Guns are'nt dangerous......................................................

Submitted: Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 16:58
ThreadID: 66801 Views:4141 Replies:25 FollowUps:26
As we are bombarded by the nightly newws with stories of kids going nuts with guns, I relate this tale from my youth in Africa.

I shall keep the names anonymous by using the first letter only. There was me and T and M. T and M and were cousins. I was not related to them. We would either spend the weekend on T’s farm on the plains or my Aunt’s farm in the mountains.

We were Audy Murphy, Alan Ladd and John Wayne all wrapped in one. The three of us were all fourteen years of age and invincible. Cowboys and Indians on the farm every weekend, and we had guns…..real ones! We had been trained by our parents from an early age to handle guns and to be very careful with them. Weekends on the farm meant days out in the veld, scouring the conical hills for rock rabbits(hyrax) and shooting some so that the native farm workers could have some extra meat and the skins could be salted.

My mate T’s dad, had a Steyer-Pugh Haflinger 4x4, and we would cavort across the plains and in and out of gullies looking for anything legal to shoot. Invariably we would come up with nothing, as the little creatures got wise of our movements and figured out that it was better to hide when the noisy humans came into view.

M was a raucous character. He was a joker, always laughing and thinking up diabolical scenarios. I suppose it was his way of compensating for his diabetes, which he had had from birth. Daily injections was part of his life. T, M’s first cousin, was a dreamer like me, and we would be dreaming up all kinds of things and silly ideas. Sometime we would go to T’s dad, who was an engineer by profession, and come up with ways and means for a variety of applications. T’s dad was an affable bloke with a kindly nature and he had the gift to be able to train animals to do things out of their normal scope. He had a small plains turkey, which he had hatched from an egg, and he taught this young bird to lay on it’s back to have its tummy scratched. But I digress.

On this day we three decided, whilst out on a hunt, that we should stage a shoot-out like in the days of the wild-west. So we discussed the parameters of our actions and decided that we would take turns to be the ‘hunted’. So, fully armed with our .22 rifles and plenty of ammo, we spent a couple of hours shooting at one another. Of course we did not show our faces or body bits from behind the rocks but rather shot at the crest of the rock where each one was hiding. Bullets whistled overhead. Someone put their hat above the rock with a stick and it copped a bullet hole. When we got sick of that we walked home. Upon arriving back at the homestead we each went to our rooms and I cleaned my rifle and put it away and I presumed that the others had individually done so as well.

The following morning we were up and about after breakfast and looking for a day in another part of the veld. I had taken my rifle from its case and was walking down the passageway to the front of the house. I caught up with T just before he entered M’s bedroom. He too was carrying his rifle. As he walked in through the door of the bedroom, M was busy sighting his rifle at an obscure object in the room.

T said “Stick ‘em up. Cowboy!!”

M yelled “No way!!” and dropped down on to the bed with his rifle at ready, aimed and pulled the trigger.

Bang!!!!

T crumpled to the floor, his rifle clattered as it was being discarded into the corner of the room.

“Oh Tish!! You have shot me!!!””

Somehow it hadn’t dawned on me yet that a bullet had been fired.

I said “ C’mon T, stop playing the fool!”

But then his blood started pumping ou ton to the floor. T lay there in a dazed state.

I rushed back to the kitchen called T’s mum, who, luckily enough, was a nurse, and she had things under control in no time. From there things seemed to blurr. T’s Uncle rushed from another farm about 10 kilometres away and then rushed T, and M, who was beside himself and hyperventilating, the 45 kilometres into town to the local hopital in his Packard Straight Eight. In the mean time an aircraft had been organised and T was flown to the city and by the late afternoon he had been operated on by a specialist, in the big city hospital. The bullet had entered his upper right leg, gone straight through the middle section of his body, missing all vital organs, and had lodged itself against the left femur. He recovered and lived to tell the tale. The bullet had missed me by about 12 inches.

