Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
Section Image

OZ - which way round? does it matter?

Submitted: Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 08:23

PradOz

Article Overview - Making Your Itinerary
Before you embark upon the logistics of planning for your trip (vehicle setup, camping gear) it is essential that you have made some sort of an itinerary. View Full Article...
when doing the lap around OZ is there a general consensus that its preferable to go around one way rather than the other (ie: clockwise or anticlockwise?)

does it depend on the season, weather etc and your starting point, or maybe your end date, when you have to be back?

for those that have done it, or are in the process - which way did you go and where did you start from?

i know i would be happy enough to just go with no end date in mind and just keep on going - so if that was the case i wouldnt really care which way as i would be taking a long time seeing as much as i could. probably have to allow an airfare to send SWMBO home somewhere along the way as i couldnt see her doing it indefinately - now we are talking, just me and the dog :)))
ThreadID: 66848 Replies: 9
Views: 1343 FollowUps: 7
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 354075   Submitted: Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 08:38

DIO replied:

It's a shorter distance if you go anti-clockwise ! Doesn't really matter where you start from or which direction you travel. Your choice.
Reply 1 of 9
FollowupID: 622232   Submitted: Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 08:49

bruce posted:

Re shorter distance.....by about a few metres , if at all...to many variables to be accurate or argue...
FollowUp 1 of 3
FollowupID: 622321   Submitted: Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 17:54

Member - Duncs posted:

77kms I hear.

Eric the Emu at home
Click Image to Enlarge
Content with where I am but looking for somwhere else to go. Pic 1 Eric the Emu at home Pic 2 camped on Cooper Cr
FollowUp 2 of 3
FollowupID: 622382   Submitted: Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 21:23

Member - dieseltojo K (VIC) posted:

Hi PradOz,
I once read that if you go around oz anti clock wise you will save around 50 klm by always being in the left lane. Not very helpful but funny.LoL.
FollowUp 3 of 3
AnswerID: 354077   Submitted: Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 08:41

Axel [ the real one ] replied:

Anticlockwise the prevailing winds help a little on the fuel bill.
Opinions are like the dollar coin , not worth much.
Facts however can save you lots of dollars.
Reply 2 of 9
FollowupID: 622234   Submitted: Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 08:54

Time posted:

I would have thought the seasons and your starting point would have more bearing on your direction. i.e. if living in Mexico and heading out in winter the natural assumption would be to head North, aticlockwise. If in FNQ and heading off in Summer then it would be sensible to head south, clockwise.

An easy decision for me as my truck pulls to the left so I would go anticlockwise, leaving Canberra in Autumn!
FollowUp 1 of 2
FollowupID: 622250   Submitted: Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 10:19

Cairns Offroad Training & Tours posted:

Prevailing winds can make a enormous difference specially with a van.By travelling anti clockwise you have predominant southeasterlys pushing you up the east coast and usually strong westerlys to push you across the Nullabour. Cheers Rob berrill
Cairns Offroad Training & ToursCairns Offroad Training & Tours
Business Member: My Profile
FollowUp 2 of 2
AnswerID: 354092   Submitted: Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 10:39

Member - Malcolm (Townsville) replied:

PradOz

In May 2005 I went around clockwise towing a 20' van with a V8 Fairlane. Across the Nullarboor we had a tail wind (and it was raining). From there on, it was all downhill :-( head winds all the way. Across the Barkly, if I didn't have the extra two jerrycans of petrol I wouldn't have made it.

Next time it will be anti-clockwise :-)

Malcolm
Home OFF the Range
Click Image to Enlarge
living the 'good life' - it's all I have left
Reply 3 of 9
AnswerID: 354109   Submitted: Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 13:23

ozwasp replied:

I think you'd get a 50-50 split from most people. How much time do you want to allow?
I live in Perth and if I were going to do a 'lap' I'd head north from here and go clockwise - but I prefer the north. I'd leave Perth around early May to be up in the Kimberleys/NT by June.
If you were coming from the East coast to do a clockwise lap, then I would probably be leaving now as to spend some time in the south west prior to going north. If you wanted to spend more time in the south west, then I would leave the east coast in spring and have the summer here.
If you were heading anti clockwise from the East Coast, then now would also be a good time to leave, as there is a lot to see and do going up the east coast and you'd want to be in Cairns around June, as to spend some time doing the gulf savanah (Cairns to Broome) in the dry season.
Reply 4 of 9
Activities Index
Cessna 172 Trial Introductory Flight Cessna 172 Trial Introductory Flight
Sydney - NSW
If you have ever thought about learning to fly but for one reason or another, put it off??
Hot Air Ballooning with breakfast -Yarra Valley Hot Air Ballooning with breakfast -Yarra Vall
Yarra Valley / Dandenongs - VIC
Enjoy the wonders of a hot air ballooning flight over the Yarra Valley with Australia's oldest &
Signature Massage - 90 minutes Signature Massage - 90 minutes
Sydney - NSW
Come and experience our signature massage - a unique combination of relaxing body and Swedish techni
Helicopter Flight Sydney Grand Tour Helicopter Flight Sydney Grand Tour
Sydney - NSW
This fantastic 30-minute helicopter flight takes in the best Sydney has to offer, beginning with an
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 354204   Submitted: Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 20:41

