oz tent dripping water inside tent

Submitted: Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 21:34
ThreadID: 66178 Views:13074 Replies:11 FollowUps:13
gday guys i have the oz tent rv5 with the oz tent fly.
the last 2 times i have been camping in my oz tent i have had lots of trouble with condensation forming on the fly screen on the back window of the tent and because of the angel of the back window the condensation turns to water and runs down onto the stitching at the bottom of the window which then drips inside my tent!!!! onto my bed!!!
i have the rear of the fly around 500mm off the back window to catch any dew and does catch most of it.
with the top dollar i paid for the oz tent i am very bleep off with it doing this. my $180 tent did a better job.
has anybody else had any trouble with there oz tents??
cheers matske

Reply By: Member - Malcolm (Townsville) - Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 22:42

Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 22:42
matske

post what you have just said to sales at oztent dot com. I'm sure they would be very receptive to helping you solve the problem.

Malcolm
living the 'good life'

AnswerID: 350326

Reply By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 22:43

Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 22:43
You can buy like a candle wax for tents (looks like candle without the wick lol),rub lightly on the outside of stitching and inside and see if that helps,I know it shouldnt be leaking at all..

AnswerID: 350327

Reply By: Member - Ingo57 (NSW) - Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 00:08

Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 00:08
G'day matske

We had several Oz tent's which did the same thing, we ended up gettingImage Could Not Be Found a complete refund on the tent and bought a southern X touring tent.
IMO they are not worth the money they ask for.
Have a look at post 35482.......This was the hair that broke the camels back.
AnswerID: 350333

Follow Up By: X_PAC6969 - Tuesday, Feb 24, 2009 at 14:30

Tuesday, Feb 24, 2009 at 14:30
Holy **** thats looks bad
FollowupID: 619068

Reply By: matske - Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 06:34

Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 06:34
holy crap thats alot water dripping inside your tent mate. the same thing happened to me before i had the fly on.
i couldnt belive when i first got my oz tent that you still had to go and bye a fly for it another 150bucks just so the inside of your tent ceiling would not get soaked with dew!
AnswerID: 350341

Reply By: Member - Jack - Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 08:31

Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 08:31
Happened with us (I have an RV4) when we first bought it, with or without the fly. We used to sleep with our heads up the back of the tent (low end, opposite the door).

We seemed to eliminate the problem by turning around and sleeping with our heads at the door end. We also have at least one window open, and if conditions permit, the door is slightly open as well. This is not necessarily to reduce/eliminate condensation, but more to get plenty of air circulating.

Not sure this is the complete answer for you, but it seems to have worked in our case.

Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

AnswerID: 350349

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 13:39

Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 13:39
Jack,

I think you have provided the complete answer.

We also have our heads towards the front of the tent and also keep a vent or two open to provide airflow.

Have never experienced the need for a fly over the tent, but then again we only use the tent for sleeping and by that time the sun has well and truly gone down.

Great tent we reckon.
Suits our needs perfectly when not using the camper trailer.

FollowupID: 618709

Reply By: matske - Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 09:42

Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 09:42
i had a look at thread 35482. thats shocking. by the time i zip on the fly and rope down the fly my mate with an anaconda 6person cheapo dome tent would have his tent up as quick as my oz tent. it was a tough decision between the oz tent and the black wolf. does anybody know if the black wolf turbo tents have condensation problems like the oz tent?
AnswerID: 350363

Follow Up By: Member - Ian H (NSW) - Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 11:30

Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 11:30
We have a Black Wolf 240. It has never dripped on us, no condensation at all. It is as quick to erect as the Oztent by the time you fit the flys to each. The problem, I think, with the Oztent is the sloping roof in one plane gives a nice large surface for the condensate to collect on and as the roof sags a little, give the drips a chance to drop. But, the fly sits on the roof with no air space which is contrary to the general layout and principle of having a fly. You need the airspace to allow for air circulation. The fly on the Oztent serves only to keep the tent from getting rain or dew on it.
The Black Wolf "looks" like a tent should look, has the shape of a "tent", not that of a box.
Full marks though for the clever design and quick set up (just couldn't use that other word) time. A well made unit, just a pity about the drips.
I have 4 friends with whom we travel a lot who have Oztents and they love them but not for me, not while I can have a Black Wolf.
FollowupID: 618678

