Protection when Free (or Bush) Camping

Submitted: Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 17:20
ThreadID: 66859 Views:8137 Replies:44 FollowUps:68
We camp in the bush and along major highways in rest areas, but try to avoid staying the night close to towns. In the past we had a 22 rifle but carrying it across state borders I always felt I was doing something illegal, but reasoned that since the state police forces could not get their act together and have a national code my/our protection was more important.

Another reason for carrying the rifle was that our dog may have come acroos a 1080 bait and since I could not stand watching him die in pain, the rifle would help him pass onto his next life. Our dog has gone and so has the rifle.

A Mate has purchased a starter pistol and caps/bullets, the idea is that anyone checking out our vans belongings at night he will open the window/door and fire off a few shots. The noise of this pistol sound like the real thing, you just do not hear the slug going into the ground.

I think this will work 9 times out of 10, but I question that if the thief goes back to his vehicle and brings back a rifle to confront my mate and his wife, my wife and myself we will need body armour. I will then be sorry that I sold the 22 for $50.

Reply By: Robert H (SEQ)(aka zuksctr) - Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 17:31

Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 17:31
Peter i have thought about our safety when out there, free camping in out of the places, of our protection.The thought of a gun will only instigate problems in my view.
In April i will be travelling alone & with no protection of any sort.
Damn now every one knows, i will have to run out & get myself a gun.:)

AnswerID: 354131

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 17:39

Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 17:39
Yer scary enough witrhout a firearm, Bob.......hahahahahahahaha!

FollowupID: 622303

Follow Up By: Robert H (SEQ)(aka zuksctr) - Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 18:52

Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 18:52
Willem, yer funny,you dont have a mirror do you.:)

FollowupID: 622320

Follow Up By: PeterInSa - Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 01:55

Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 01:55
Please Note: A Starting Pistol JUST MAKES A BANG nothing comes out of the Barrel. I am just wary if it is used somebody could retaliate with a real weapon.

FollowupID: 622408

Follow Up By: Dasher Des - Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 11:46

Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 11:46
The person who your trying to scare the bejesus out of doesnt know that its only a starting pistol and if they return with their own firearm, where does that leave you.Probably up the proverbial creek. Personally, I'd send Willem out after them and then I'd know that they had been scared off properly.

Dash
FollowupID: 622439

Reply By: Peter_n_Margaret - Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 17:34

Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 17:34
If you carry a firearm for personal protection, there is a good chance that you will be shot with your own weapon.

I have "put down" 2 kangaroos and a sheep over the years with a hammer, and agree that it is not a great way to do that necessary job, but still better than driving away.

It is possible to leagally travel interstate with a licenced and registered firearm, but it requires contacting the police in each state that you enter, and they all have different regulations, so it is 'bothersome', but possible.

OKA196 Motorhome
AnswerID: 354132

Reply By: Willem - Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 17:38

Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 17:38

This idea is floated ever so often on this forum and the lunatic fringe will come out and have their say shortly.

How many incidences of robbery or molestation have been reported in the past 12 months? I don't know. It is not a common thing.

I have never seen or had the need to worry about protection but then I seldom camp in areas close to the road. If on the odd occasion I should need to pull up next to the road then it is best to look for an area where other travellers are parked.

If you carried a licensed rifle for protection you would most likely harm yourself or have the rifle taken from you by the perceived offender.

AnswerID: 354135

Follow Up By: Member - Uncle (NSW) - Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 17:47

Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 17:47
Peter, Willem has it in a nutshell. Most of the loonies walk the streets of your local town/city at night. As far as loonies on the highways go,we did 10 mths fulltime travel, and never had a problem. Dont worry, the same thoughts of firearms crossed my mind before we left, but hey, I wasn't going to let that ruin our holiday worrying about confrontation all the time we were out there. There are numerous backpackers out there travelling in vans as well, but I bet most of them dont have a 45 under the front seat.
We actually had a young couple pull up one night on the roadside and ask if they could camp with us, so they felt safer, no prob we said.
FollowupID: 622306

Follow Up By: get outmore - Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 19:43

Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 19:43
Ive gotta admit to being a "loonie" as a young and dumb feller.

theres not much to do in a country town so one of the things for entertainment was to drive out to the rest stop 1/2 way between Kyancutta and Wudinna and give it a good seeing with circle work at 2.am.

And at least once we found a group parked out in the bush and gave them some simular treatment to wake them up.

Not saying its right but wont appolagise for it either - it was far from the dumbest things we did
FollowupID: 622330

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 20:09

Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 20:09
So get outmore, if you'd startled a camper who had a gun and a quick reaction, you could have had a bullet through your ute, or even through you.

It wasn't you doing circles in Burra Gorge in 2006 was it? That was the ONLY time we have ever had any disturbance.

FollowupID: 622340

Follow Up By: kcandco - Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 21:09

Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 21:09
MMMM get outmore..."Not saying its right but wont appolagise for it either" . You may have thought what you were doing was pretty harmless fun, but have you ever considered that what you were actually doing was TERRORIZING innocent campers some probably with young kids!!! It doesn't sound like you have ever been the victim of prowlers, vandals, hoons and the like. If you had I don't think you would be very proud of yourself. When the boots on the other foot it is very different.

Kc
FollowupID: 622357

Follow Up By: get outmore - Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 22:03

Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 22:03
it wasover 25 years ago Im a different person these days Kcando and have been for many years what Im not applogising for is being young and dumb many years ago
FollowupID: 622376

Follow Up By: Batboy - Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 22:40

Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 22:40
Get outmore I think its pretty obvious you haven't changed much at all...
FollowupID: 622388

Follow Up By: The Rambler( W.A.) - Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 23:51

Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 23:51
Willem is exactly right.I have travelled and camped in the outback
of northern Aus. in some very remote places for many years(sometimes on my own) and have never had a problem with my personal safety.I always carry a rifle for hunting purposes only on properties where I am allowed to shoot, but never would think of carrying one for self defence as it would probably be the most impractical method of security you could think of.As said use common sense when bush camping and if you are unlucky enough to be confronted by some idiot or idiots remember the same thing can happen back home wherever you live.
FollowupID: 622398

Follow Up By: get outmore - Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 08:21

Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 08:21
yes bat boy im sure you never did things you wouldnt do now
FollowupID: 622411

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 14:07

Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 14:07
Hi Willem

Your words of wisdom were prefaced with your statement

"This idea is floated ever so often on this forum and the lunatic fringe will come out and have their say shortly."

As predicted, most people gave sensible reasons for NOT having a firearm for self defence. Then come the responses from people who have either not read, or not understood the message in the preceding replies.

Just in case i camp near these people and get shot answering the call of nature in the night, i will continue to try and camp in the bush alone - much safer.

Mh

FollowupID: 622474

Reply By: Member - Richard H (NSW) - Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 17:46

Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 17:46
I've been travelling around by tent, camper trailer & van since 1992. I've been on my own, with my wife & with other couples.

We've never had any problems from other people. Moved a couple of times because my wife wasn't happy, reckoned the place was spooky, anyway for a quiet life, we moved.

The only recorded instance I know of was at Tennant Creek, and I picked that story up on the C.M.C.A. site, when I had their password. That person parked in town. The other instance I know of occurred just recently at South Kempsey, when some people had trouble with some of the locals. The place they stayed at is sign posted 'No overnight Camping' for that very reason, yet they elected to stay there, and as result had problems.

We try to stop in places where there are other vans/campers and I have found that if you get off the road by about 3.30pm - 4pm you can often attract desirable company. I always take one of the dogs, and as she is big & looks like trouble, I keep her near the van.