It transpired, as I recall, that M had a self loading .22 and when we walked back into the homestead the afternoon before, he had leaned the rifle against the wall and then went on to other pursuits and did not attend to his weapon.

We all had to relate our tale to the police. M’s dad had to pay for the costs involved, T’s dad banned our hunting parties foreve, and I got told off severely by my dad for not checking on the others. No action was taken against anyone as it was deemed an accident. There were no counsellors around in those days but we all recovered in due course. I lost touch with T about 25 years ago. M passed away at a very young age after becoming a professional golfer. Me? I am still around….LOL

Guns are’nt dangerous….People are!!!!!

Reply By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 17:30

Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 17:30
Good tale young fella, and you evoke lots of memories from bygone days.

I too can recall many a happy weekend camping in England and hunting for rabbits and foxes in my 'formative years'

Although not on a farm, we did live within an easy bike ride of good countryside and a 12guage shotgun was not seen to be out of place, either at home or riding along with it strapped to your back.

We too were taught safety and basic handling of firearms and I do not recall all these mass murders... so we are left to ponder the question......what has gone wrong??

BTW I reckon you should change your screen name to.......
Roy Rogers or John Wayne or, or, or whatabout the Cisco Kid..lol lol

Michael
AnswerID: 353825

Reply By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 17:32

Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 17:32
Thanks for the story Willem, I was so engrossed in it that I totally ignored the puppy around me. You are quite right, guns are harmless until they are picked up or touched by humans. It just shows how easy accidents can happen, having said that I was shuddering when I read about the "hiding behind trees and rocks while the bullets were being fired", who said kids don't take notice of movies, tv shows etc.

Isn't it amazing, one walks their path of life through good times and bad, the lucky ones get through, like yourself, missing deaths door by inches, others are not so lucky.

I grew up with guns and we were taught how to handle them, when I had my own children we use to go down to the farm and we would take our young children out to the back paddock and teach them how to use a gun sensibly, they thought it was great fun.

Great story Willem, thanks for sharing it.

Deanna

Simba, our much missed baby.

AnswerID: 353826

Reply By: Robert H (SEQ)(aka zuksctr) - Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 17:38

Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 17:38
Good story Willem,also good that it turned out better for the one that was shot(even by accident)
I learnt at an early age not to play with guns(could not be afforded anyway) from the silly things other teenagers & older were doing around the place.
When older (early manhood?) I foolishly bought a 333 i think it was (so long ago) wife cousin knew people with a property out Nyngan way.To cut a long boring short,we were out shooting for Roo's one night & put a lot of bullets into as it kept moving (nerves i guessed)last time i went shooting sold the gun.Never wanted another.

You are so right too that it is the person in charge of the said Firearm that is Dangerous.

AnswerID: 353827

Reply By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 17:46

Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 17:46
A friend of mine (American) emigrated here some years ago and bought a country property. A nasty shooting crime occurred a few farms away in a direct line but many km by road.Police turned up on the doorstep to check all firearms in the district.

Good afternoon sir, do you own a rifle ?
Yes I do officer.
Can we see it ?
Sure, (without taking one step he puts his arms above his head reaches up above the door lintel and takes .22 rifle out of a gun rack on the wall above the door).
Here you are officer. Oh, and be careful it's loaded !
What ! you keep a loaded rifle over the door ?
Yep, a firearm ain't no use to me if it ain't loaded !

Police officers very carefully examine rifle and hand it back not knowing what to make of this crazy guy. I would love to have been a fly on the wall when they reported back to their boss.

AnswerID: 353829

Reply By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 18:04

Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 18:04
Gday Willem
I enjoyed that little story.
It brings back memories of my childhood. Dad used to take us out shooting for something to eat. Rabbits, the odd roo, in fact dad shot anything that he thought that we could eat. He was a bushman that lived in town with all us boys and mum.I was going to say that mums hare pie was just great, but that might be misconstrued by some to mean something else.

