Update on <span class="highlight">footloose</span>

Submitted: Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 08:56
ThreadID: 71103 Views:5718 Replies:66 FollowUps:16
just got word that it is with great sadness, Jim ( Footloose ) has passed away, although i have never Jim, i have read many of his threads on this site and the Codan site, my condolences to his wife Jan and his family, RIP Jim.

Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 09:02

Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 09:02
Hi David,
That is just so wrong.

I've had the pleasure of speaking to Jim on a few occassions via the telephone. He was always a thorough gentleman and very giving of his vast knowledge on HF and Codans.

When I did finally purchase a reconditioned Codan off him it was in great condition and like the man, worked perfectly and without fuss.

RIP Footy, it is so true that only the good die young.

Classifieds: Landcruiser 16x8 Rims,

AnswerID: 376924

Follow Up By: David H - Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 09:22

Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 09:22
Very true Geoff,
although i never met him, i have had the pleasure of speaking to him by phone & email, his knowledge of Codans and HF in general was endless, he diagnosed a fault in my Codan over the phone once, my radio had been in and out of the shop 3 times without success, 1 email and 1 phone call later, works like a treat, he was a true gentleman in every sense of the word and unfortunately a wealth of knowledge has passed with him, he will be missed.
David.
FollowupID: 644338

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 09:05

Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 09:05
That is not good news.

My condolences to his family, he was such a great man who was willing to assist those who required assistance.

RIP Jim, you will always be remember by those who you have interacted with either in person or via the Internet.

Kev

AnswerID: 376926

Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 16:44

Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 16:44
My message is down the list somewhere.

Kev how about a little Wake for Jim by those attending St.George?????

Sitting by the fire and reminiscing a little, you know, a yarn or two and a drink to Jim, in his Honour.

Just an idea mate.
FollowupID: 644394

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 16:51

Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 16:51
I have already been thinking of this,

Great minds must think alike ............. Are you sure you aren't a QUEENSLANDER ;)

FollowupID: 644396

Follow Up By: Gurugirl - Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 20:17

Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 20:17
I have known jim for 20 years plus, during this time, he helped me through a vicious divorce, and offered advice on electronic projects I was doing, and bounced ideas off each other. We shared a common interest and that was meeting at the local caltex service station (that was named lezzies lounge) he was convinced that half the staff where gay, and I was there one night when one turned up with her gf, the look upon his face was golden.

He was a true friend, that listened, never judged anyone, and over the years, have spent hours and hours listening to his adventures and enjoying the endless streams of jokes and conversation.

I moved away from the Goldcoast to Cairns, we kept in touch via email, msn and the phone, and when I went back to the coast for work, the number one important thing to do was meet up and have dinner and a chat.

He will be missed by many and his passing will create a void in many peoples lives.

Condolences to Jan and his family, may Jim (known to many as DJ from his years on the CB radio) rest in peace, and tour the great highway of life.
FollowupID: 644418

Reply By: Member - John T (Tamworth NSW) - Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 09:14

Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 09:14
Morning David and the EO forum,

What dreadful news. I had never met Jim but had the utmost respect for him - he was a treasure trove of good information to anyone who had a HF transceiver.

I did the original post when I found out he had received an injury.

My deepest condolences to Jan and his family.

EO and the Codan forum has lost a very valuable member.

RIP Jim Shire aka Footloose
John T (Lifetime Member)
VKS-737 Mobile 2619
Selcall 2619
"Argue for your limitations and sure enough they're yours" - Richard Bach in "Illusions"

AnswerID: 376928

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 09:31

Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 09:31
Hi John,

Just a short piece of information for you, Jim's surname is Potts.

The jimshire email address is actually his business, Jim's Hire where he hired out Satellite phones and HF radio's.

FollowupID: 644341

Follow Up By: Member - John T (Tamworth NSW) - Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 09:35

Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 09:35

My apologies to Jim and everyone else I have misled

John T
John T (Lifetime Member)
VKS-737 Mobile 2619
Selcall 2619
"Argue for your limitations and sure enough they're yours" - Richard Bach in "Illusions"

FollowupID: 644343

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 09:43

Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 09:43
Hi John,
There's no harm done and I'm sure Footy himself would just chuckle and get on with it.