The other thing I do, and whether it works remains to be seen, but we always try to have the vans door facing away from the road, and with something in front of it so as to prevent anyone out to do mayhem from blocking it, with say, a motor vehicle.

In terms of a firearm, I know from experience, and not my own, that they can cause you more problems than you can deal effectively with. So leave it at home.

Dogs are susceptible to baits, and 1080 if being used should, and I use the word loosely, be sign posted accordingly. It pays to have a good look around before you let the dog off. We travel with two of the greediest mobile garbage trucks that you will ever encounter, one will eat anything (even lettuce leaves), the other is slightly more fussy, but not much. If they are let off the chain we walk with them and keep them with us, otherwise they're tied up on a long lead near the van.

There is an antidote to 1080 but only vets. have it. It might pay you to sus out where they are on your travels and load their telephone numbers into your mobile, or notebook. From my experience again, and I've worked in animal welfare, you won't find a vet. who won't help you if the animal is baited or ill.

A few tips Peter, more than happy to pass on my experiences and thoughts, but mate, leave your starting pistola at home. You might as well throw it at them!

Have fun mate

Dick
AnswerID: 354137

Follow Up By: Member - Stuart P (WA) - Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 19:23

Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 19:23
there is no antidote to 1080. i use it to bait foxes here at home.the only reasonable chance of saving an animal may be to calm it down , give it sub cutaneous fluids as sonn as it has eaten the bait . once it gets the (runarounds) it is too late
FollowupID: 622328

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 17:48

Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 17:48
Hi Peter,
We have travelled many thousands of kilometres of outback roads and if we have to resort to carrying firearms like America, it will be a very sad day for all travellers in Australia.
As for the 1080 bait with dogs, once they have eaten it they will die very quickly. I too have a dog, but to get the nerve and shoot your own pet is another thing.

With the number of people that travel around Australian roads, it would be very interesting to hear from people that have had problems. I would hope that they are very few and far between.

AnswerID: 354138

Reply By: troopyman - Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 17:59

Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 17:59
I knew this bloke once that carried a sawnoff shotgun in his van but thats another story .
AnswerID: 354142

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 18:09

Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 18:09
Is that how he funded the holiday?.....LOL
FollowupID: 622311

Follow Up By: troopyman - Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 18:28

Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 18:28
He tried to argue that because it wasnt sawnoff at the stock it was legal . I said its a sawnoff shotgun you idiot .
FollowupID: 622315

Follow Up By: Off-track - Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 22:32

Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 22:32
Thanks Willem! Just about sprayed the screen in laughter at that one.

...however that just primed me for troopyman's response!

FollowupID: 622387

Follow Up By: Krakka - Tuesday, Mar 17, 2009 at 06:14

Tuesday, Mar 17, 2009 at 06:14
Troopyman, it could well be legal, just cos its sawn off doesn't mean its illegal.
FollowupID: 622624

Reply By: Member - Marco T (VIC) - Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 18:00

Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 18:00
PeterInSa,

Did you watch Wolfcreek?

If not don't!!

MArco
AnswerID: 354143

Reply By: Gramps - Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 18:02

Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 18:02
You don't need a firearm when travelling in OZ.

AnswerID: 354144

Reply By: pop2jocem - Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 18:06

Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 18:06
My late father, and I suspect a lot of fathers of those of us old enough, fought in WW2 against both the Germans in the Middle East and the Japanese in the jungles of South Asia. After the war he had had enough of guns and killing to last him a lifetime. He never owned a firearm of any sort but told me when ever I questioned him on the subject that if I was ever tempted to point a gun at any person in anger for whatever reason first be very sure that I was going to be able to pull the trigger and live with the consequences afterwards. If not don't bother.

Just a thought

Cheers Pop
AnswerID: 354145

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 18:31

Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 18:31
Hi Pop
I know exactly what you mean. When I was a teenager, all I wanted was a 22 rifle. The only thing that I got very good at killing were old beer bottles and cans. My mates dad had a bad time up in the Pacific Island during WW11. He saw many things that he never wanted any other person to see or go through.
When he was drunk, he would always go off at us and said he would love to throw our rifles in his dam.

There would be countless stories like yours around.

FollowupID: 622316

Reply By: Member - Footloose - Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 18:18

Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 18:18
No firearm=no worries.
I've travelled for 35 years without one. I always felt that firearms kill, and I might wish to hurt someone who harmed me or mine, but not to kill them.
Fortunately it has never happened.
AnswerID: 354147

Reply By: Motherhen - Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 18:26

Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 18:26
Hi Peter

You are safer out in the bush than in a suburban home. Staying well away from towns and known trouble spots is the best defence. Getting out of line of sight of the road is a good idea, but not always possible. We have stayed alongside highways in rest areas and felt quite safe. You do get a feel for it – trust your judgment. Obviously, if you go to a gravel pit and it is full of cans and a dead car or two, it is probably not a good place to stay on Friday night.

Firearms for self defence – no way. As I understand it and speaking for WA only, if you are travelling with a licenced firearm, at first opportunity after entering the state, you need to get a permit to carry it in that state. It needs to be in a locked gun cabinet, securely bolted from inside to the chassis. Can you get a licence for the firearm in your home state? I am sure self defence is not a valid reason in Australia.

Hypothetical: Imagine if it did happen and you are woken at night by someone breaking into you van. You wake bleary eyed wondering what is going on. When you realise, you have to get the safe keys, open where the safe is (probably under the bed), unlock it and load the gun. By now the burglar has probably hit you over the back of the head. If he is still waiting outside your door, you then have a split second to decide to shoot. If you do, you will very likely go to jail. If you hesitate for an instant, he has your gun and may shoot you or your wife. He is probably high on speed, has no social conscience, and is an experienced criminal. If he gets away with your gun, you will be charged for failing to secure your firearm. If it is unlicenced, you are in deeper. The fear factor of seeing a man with a gun will mean nothing to him other than another highly saleable on the black market item to steal. Even firing over his head in an attempt to scare him away can turn nasty for you in court, and he will still have the opportunity to snatch your gun.

A better deterrent may be a tape recording of a large dog snarling and barking.

My opinions only

AnswerID: 354148

Follow Up By: Rolly - Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 18:42

Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 18:42
Chookamamma you've hit the nail right on the head once more.

And the rest of you; I agree entirely that the danger of being killed by your own firearm is very real.

And that the danger of invasion of assault reduces exponentially with the distance away from large centres of population.
FollowupID: 622318

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 19:02

Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 19:02
Realistically, why would a burglar venture out of town to knock off a caravan with very little saleable items, when he can stay in town and knock off a whole street of houses with easily taken and saleable electrical appliances or what ever of value.

Mh

FollowupID: 622323

Reply By: DIO - Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 18:33

Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 18:33
Carrying firearms for personal protection is not permitted by law in Australia except for a few special cases - Police etc. In the event that you (or someone) has a firearm in their possession, are at a camp spot, late at night, hear noises outside, grab the firearm (loaded and cocked) rush outside issue a challenge (maybe) to be greeted by some yelling etc, let loose a couple of shouts - into the darkness and bush, resulting in a 14 yr old kid from a couple of camp spots further down being shot, killed out having some fun with his mates. Charge likely to be manslaughter. Even if you (or the person with the firearm) believes they may have justification in using a firearm in an act of self defence, think again. The laws are very complex on the subject and to rely on them as a basis for carrying a firearm all around the country is laughable. Wise up to youself and leave the firearm(s) at home locked away in the gun safe. The simplest way to treat trouble makers is to just turn your back on them and walk away. If you (or anyone) chooses to camp in remote areas away from civilisation simply to save on a night's camping fees then you have to consider any risk as opposed to any (perceived) savings. Am I anti-firearms. Not on your life but I am anti idiots running around with firearms without any justification or consideration of others.Your choice.
AnswerID: 354150

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 19:11

Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 19:11
Hey DIO - I actually agree with what you've said!