Follow Up By: chisel - Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 12:12

Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 12:12
As with all tents, the blackwolf gets condensation inside.
We have a 300 turbo plus lite. We've not had so much condensation that it drips but interestingly on a recent trip we tried it without the fly and it didn't take much rain before some water started dripping in at a couple of points (mostly where there are internal hooks - thus some more stitching).
No problem with the fly on although as said, there still certainly isn't some moisture on the walls in certain weather conditions. Don't touch the walls if you can avoid it.
FollowupID: 618691

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 13:09

Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 13:09
We also have a BlackWolf 300 turbo lite plus. Haven't had condensation, but they have some zippered vents in the roof to prevent it and we leave these open. The canvas versions don't have these vents.

Goes up easily, but its a real bugger to pack up.
FollowupID: 618704

Reply By: CJ - Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 11:41

Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 11:41
Guys I think you are a bit unfair here.

Condensation is a fact of life in many tents, etc, specially tents without a fly

Also there are many threads singing the praise of the Oztent

We have condensation in all our tents. Opening up some windows for ventilation will help overcome the problem in all tents

CJ
AnswerID: 350375

Follow Up By: hl - Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 12:02

Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 12:02
Yes.... simple physics really. Cool surface, moist air, condensation.
Nothing at all to do with the tent. Open it a bit so air can circulate better.
FollowupID: 618689

Follow Up By: Member - Mark E (VIC) - Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 14:47

Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 14:47
I agree that ventilation is more than likely a cure for this problem, but the material that the tent is made of will have some bearing on how much condensation is formed. Think of the example of how Goretex works...... lets the water vapour out, but not droplets in and it works VERY well. There are thousands of waterproof coats around made from goretex, as well as some expedition tents that are designed for very high altitude and light weight camping.

Canvas is the same and will generally 'breathe', whilst not letting the rain droplets in. Some canvas is woven differently and will 'breathe' better than some others.

I have the BW turbo 300 in the 'heavy' canvas. We hardly ever put the fly on (unless its looks like inclement weather), we also keep a window or two 'cracked' open and a little ventilation somewhere around the door. You need to create a little cross ventilation to let the water vapour from your breathing and insensible sweating escape.

We have never had any condensation drip on us at all.A mate of mine tried two oz-tents and he returned both of them due to the condensation issue (he also knows about ventilation), so it is possible that the design (flatish roof) or materials make it worse than other tents, but I would try to keep things open and get some ventilation in there first and see how you go.

I personally can't stand being in a tent that is tightly closed up at night, no matter how cold it is. In fact the colder it is, the more condensation will form and so you should be more inclined to keep things open in colder weather. If you get cold, get a better sleeping bag.

FollowupID: 618717

Follow Up By: Member - Ian H (NSW) - Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 15:24

Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 15:24
That's right Mark, no such thing as cold nights, just inadequate sleeping bags.
FollowupID: 618724

Follow Up By: Member - Julie P (VIC) - Monday, Feb 23, 2009 at 09:08

Monday, Feb 23, 2009 at 09:08
I think the way you sleep is the answer also, some poeple sleep too hot - so cold air outside - hot air inside your bedding - we have a friend who wears flanellete pj's flanny sheets, blankets doonas - you name it, and they have had bad condensation in everything they have camped in that had canvas - even in their caravan now the window next to her bed is always covered in condensation in the morning.
jules
FollowupID: 618836

Follow Up By: Member - Ingo57 (NSW) - Monday, Feb 23, 2009 at 12:16

Monday, Feb 23, 2009 at 12:16
I tend to disagree CJ

The pic that I posted of our RV4 dripping was related to minus 6 nights and the sun hitting the canvas early morning.
On a five week trip we tried everything doors open, side windows, rear window sleeping heads to door... nothing worked!

