The standard of camping & caravaning Nowdays!?

Submitted: Wednesday, May 06, 2009 at 20:30
ThreadID: 68585 Views:4257 Replies:11 FollowUps:10
Its everyone to their own, but after looking at caravans and all the gear out there at a local show, i'm wondering if its just been a bit of" get on the band wagon" for a lot of manufactures in recent years. Camping and caravaning was always a basic sort of no frills sort of living holiday that many used to relish over the years. Its nice to be comfy, but do we need caravans that have interiors that your not game to breathe in ,Power packs , inverters, gennies, solar, charge this ,charge that, Then you get this won't work, or that won't go!,, The way its going you might as well put wheels under your house and tow it along!!

To much luxurious content, thats not really warranted for basic travel, thats disappears in depreciation in a flash, so stay basic and travel further is my thoughts, unless of course you can totally afford it, then what iv'e said means jack anyway!!...LOL.

Cheers Axle

Reply By: Isuzumu - Wednesday, May 06, 2009 at 20:50

Wednesday, May 06, 2009 at 20:50
I occasionally go looking at new vans and say that's pretty flash and come back and look over our 30 odd year old Viscount and say to myself why do I need anything else.
One thing I do know is that it can take a bit of rough stuff and has not fallen apart, some thing I would be always worried about with a new flash one.
AnswerID: 363569

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Wednesday, May 06, 2009 at 21:07

Wednesday, May 06, 2009 at 21:07
Its the same with our windsor , very strong underneath, everything good, just not all that flash..lol.

FollowupID: 631224

Reply By: Joondalupgerry - Wednesday, May 06, 2009 at 20:55

Wednesday, May 06, 2009 at 20:55
It's a contradiction in terms isn't it when you see a 24 foot or bigger fully off road caravan that weighs over 3 tonnes and has a full ensuite, washing machine and plasma TV etc..parked in a motor camp!...lol.
We took our small tandem poptop off road van everywhere we could...generally the only company we had was others in camper trailers etc. Saw very few of these behemoths actually doing much hard core off road.
AnswerID: 363570

Reply By: troopyman - Wednesday, May 06, 2009 at 21:16

Wednesday, May 06, 2009 at 21:16
I remember camping beside lake mackenzie on fraser in the seventies with just a army camp bed , a blanket , a fire and basic food because thats all i could afford . Nowdays if someone gave me a bushtracker i would use it , the troopy might have a heart attack though . Horses for courses . cheers .
AnswerID: 363577

Reply By: Member - aussichef (SA) - Wednesday, May 06, 2009 at 21:35

Wednesday, May 06, 2009 at 21:35
Well that depends on how long your travelling really
I have been living in a caravan full time for the past year here in the Barossa this week by the way happy anniversery Coreen & Luke
Alot of baby boomers are selling their homes & or buying caravans that they are travelling in for years
I turn 55 early next next year .I am going to access my super and @ this stage in am going to buy a 20foot TRAVELLER offroad van to travel & work in WA over the next 5 years staying in one place for a max of 3 months at a time & only working 3 maybe 4 days a week max & as a chef of some note i wont have any problems finding work anywhere
Living in a caravan on a brief holiday is totally different than living full time for any leangth of time & i assure u being self sufficant & compfy is the best way to go lol
And i assure you the model i am getting has a washing machine & everything a home has except the lawn to mow & garden to weed hahahah
warren aka aussichef
AnswerID: 363580

Reply By: Shaker - Wednesday, May 06, 2009 at 22:57

Wednesday, May 06, 2009 at 22:57
To each, his own!
AnswerID: 363603

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Thursday, May 07, 2009 at 06:29

Thursday, May 07, 2009 at 06:29
That's it!.

Axle.
FollowupID: 631254

Reply By: rocco2010 - Thursday, May 07, 2009 at 00:49

Thursday, May 07, 2009 at 00:49
Gidday

It's the lace curtains that always get me ... do women really want lace curtains in a caravan?

then there was the year I went to the caravan show and all the caravans in one particular range had seats were covered in the same fabric that had been used on the el cheapo sofa that we had just chucked out cos it had lasted about 18 months ...