Mh

FollowupID: 622325

Reply By: Keenycruiser - Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 18:34

Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 18:34
An old bushy once told me that the best defensive weapon to carry was a length of chain under the front seat. It is better than a baseball bat or lump of wood because you can spin round with it and cut a swathe through any aggressors. It is easier to stow than anything else and it cannot be construed as a weapon or housebreaking implement. I would hate to be on the end of it

It can also be used for more pleasureable things.

AnswerID: 354152

Follow Up By: Member - T N (Qld) - Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 18:51

Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 18:51
Like tying the wife up?
FollowupID: 622319

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 19:08

Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 19:08
Mike, You'd still want to be quick, or be stronger than the aggressor or it would be snatched an used against you.

Mh

FollowupID: 622324

Reply By: Ozboc - Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 19:28

Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 19:28
.22 for $50 - that's a missed opportunity ;)

Boc

AnswerID: 354160

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 19:39

Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 19:39
"Easiest way to get shot is to carry a gun"

But if you want to put an injured animal out of its misery, just carry some cableties and slip one tight around its neck to kill it quickly and humanely.
AnswerID: 354163

Follow Up By: Krakka - Wednesday, Mar 18, 2009 at 06:20

Wednesday, Mar 18, 2009 at 06:20
Try doing that with a wild boar you've just hit.
Krakka
FollowupID: 622774

Reply By: get outmore - Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 19:45

Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 19:45
there are 00s or 000s of people on this forum and correct me if im wrong
- not one has posted about being in a dnagerous situation while camping

A few uncomfortable situations maybe but nothing needing a gun
AnswerID: 354164

Follow Up By: Kim and Damn Dog - Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 20:58

Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 20:58
The ex missus and I were camped up near the top of Mt Macedon in an open camping area just off the road. During the night a bunch of drunken hoons tried to flatten the tent while we were in it. The only thing that saved us was the threat to throw a tommyhawk through their windscreen.

On another occasion I had a fella walk unannounced into the camp fire at night with a rifle over his shoulder. At first, I wasn’t too concerned, because there were a lot of deer hunters in the Big River area back then.

After a short conversation, I started to realize this fella wasn’t quite well in the head and started to back away towards the dogs. I had a gun in the car but didn’t give any thought to it at the time. I think I was more reliant on the dogs than anything else.

We also had another bad situation in the back blocks of Tasmania.

So yes, it does happen.

I’d never encourage anyone to travel with a gun for self protection. Those that do so clearly have no understanding of the implications.

Kim
FollowupID: 622354

Follow Up By: Member - Matt (Perth-WA) - Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 15:24

Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 15:24
Get Out...I have had many times where my life was in danger when camping.

....Once disagreed with the wife when reversing the trailer into camp, once about where to site the camp and once I asked whether she really needed that second Tim Tam.

Times like that I was VERY glad I had never chosen to travel with a firearm.

Luckily...so Im still here!! (Happy Wife Happy Life)

FollowupID: 622490

Reply By: Member - Ron M (NSW) - Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 19:55

Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 19:55
Reading these posts , to me the most frighting thing is that some people traveling oz carry weapons for protection against other people .... Geezus think about it .. WOLF CREEK PART 2
Ron MACKENZIE

AnswerID: 354166

Reply By: Batman69 - Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 19:59

Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 19:59
PeterInSa,

I am a licensed fire arm owner and would NEVER consider carrying a firearm for protection. There are many reasons but here a a few to consider...

1. The firemarm must be carried safely - that is locked away and unloaded. A correctly stored firearm cannot be used for protection for pretty obvious reasons i.e. can you imagine saying "hang on intruder, please wait until you attack I need unlock my gun and load it" - it won't happen.

2. To use a firearm as protection you MUST be prepared to kill. Think about that one long and hard, no-one wants to take a human life.

3. Australia is essentially a safe place to be, can anyone off the top of their head think of a situation that involved an attack on campers? If so could it have been prevented with a safely stored firearm? Not likely.

Good luck with your travels,

Steve.

AnswerID: 354168

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 20:11

Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 20:11
Spot on Steve

FollowupID: 622342

Follow Up By: Krakka - Wednesday, Mar 18, 2009 at 12:34

Wednesday, Mar 18, 2009 at 12:34
Peter Falconio rings a bell, Bradley Murdoch I believe has been convicted for that "attack".
Krakka
FollowupID: 622813

Follow Up By: Batman69 - Wednesday, Mar 18, 2009 at 12:56

Wednesday, Mar 18, 2009 at 12:56
Krakka,

Did you actually read what I wrote?? To remind you...

"3. Australia is essentially a safe place to be, can anyone off the top of their head think of a situation that involved an attack on campers? If so could it have been prevented with a safely stored firearm? Not likely. "

Tell me how could a properly stored firearm have helped in this case? Firstly they were tourists who would not have been able to carry a firearm. Secondly from my limited knowledge of the case, I remember he stopped them on the side of the road and took them hostage. When would they have had time to unlock and load to firearm to use in self defense?

I still maintain you do not need to carry firearms for self defense.

Steve.
FollowupID: 622816

Follow Up By: Krakka - Wednesday, Mar 18, 2009 at 18:27

Wednesday, Mar 18, 2009 at 18:27
You asked two questions steve, I answered the first one. My answer to the second one is NO. But if I were carrying a weapon for self defense it would NOT be stored legally anyway, and it would be my choice to do that if I desired. Of course you would never have done anything illegal in your life, no of course not.
Krakka
FollowupID: 622859

Reply By: Member - Mfewster(SA) - Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 20:01

Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 20:01
How many cases have you actually seen recorded of people in Australia successfully using a gun to protect themselves from attack of some form? Now how many cases have you seen of people accidentally being shot by their own gun, or accidentally shooting someone else? I'm not anti guns as such, but arguments re having one for your protection just don't stack up. That has always been the great rationalization for carrying guns in the good old USA. Where would you feel safer?
AnswerID: 354171

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Mar 17, 2009 at 17:34

Tuesday, Mar 17, 2009 at 17:34
I have worked for a major bank for the past 38+ years. When I first joined in 1970, every branch had at least 2 pistols/revolvers. The tellers had one each and the branch manager had one in his drawer.

We were always told that there was virtually no incident that you could envisage when the use of a firearm could be justified....

If a bandit entered the bank and had a gun pointed at you (the teller), then by the time you drew your weapon from under the counter, the bandit would have shot you.
If you waited until the bandit had his cash and was running out of the bank and then you shot him as he escaped, you'd be up on a manslaughter or murder charge.

Around the end of the 70's our union and the banks agreed that guns were more harm than good in our branches, so they were all removed. As far as I know, the incidence of bank hold-ups didn't increase as a result of this action.

I loved rifles and shotties when i was a teenager. Used to shoot rabbits and foxes etc, but I wouldn't even dream of owning one these days.

FollowupID: 622704

Reply By: Louie the fly (SA) - Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 20:53

Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 20:53
I hate guns!

Australia is a safe place to travell. As others have said, the further out you go the less likely you are to encounter trouble. Boguns don't travel far from their bogun surroundings. It's kind of like a comfort zone thing.

Louie
AnswerID: 354187

Reply By: Member - Matt & Caz H (QLD) - Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 21:16

Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 21:16
Hi Peter,

We are currently travelling Oz with our two young daughters, we often "free camp" as it costs a small fortune in some parks (they can charge anywhere from $5 -$8 per child per night on top of the $35 - $40 per night for us two). We have never had a problem and like others have said if you pull off the road around 3 - 4pm you will usually meet like minded people - we have met life long friends at free camps.

