Swing out jerry can holder

Submitted: Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 12:28
ThreadID: 62042 Views:4606 Replies:4 FollowUps:7
I've just finished building this swing out jerry can holder. Took a bit of work but I basically copied the Kaymar wheel carrier on the other side. The arm of the can holder locks behind the wheel carrier arm and then latches by using the original wheel carrier latch. Really happy with the end result.

I've recently also finished building a storage system for the rear of the 4Runner. I now have so much usable space, and everything is easily accessible.

Plus, I saved a wad of cash doing it myself.

Reply By: Skippype - Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 14:02

Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 14:02
Louie
That's just what I have been trying to nut out for the back of the LC ute with a Trayon camper on it. It will work a treat looking at that.
Thanks for the Idea.
Skip
AnswerID: 327266

Reply By: Willem - Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 14:09

Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 14:09
Pretty neat Louie

You still dropping in for a cuppa? We will be home until Monday night.

AnswerID: 327268

Follow Up By: Louie the fly (SA) - Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 16:47

Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 16:47
Thanks Willem. Might be a nice stop since we will have been on the road for a couple of hours by then. Will PM you later tonight.

Louie
FollowupID: 594468

Reply By: Kroozer - Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 14:51

Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 14:51
Mate that is better then a brought one. Well Done, if i made that it would be going straight to the POOL ROOM. Top stuff
AnswerID: 327272

Follow Up By: Kroozer - Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 14:52

Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 14:52
Actually Louie, would love to see some photos off the drawers you built. Looks like your workmanship is top notch. I envy your work.
FollowupID: 594448

Follow Up By: Louie the fly (SA) - Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 17:00

Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 17:00
Thanks for the compliment Kroozer. If you have a look at it closely you can see that I made it from left over steel, so it's a bit rough in parts. The bottom bar is actually a 300x150 I beam thats cleverly disguised as a piece of 75 x 50 RHS. LOL

I built it after work last night, and I went in this morning (on my day off of all things) to finish it. As for the quality of workmanship, I just did it like any other job. I always reckon it's just as easy to do a good job as it is to do a shyte job.

I didn't put drawers in as such, just carpeted shelving and some partitions to keep stuff in its place. And some mesh behind the back seat to keep our gear from coming forward and hitting the kid's heads. The top, on each side is attached to the old cargo barrier top mounts. The rest just sits on the floor, which is out of level for some reason. But it maximizes the small cargo area of the 4Runner.

Now I just need to get a turbo fitted to propel the sucker with the extra weight. It's only added about 30KG's to the car's normal weight. when we get back and unpack I will put some pics of the shelves on here.

Louie
FollowupID: 594470

Reply By: On Patrol & TONI - Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 20:39

Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 20:39
Nice work Louie
The swivel pin looks a bit thin, is it up to the load under dynamic conditions, such as on corrugations etc, or does it just need to carry the load under static conditions?
Looks good, Colin.
AnswerID: 327313

Follow Up By: Louie the fly (SA) - Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 21:57

Friday, Sep 26, 2008 at 21:57
The pin is 32mm dia 4140 machined to 24mm dia on the end where it fits into the bracket (in 2 plastic bushes). It should be more than adequate. Its also supported at the other end by the Kaymar wheel carrier. They sort of lock together.

I put it together and stood in it and bounced up & down as a test. It held up fine. Honestly, I'd be more worried about the Toyota breaking.
FollowupID: 594541

Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Saturday, Sep 27, 2008 at 10:09

Saturday, Sep 27, 2008 at 10:09
Louie
The photo didnt do it justice mate, thats great. Yeah I understand that thing about the Yota though!!!!! LOL.
Cheers Colin.
FollowupID: 594580

Follow Up By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Saturday, Sep 27, 2008 at 10:14

Saturday, Sep 27, 2008 at 10:14
And so it begins Colin.

Is this the beginning of your ability to criticise BOTH Toyotas and Nissans with impunity?

FollowupID: 594581

Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Saturday, Sep 27, 2008 at 14:20

Saturday, Sep 27, 2008 at 14:20
G'day Matt, Ha Ha Ha ROTFLMAO, I am at a crossroad in life mate.

The question is do I snipe at both or do I sit on the fence?????

Aww bugga it, i'll snipe at both, its more fun, LOL
Cheers, Colin.

PS it's still not for sale Matt, not since I blew a petrol Paj off from the lights this morning, it came as a big shock to both of us, HeHeHe.
FollowupID: 594594