Murray

AnswerID: 353832

Reply By: bgreeni - Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 18:07

Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 18:07
I too was bought up in the country. Firearms were part of life with rabbit and fox shooting. Then at school it was school cadets where we fired .303's, Brens and Owens. Even learnt to shoot a Vickers.

Now I can't even own a .22 legally.

Crazies have spoilt it for all of us, but the crooks still have all the firearms they want.
AnswerID: 353833

Reply By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 18:22

Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 18:22
Willem,

Good story thanks.

I have a firearms story about a mate. When he was pretty young, he decided he wanted to see what a bullet looked like, after it had been fired. So he lined up every cushion he could find in the house and shot a .22 into them. I can't remember if he found the projectile or how bad the flogging was that he got.

Around that same time, he fired an air rifle into a rock which came back and hit me just under the eye.

Things were a bit different in those days. My 80 year old grandmother bought me my first rifle for use in the school small bore rifle club - a beautiful Bruno MK2.

Willie.

AnswerID: 353836

Reply By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 18:35

Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 18:35
Hi Willem, great story and one which induces a little thought.

Guns haven't changed over the years but, people seem to have.

In my formative years I can't recall movies being as vivid, violent, gorey and blood lustfull as in the last 20 years or so.

I don't recall so much medication being thrown around by the medical profession.

I don't recall anyone living their lives so close to the edge in terms of stress, anxiety and other pressures of modern life.

I don't recall the myriad of weird and wonderful illegal drugs floating around society these days.

I don't recall a perpetrator of a heinious crime being treated with kiddy gloves during and after the legal process.

What I do recall is having parents who taught me the meaning of respect, love, manners, consideration, law, discipline and a whole host of lifes values.

No easy answer to this one I'm afraid.

Cheers.......Lionel.
AnswerID: 353840

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 18:58

Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 18:58
Ditto. But with a proviso;
We have legislated respect out of the dictionary.
They have been replaced by the UN charter of children's rights.

The rise and rise of the Bogan society.

FollowupID: 621973

Follow Up By: get outmore - Saturday, Mar 14, 2009 at 10:37

Saturday, Mar 14, 2009 at 10:37
A gun is like a knife

as a butcher i have a 30cm long slicing knife

if i use it in the shop it is a TOOL
if i use it at home its a UTENSIL
if i kill someone with it its a WEAPON

this idea guns only have one purpose is rot
they are desighned for different things
I have Pistols but wouldnt touch a glock
- they handle like crap they are innacurate and are unreliable when using with low power loads

by the same token you wouldnt go to war with my pistols
they have little/no magazine capacity they cant be used left and right handed, they are low power, they are finicky and only work when clean

FollowupID: 622088

Reply By: Member - Mal and Di (SA) - Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 18:54

Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 18:54
I remember my first firearm was a single shot 22. I spent hours walking through the scrub searching for that elusive kangaroo.
Just so I would be ready if one was unlucky to not hear me coming I would have a bullet up the spout and carefully ease the bolt forward and then in a flash I could pull it back and bingo.
Well one day I came across a bed of big black ants, so being young and stupid I began to bang the ground around them with the butt of the rifle. You guessed it, BANG just past my ears. Often have cold shivers thinking what may have happened if I had landed on the ant hill and just how much would have been left of me.
It made me very very aware of all weapons since and if I pick one up, even if I have just seen someone else check it, I will do it myself just to be sure. I was lucky I got to have a second chance.
M.
AnswerID: 353848

Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 19:10

Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 19:10
Scenario:

Jack goes rabbit shooting before school, pulls into school car park with rifle in ute.

1959 - School Principal comes over, looks at Jack's rifle, goes to his car and gets his rifle & chats with Jack about guns.

2009 - School goes into lock down, Police called, Jack hauled off to jail and never sees his ute or rile again. Counsellors called in for traumatized students and teachers.