Stay safe

Caroline
AnswerID: 354194

Reply By: austastar - Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 21:21

Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 21:21
Always check your potential camp spot for cans, bottles, and circle-work.
If your are more than 2 1/2 beers out of town, out of sight, and not in a spot used by local youths, you should be ok.
We were camped out of sight in a quarry off a highway just out of town one night, SWMBO then decided that 'under the trees would be nicer'.
Muggins forgot to check the line of sight to the road.
Tucked up in bed in the back of the campervan, kid asleep on the front seat, I saw the flash of headlights hit the window, foot come off the throttle, gearbox go back a cog: damn, we were about to be hooned.
A few screechies and circles, and then they got out and started to bounce the van.
I was up, got the keys to drive straight off, or back into their ute parked behind me (dreadnought rear bumper), but the kid was sleeping on the driver's seat.
Damn again.
We keep the keys on a hook above the back door, so that is where I was standing, when I realised one of them was at the back door, just outside.
Trying to keep my voice steady, I said in a quiet voice, but loud enough for him outside to hear, " Pass me the Winchester and two shells".
That was the magic words, they took off in a cloud of dust almost instantaneously.
Not a dangerous situation in retrospect, it could have got nasty maybe.
It has made me a little more circumspect as to where we camp, and unless we are both happy with the 'feel' of the spot, we move on.
We have been unhappy with a spot on more than one occasion, something not quite right, bit uneasy, can't always put a finger on it: move on.
AnswerID: 354195

Reply By: Member - bungarra (WA) - Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 21:29

Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 21:29
I'll give you another angle of firearm carrying........I dont have too many problems with all the negatives of carrying a firearm for protection....all the negatives do make sense..no argument from me there at all

But ..on occasions I do carry one with no intent to use for self defensive..in fact there are so many checks and balances where i carry it and what has to be done to get to it ..its other parts and the ammo that as far as self defense goes ...forget it...never get it out in time and doubt I would ever try

I do, on certain trips carry one for the simple reason of emergency tucker...have I used it for that?....no ...but on one trip after being rained in and down to the emergency rations I was perhaps 2 days off using it to obtain bush tucker...one more shower of threating rain and I could have been doing that

so in summary...no problem with carrying one in the proper secure manner and for the right reasons...on the right trip for a different reason other than self defense...but not routinely

Life is a journey, it is not how we fall down, it is how we get up.
VKS 1341

AnswerID: 354198

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 21:34

Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 21:34
I allways take my wife, where ever I go, thats all the protection I need.. :-)
AnswerID: 354201

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 22:18

Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 22:18
Your in trouble now, I'm gunna tell her you said that. :-))

FollowupID: 622381

Reply By: lizard - Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 21:53

Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 21:53
I don't endorse carrying firearms for protection , but people have asked on this thread of any people that had trouble camping .... the three killed on the Pentecost ,and the couple near sharks bay - years ago now - spring to mind . I agree with comments re awkwardness & time consuming etc ... wife carries pepper spray - I let her defend me
AnswerID: 354208

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 22:16

Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 22:16
Lizard the whole point of reminding about those incidents is that they happened so many years ago and since that time many hundreds probably millions of people have traveled and camped all over the country without it happening again.

Compared to the murders and attacks that occur in our city's every year since I'd sooner be in the bush, its much safer.

Don't need a gun and good advice supplied by others in this thread.

FollowupID: 622380

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 15:47

Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 15:47
I don't recall these incidents, but even if the victims had a gun hidden somewhere, would it have made any difference?

Mh

FollowupID: 622504

Follow Up By: lizard - Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 16:54

Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 16:54
Probably not .... Our only case where we had cause for alarm was in 2003 on the Gulf Track - we were camped not far from Kangaroo creek , when at 01:20am my wife heard a vehicle coming - she woke us up (two couples in camper trailers) . We looked out & no lights coming up the track - thats strange .... as we kept looking a vehicle was driving along at about 20 km/hr with no lights (couldn't make out what it was ) , then it stopped adjacent to our camp (we were only 30 metres off the track) ...waited 30 seconds and then slowly moved off (we were all up now).He stopped approx a kilometre up the track - at a water crossing , then 20 minutes later he came slowly back and went past - still no lights - he kept going ....don't know what it was about (pig trapper maybe??)
FollowupID: 622517

Reply By: Member - Noel K (NT) - Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 21:56

Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 21:56
I hate this topic! There was a Vietnam Vet on yesterday who said it all and he has never picked up a fire arm since duty.
As soon as you point a gun at someone you better be capable of pulling the trigger and be prepared for for the consequence's, YOU WILL BE IN COURT. Ok you have now shot this person, they are now on the ground, what are you going to do now miles from anywhere. In six months time you face the lawyers. For the rest of your life you will relive that moment

Now, what if the aggressor decides to take the only gun for miles off you, are you capable of stopping them, can you kill someone? If your answer is no you are as good as dead, and YOU PROVIDED THE GUN.

If you are concerned for your safety while travelling, travel with others, if you are able go and do a martial art take my advice and do so and you will realize, YOUR gun will NOT save you, your self defence techniques and confidence and ability to think fast will.

Noel
AnswerID: 354209

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 22:26

Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 22:26
Noel

The problem is for these type of people is, that it is easy "pulling the trigger" but they wont be able to handle the "consequence's,".

They think they know it all now.

So it's hard to tell anything they already think they know.

FollowupID: 622383

Follow Up By: Member - Ron M (NSW) - Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 23:12

Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 23:12
Noel.
I 'am the vietnam verteran from yesterday posts , As I said anyone who carries a rifle for protection is a bloody fool .. I was in combat in Vietnam and was trained to disarm someone within 4 seconds then the rest is history .. I cannot for the life of me understand why some one would carry a gun while travelling around oz..
The SSAA people are just pecker contestants and show who's got the bigger gun or belt buckle each weekend . while thier wifes man the bar b cues ..
Why don't they join the army and see what shooting is all about..
Ron MACKENZIE

FollowupID: 622391

Follow Up By: Russ n Sue - Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 23:20

Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 23:20
There are several things wrong with your argument.

1) If we assume that someone does feel threatened enough to get the rifle out, then it would be fair to say that they are in fear of their life. Yes, you will end up in court but In most States of Australia, if you are in fear of your life, then you may defend yourself in whatever manner is necessary. (Got that straight from the mouth of a serving Copper) The whole argument of excessive force etc goes out the window. It would be up to the Police to prove that you were not in fear of your life. Note that this is not the same thing as self-defense.

2) If you are being threatened, the very act of getting a rifle out would, more often than not, result in the the person concerned decamping from the scene at great pace. I know I would.

3) Even if you were forced to actually fire the rifle, why do you need to kill the person threatening you? Aiming below the waist should result in a non-lethal hit that would halt most people. Yes, I know all the theories about it being to easy to miss altogether etc but let's face it, the perpetrator would very likely p o o himself because you were dinkum enough to pull the trigger... and you should have more bullets in the magazine. It takes less than a second to reload.

4) Let's say you did kill them and as you suggested, you are way out in the boonies. What are the odds that the person you shot told anyone where he was going or that he was going to behave threateningly towards someone? Why wouldn't you just dispose of him thoughtfully? Eventually he may get reported missing but no-one would know where to start looking and you'd be long gone.

5) Martial arts require you to get "up close and personal" and unless you're very good at the "art" you could be very sorry indeed. I'd rather drill a hole in someone from 15 metres away.

