Monitoring 2nd <span class="highlight">Battery</span>

Looking for a digital volt meter to monitor the volts on the 2nd battery, one that will be hard wired in.

What have others used and where to purchase?

Would like to monitor as have HF & VHF/UHF Amateur radio's fitted.

Battery has Isolator switch connected so will only charge after starter battery has 13.4v.

Have tried every place round here but to no avail.

Reply By: Mikelb - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 21:03

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 21:03
Piranha make one. DBM3D. Has auxillary off and main positions. Dash Mount

AnswerID: 344182

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 10:32

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 10:32
It was suggested to me that 2 way radios should be run off your start battery.
No good being broken down in the middle of nowhere, fridge has flattened aux and radio wont work.

Yes I know they could flatten that battery with over use but we are sensible arent we and dont leave it on for no reason.

After all thats the one that charges up first.

Not my thoughts, read it in an article on 2 way radios and how to operate etc. Seems reasonable to me.
FollowupID: 612151

Follow Up By: Maîneÿ (wa) - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 17:01

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 17:01
My own 'opinion' is to run ALL accessories, including car stereo system etc, from the Auxiliary battery, leaving the Start battery only to Start the vehicle.

If the Aux battery gets low on power the "auto disconnect" will deactivate the fridge and you will be aware that the lights or radio are low on power anyway.

You just start a Geny or the vehicle and recharge the Aux battery again.

If it went flat overnight it was of too small capacity and if was charged by Solar it would not have gone flat anyway :)

Mainey . . .
FollowupID: 612231

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 21:05

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 21:05
I use a nice little meter used by the R/C Plane guys that measures to 2 decimal points: E-Flite power meter. I have it wired into the cab, but you can also use the meter to measure current, if you wish. I used to use a Jaycar meter, but it went wacko with high temperatures.

AnswerID: 344183

Reply By: Boobook2 - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 21:12

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 21:12
After a long search I went for the Voltminder from Sidewinder - Derek. It has the added advantage of a settable alarm that beeps when low. That way you don't have to keep an eye on it. You can program whatever voltage you like as the alarm threshold.

I am very happy wiith it.

www.sidewinder.com.au
AnswerID: 344186

Reply By: Crackles - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 22:03

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 22:03
For a simple, compact professional volt meter check out the 12 volt shop for part# MADPM.
Cheers Craig...........
AnswerID: 344198

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 22:49

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 22:49
Craig have you used that model meter?

If so is it accurate?

FollowupID: 612084

Follow Up By: Member - Dick (Int) - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 02:58

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 02:58
John, I have two of them and they seem OK.

Dick

FollowupID: 612101

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 10:09

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 10:09
Thanks Dick.
Where did you mount them, any photos?

FollowupID: 612145

Follow Up By: Member - Dick (Int) - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 12:13

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 12:13
John, I have not mounted them properly at I have not been back to Newcastle to do so. I have one mounted near the Solar Controller, (which is on the cargo barrier behind the passenger seat) which is angled so I can see it from the drivers position. They are a nice compact meter and easy to mount with a single hole. Have thought about mounting two on the dash somewhere so I could get voltage readings from the battery's under the bonnet and those in the back.
Dick

FollowupID: 612178

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 12:58

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 12:58
Thanks Dick I was looking to do the same and mount them up front somewhere for the same reasons.
Thought you may have beaten me to it and could provide an idea or two on where and how to mount them up front.

Your correct they are not hard to mount in fact probably the easiest I have seen to date.

Have you checked them for accuracy against say a multi meter or the voltage meter built into the NGT?
Just a little concerned about the accuracy of some of the cheaper units hence my question to Craig above.

Hows business by the way, Standing up to the GFC OK I hope?

FollowupID: 612192

Follow Up By: Member - Dick (Int) - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 13:39

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 13:39
John, when you install yours, can you send me some pic's so I know how to do it........

As to accuracy it is 0.1v different to the meter on the PL60 controller and the multi meter. I did not check it against the NGT.

Business is OK but my clients are under great pressure. I am sure 2009 will be a stressful year.

Dick

FollowupID: 612202

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 13:57

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 13:57
No worries mate will do.

.1 volt is fine for our use.

Yes 2009 will be very difficult for all, don't think we have seen anywhere near the worst in Aus as yet. :-((

FollowupID: 612208

Follow Up By: Crackles - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 18:40

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 18:40
Gaday John just checked the acuracy against a calibrated meter & both read exactly the same.
Cheers Craig.............
FollowupID: 612251

Reply By: 96 GXL 80 series - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 22:09

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 22:09
Thanks very much for all your help, will chase one up.

AnswerID: 344200

Reply By: ABR - SIDEWINDER - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 22:38

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 22:38
I recommend a 2 way switch so you can monitor both batteries.

Derek from ABR

AnswerID: 344209

Follow Up By: ABR - SIDEWINDER - Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 22:42

Tuesday, Jan 13, 2009 at 22:42
There are many options.