Classifieds: Landcruiser 16x8 Rims,

AnswerID: 353852

Reply By: Member - Ron M (NSW) - Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 19:24

Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 19:24
I am a Vietnam combat Veteran , My ideas of guns is .. Firstly what do you need a gun for ... HUNTING - any silly ratbag can blow out an animal .. FOOD - meat is cheaper then bullets an fuel .. PROTECTION - if you have a rifle its easier for him to kill you .. SPORT - throw rocks at the clay discs and see if ya can em ..

IFN YA LIKE GUNS GO TO WAR ..
Ron MACKENZIE

AnswerID: 353857

Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 19:57

Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 19:57
Hey Ron,

Yakkin' to a Vet at our local club last night, wasn't a bed of roses over there.

His biggest problem was, and still is, the way he was treated when he came back.

I agree with you, why shoot a roo for meat when you can use napalm and cook it at the same time.......hahaha.

Cheers mate,

Lionel.
FollowupID: 621982

Follow Up By: Member - Ron M (NSW) - Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 20:49

Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 20:49
Lionel..
Your post says it all . The world is full of bloody idiots .
If you don't believe me turn the news on
Ron MACKENZIE

FollowupID: 621992

Follow Up By: Krakka - Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 21:10

Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 21:10
Well Ron, whats does ya NEED a 4wd for? Ya can catch a bus or fly to go on a holiday, you can even take a guided tour to anywhere in this great country, probably cheaper than buying and running a 4wd too.

AAAh thats right, its called freedom of choice, isnt that what the soldiers were fighting for us for in the "great wars" No disrespect there to any soldiers or diggers.

Krakka
FollowupID: 621994

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 21:17

Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 21:17
I can't see any need for guns in a civlised society.

I accept that Cops need them, Farmers may have the need, but who else?

FollowupID: 621997

Follow Up By: Krakka - Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 21:38

Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 21:38
No NEED for a 4wd in the suburbs either.
FREEDOM OF CHOICE
And it's legal

Krakka
FollowupID: 622001

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 21:46

Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 21:46
Pete,

Legal, sure, but perhaps the law needs to be changed.

I used to like guns, but I don't now. They serve no useful purpose in modern society.

FollowupID: 622005

Follow Up By: Member - Ron M (NSW) - Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 22:58

Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 22:58
Krakka
Your post says it all . The world is full of bloody idiots .
If you don't believe me turn the news on
Ron MACKENZIE

FollowupID: 622035

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Saturday, Mar 14, 2009 at 00:12

Saturday, Mar 14, 2009 at 00:12
Best-I think you effort is completely in the wrong direction.
Cigarettes kill a hundred times more people than legal registered firearms, and not only the user but many around them.
Do they serve a useful purpose? I havent found one yet-have you?

firearms --"They serve no useful purpose in modern society"

perhaps thats cos you dont have any interest in them? Just like people such as Mr Scruby sees the same in 4WD's.
Many people here get riled at other interest groups having a say against 4WD's and express the view that it is only cos they dont "need" one or its "none of their business".
But then these same people go on to criticize and deride other peoples sports.
FollowupID: 622056

Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Saturday, Mar 14, 2009 at 00:12

Saturday, Mar 14, 2009 at 00:12
Ron,

Wasnt taking the mickey out of you, just had some understanding as to your attitude to firearms.

Tossed in, what I thought would bring a little humour into the discussion.

Cheers.....Lionel.
FollowupID: 622057

Follow Up By: The Rambler( W.A.) - Saturday, Mar 14, 2009 at 01:10

Saturday, Mar 14, 2009 at 01:10
Ron ,everyone is entitled to thier opinion but I don't think you need to force yours on others.Hunting is a recognised sport throughout the world and there are many keen hunters in Aus. including myself .I own 5 registered firearms,have been hunting for 52 years and will continue to do so. Same old story---it's the guns that cause the trouble--come on!
FollowupID: 622060

Follow Up By: Member - Ron M (NSW) - Saturday, Mar 14, 2009 at 01:44

Saturday, Mar 14, 2009 at 01:44
I would absoleutly love to be behind some defenceless animal when you bloody Rambos are out here proving your got a bigger right to be on earth then them .. I could show you a thing or 2.
25 years of blowing out animals is not my idea of being a good bloke . As I said before go to war and you will never touch a gun again ..
I have seen the people in gun clubs and , to my way of thinking its a test of whos got the biggest pecker contest..