6) Why would you put yourself in the situation where the perpetrator could take the gun from you? That's what guns are good at...defence at a distance. A verbal warning not to move closer, followed by popping them have it would stop that. Seriously, if you were in that situation and someone was making straight at you, you'd have to take a shot. Otherwise, what is the point. I can't recall a single, real life report where someone has been stripped of a gun and had it used against them. I can only assume because it happens on shows on the telly, then it must be true.

Now, how about a hypothetical? What if someone came into your campsite and threatened one of your family....say he tried to rape your daughter. Would you just stand there and watch? What are you going to do in that situation, throw the lid of your esky at him?

You insure your house, your car, your possessions but you don't insure yourself or your family by having some protection? It's becoming a big, bad world out there and Joanna Lees will tell you that there are people out there bent on doing you harm. Better to have the rifle and never need it than to end up as dead as Peter Falconio.

I do agree that travelling Australia is pretty safe and that if you choose your campsite carefully you can minimise risk. However, I have personally felt threatened on one occasion and took off quick-smart in my vehicle...wasn't armed in those days. If it happened again I'd still prefer to take the decamping option, but if it wasn't an option???

And I know you neither stated nor implied it but we have all heard the inference that those who have the guns may well end up using them aggressively rather than defensively at some time. I just don't get that. Owning a firearm does not automatically flick a switch in people's heads that turns them into some kind of monster.

I say that it should be a personal choice. Those that don't like guns or feel that they couldn't use one should take their chances, but they shouldn't object to those who believe that it is the right choice for them, unless of course you one day intend to be a perpetrator and might end up staring down the barrel.....

FollowupID: 622392

Follow Up By: Member - Ron M (NSW) - Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 23:39

Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 23:39
(Better to have the rifle and never need it than to end up as dead as Peter Falconio.)

Think about it Rambo would a rifle have saved Peter.

That case was just a gung ho gun loving idiot who wanted to use the gun to get what he wanted ..

I have used rifles as well as machine guns to kill people . if you need to sate your appetite for killing and thats what guns are for Join the army or the foreign legion ..
Ron MACKENZIE

FollowupID: 622395

Follow Up By: Member - Ron M (NSW) - Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 23:49

Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 23:49
Russ n sue
We also are travelling around , and with your attitude I hope I never cross your path . From your post I can see your one sick puppy..
Ron MACKENZIE

FollowupID: 622396

Follow Up By: Russ n Sue - Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 00:15

Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 00:15
With all due respect Ron, you don't know me and would not have a clue about me, or my state of mental health....and I would bet that you aren't qualified to make a judgement call like that anyway. Mate, for all you know you may have already met me and you ain't dead are you?

Just because your service in the army put you in a position where you have done things that you clearly find reprehensible does not make you the moral arbiter for the rest of us. Nor does your experience represent the views of other ex-servicemen. I personally know an ex-SAS soldier who "offed" more than his fair share of the enemy (not just the Viet Cong) and he has no lingering issues about firearms, sleeps well at night and has no regrets.

As for the Falconio case. Whether or not Bradley John Murdoch was " just a gung ho gun loving idiot who wanted to use the gun to get what he wanted .." matters not. Poor old Falconio came across what this thread is all about...a serious threat. And he had no means of protecting himself....and now he's dead. So what's your argument? Better to die than carry a gun and at least try and save yourself?

My follow-up post was addressing Richard's post by the way. Yours just happened to pop in front of mine while I was typing it. So don't think I was replying to you, you didn't really say anything that would have illicited a response from me.

Keep taking the meds Ron, you'll be OK

FollowupID: 622402

Follow Up By: Member - Ron M (NSW) - Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 00:32

Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 00:32
Russ.

Make sure you lock and load before you go to sleep, ya never know whats out there at night mate
Ron MACKENZIE

FollowupID: 622403

Follow Up By: Member - T N (Qld) - Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 00:51

Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 00:51
Ron, judging by your post you must have been in some heavy contact's, whilst in Nam? did you do a full tour?
FollowupID: 622405

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 01:10

Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 01:10
"They think they know it all now.

So it's hard to tell anything they already think they know."

You see what I mean ... LOL..

FollowupID: 622406

Follow Up By: Member - Ron M (NSW) - Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 01:29

Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 01:29
Tom.
I did 9 months and 4 days then I was wounded and sent to Vung Tau , then 3 months in 1 mil hospital in Sydney then 4mths repat in greenslopes Brisbane .. why do you ask
Ron MACKENZIE

FollowupID: 622407

Follow Up By: Member - Noel K (NT) - Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 01:58

Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 01:58
Is it Russ or Sue I am addressing here?
Firstly I am not arguing any thing,
1 It is NOT up to the Police to prove anything, they are there to uphold the law and GATHER the evidence. This will then be proven by a court of law ANY where in Australia.
2 If that were the case a less dramatic action is all that would be needed.
3 You have never shot at a person have you? HAVE YOU!? No I thought as much.
4 You are an idiot.
5 And a gun held at the back of YOUR head? What technique would you use? Don't know do you? I do, and YOU would POO yourself.
6 You are now the Judge and Jury and have three seconds left.... No I didn't think you could do it and now I have the gun.
A hypothetical you ask? No one would get near my daughter as she has earned her own Dan, fact.
ARR at last you make sense, the first rule of self defence is to, as you say, 'DECAMP"
Perpetrator? What the hell are you?

No we didn't know you, or anything about you ,Russ or Sue, but we do now, and for someone to write to a war veteran in the manner you have just done, I repeat my opinion of you as in point 4:- You are an idiot.

Noel.

FollowupID: 622409

Follow Up By: Russ n Sue - Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 08:31

Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 08:31
Thank you Noel,

As you meander through the postings on this site you will notice that none of mine ever stoop to the low of making personal attacks on anyone. I have never called anyone an idiot, a Rambo, inferred that they are insane or anything else.

I have an opinion, just as you and Ron do. I'm entitled to that opinion, just as you and Ron are entitled to yours. If you read my reply to Ron you should have niticed that I acknowledge that Ron's service would have been difficult. However, if someone takes to me personally, then they should be ready to cop some back.

So what I said to Ron was entirely justified and the fact that he is a Vet does not earn him immunity. Let's face it if our Vets are "untouchables" then we are in a lot of trouble because they aren't all pictures of mental health.

As for your diatribe Noel.....whatever. And by the way, the Police have prosecutors and yes, they must gather the evidence required to "prove" a case. Semantics Noel, semantics. The end result is that it must be proven that uyou were not in fear of your life. Sheesh.

No I haven't shot a person Noel...and your point is? Forget it, I don't actually want to know.

FollowupID: 622414

Follow Up By: Snowbunny - Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 12:56

Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 12:56
Russ/sue,As you meander through the postings on this site you will notice that none of mine ever stoop to the low of making personal attacks on anyone. I have never called anyone an idiot, a Rambo, inferred that they are insane or anything else.

Keep taking the meds Ron, you'll be OK
What the hell, do you bloody well think this is then, ...you idiot!!!! To say that is suggesting every ex Vet in this country, that fought for you to have the rights to do what you do today is a mental nutcase? Absolute bloody shame on you pal.
FollowupID: 622455

Follow Up By: Russ n Sue - Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 13:19

Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 13:19
You know something Snowbunny? I would actually be more scared if I bumped into you than I would if I bumped into someone like me. A tad self-righteous aren't you, not to mention contradictory?

So, I'm not allowed to say anything about anything or anyone, but you can chime in, not contibute to the actual thrust of the thread and make personal insults as you feel fit. I actually feel sorry for you.

Ron is a big boy and I suspect he's far less worried about anything said so far than you are. Let him fight his own battles and in the meantime, get over it!

BTW, you might want to re-read the rules of this forum.

