Supplies along the development rd <span class="highlight">cape</span> <span class="highlight">York</span>

I am planning a family trip to the Pointy Bit later this year and am trying to find out what sort of supplies beside fuel can you get at the road houses along the development rd ie' musgrave laura Coen Bramwell, Thanks in advance for the help.

Reply By: snailbait (Blue mntns) - Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 11:05

Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 11:05
hi pmack
We took to the telegraph track last year in August 2008
we had no trouble in obtaining supplies all the road houses had frozen meat , meals you by , hot showers . The jarden river crossing did not sell food except for Microwave meat pies juk .
Bamaga is closed Sundays for grog and only open for approx 4 hrs a day
Terry
Life MEMBER snailbait Oberon HF RADIO CLUB VKE237 mobile 7661

AnswerID: 351120

Reply By: Voxson - Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 12:02

Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 12:02
There is a serv-wel supermarket at Seisa which sells most things.
Double the price of a normal city supermarket but it is there.
There is a takeaway shop which sells most take aways just down the road from the serv-wel.
Along the way at the roadhouses there is take aways in abundance.
The only time you will have trouble is if you break a part on your car
AnswerID: 351127

Reply By: On Patrol & TONI - Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 13:00

Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 13:00
pmack
Stock up the bulk of your supplies at Cairns, top up at Weipa. Then you only need to get the incidentals up the Top end. The prices will astound you as they have to be shipped in by barge, and you have to pay for that, IE 24 VB carton around $50. a tray of water bottles $35, these prices were at Seisia Supermarket & Bamaga bottle shop.
Only buy the stuff you really need to buy up there.
Cheers, Colin.
AnswerID: 351139

Reply By: Member - Coyote (QLD) - Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 16:22

Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 16:22
Absoloutley no reason you can't do the whole trip with nothing but a wallet in your pocket and a swag on the back... In fact met a guy doing just that 20 years ago, so even easier nowdays... depends how you want to travel.. if you happy to stop and buy a pie and a bottle of water/beer at the RH'es you can get there and back no worries..
AnswerID: 351162

Reply By: Member - Tony B (Malanda FNQ) - Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 17:24

Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 17:24
pmack. Not sure which direction you are coming from so we will take up from the Lakeland junction with Cooktown.
Lakeland has a store and has a good range of goods.
Laura has a small store. Good Selection
Hann Roadhouse - take away - very little else
Musgrave - Takee away - very little else
Coen - 2 x stores good selection of goods
Archer River - Take away - very little else
(Not sure about Branwell Station/Junction, I think they have started a service since Ive been up the cape)
Morten Telegraph Station - Take Away - very little else.
Jardine Ferry - Take away - very little else

Side trips
Iron Range - Lockhart Mission has store good supplies
Weipa - Good Supplies

Rest of info supplied above.

Cheers Tony
AnswerID: 351176

Follow Up By: Member - Peter D M - Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 20:22

Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 20:22
tony is on the money, the way i remember it from a few years back. also the takeaways were pretty good and in the scale of the trip value. i don't mind paying $50/60 for a slab if i'm thirsty, its cheap for the convenience

regards peter
FollowupID: 619491

Reply By: RV Powerstream P/L - Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 18:19

Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 18:19
I think if anyone wants to know about that run they should seek assistance from people associated with the Gret Australian Cancer Bush Walk as Michael has walked it and could probably tell you where to get a feed where there is no store.

Its a shame that the Victoriian leg is yet still to walk and the the the disaster there will completely overshadow Michaels walk but he will surely have a lot to talk about and should be congratulated for his efforts.
AnswerID: 351186

Follow Up By: Member - Tony B (Malanda FNQ) - Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 18:49

Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 18:49
Ian. I thought the above thread was quite adequate :-). Hey but if want to advertise the walk that is fine. I worked and slept in Tents up there for 5 years and spent 50% of my days going bush looking for water holes. There is some surprisingly good little camp spots I can tell you - but thats for another day. Cheers Tony
FollowupID: 619462

Follow Up By: RV Powerstream P/L - Saturday, Feb 28, 2009 at 12:24

Saturday, Feb 28, 2009 at 12:24
Sorry Tony I didnt realise that the thread should have stopped with your post .

Ill try and be more careful in future even if it is mentioning a charitable effort raising funds for Cancer Resarch.

Wouldnt it be good if you and Micheal got together and compared notes then you can both tell me -but thats for another day.

FollowupID: 619744

Follow Up By: Member - Tony B (Malanda FNQ) - Saturday, Feb 28, 2009 at 14:00

Saturday, Feb 28, 2009 at 14:00
Ian. If you think your thread in any way helped answer their question, I humbly apologize. A contact link to Micheal may have helped. Stay loose Tony.
FollowupID: 619758

Follow Up By: RV Powerstream P/L - Saturday, Feb 28, 2009 at 17:08

Saturday, Feb 28, 2009 at 17:08
Dont you dare apologise to me I love the interaction and I am totally envious of what you have done and what Michael is doing.

Keep it up but dont stay loose as thats for another day.
FollowupID: 619772

Reply By: rumpig - Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 21:42

Thursday, Feb 26, 2009 at 21:42
like already said, tony has pretty much summed it up.
all ill add is that Weipa has a big Woolworths supermarket like you'd find in any other major city. there's a butcher shop in the same shopping centre / mall there which sells great rib fillet steak, just melts in your mouth. back in 2006 the butcher shop used to be open till lunch time on saturday, so you might want to take that into consideration,
we found the store at Seisa had better quality food then the Bamaga store when we were there, but either way they were both well stocked and had plenty of stuff to choose from. i'd probably compare them to a large IGA store, but not as big as your local Woolies or Coles.
AnswerID: 351236