I only mentioned it as I figured you would have liked to know the whole story.

Tis' a sad EO day mate,

geoff

FollowupID: 644348

Follow Up By: RV Powerstream P/L - Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 13:16

Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 13:16
I did not know that he was the one and the same person and I had spoken to Jim on occasions after being in New Zealand on the 4x4 Gold Safari Tour as the 4x4 Controller and instructor from Greymouth on the South Island was a HF man and sent radios to Jim for sale and they also talked to each other regularly.

I now feel disappointed that I did not know him as Footloose what a loss to all.

My condolences to his family

FollowupID: 644378

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 14:57

Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 14:57
Ian,
That's Jim, aka Footy.

Quite some months back Footy had a visitor from New Zealand he took on an outback safari.

That was most likely the one and same kiwi bloke. Greymouth rings a bell with me from reading Footy's travel story.

FollowupID: 644389

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 18:30

Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 18:30
That would have been Malcolm Langley?
Jim and Malcolm were the moderators of the Yahoo Codan forum together.

FollowupID: 644407

Follow Up By: RV Powerstream P/L - Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 19:41

Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 19:41
Yep Malcolm Langley that sounds correct his partner in the Gold Tours came from the North Island and had an Earth Moving business.

Well Im please they got together in Aus.

FollowupID: 644413

Reply By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 09:36

Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 09:36
Good morning David,

A sad day.

Like many others here on the Forum I had not met Footy, but interacting with his posts it is almost like I knew him.

My condolences to his family.

Michael

AnswerID: 376934

Follow Up By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 10:24

Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 10:24
Michael, my sentiments exactly. It is sad to lose one of the characters of EO.
I add my condolences to his family........oldbaz.
FollowupID: 644358

Reply By: Fred G NSW - Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 09:38

Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 09:38
That is terrible news. RIP Footy. You won't be forgotten mate.

Fred & Christine.
AnswerID: 376937

Reply By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 09:56

Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 09:56

Like many others I never met Footloose, but always appreciated his posts.

My heart goes out to his wife Jan, family and friends.

AnswerID: 376939

Reply By: Member -Signman - Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 09:57

Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 09:57
Very sad day indeed.

I had known Jim when we were both members if the Illawarra Amateur Radio Club in Wollongong- about 20+ years ago.
He was the type of guy who called a spade a shovel- and always had time to offer advise and help, especially when it came to radio.

As we say in Amateur Radio- another 'Silent Key'.
I'll miss ya Jim
73s de VK2EZY

AnswerID: 376940

Reply By: The Geriatric Gypsies - Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 10:08

Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 10:08
RIP Jim he was a great help to me/us when we first started on the HF road
our condolences to his family

steve and denny
AnswerID: 376944

Reply By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 10:13

Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 10:13
That terrible news was so unexpected. I was shocked when I read it.
I never new Jim personally, it was only through this Forum that I became to know him as a person that had a good sense of humour & was more than willing to help anybody needing assistance. Condolences to his family and
may his soul rest in peace.
AnswerID: 376946

Reply By: Robert HL (SEQ)(aka zuksctr) - Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 10:16

Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 10:16
Thanks, David for the update on Jim(Footloose).
It is sad news to hear that, this gentleman has been taken from us (this forum) & his wife,family & friends.
He will be, for long & deeply missed.

Rest in Peace, Jim.

AnswerID: 376947

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 10:18

Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 10:18
My deepest and most sincere condolences go out to Jim's family.

Like most other members on here, I never had the privilege of meeting "Footy", but he always came across as being a very genuine bloke and one with whom I would have loved to have had a drink and a yarn.

RIP Jim.........

AnswerID: 376948

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 10:36

Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 10:36
Terrible news indeed.

If this isn't a "heads up" to everyone about the fickle finger of fate, I don't know what is.

Get out there and do everything you have planned. Don't put it off.