FollowupID: 622462

Follow Up By: Snowbunny - Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 14:15

Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 14:15
Self -righteous, contradictory? in what way, please explain? Your the one that just insulted every Ex Vet in this country buddy, AND, I dare you to rock up to the next ANZAC Day Service in your local town and tell all the Ex Vet's there on the day " Keep taking your medication boys, you'll all be ok"!!
Then see what happens . End of story. Enjoy the rest of your travels.
FollowupID: 622477

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 15:09

Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 15:09
Hi Russ n Sue any any other gun toters

Do you have a loaded firearm by your bed when at home? You are far more likely to have a burglary there than in out in the bush. What do you do - shoot and ask questions later?

Mh

FollowupID: 622488

Follow Up By: Russ n Sue - Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 16:37

Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 16:37
Ron! Ron! Where are you Ron? Ron, if you're following this, could you lend some of your meds to Snowbunny? He/She has gone right off the deep end and could use some help.

Seriously Snowbunny, get a grip. Can't you see that you are bordering on delusional? You have taken one line from a response in this thread and escalated it from a throwaway line to an insult to every serviceman and woman in the country. Not my doing....yours.

As it happens I am squarely in the age bracket where I know heaps of Vets (Not ex-vets by the way. i assume that to become an ex-Vet you must first die.) Many of them joke openly about the "meds" that they are on. Like I said, let Ron fight his on battles and stop defending people whom have not asked you to. It's making you look a little weird.

As it also happens, I go to the ANZAC dawn service every year - do you? Last year Alice Springs, '07 and '06 Geraldton, ' 05 Jurien Bay etc etc. So stop wasting your time trying to make me look like some kind of anti-patriot. It has nothing to do with what I wrote in this thread, nor what I replied to Ron.

Motherhen...my van is my home. My home is always on the road. I am exposed to the likelihood of an ancounter more than the average traveller. That's all. I take precautions my way and you yours. As long as you don't come along threatening me, then you won't have a problem in the world will you? What I want to know is that if I choose to carry a firearm, why is that a threat to any of you who have responded? I'm not going to use it against you.

To those that say "watch out, the gun may get turned on you" think about this. For the gun to get turned on me, the threat has become a reality - everyone's worst nightmare. So what am I supposed to do? Just take it? Nah. Stuff you all. The only person likely to ever be hurt by me will be someone stupid enough to threaten my, or my family's safety. If it never happens - great!
FollowupID: 622515

Follow Up By: Snowbunny - Tuesday, Mar 17, 2009 at 18:33

Tuesday, Mar 17, 2009 at 18:33
Well I'm back,
paragraph no 1, you now sound paranoid youself, and you have just directly insulted our Vets again!
Paragraph 2, putting the blame of what you said now onto me, my friend , with a move like that, you should be great at playing chess.
Paragraph 3 ,I myself am in my late 40's so I also no many Vets, and most of them DONT like talking about Vietnam, or anything relating to it.
Paragraph 4, I have attended several dawn services over the years, not all though, I attend when work allows. Vietnam vets and ANZAC day sort of go together dont they? Quote "It has nothing to do with what I wrote in this thread, nor what I replied to Ron, (hello)
Ah well, some folk just cant sem to face the music sometimes......
FollowupID: 622714

Follow Up By: Russ n Sue - Tuesday, Mar 17, 2009 at 19:16

Tuesday, Mar 17, 2009 at 19:16
Well I'm glad to see you're not calling them ex-Vets. I'd hate for people to think that I was speaking ill of the dead.

I have a feeling that you don't KNOW (spelling) many vets at all. Not one that I know has a problem with talking about their current health or state of mind. A couple won't talk about "over there" but in the main, most are OK with it. Actually, they are very happy that their efforts finally got some belated respect.

I think you might watch a bit too much TV.

Whatever you do, don't refer to me as "my friend", because I sense that you and I could never be friends. I prefer to associate with people who are analytical thinkers, who can look at both sides of an argument and then form an opinion of their own - without getting crappy with the people on the other side of the argument. I hang around with people who are witty and can tell when someone is taking the p**s. In short my friends don't need to stand in front of a mirror to double their IQ to a reasonable score.

In your analysis of paragraph 4, you state that ANZAC day and Vietnam Vets sort of go together don't they? Yep, couldn't agree more, but if your point is that I'm somehow being hypocritical for attending the Dawn Service and then insulting Vets on this forum, then I can only reiterate that you are the one who sees an insult, not me, and by the lack of response from actual Vets (including Ron), I think they all saw the interchange between Ron and myself as pretty tame and good natured. And besides, even Vets can be respected and disagreed with AT THE SAME TIME, something that you are incapable of grasping.

Snowbunny, it ends here. Whether or not you reply in your usual semi-literate manner or not does not bother me. I won't be responding to you again. Why? Because you haven't mounted a case yet and are unlikely to, you don't challenge me mentally, you are the Master of reading things between the lines that simply don't exist, you are most certainly prone to exaggeration and I've got better things to do with my time.

I have far better music to face than that that you seem to think you have dished out.

Bye.
FollowupID: 622721

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 22:27

Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 22:27
Peter , if you are worried about some kind of confrontation, keep a golf club with you at night, the speed at the tip of the iron is enough to realign the bite of an attacker!! Michael

AnswerID: 354216

Follow Up By: Member - Noel K (NT) - Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 23:51

Sunday, Mar 15, 2009 at 23:51
Michael , Have you actually tried this at say 3.00am after immediately waking up and adjusting your body and eye's to the threat? How big is you're caravan/tent or what ever? Can you actually swing that golf club or whatever weapon you choose in that area? Remember YOU are still half asleep the aggressor is fully alert and full of adrenalin your body isn't yet.

Please people.... your weapon is not the end all to a confrontation. Forget how tough you think you are it will get you into trouble. A confrontation will only last a few seconds, that is all the time you have. Fear is your biggest enemy, but the aggressor has fear as well, with training you can control your fear and slow things down a bit.

Forget the 9 iron Michael and use what ya Mum gave you, your brain and a straight front kick to the abdomen.

FollowupID: 622397

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 08:28

Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 08:28
Noel ! You assume a lot. I didn't say that's what i do or would do. I can look after myself and the assumption that all or any conflict would be while you are asleep is short sighted. What I was suggesting was something that would be a deterrent and better than a gun and the responsibilities of carrying one. Michael

FollowupID: 622413

Reply By: Maîneÿ [wa] - Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 00:00

Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 00:00
I think an 'intruder' who "thought" you had a REAL gun and was about to be shot by you, may do some pretty drastic things to avoid being shot by you as you would have him think.

He may have a knife or screwdriver, this is his weapon of choice and in his mind he would think he has to 'kill' you BEFORE he believes you will shoot him, with what he thinks is a real gun in your hands.

I think this type of 'individual' would only be seen on the outskirts of towns, not in the real BUSH area way out in the sticks.

I've never had any hassles, I sleep in a tent or in my van with the door open for fresh air, as it's hot up there at night.
I try and get with a group of like-minded travellers if stopping on the side of the road in rest area's as the genuine traveller is not the person to be afraid of.

Mainey . . .