MY LAST COMMENT ON THE SUBJECT AND NO I'AM NOT A GREENIE
Ron MACKENZIE

FollowupID: 622061

Follow Up By: Member - Mfewster(SA) - Saturday, Mar 14, 2009 at 09:14

Saturday, Mar 14, 2009 at 09:14
Krakka
Wherever did you get the idea from that WW1 and WW2 were fought for "freedom of choice"? Although I suppose that you could argue that Germany in WW1 wanted freedom of choice and had got a bit twitchy because they were continually hampered in trying to trade with the the British and French overseas colonial Empires. Or the Japanese felt it was less than freedom of choice when the western world stopped trading with them as a consequence of the depression, so they thought they had better get an overseas empire of their own. But I think that would be stretching it a bit. I don't think the Turks saw the invasion of their country at Gallipoli as having much to do with "freedom of choice" either.
FollowupID: 622082

Follow Up By: guzzi - Saturday, Mar 14, 2009 at 09:22

Saturday, Mar 14, 2009 at 09:22
Ron,
I can understand where your stance and views come from, yours wasnt a popular war and Vietnam vets were treated shamefully.
But Rambo's? really, you of all people should know better. Read the book.
Seems you've been listening to the media or the greens a bit too much.
Obviously you haven't been to many gun clubs either.
Biggest pecker contest, you dont go out with rebecca peters by any chance do you? Once again I'll disagree with you on that point.
All of your stated prejudices can be applied to 4wds, or any other subject that people dont like.

Me, I hunt,shoot at gun clubs, fish, drive 4x4's and ride motorcycles, did active service in Timor (which was nowhere near the sh-ite fight Vietnam was) and by your definition have a small willie, well it works for me.
Ron everyone has a differing opinion, some to be contrary ,some because of their life experiences, you may not agree so be it, I dont agree with you either, but I do respect why you feel the way you do and I also respect the job you did in Vietnam.

FollowupID: 622083

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 02:18

Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 02:18
plenty of vets shoot with the SSAA-so not all share your views Ron and Best.

Feral animals such as rabbits pigs foxes NEED exterminating
FollowupID: 622209

Reply By: qubert - Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 19:30

Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 19:30
you might be able to find 't' on face book. its good for tracking paople down
AnswerID: 353859

Reply By: Bob of KAOS - Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 20:05

Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 20:05
I'm half expecting Goran to make a post.
AnswerID: 353866

Reply By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 20:26

Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 20:26
When next round the campfire there W, remind me to tell you about the young indigenous chaps trying to shoot a shag on the Murray River opposite the Merbein Common with a .22 rifle. There's a strange correlation between them and the hole in my left knee. You're spot on.

AnswerID: 353871

Reply By: 3.0turbob - Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 20:46

Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 20:46
I remember you used to be able to buy firearms and ammo at our local K-Mart in the early 70's. Anything from air rifles to shotguns. Imagine that today!

Rob
AnswerID: 353876

Follow Up By: Member - William H (WA) - Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 23:48

Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 23:48
Image Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be FoundThanks for your Story Willem, very good reading.

I was taught to handel Guns with Respect, and i still do to this day, I was in PNG in 1975, for the hand over of the Goverment from Australia to PNG. wile their i was on one of the Patrol Boats and we arrested a Jap Long line fishing boat off Boganville,i was in the boarding party and had a 9 mill pistol, the others had S.L.R's,as soon as we boarded, the ship stopped and all was ok, as being out on the high seas anything can happen.
I had an email sent to me the other day, and look at what the late Charlton Hestion had in his basement, What a collection,No wonder he was the President of the Rifel association in America.
Check out the door on the Vault.