My condolences to Jim's family.

AnswerID: 376954

Reply By: Fred G NSW - Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 10:36

Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 10:36
The Xmas poem Footy put up last Xmas eve shows just what a lovable Aussie character he was.
If anyone hasn't read it, go to Footy's profile page, read, and remember our dear friend.

Fred.
AnswerID: 376955

Reply By: vk1dx - Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 10:48

Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 10:48
Same here.

Never met the man but enjoyed his posts. A shame.

AnswerID: 376960

Reply By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 10:52

Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 10:52
Terrible shame to hear he didn't pull through this. Our condolences to the family. Thank you David for keeping us informed. I hope his family get a chance to see this post and see how he made his mark in cyberworld but to also know that even though many did not know him face to face, they certainly knew him through his words, advice, action and humour. R.I.P.
David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
---------------------------------
Always working not enough travelling!

AnswerID: 376962

Reply By: equinox - Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 11:05

Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 11:05
Terrible news.

Footy was always quick with the advice and wit. You will be missed Footy.
RIP.

AnswerID: 376965

Reply By: Member - Matt & Caz H (QLD) - Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 11:07

Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 11:07
Hi David,

Thank you for letting us know, please send our deepest sympathies to his family and loved ones. RIP Jim (Footloose)

Matt, Caz & Kids
AnswerID: 376966

Reply By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 11:18

Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 11:18
Footy was one of the nicest guys on EO. I will miss him.
Willie.
AnswerID: 376967

Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 11:18

Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 11:18
Like some others, i did not know Jim personally, however his knowledge passed on to others was of great help to many. I have learnt quite a deal just from his explanations on here, tx.

Rest in Peace Jim.

AnswerID: 376968

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 11:27

Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 11:27
I have just returned from 2 months of travelling and didn't know that Jim was in trouble.

I'm shocked and so saddened by his passing.

Jim was a true gentleman and friend, a highly intelligent man who always treated others with respect, a man with an enormous sense of humour and generous in his help and advice to others.

I shall miss him enormously.

AnswerID: 376969

Reply By: takenbyaliens (QLD member) - Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 12:07

Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 12:07
What terrible news. I never met Footy but always read his posts as he brought a lot of good sense, information and experience to our Forum. Deepest condolences to his wife and family. We'll miss you Footy!!
According to modern astronomers, space is finite..a very comforting thought particularly for people who can never remember where they left things

AnswerID: 376972

Reply By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 12:07

Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 12:07
I never met FOOTY but I did receive some nice emails from him re radio issues and other issues. Condolences for his family and friends

I will miss his information and input over the years. Fair winds old son - fair winds..

VALE JIM aka "Footy"

Lance AKA Crazy Dog
AnswerID: 376973

Reply By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 12:10

Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 12:10
Our deepest sympathy to Footy's family from us here.........RIP mate.
AnswerID: 376974

Reply By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 12:19

Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 12:19
Very sad news. I have never met the man but he answered some of my post and he was a very knowledge man.

RIP
AnswerID: 376975

Reply By: Outbackogre - Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 12:19

Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 12:19
Very sorry to hear that Footloose has passed away. He clearly made a great contribution to this forum and will be missed. My sympathies to his family and all who grieve his passing. Rob.
AnswerID: 376976

Reply By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 12:43

Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 12:43
Farewell Jim, we did have the pleasure of meeting him, and are saddened by the news of his passing, a gentleman with a genuine sense of humour, and a love of the Australian outback.

With sadness

Brian & Gayleen
AnswerID: 376979

Reply By: Madfisher - Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 13:45

Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 13:45
Deeply shocked at the news of Footies passing. Never meet him in person, but still regarded him as a Mate.
Rip Jim.
Cheers Pete , Sally
AnswerID: 376989

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 13:56

Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 13:56
What can one say. We are all one very big family. My sincere condolences to Jan and his family

RIP Footloose.

Stephen and Fiona

AnswerID: 376991

Reply By: Wisey - Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 13:59

Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 13:59
My condolences to Jim's family and friends.