AnswerID: 354226

Reply By: Kroozer - Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 00:30

Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 00:30
Will carry my rifle for hunting and hunting only. I would hate to have to point it at another human. But really the young blokes of toady kill each other with one punch, and people on Meth and all the other super drugs have the power off 3 men so how would you stop them really. A taser gun would be the best bet, a taser gun imported into the country or some really powerful pepper spray. Or even just an air rifle or replica. No need for a real gun with real bullets. Any person with a valid firearms license knows that they are not for self defence. Wouldnt you rather just stay home and not kill someone or would you rather go on holidays and have it ruined by a hypopthetical psychopath who you kill and have to live with for the rest of your time. Honestly if its a worry camp around other people at all times. Do more research on your trip to enable you to camp at trouble free places. Taser gun is your best bet. Available from Thailand, haha a friend brought one back and its the best defence ever. Even doubles as a torch and is rechargable. BINGO all in one.
AnswerID: 354228

Reply By: puttputt - Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 00:39

Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 00:39
I have bush camped on my own, but would only take the family if I had a gun, which I don't, so as a family we only go to CP's.
AnswerID: 354229

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 13:53

Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 13:53
Hi puttputt

I venture to add that burglaries in CPs are not uncommon, but burglaries well out of town in the bush are extremely rare. I know where i feel safer.

Mh

FollowupID: 622469

Reply By: Member - Ron M (NSW) - Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 01:42

Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 01:42
I really hope that anyone who is looking at these posts for the first time on this site does not think that all we oz travellers are notJohn Wayne gun tote en Rambos .. there are more people on the road that do not need guns to survive then there are gunslingers
Ron MACKENZIE

AnswerID: 354234

Follow Up By: AdlelaideGeorge - Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 08:20

Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 08:20
That's the only really sensible post amongst this dross...

I'd go further - reading this rubbish gives some insight into the minds of the pro 'gun toten' miniscule minority in our society...they have a right to say, think and I suppose arm themselves (if the relevant law still allows) however they please - but it always amazes me how measured the responses are!
FollowupID: 622410

Reply By: puttputt - Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 09:38

Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 09:38
AG

Rubbish to some is treasure to others, what I call rubbish is taking young children into areas that could place them in danger. Where do most criminals go when they are on the run, the bush of course, where do most drug dealers cultivate their maurijuna, in the bush.

I think the strict gun laws in Aus are brilliant, and I would'nt want to live in the US where everyone has the right to own a gun. But sometimes when in isolated places, I would feel a lot more relaxed if I had a handgun.
AnswerID: 354268

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 13:56

Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 13:56
OK, so don't camp where there are a heap of beer cans - add to that or in the middle of a marijuana plantation.

Mh

FollowupID: 622470

Follow Up By: Rolly - Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 14:48

Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 14:48
Perhaps you just need to spend more time in isolated places with a genuinely open mind to get over your fear of the improbable.
It's like the fear of flying syndrome where the person is quite comfortable with the ride to the airport yet in terror of the flight despite the statistics that show the relative danger falls heavily in the probability of getting killed or severely injured in a road traffic incident.

As for "Where do most criminals go when they are on the run, the bush of course, where do most drug dealers cultivate their maurijuna, in the bush.", I'd like you to offer some kind of supporting evidence for that.
My understanding is that most drug production, including cannabis growing, takes place within urban environments.
Likewise, the majority of criminals are apprehended within the more populated areas.
Those apprehensions that have occurred in remote areas have most usually been on or close to major highways where the miscreant has stopped only temporarily, or has been spotted in transit.

Please feel free to point out any misunderstandings that I may harbour.
FollowupID: 622485

Reply By: puttputt - Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 10:21

Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 10:21
To add to my post, I doubt if anyone who had a scarey experience with a sicko out there and survived, would be happily surfing the web and enjoying sites like ExploreOz, they probably have lost interest in camping,so they would unlikely be here to give their account of the storey.
For many years I carried a handgun in Africa, and for a period in Aus when I was a copper, on a couple of occassions I needed to draw it for my protection, but I never needed to to fire it, amazing how an aggresive person suddenly becomes meek and friendly when a firearm is drawn and pointed in the air.
Again I say I don't advocate the wearing of arms, but If it were allowed, I would certainly carry one in isolated camping sites, instead I pay and take my family to proper caravan parks and the like, life is always a compromise.
AnswerID: 354273

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 10:54

Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 10:54
An awfull lot of idiots in some c/van parks as well though ,
FollowupID: 622427

Reply By: Axel [ the real one ] - Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 11:18

Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 11:18
Starting pistol will be a waste of $ and time for 'Protection when free/bush camping" ,,, if some lowlife wants to steal your gear he /she /it will , the best protection is to set up camp early and keep the easily portable gear away from prying eyes /and or close enough to your camp that it is allways in sight ,,gen set /solar panels ect , locks and chains and even a rifle will only deter honest people , wont deter the drunk or the bogans who even after youve scared them off are liable to return later looking for a bit of revenge ,,,,, a Judas Priest kept under the drivers seat for the dog / roo ect is all the "protection " you need , [ that is unless of course you are single and come across a bunch of busty Swedish backpackers another form of protection is usefull ,] LOL.
AnswerID: 354282

Follow Up By: Member - Matt & Caz H (QLD) - Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 13:22

Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 13:22
Axel,

I agree with you in saying there are a lot of idiots in CP's as well. I feel safer and its a lot quieter in most free camps.

Caroline
FollowupID: 622463

Reply By: takenbyaliens (QLD member) - Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 11:39

Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 11:39
Some years ago my wife and 3 kids spent 10 weeks camping across Canada and America..we lived there for a year as well. We had one incident in the Badlands where my wife and I were out alone and confronted by 13 very drunk ( Indian ) guys who filed out of one large van. My wife was laying down on the ground to get a picture of grass blowing in front of the sunset...the opening words of the conversation from them were"that's an intersting sexual position!" I put on the broadest Aussie accent and it turned out that two of the guys had served alongside Aussies somewhere in the World...it took a while and a lot of talk but ended with me taking their photo in front of their van and promising to send it to them. Was I scared...you bet. But I also knew that they were armed and deadly and if I had have done anything stupid like pull a gun we both would have been dead. On another occasion we had a home invasion and managed to keep they guy at bay by talking long enough for the police to come charging through the door with guns drawn...scared again? You bet. And once I had a gun at my head in Honiara and gambled the guy would not have the bottle to fire it so turned and walked away from him. Scared?? You bet. But in all of those occasions I used my brain to combat the situation. Someone else said you need to use your brain and quite frankly that is good advice...think carefully about where you camp, take precautions, as someone said make sure you cant be blocked in ( my mistake with the Indians by the way! )...you carry a gun and its like a red rag to a bull.
According to modern astronomers, space is finite..a very comforting thought particularly for people who can never remember where they left things

AnswerID: 354286

Follow Up By: get outmore - Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 16:55

Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 16:55
well what did you expect going somwhere like "the bad lands" didnt the name give it away?

as fot getting bailed up by indians out west im getting images alot funnier than im sure it seemed to you at the time

(insert smiley icon)
FollowupID: 622518

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 21:21

Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 21:21
Boy you have had some fun life experiences.

Glad it turned out well for you and using your brain is the key.

FollowupID: 622593

Reply By: OzTroopy - Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 12:55

Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 12:55
Gotta love these gun threads ...... pffffffffft

Guns for self protection.
Have carried one in the past for that reasaon and glad of it a couple of times ....
Its presense provided the deterrent value required. Given the changed attitudes and mindsets of todays villains ... I dont think it would be of the benefit it was - anymore. With the availability of firearm types criminals have access to today ... you will probably be outgunned anyway. Remember the Paul Hogan Knife Scene ????

At night when your asleep.
As someone has already posted .... The intruder/whatever will be awake and alert ... you wont be. Any weapon you have - will be a liability at that point.

Weapons of Preference:
A firearm is only of any use to someone if they can hit their target .... I've seen people who couldnt hit anything with a shotgun ... Guns are like some fancy bling piece of recovery gear ... If you dont know how to effectively use it ... Dont bother carrying it.
Tasars and Mace "should" be available ... Mace would be my preference as you dont need to be as accurate with its use and its after effects are minimal.
Its just shame that the we, the great unwashed, arent allowed to legally have these things though .............