Rocco

AnswerID: 363614

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Thursday, May 07, 2009 at 06:31

Thursday, May 07, 2009 at 06:31
It gives that homely feel...lol.

FollowupID: 631255

Reply By: Willem - Thursday, May 07, 2009 at 08:31

Thursday, May 07, 2009 at 08:31
Ahhh Axle...it is called One-Upmanship!!!

Mine is better than yours...lol

There they are, Mr and Mrs Caravanner. He is wearing shorts and white socks, she is wearing Knickerbockers ( its almost like when you go the livestock auctions or countrey race meetings where the Cockies all wear the same clothes...RMWilliams gear...lol).

They have a brand new 4by towing a brand new caravan with an aircon on the roof and a Sat dish hanging off the back. The Nuveaux Riche have made it on to the road. $150,000 for a rig set-up and they complain about the fuel prices, park in clusters on the side of the road and steal toilet paper from public toilets. Its a sign of the times. They do a couple of trips around the block and after that its down to the beach once a year and soon after the van is on the market.

But maybe I'm just jealous though, being a poor ole pensioner driving a dinosaur 4by and an overloaded bush trailer with all the stuff you don't need in the world. Been there and done that with caravans though, even wore the white socks once or twice!...lol Swore never again!

AnswerID: 363635

Follow Up By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Thursday, May 07, 2009 at 08:43

Thursday, May 07, 2009 at 08:43
Nice summary Willem.

I remember heading into Timber Creek once and passing a roadside stop just before town. It was full to the gunnels of (I'm guessing) $150K+ vans, 5th wheelers and motor homes. Along with the forest of TV aerials, washing machines, exercise bikes, weber BBQs, etc. Five minutes down the road is the van park with shade, green grass, pool, etc.

I smile to myself to think that you can spend all that money and then stint on a van park fee when it is available. Yes, they are self contained, but only for roadside stops not for anything truly remote.

Still, each to their own and I think that anyone who makes the effort to travel this country of ours, regardless of their mode of travel, will be richer for the experience.

FollowupID: 631288

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, May 07, 2009 at 08:49

Thursday, May 07, 2009 at 08:49
Geez Willem

I'll have to get rid of my Work Boots and free Plumbing T- Shirts, when I meet that lot, my Cook would kick me in the Ass if I carried on like that, and as far as stealing Dunny Paper goes, most places we go we take our own, I can't stand using the standard issue Emery Paper, ouch, nothing wrong with Trailers and rough camping either,
I'm a Dinosaur driving 4by, and wishing I was a Pensioner lol lol.
FollowupID: 631290

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Thursday, May 07, 2009 at 11:41

Thursday, May 07, 2009 at 11:41
G'day Willem,

I think I saw Mr and Mrs Caravaner at Windjana Gorge in 2005! They got there after us while we were walking the gorge and were looking comfy on our return - really didn't give them a second though as the scandinavian backpacker at the shower was far more interesting.

What really did impres me thought was the next morning while we were packing our camper trailer they got out in the said attire lifted the step and jumped in the car to drive off. He looked like he was going to a bowls tournament and not a hint of the dust, the bride and I were covered in just from packing up to go.

I could see my destiny when the bride's jaw dropped.

FollowupID: 631337

Follow Up By: The Top End Explorer - Friday, May 08, 2009 at 21:16

Friday, May 08, 2009 at 21:16
Hey Willem.

I sinserlly hope your post is tongue in check, as my parents have earn't
FollowupID: 631587

Follow Up By: The Top End Explorer - Friday, May 08, 2009 at 21:32

Friday, May 08, 2009 at 21:32
Sorry wrong button.

Please excuse my spelling as I went to hit the spell check and hit submit, I have had a long hard day.

I sinserly hope your post was tongue in check.