Member - Matt & Caz H (QLD) replied:

Hi There,

We started in November 08 did out back QLD in the summer and about to do Tassie in the winter - total opposite of what people told us to do!!!!! just depends on you and what you want to do.
Yes we sweated it out in QLD and will freeze our butts of in Tassie - the positive with Tassie being we got a real cheap deal on the Spirit (we are over 13.5m long all up with van and cruiser) and the girls will get to see the snow!!!!

Caroline

Click Image to Enlarge
Travelling Oz with the kids!!!!
Reply 5 of 9
FollowupID: 622372   Submitted: Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 20:43

Member - Matt & Caz H (QLD) posted:

Also you do need to think about up nth (QLD ect) I do believe it is not advisable to travel this way during certain months.

Caroline

Click Image to Enlarge
Travelling Oz with the kids!!!!
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 354214   Submitted: Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 21:14

NigeB replied:

Hi there
How about a figure eight? There's a bit of stuff in the middle worth looking at too! Wifey and I left Geraldton in March 2007 (towing 8 metre van) got to Kununurra in April. Left there in September and after a quick look at Darwin, went down the guts and across to Melbourne and ferried to Tassie by November. Thought that would be the coolest place to spend summer. Did'nt realise how cool. Snow on Mt Wellington in February! Left Tas early April 08 and arrived in Cairns end of May. Stayed here a bit longer than expected (had to work to top up the piggy), so got to see what the wet season is all about. Heading for Darwin in the next week or so to beat the rush, and will spend the "Dry" there before heading down the centre and across to Esperance....... Hence the figure 8 (ish). We too had to lash out on airfares, but luckily, X-mas, dads 80th and daughters 21st were all in a 4 week span. If you can plan ahead there are some reasonable airfares available. Any'ow, in the long run, it don't matter which way you go as long s your out there living the dream! Hope you have a great trip!
Reply 6 of 9
AnswerID: 354215   Submitted: Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 21:21

Member - John (Vic) replied:

Gee Wizz!!! What a dilemma, Hmmm!! left or right??
Just toss a coin heads left, tails right and go.

Canning Stock Route - June 2009
Click Image to Enlarge
Photo 1 - Canning Stock Route - June 2009
Photo 2 - Flinders Ranges - July 2009

Reply 7 of 9
AnswerID: 354379   Submitted: Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 18:02

ExplorOz - David & Michelle replied:

have a read of the article I've just linked at the top of your post. This covers your exact questions (I hope :-)
MM
David & Michelle
Click Image to Enlarge
David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
------------------------------------------------
Always working, not enough travelling ;-)
Lifetime Member: My Profile  My Blog  Send Message
Reply 8 of 9
FollowupID: 622597   Submitted: Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 20:36

PradOz posted:

thanks heaps - exactly covers my questions and is really informative - more so than the reply above yours (#7)

thanks again for your expert guidance
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 354468   Submitted: Tuesday, Mar 17, 2009 at 05:14

philldeb replied:

How do i know witch way i am going if i have a digertel clock
Reply 9 of 9

Page Sponsors

WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd Premium Listing
Portable refrigeration provider WAECO, is celebrating 10 years in Australia in 2009. Established in high-technology headquarters in Germany 35 years ago, WAECO has developed a wide range of mobile technology for people on the move.
1 JOHN DUNCAN COURT   VARSITY LAKES, QLD, 4227
Phone: 1800 21 21 21
More info | Website | Driving Directions
ExplorOz ExplorOz
Become a Member of ExplorOz; buy or sell in Trader; buy Maps, Books, DVDs, camping accessories, and ExplorOz wheel covers, shirts, hats and stubby holders from the ExplorOz Shop; and book Activities &Tours or buy someone a gift certificate from our Activities section. Become an ExplorOz Member for just $60 in your first year, and $40 when you renew.
PO BOX 967  HILLARYS, WA, 6923
Phone: (08) 9403 3737
More info | Website