FollowupID: 612082

Follow Up By: Maîneÿ (wa) - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 17:06

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 17:06
For what it's worth, some small, cheaper rocker switch's may have both items connected simultaneously for a split second, this may damage some gauges.

Mainey . . .
FollowupID: 612232

Reply By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 00:52

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 00:52
So what is the cost profile, ABR ?
AnswerID: 344221

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 00:53

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 00:53
Prices are on his web site.

FollowupID: 612097

Reply By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 01:06

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 01:06
Thanks John.
JH.
AnswerID: 344222

Reply By: RV Powerstream P/L - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 06:12

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 06:12
Hi 96
What about a unit that has the best combination of specs on the market and is in line digital.
It measures Charge (AH), Energy (KWh),Amps(A),Voltage (V)and Watts (W) with current up to 100A at 60V.
Measures Peak Amps and minimum Volts(sag)
1% Voltage accuracy
Precise with-0.01A current and 0.01V Voltage resolutions.
Made in the USA to ISO 9001(Test Equip) quality Standards.
Is 70MM long 45MM wide and 20mm deep and weighs 2.3OZ.

You can monitor solar panel and wind plant power output.
Check RV ,Boat and electric vehicle battery capacity and charging.
Prevent peak Currents damaging battery,motor controls, motors, inverters and alternative energy equipment .
Monitor amp and watthours and check battery capacity and health.
Verify voltage under load.
Confirm proper battery charger operation .
Compare component performance and more.
All this and it is Budget priced due to us being appointed a dealer for a USA Company.
AnswerID: 344228

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 06:15

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 06:15
Ian,

Pictures, price ???

FollowupID: 612104

Follow Up By: RV Powerstream P/L - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 08:39

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 08:39
Al
The rules say I can answer a question about a product.
The Question Much
The answer is $79AUD
Photo ?Its just a little rectangular box with a display screen and wires coming out both ends.
FollowupID: 612125

Reply By: RV Powerstream P/L - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 07:20

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 07:20
Al
I think Im restricted to being generic with information and not to sell so I cant sell on the site .
I dont know at this stage how to upload photos.
I tried to message you but itsays I cant as Im not a member.
Now I dont know what Im paying a monthly fee for.
Go to my details and send me an email and I can comply with your request.
ian
AnswerID: 344230

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 09:10

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 09:10
Ian,

There is a good reason for business members not having access to Member Messaging.

There have at times been some dodgy Business Members here who have used the Member Message function to send blatant advertising to all and sundry. Effectively spamming.

FollowupID: 612130

Follow Up By: stephen looking - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 09:16

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 09:16
G'day Ian,

Was trying to look at your website but it came up with a warning about a suspected Phishing site.

This is also the first time i have seen this warning on my computer. To access your site i used the link in your profile. Also i dont run any anti-virus software, i use a mac and run safari web browser.

Just thought i would let you know as it may cost you a client.

Regards........Steve
FollowupID: 612134

Follow Up By: RV Powerstream P/L - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 09:47

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 09:47
Are you using Mozilla Firefox as they have an incorrect notice which is being addressed.
FollowupID: 612138

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 10:08

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 10:08
Ian where is it on your site??
What do you list it as??

FollowupID: 612142

Follow Up By: stephen looking - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 10:16

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 10:16
Ian, I use *Safari* its the web browser for a mac computer.

Regards.....Steve
FollowupID: 612147

Follow Up By: Maîneÿ (wa) - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 10:29

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 10:29
Ian I also tried to contact you via MM but received a warning about a suspected Phishing site by FireFox.

This is also the first time I've seen this warning on my computer.
To access your site I did use the link in your profile.

Just thought I would let you (and David) know.

So I have to post my message direct to you here
Email me the pic & I will post it on your behalf :-)
there are ways to get around such things!

Mainey . . .
FollowupID: 612150

Follow Up By: RV Powerstream P/L - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 11:04

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 11:04
Jim
Thanks for the advice and now after Mainey posted I might have to believe that I am a Dodgy Business man or up to Monkey Business.
My server said I should sue Mozilla for they are acting illegally but I dont live in California Im a bloody Aussie and Id rather just abuse the mongrels and now Ive got to get onto "Safari" too.
I think Ill have the server shut the site and sort it out as its no good sueing the yanks thay are all going broke anyway.

BTW John (Vic)The unit is not on the site anyway as its new and with it Ive got Power Pole Plugs and interconnections and crimping tools and distribution boards with USB connection all done with Power Poles even a two pack Cigarete lighter replacement giving two outlets. Bugger.
FollowupID: 612160

Follow Up By: RV Powerstream P/L - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 12:10

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 12:10
I have rang EO and asked that if they think the website is at all detrimental to EO then delete its access immediately until I can sort this out.
I want nothing to detract from EO as a good and popular information site.
FollowupID: 612177

Follow Up By: stephen looking - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 12:34

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 12:34
Ian mate,

Sorry for making my observations public, I personally dont believe you are a dodgy bloke not that i've investigated you LOL, was this the first time you where made aware of it?

