Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
You have 2 items in your shopping cart
Section Image

test thread... please respond

Submitted: Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 15:03

cooks

Article Overview - Forum Terms of Use
The Forum is a sub-section of the ExplorOz website. Your use of the Forum is conditional upon your adherence to the Forum Rules and your acceptance of the Moderation Policy as detailed within this section. View Full Article...
Hey everyone.

New to this forum, just need to test. Recently purchased an 07 Jayco Hawk and Ford Ranger. Will need some questions answered...particularly about a battery setup for the van.
Advertisement
ThreadID: 68279 Replies: 10
Views: 707 FollowUps: 5
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 361861   Submitted: Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 15:05

Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) replied:

Coming in loud and clear as they say!! Michael

Lunch on the Bore Track  S.A.  July 2008
Click Image to Enlarge
Never do today what you can put off until tomorrow!!
Fortunately, tomorrow never comes.!!!
Vehicle: Patrol ST 4.2TDI 2003
Reply 1 of 10
AnswerID: 361862   Submitted: Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 15:08

Sir Kev & Darkie replied:

Cookie

I guess you now know that it worked LOL

The Pyrenees
Click Image to Enlarge
I am NOW living in Chinchilla, the Australian Melon Capital ;)
Lifetime Member: My Profile  My Blog  Send Message
Reply 2 of 10
AnswerID: 361864   Submitted: Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 15:15

Motherhen replied:

Hi cooks and welcome. Don't be afraid to ask - lots of knowledgeable and experienced people on ExplorOz willing to share info. Do a search first - lots of your questions well may have been discussed before.

Mataranka
Click Image to Enlarge
Home to reality - The dream trip is over
Reply 3 of 10
AnswerID: 361866   Submitted: Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 15:16

Member - esarby (NSW) replied:

Loud and clear in Sydney. Someone out here has the answers to our questions. Keep asking....
who is this ?
Click Image to Enlarge
NOTHING RACIST ABOUT ME.
I HATE EVERYTHING EQUALLY...
Reply 4 of 10
Activities Index
9 Day Cape York Fly / Drive Accommodated Tour 9 Day Cape York Fly / Drive Accommodated Tour
Cairns and Tropical North QLD - QLD
Experience a 9 day fully accommodated tour from Cairns to Cape York.
Aerobatic Flight - Sky Dancer Aerobatic Flight - Sky Dancer
Hunter Valley - NSW
Take a 30 minute flight in a Pitts Special S2A, 'The Ferrari of the Sky'.
Private Half-Day Sailing Lunch Cruise Private Half-Day Sailing Lunch Cruise
Mornington / Bellarine - VIC
Escape on a private cruise aboard a luxury 40ft Beneteau yacht for a memorable sailing experience be
Calypso- Snorkelling in the Great Barrier Reef Calypso- Snorkelling in the Great Barrier Ree
Cairns and Tropical North QLD - QLD
Experience the wonders of the largest collection of coral reefs in the world!
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 361870   Submitted: Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 15:24

Johnny boy replied:

We copy ya cooks ,start ya askin!!
Reply 5 of 10
AnswerID: 361872   Submitted: Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 15:32

Member - Footloose replied:

Test ? You passed :)))

Click Image to Enlarge
Footy Illegitimi non carborundum
Reply 6 of 10
AnswerID: 361873   Submitted: Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 15:34

cooks replied:

Thanks guys, it's great to be wanted!

My Jayco Hawk has the standard transformer with battery connections. would it be safe to assume that I can hook up a battery to these terminals and what kind of lead acid battery would be best?
Reply 7 of 10
FollowupID: 629628   Submitted: Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 15:49

Shaz & Col posted:

no these transformers usually only put out about 12.8 volts which it not high enough for a battery to charge properly,it should have a spec label on it and this will tell what voltage it puts out.
if you are not sure call jayco and check before hooking a battery up.
battery to use would be a sealed deep cycle 100a/h, set the vehicle up with a dual charge system through an anderson plug set up etc.
FollowUp 1 of 3
FollowupID: 629635   Submitted: Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 16:27

cooks posted:

when hooked to car the battery output is the same as the car at 14.8v, and on 240v power supply the output voltage is 13.6v. Is this still not enough to charge a battery?
FollowUp 2 of 3
FollowupID: 629642   Submitted: Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 16:50

Shaz & Col posted:

yes it is , looks like you have it set up ok.
happy camping
FollowUp 3 of 3
AnswerID: 361891   Submitted: Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 16:58

Baz&Pud (Tassie) replied:

Welcome from down south in good old ( at the present,chilly ) Tassie.
Enjoy the forum, we get more out of it than we put in.
Baz
The Dutchmans Stern Con Park near Quorn
Click Image to Enlarge
Go caravaning, life is so much shorter than death.
Reply 8 of 10
AnswerID: 361899   Submitted: Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 17:37

ExplorOz - David & Michelle replied:

Cooks,

Ok now that you have seen how it works it would be best to start a new thread to ask your specific questions - if you start putting stuff in this thread the majority of readers will miss it. So may I suggest that you put your battery question above in a new thread and load a new thread for each of your future questions.

Have a good one.
David & Michelle
Click Image to Enlarge
David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
------------------------------------------------
Always working, not enough travelling ;-)
Reply 9 of 10
FollowupID: 629787   Submitted: Tuesday, Apr 28, 2009 at 10:10

cooks posted:

Thanks...will do! See....already getting good advice!
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 361918   Submitted: Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 19:17

Bob of KAOS replied:

Cooks

your typing is coming in a bit fuzzy in Canberra.

Can you hit the keys a bit harder?

Reply 10 of 10
FollowupID: 629724   Submitted: Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 21:48

Maîneÿ . . . posted:

Bob,
The "fuzzy" effect on your screen is probably caused by the hot 'political' air in that part of the country, it's clear here in WA :-)

Mainey . . .
wake behind the Stacer 420 SeaHorse
Click Image to Enlarge

* check-out how SÔLAR PÔWER & ¹² Vølt Batteries will work *

click-> "My Profile"
below

FollowUp 1 of 1

Page Sponsors

ExplorOz ExplorOz
Become a Member of ExplorOz; buy or sell in Trader; buy Maps, Books, DVDs, camping accessories, and ExplorOz wheel covers, shirts, hats and stubby holders from the ExplorOz Shop; and book Activities &Tours or buy someone a gift certificate from our Activities section. Become an ExplorOz Member for just $60 in your first year, and $40 when you renew.
PO BOX 967  HILLARYS, WA, 6923
Phone: (08) 9403 3737
More info | Website