Cheers for now
FollowupID: 622048

Follow Up By: Member - William H (WA) - Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 23:50

Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 23:50
Ps left one off from above.

Cheers for now...William H...Bunbury...WA.
FollowupID: 622049

Follow Up By: Member - William H (WA) - Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 23:52

Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 23:52
Here it is.Image Could Not Be Found

Cheers for now... William H...Bunbury...WA.
FollowupID: 622051

Follow Up By: Member - Dave G (QLD) - Saturday, Mar 14, 2009 at 08:42

Saturday, Mar 14, 2009 at 08:42
Just to add something to this thread I worked on the NSW Gun BUy back, I've been around guns for many years, Regular Army 8/9th battalion, 1 Commando, Prisons Emergency Units and NSW POlice, TRG & SWOS , its okay to say its not the gun but the person, on the buy back we were amazed at the amount of automatic forearms handed in for compensation forplaces like Bankstown, LAkemba, Campbelltown and other known gang areas, these were not everyday guns but, MP5, AK's and other machine guns, the problem is too many idiots get guns and there is no proper safety testing or reporting on these.
FollowupID: 622075

Follow Up By: guzzi - Saturday, Mar 14, 2009 at 13:19

Saturday, Mar 14, 2009 at 13:19
Dave,
Go and try getting a firearms license these days.
All of the points you have raised have been covered, there is saftey testing up here in QLD, god only knows what the NSW nanny system is like. Would you like cotton wool with that sir?
As for Bankstown , Leakemba etc they were good suburbs once upon a time, its only a minority of the current population there that needs deporting.
Having said that ONLY the law abiding bother to comply with the current system and put up with the embuggarences for their chosen sport.
The criminals just ignore them and do what they like.
And finally just how quickly does the automatic FOREARM get the shot off?
FollowupID: 622124

Reply By: Member - Axle - Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 21:19

Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 21:19
And you called me a Ruffian!!!, Mate you have escaped the dangers of a lad growing up, Like myself you should be dead!, But for some reason we have been lucky enough to enjoy the dramas of life up until this present day.

As lads of that age mates and i used to wander around the bush with .22 rifles shooting anything that moved, luckily for us the wrong shot never eventuated.

But what i can say is this!, i have witnessed The look on a mans face ,after he has pulled the trigger of a 12g shotgun shooting a chicken hawk.and watching his son fall to the ground out of the same tree, no one relized that young eddy was up there . Luckily he survived.

So to think about this, guns and people are as dangerous as one an other.

AnswerID: 353881

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 22:18

Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 22:18
So true Axle,

Making a mistake with a cup of tea results in a mess on the floor.

Making a mistake with a firearm can result in death.

We all make mistakes fom time to time.

FollowupID: 622015

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 22:34

Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 22:34
G/Day Jim, I guess this post hit a nerve, But after looking back over my reply, I think a gun is a safe item ,on its own. When it becomes activated by whatever, then it is dangerous as to what it can do., wether intentional or pure accident.

FollowupID: 622022

Follow Up By: Tim - Stratford (VIC) - Saturday, Mar 14, 2009 at 08:52

Saturday, Mar 14, 2009 at 08:52
G'day Jim,

I know where you're coming from regarding the "just one mistake" with the firearm - I've seen it first hand - but he lived (some don't).

I've also seen quite a few "just one mistake" with vehicles - quite often they die - and not only one person.

Seems the common denominator is the Nut on the butt - or holding the wheel.

Tim
(X-pistol, current longarms shooter)
FollowupID: 622078

Reply By: Member - Footloose - Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 23:18

Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 23:18
G'Day Willem. Stirring the possums again, I see. Bit of rain and see what happens eh ? LOL
AnswerID: 353907

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 23:25

Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 23:25
Sitting back with a big grin i bet!!.

Axle.
FollowupID: 622044

Reply By: Kim and Damn Dog - Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 23:36

Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 23:36
Here we go again. So we’re going to ban everything that might cause an accident. The bloody piffle I hear about firearms is totally uninformed..

