Ozito 90amp Gasless MIG Welder

Submitted: Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 17:49
ThreadID: 63945 Views:17761 Replies:9 FollowUps:9
I'm considering buying a welder to do a bit of repair work and making a few extras like outboard holder and spare wheel carrier for a camper trailer.

I have searched old threads and found a little bit of info from a few years back (2005 I think). I was just wondering if there is any one out there that has some recent feedback on these welders that they wouldn't mind sharing.

The Ozito is $299,00 at Bunnings at the moment. I would buy a good auto darkening helmet.

MM me rather than put it on the open forum if you prefer.

Super

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 18:07

Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 18:07
Gday Super,
I dont know anything about this specific machine but I very much doubt that any $300 MIG is going to be much good for what you intend to use it for.

AnswerID: 337726

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 18:28

Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 18:28
Gday again,
Just did a quick search on it.
Its gasless
only 10amp
Duty cycle is-
10%@90 amps
30%@60 amps

In other words...its a toy.
Only good for light gauge material (Gal. wall framing or thin tube etc)and a $hiity looking dirty weld as its gasless.
Definately not for anything structural.
You would spend more time waiting for it to cool down than you would welding.

FollowupID: 605279

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 18:43

Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 18:43
Try something like this...around $1500 but a lot more practical.

https://pgw100.portal.gases.boc.com/boc_sp/nz/Products/Electric_Welding/MIG_Equipment/BOC_MIG_170P.asp
FollowupID: 605283

Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 12:48

Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 12:48
Gasless is good for outdoor use.
FollowupID: 605404

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 13:01

Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 13:01
Yeah mate...thats about it.
FollowupID: 605409

Reply By: Dunaruna - Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 18:12

Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 18:12
They have a very low duty cycle (25% I think). It's a toy. Probably good for tinkering and such but not for anything that requires any sort of engineering (re: motor stand).
AnswerID: 337727

Reply By: howesy - Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 18:38

Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 18:38
I got a SIP welder they are italian I believe and cheap as chips. Mine is gas/gasless but you can buy straight gasless ones as well. I only use gasless anyway.
Its a 150 amp max and I have welded everything from the clothes line to heavy bar and its never missed a beat. Cant recommend it enough had it for about 3 years.
AnswerID: 337733

Reply By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 18:38

Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 18:38
Hi Super, 90 amp is getting a bit toyish.

Ive had a variety of welders over the years and found that anything under 130 amp doesnt really hack it.

Mitre 10 stock the SIP 150, had it about a year and does everything from 1.0mm - 6mm plate. $499 when on special.

Mind you, although they take a little practice, those $99 arc welders are great value. Settings for 2.0 and 3.2mm rods they do lay a nice strong weld.

Gassless migs are ok but found the option of gas shield far better.

Cheers....Lionel.
AnswerID: 337734

Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 18:41

Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 18:41
Yep.....what Howesy said.

He beat me by ....that much.

Lionel.
FollowupID: 605282

Reply By: Ray - Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 19:56

Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 19:56
I bought a small rectified DC welder some months ago. It will run a 2.5 electrode and makes a very nice bead and with the right electrodes will do all positional welding. Gas less MIG are not the best of systems but with gas are not too bad. Before retiring I used to have a first class welding certificate and would recommend stick welding, TIG welding and oxy-acetylene welding.
When people say that this or that welder will weld certain thicknesses of material, this is not so. If your material is prepared correctly you can weld any thickness by doing multiple layers of weld metal
AnswerID: 337752

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 10:40

Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 10:40
Gday Ray,
This is possibly nit picking, but I think a few thing you said could be made a little clearer.
Are you a retired stick welder?
I would also recomend stick welding to a beginer as there is a lot less chance of cold lap. You can do a lovely looking MIG weld that wont hold, but a bad stick weld generally looks crap.
I think the only use for gasless MIGs is on light gauge material where wind is a problem eg ..wall framing on site etc.
Im also a fan of stick welders but you cant beat MIGs for speed and ease in the right situation eg. all types of RHS, structural beams etc and new or clean metal, but inside a workshop.

As for-"When people say that this or that welder will weld certain thicknesses of material, this is not so. If your material is prepared correctly you can weld any thickness by doing multiple layers of weld metal"

I dont think that would be the best advice, It is true to a point if people prepare the joints and preheat , but I doubt anyone using a 90 amp welder would know much about this? Remember a 90 amp welder will be running flat out burning 0.9 wire.
The duty cycles on these little welders are so low you would have to stop and start that often you would end up with a heap of cold starts all the way through the join. And I doubt you would keep up with the heat dispersion from heavy plate anyway without continous pre-heating with an oxy.
It wouldnt be a safe way to go and certainly wouldnt be practical.

IMOA
FollowupID: 605396

Follow Up By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) The O - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 20:54

Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 20:54
Ray have to disagree, If you are welding 10mm plate and require a 3rd penetration and you use a to smaller welder wouldn't you get a to rapid heat dispersion causing low carbon growth making the weld weak and brittle.

If you can not generate enough heat in a weld to cause pooling wouldn't it be a weak weld.

Layering of welds is not done because the welder is to small so you have to do multi passes.

Whats a first class welder?

If you use a welder with a low duty cycle you will know at the start of the weld it will have full penetration and as the weld progresses less penetration, less heat, less carbon growth.

Australian standards states a weld has to be constant from start to finish in weld width and penertration.

FollowupID: 605472

Reply By: Member - Paul W (VIC) - Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 20:03

Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 20:03
i had a gasless MIG (135a) and found it quite useless, the gasless wire needs extremely clean material to weld slightly clean. it usually is lumpy and holey. luckily i sold it for nearly what i paid for it and bought a 200a unit off ebay for $400 and it is magnificent. i thought it might be a bit of a bleep ter but it is good. i can burn a hole clean thru 1/4" plate without trying. welds fine sheetmetal up to 1/2" mild steel.very happy with the purchase, and also i have recently given it a workout building a c/t and it never missed a beat. i even then bought a tig from the same place. cheers Paul
AnswerID: 337754

Follow Up By: Member - Paul W (VIC) - Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 20:05

Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 20:05
plus i have not seen a good ozito product yet,bought a couple and both went back.
FollowupID: 605294

Reply By: Supercalafreakinawesome- Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 20:56

Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 20:56
Thank you very much for all the replies. At least now I have an idea of what sort of unit will do the jobs I want to do and just as importantly what unit not to get.

Thanks again

Kev
AnswerID: 337764

Reply By: Robnicko - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 11:07

Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 11:07
Super,

Not a mig but heres my experience.

I bought an Ozito Arc welder 3 years ago fo $90 from bunnings to whack up a storage system for the back of the 80 and it worked a treat.

Rob
AnswerID: 337849

Follow Up By: Supercalafreakinawesome- Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 11:37

Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 11:37
Thanks Rob, much appreciated

Super
FollowupID: 605400

Reply By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 20:20

Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 20:20
i have that one, lots of splatter and only good for thin metals. for thicker metals i have my cig arc welder from supercheap for around 200 dollars and hiderok extra. the mig works well other then the splatter and occasionly if you get too close the wire welds itself to the tip. as per all migs. but yeah if you are going to weld anything over 2 mm use something else. i bought mine for fixing a truck door and keeping trolleys and other stuff fixed.

if you need any more info just mm me?

cheers i hope this helps?

AnswerID: 337935