Personal safety when on the wallaby.
Pick your rest stops with care ... The days of making camp anywhere are long gone ... especially near towns. Not that you are likely to be attacked by an axe murderer ... but drunken groups of hoons have a right to enjoy themselves all night at your expense and inconvenience apparrently. Some groups are nastier than others depending on the consumption level.

Everyone who "HATES" guns ..... Harold Scrubys ... the lot of you ... Wake up to yourselves and HATE the individuals / governments doing the wrong thing with guns.

Everybody who "LOVES" guns ... ya want to get that issue checked out ......

They are an inaminate object ... just like a vehicle or a knitting needle .... Its the "human" touch that gives them their reputation.
AnswerID: 354296

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 14:00

Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 14:00
As an ex policeman who had been disabled by a gun shot once said on a televised gun debate

"I have yet to see a gun get up by itself and shoot someone"

Mh

FollowupID: 622472

Reply By: robertbruce - Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 15:18

Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 15:18
ive never been to prison but i know in the prison system, shooters rank second-hated next to pedophiles ..thier general lack of prowess provides hours of entertaintment for other inmates...

a gun in the dark is useless, a 22 is useless and honestly, if you think you NEED a gun to travel oz what you really need is a good psychologist and an even better psychiarist....
AnswerID: 354326

Reply By: Member - Mfewster(SA) - Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 15:49

Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 15:49
The problem with the RossnSue line of argument comes when people actually start to believe it. If that line of argument becomes widely accepted, then generally carrying guns becomes widely accepted. And when that happens the black hats as well as the white hats start to carry them as routine.
We know countries where that happens don't we. And when that happens, the hoons around your campsite will react to the challenge of you pulling out your gun as a challenge to their manhood and away it goes. Besides, as a gun owner, you have a much greater chance that you or one of yours will be killed /injured with your gun than you have of successfully defending yourself in some situation.
AnswerID: 354336

Follow Up By: Nargun51 - Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 17:17

Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 17:17
Quite correct

In a previous incarnation, I spent about 20 years working in one particular area of the State’s Criminal justice system and due to a certain combination of events ended up being “expert” in murders.

Within the work environment we grouped murderers into 4 major sub-groups

The largest percentages of murders were “relational”; caused by arguments between a couple of people, (usually known to each other or in an already existing relationship) often over the quite miniscule of matters.

The next largest sub group of this were machismo contests (PC language) between a couple of men with an inflated impression of their own capabilities and deficiencies in their self esteem.

There was a significant step down to the next group; that of the “criminal” murder; most of these were simple business decisions…such as those glorified by “Underbelly”.

By far the smallest group was the crazed axe murderer type.

As it has been 9 years since I left this area I’ve forgotten the exact statistics but they’re not too hard to find if one can be bothered looking. From memory, it went something like 60%, 30%, 9% and 1%

After spending a bit of time working in this environment you realised that the greatest chance of being murdered was in your own bedroom by your partner

I always freak out when I hear someone boasting about their prowess with a gun and their opinion that they would shoot to defend and the belief they would be acquitted. When these people go into touchy situation with this attitude, there will only be one of two outcomes; either they are dead or injured or the other person is.

Strangely, most people working in this area were quite at ease with the results of the violence they saw. They were observant of the situation around themselves, used a bit of common sense and took simple precautions. Those that became paranoid soon left
FollowupID: 622524

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 17:39

Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 17:39
I spent 20 years in the Army. Then 12 years in the security industry in a business with over 2,500 employees who were licenced to carry a firearm on a daily basis at work. I state these facts simply to indicate my familiarity with firearms.

Since that time, we have travelled extensively for the past 4 years and now travel full time; ie our van is our home. We almost always free / bush camp. I have never carried a firearm while travelling, have never wanted one and never will carry one.

They are simply not necessary and are far more likely to cause you harm than prevent it.Australia is an extremely safe place to travel and it gets safer the further you are from major cities.

Apart from that, it would be very difficult indeed to legally carry a firearm for the purpose being discussed here.

Norm C
AnswerID: 354354

Reply By: Holden4th - Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 20:54

Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 20:54
I travel mainly by myself and have covered (and covered again) a lot of the outback, especially QLD. I always take my tent with me and have enjoyed many a night by myself unde the stars. I've also stayed in van parks, hotels, etc.

The first thing I trust is my gut instinct. If it doesn't feel right I'll move on (including van parks etc).

One of the reasons I travel is to meet people and nothing is more inviting than a road side stop with a couple of vans or CTs or tents. I pull up and I always ask if it's OK to camp in the same area. It gives the incumbents a chance to check me out and if they appear somewhat diffident I usually move on (though this is rare). I've met some great people this way and I know that there is safety in numbers. But overall, the risk is minor. On outback tracks, pulling a good distance off the track always works and really, who's going to come to that particular spot to investigate? As for a firearm, no way!
AnswerID: 354412

Follow Up By: Member - Noel K (NT) - Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 21:40

Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 21:40
I like your reply Holden 4th. Well done.

Noel.
FollowupID: 622598

Reply By: Member - T N (Qld) - Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 21:02

Monday, Mar 16, 2009 at 21:02
PeterInSa,
Well it look's like the Battle of Explore Oz 15/16 March 2009 is over.
you may safely hit the road and sleep calmly at night,
AnswerID: 354416

Reply By: The Landy - Tuesday, Mar 17, 2009 at 09:05

Tuesday, Mar 17, 2009 at 09:05
Always an interesting topic as Willem noted earlier; and I think comments from Ron, the Vietnam Vet is very insightful.

Personally, I can’t see the point in carrying a fire-arm for self-protection as it probably puts you into a line of fire rather than protect you from it; but everyone to their own.

However, as I read this thread I could not help but think that those who post here in the affirmative with respect to carrying weapons for self-defence may actually be sealing their fate if ever they are ‘charged’ following an incident involving the fire-arm. In the least it could be used as a reason not to provide a license to carry one.

Here for all to see, including the smart prosecutors’ is the evidence that you always intended to carry the weapon for self-defence and you had a predisposition towards it. They'd have a field day as they portray you as a gun totting red-neck ready to shoot first and ask questions later.

Once posted on the internet it is there for all to see for eternity; you are no longer able to hide between the anonymity of an alias; possibly a good reason to avoid posting in the affirmative is this type of medium.

Good luck out there,
AnswerID: 354481

Reply By: Steve63 - Tuesday, Mar 17, 2009 at 14:47

Tuesday, Mar 17, 2009 at 14:47
I think you will find that in at least one state I can think of carring a firearm when not licensed or that is not registered in that state now carries a 5 year mandatory jail term. The other states are positioning to follow. So unless you plan on registering your firearm and getting a license in each state it could get messy.

AnswerID: 354529

Reply By: Member - Ingo57 (NSW) - Wednesday, Mar 18, 2009 at 21:03

Wednesday, Mar 18, 2009 at 21:03
Gday peter,

I always carry my rifle when I go bush, would never pull it out unless I intended to use it. The only time Ive had to use it is to put an Emu out its misery after being hit by my mates bull bar.
For protection purposes I would use something else (axe, shovel, maglite etc) which when by ourselves place around the camp for an unwelcome intruder.
We like to bush camp on our trips right out of sight from the road and far away from towns. This I reckon is safer than staying in or near towns and rest area's
Would I use it If someone endangered my wife or kids in the middle of nowhere.....last resort..... absolutely!
Would I pull it out to scare them away from camp....no way, thats when it gets used against you.

AnswerID: 354769