If you don’t believe me, go through the procedure for getting a gun license, firearm security, and then join a gun club to understand how well the sport is controlled.

As a fella said on the radio the other day, he takes his teenage sons to a rifle range. There’s no grog, drugs or any abusive behaviour. He’d rather have them there under tight supervision than running wild on the streets at night.

The sport teaches them discipline, respect for authority and more importantly part of a mentoring social group (which they sadly lack at the moment).

I could go on all night about this. Sure there will always be some wacko’s out there, but they don’t need a gun to create mayhem. All they need to do is grab one of mum’s kitchen knives to do that. Melbourne is a good example of that over the weekends.

And I think thats one of the points Willem is trying to make.

Have to go now, I think there's a stiring possum on the roof that I'll have to take the gun to. LOL

Kim

AnswerID: 353909

Reply By: Bob of KAOS - Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 23:45

Friday, Mar 13, 2009 at 23:45
I am sympathetic to the views that its not guns that are dangerous - its the people who misuse them.

I grew up with guns, and loved shooting rabbits.

The problem is, a gun spits lead at some incredible speed and is likely to do harm even if slightly misused.

There are 6 billion plus people out there. Not every one of them is safe or sane. How can you tell the sane from the crazies? You can't reliably. You only have to see what happens in the USA to see what increasing the number of guns can achieve.

Willem's right - people are dangerous. For f....'s sake don't give them guns too.
AnswerID: 353910

Follow Up By: Member - Mfewster(SA) - Saturday, Mar 14, 2009 at 09:23

Saturday, Mar 14, 2009 at 09:23
Bob, I think that sums up the argument for gun control nicely. I support people learning to use guns and don't have too many problems with National service. But I see no reason at all for people to have guns at home. Except for some rural uses. In this case, single shot models are sufficient. Sure knives are a problem and we have plenty of nutters. I'd rather the nutters had access to knives than firearms, especially the repeating variety.
FollowupID: 622084

Reply By: Kiwi and Grenade - Saturday, Mar 14, 2009 at 02:02

Saturday, Mar 14, 2009 at 02:02
I love hearing your stories Willem! Nothing like a real game of Indians and Cowboys to keep 3 boys entertained.

So true though...its the people who are dangerous, not guns!
AnswerID: 353914

Reply By: guzzi - Saturday, Mar 14, 2009 at 09:27

Saturday, Mar 14, 2009 at 09:27
Willem,
Sort of proves the old addage,
"To be old and wise, first one must be young and stupid"

AnswerID: 353927

Reply By: slammin - Saturday, Mar 14, 2009 at 14:19

Saturday, Mar 14, 2009 at 14:19
Guns aren't dangerous - it's the bullets that you've gotta look out for.

Ban the bullets. Then we don't have to worry about who's got the guns.

The ridiculous thing about these type of threads is that I'm yet to see anybodies opinions heard by the other camp or see somebodies opinions changed.

Still good for a laugh and to see where we all stand eh!
AnswerID: 353959

Reply By: kevanancy - Saturday, Mar 14, 2009 at 18:43

Saturday, Mar 14, 2009 at 18:43
When we can ban fools then everyone can have a gun again if they so choose . Lost a mate a couple of months ago who would still be here as his young family still is , if he wasn't killed by a fool with a gun . Times have changed . Dangerous people are even more dangerous if they have a gun .
AnswerID: 354002

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 03:54

Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 03:54
I just can't believe they still let, these Redneck post on this site...
AnswerID: 354055

Reply By: Member - Mfewster(SA) - Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 18:12

Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 18:12
Hunting is a natural human activity that we have been doing for thousands of years. So what is wrong with bringing it up to date? Me and the mates are saving for one of those Russian helicopters with rotating barrel machine guns (you can get older models now at quite low prices). With one of these and some home made explosive charges to drop that we are working on, we will sure make a dent in the feral animals up our way. It's a free country still isn't it?
AnswerID: 354146