I will talk to a couple of mates that work in the internet security business and i will get them to have a look at your site if you like.

I hope you get it sorted out soon.

And thank you for your input to this site as you say it is very informative.

Have a good one.......Steve
FollowupID: 612188

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 13:11

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 13:11
Ian I would not get to fussed about what some of these browsers post as security warnings.
Quite often its the security setting on the individual computer being set to high which will block just about everything.
Sometimes its the servers where your site is hosted that are recognised and regarded as possibly suspect and listed as such by some security software.
Bigpond had this issue for a short time sometime back.

I think EO itself was listed awhile back because its digital certificate was not recognised as being current (From memory it was) and the likes of Fire Fox was not reading it for some reason.

In the end these guys are saying they are receiving a warning about "Possible" issues which will not preclude them from looking at it.

I run IE 7 and just looked through it from the links on your profile without any issue.
I also use Trend as my Security software and it did not come up with any warnings about your site being a Phishing site or other.
My only problem was I could not find the product you spoke about here as it was not listed which seems to defeat the purpose of online selling??

FollowupID: 612195

Follow Up By: RV Powerstream P/L - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 14:24

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 14:24
Boys
Your observations are welcome and public is Ok that means nothing to hide which is what I like.
In June last year we had a Zen Cart Shopping Site that had a public access part and that was infiltrated by some rat who linked a bogas web site to a picture trying to conthe Halifax Bank in the UK .
Our Australian Host blocked the scumbag and notified the rectification to the concerned people.
Due to the shopping carts being a general target all over the world we could not be guaranteed it would not happen again so we dumped the Zen Cart and rebuilt using an OS Commerce Cart which allowed us to open for input and then close it so that it could not be infiltrated.
Thank you for your observations and concerns.

Now seeing as I have hijacked the thread I will give a sample unit for testing purposes to the first person to email me at sales@onsitepower.com.au with their details for delivery.
FollowupID: 612213

Follow Up By: RV Powerstream P/L - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 15:11

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 15:11
Matt Brook of Western Australia was in first and gets the Monitor.
FollowupID: 612217

Follow Up By: Matt(WA) - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 15:27

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 15:27
Thank you very much Ian,

I think that's the first time I have ever won anything or been first :-)

I love my gadgets and will test it and let you know how it goes.

Thanks once again.

Matt

FollowupID: 612221

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 10:07

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 10:07
96, I use the Voltminder from Derek at ABR (mentioned and pictured above - it is the one on left second from bottom). I monitor two batteries with it. It came with very good instructions from Derek and was pretty much pre wired ready for connection to the batteries.

I have it mounted in the cab where it is easy to view and access.

Norm C
AnswerID: 344248

Reply By: Rangiephil - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 12:14

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 12:14
I have had a cheapy from Jaycar for several years now. Appears to be correct to within 0.2 volts.
Cost about $28 and a cheap 2 way switch.
Regard sPhilip A
AnswerID: 344263

Reply By: Maîneÿ (wa) - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 18:58

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 18:58
The rules don't prohibit me from posting a picture though :)

The Doc Wattson meter acts as a "fuel gage" to monitor battery bank Amp hours, Kilo Watt Hours and the seven electrical values needed in both Recreational Vehicles and Marine applications as Ian has posted aboveImage Could Not Be Found Mainey . . .
AnswerID: 344311

Follow Up By: RV Powerstream P/L - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 19:24

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 19:24
Thank you mainey your assistance is greatly appreciated.
FollowupID: 612264

Reply By: 96 GXL 80 series - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 20:18

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 20:18
Seeing this has turned sour re the comments towards others, I think I will look else where once again.
AnswerID: 344329

Follow Up By: Maîneÿ (wa) - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 21:34

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 21:34
96 GXL 80 series,
Can you please explain how " this has turned sour " ??

Mainey . . .
FollowupID: 612286

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 21:38

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 21:38
Hi 96,
Mate, I thought this thread was a darn fine exchange of valuable information!

There was a whole heap of question and answer type stuff that unearthed a very honest supplier and an interesting piece of kit!

Classifieds: Landcruiser 16x8 Rims,

FollowupID: 612287

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 22:07

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2009 at 22:07
Thats a funny response??

As said above its a good thread and very opportune for myself as I am right in the process of installing a new battery set up and wanted a couple of volt meters.

Whats sour about it?

FollowupID: 612293

Follow Up By: RV Powerstream P/L - Thursday, Jan 15, 2009 at 07:15

Thursday, Jan 15, 2009 at 07:15
I cannot understand the response from 96 but I can now have a better understanding of how offtopics can upset a thread and to 96 that may have inspired his thoughts .

I hope it wasnt because he missed the freeby.

I have now found a new monitor that has a USB connection for lap top interface for data logging and a sample will be leaving in the next few days.

Also the existing Doc Wattson meter that is coming can have an auxiliary three wire cable and plug fitted to allow battery pack and power supply monitoring.

FollowupID: 612321