My parents have earned their living as grey nomads, they do have a new 4wd and a new off road van with the boat on the roof,( you know the hamburger with the lot) they have just arrived home after 3 years for a 6 month stay with my sister and I and the grand kids, then they are off again.

They spend their time in van parks and free camping doing what they like when they like.

They love traveling around Oz and will do so for some time yet, despite the fact that the resent economic down turn has done them out of $250k.

Cheers Steve

FollowupID: 631589

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, May 09, 2009 at 09:27

Saturday, May 09, 2009 at 09:27
Hi Steve

How are ya!

Yes, definitely a tongue in cheek observation. They are part of of the travelling fraternity as well and they bring a smile to my face. But then again, they may look at me and say "What the....?

Remember the old Darwin joke about the the blokes driving around in a Toyota 4by with a boat welded to the roofrack.....lol

Yes, the down turn must have hurt a lot of people. Luckily we have no money so there was nothing to lose. The Upturn will come again.

FollowupID: 631628

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, May 07, 2009 at 08:34

Thursday, May 07, 2009 at 08:34
It's pretty hard to buy a new van with bare floor boards and packing crates to sit on, the manufacturers build them nice so they can get the nice dollars, unless you specify what you want when you order one made to measure, I wouldn't bag it unless you have tried it or owned one, we all have our priorities,we also use a Tent now and again, like we did for several years before we could afford Caravans.

Daza
AnswerID: 363636

Follow Up By: Member -Dodger - Thursday, May 07, 2009 at 08:38

Thursday, May 07, 2009 at 08:38
My Sentiments axactly Daza.
I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

FollowupID: 631285

Reply By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Thursday, May 07, 2009 at 15:27

Thursday, May 07, 2009 at 15:27
I'm with you, Axle. I'm a simple camper, my Jack & C/t wouldnt
make $20 grand but I can go anywhere in Oz I wish in relative
comfort. I dont like feeding the "Depreciation Bug". But if your happy , & able, to spend that sort of loot, good luck to you. Too
restricted on where you can go I reckon. I can understand those who are on the road permanently going that way, but for an
annual holiday its costing the earth. Then again I will never pay
$80k plus for a 4by either. The depreciation on one of those
would pay my holiday fuel bill & expenses......oldbaz.
AnswerID: 363699

Reply By: Member - Roger B (VIC) - Thursday, May 07, 2009 at 19:39

Thursday, May 07, 2009 at 19:39
Until a few weeks ago, we towed a 30 year old Jayco Dove around the country for the last ten years. It was comfortable, and tough as an old boot. One night stops were a bit of a pain in the a**se though. Anyway, SWMBO and I, both being on the wrong of 60, decided we needed to make our travelling life a little easier. So we bought a 20 year old pop top caravan. Didn't cost the earth, will probably do us for ever, and is a piece of p*** to put up. Youngest son also inherited the Dove. Image Could Not Be FoundEvery body is happy. Cheers.

Roger B............
AnswerID: 363736

Reply By: Pebble - Friday, May 08, 2009 at 17:01

Friday, May 08, 2009 at 17:01
Lol, yes my Father In Law is currently in the market for a van tha's he is going to live in. He is also going to have a tray on style camper on his new Hilux ute for trips.

We lived in a cheap 16ft van when we first started our life together. We eventually rented a house and then brought a camper trailer. When kids came along came a better camper trailer, and now for various reasons we're back to tents. I guess we'll be tenting it for a while but eventually comfort may call again, and I"m thinking we'll be in the caravan market (or a cross between camper trailer and van).

I do agree though, all that flash stuff turns me off, makes me want to forget about it and just go back to the basics. One reason we sold our camper trailer is that we couldn't bear it sitting here for a year and not being used (we're living rural and building a hosue so can't afford but don't really have the need to "get away from it all" anyway).

But I digress. I remember in Broken Hill we were camping in a caravan park (in our camper trailer) and next to us were said Caravaners, they showed us inside their van with real pride. I say good on them. And I agree, you shouldn't knock it because it could be you one day, ideas and things do change that's for sure.
AnswerID: 363885