorOz; buy or sell in Trader; buy Maps, Books, DVDs, camping accessories, and ExplorOz wheel covers, shirts, hats and stubby holders from the ExplorOz Shop; and book Activities &Tours or buy someone a gift certificate from our Activities section. Become an ExplorOz Member for just $60 in your first year, and $40 when you renew.
PO BOX 967  HILLARYS, WA, 6923
Phone: (08) 9403 3737
More info | Website