Since we bought the Southern Cross we have not had a problem in very similar conditions.

I realize a lot of people are happy with them but for us I felt it was crap for what you pay for them, we were bitterly disapointed.

In very cold conditions the Oz Tent needs a fly or it will rain on you

Equals

FollowupID: 618851

Follow Up By: CJ - Monday, Feb 23, 2009 at 12:59

Monday, Feb 23, 2009 at 12:59
Ingo,

I see your point and you obviously have a probelm as demonstrated. We seem to have different experiences though.

We have BOTH an Oztent and a BW turbo (the light material) and by choice we use the Oztent more.

We are in the tropics and have been in monsoon rains in our Oztent (which we prefer in rain as it has a larger awning than the BW). We have not had any water ingress at all.

Where there may be a difference though is that the coldest we have ever been in the tent was -1C in the CSR, but we always have windows open enough for ventilation. I admit that there seems to be more condensation in the Oztent than in the BW but nearly as much as demonstrated by your experience and never a probelm for us.

Cheers, CJ
FollowupID: 618857

Follow Up By: Member - Ingo57 (NSW) - Monday, Feb 23, 2009 at 16:47

Monday, Feb 23, 2009 at 16:47
Hi CJ

The great thing about exploroz is factual Information and difference of opinions. When we did our research on Oz tents we heard nothing but praise and so we purchased one.

In 06 when I posted asking the question about the condensation in the OZ tents there were stacks of owners came out of the woodwork with the same problem.
I wished that I had known this earlier!

FollowupID: 618896

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 15:29

Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 15:29
We have an RV 4 and we love it. We only ever use the tent when staying in caravan parks, usually prefer the double swag out in the open. We sleep with the back window open and the front doors fully open, apart from the insect screen. It has seen wet weather and no drops inside. A mate of mine has a new camper trailer with heavy canvas. He keeps it all zipped up and on the cold mornings, he said it is like having a show inside.

It all come down to how much ventilation you have.

AnswerID: 350409

Reply By: Member - Richard H (NSW) - Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 16:39

Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 16:39
I'll generally swag it. If it looks like rain I put up my "borrowed' army "hutchy".

I've been in monsoonal rains with that, and as long as you are off the ground, even a bit, you stay relatively dry. There's nothing like being in a nice warm sleeping bag in a tent in the rain, thinking about, "Are we gunna get bogged termorra", and other pleasant FWD activities.

Of course, drop bears, joe blakes, spiders, creepy crawlies can get in, but, they only add to the joy of camping.

My mate, who travels with me, is a squib and will often sleep in the passenger's seat. He does this with relative ease as he is seriously virtically challenged & can fit. I can't, even after a couple of glasses of green ginger wine.

My mate doesn't read this forum by the way.
AnswerID: 350432

Reply By: matske - Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 17:56

Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 17:56
thank you all for your replys. i always have every window in the oz tent open and it does not help with the drips of water that forms as dew on the back window fly screen on the outside and then runs down to the stitching on the bottom of the back window and drips into the tent.
all i can think of to fix it is maybe putting the fly really close to the back window but i really like my air flow in the tent
AnswerID: 350444

Reply By: matske - Tuesday, Feb 24, 2009 at 10:05

Tuesday, Feb 24, 2009 at 10:05
i have rung oz tent office and they are sending a courier to pick up my oz tent to take to sydney to test it.
hopefully they will replace it as i have had enough.
AnswerID: 350731

Follow Up By: matske - Wednesday, Feb 25, 2009 at 21:39

Wednesday, Feb 25, 2009 at 21:39
does anybody have any condensation problems in a southern cross tent??????????
FollowupID: 619352