I'm the same as so many Jim has touched with his genuine willingness to help others, whom he'd never met and would likely never actually meet in person.

Through Jim I arranged a HF radio hire for my Dads trip across the Simpson, nothing was a problem thanks to the thorough professionalism Jim showed.

RIP Footy, gone but not forgotten.

AnswerID: 376992

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 14:00

Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 14:00
So sorry to hear of Jim's passing. A gentleman always... Michael

AnswerID: 376994

Reply By: Member - Timbo - Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 14:37

Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 14:37
Very sorry to hear that David (but thanks anyway for updating us). My condolences also go to his wife Jan and the rest of the family and friends during this time.

This news is a sad shock as the last update indicated he seemed to be improving. While many of us members are sad that he will no longer be contributing to this site, his contribution here would be very small compared to his contributions in the rest of his life to those around him, including his family and especially his wife. Yes, he will be sadly missed here, but he will be missed much more by those who knew him outside this forum.
AnswerID: 376998

Reply By: Member - Axle - Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 14:46

Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 14:46
My condolences to his Family.

A great bloke at all times was the iimpression i had.

RIP Footy.
AnswerID: 377001

Reply By: Member - Nev (TAS) - Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 15:04

Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 15:04
My deepest sympathy to Jan and family.
I had several emails/phone calls to Jim and although I never met him face to face he was always helpful and friendly. A true gent.
Nev...

AnswerID: 377004

Reply By: Isuzumu - Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 15:09

Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 15:09
Very sad news

RIP Footy and my condolences to his family
AnswerID: 377005

Reply By: On Patrol & TONI - Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 16:37

Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 16:37
Footy, Footloose, Jim.
Loved, by many.
Not loved, by few.
Respected, by all.

Our deepest condolences to Jan and the whole family.
All our hearts are a little emptier today.

Colin & Renate.
AnswerID: 377010

Reply By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 16:55

Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 16:55
I never met Jim,
I enjoyed his comments across a varied of subjects.
Our thoughts are with his family and his extended family.

Don't be sad, For he is only going home.

AnswerID: 377011

Reply By: Member - Fred B (NT) - Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 16:58

Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 16:58
To Jan and Family,
we are truly sad to hear of your loss. I have no idea what to say to you and your family, except that he will be missed by many. I too, am one of those who never got to meet him face to face.
You have our condolences.
Fred B
VKS 737: Mobile/Selcall 1334

AnswerID: 377013

Reply By: Motherhen - Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 17:05

Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 17:05
I just logged on after a few days and read the shock news. "Footy" was a favourite member of mine. My heart goes out to his wife and family.

AnswerID: 377015

Reply By: David H - Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 17:41

Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 17:41

a very sad day indeed, here are the details of jims funeral service copied from the Codan forum:

Cheers, David.

I have just recieved the following from Jim's family. They have asked me to post this if case any of you feel like attending/ writing/ sending cards etc.

Jim's Service will be held as follows:

3 PM Monday August 3, 2009

at Heritage Funeral Services
43 West Burleigh Heads,
Qld 4220
Ph(07) 55358758

No flowers please.
A book will be provided for mourners to sign at the entrance to the chappel
Please record your name on entering.

Condolences may be sent to:
Mrs Jan Potts
3 Lillee Court,
Currumbin Valley,
Queensland. 4223

There will not be an official wake however, some members of Jim's immidiate family will proceed to the Twin Towns Leagues Club, Tweed Heads for drinks. You are welcome to join us and please introduce yoursef, we would like to meet you.

AnswerID: 377022

Follow Up By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 01, 2009 at 19:35

Saturday, Aug 01, 2009 at 19:35
Thank you for that information David as I think that many will take the opportunity to send Jim's family a card & I will be one of them. You know, a card is such a small thing & I sometimes think that they are insignificant, but when you dealing with a time of loss, they are a comfort to know that others care. A bit like having a yarn, like footy would have done I somehow think, around a camp fire. Many thanks
FollowupID: 644489

Reply By: Member - Effie C (NT) - Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 18:27

Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 18:27
Indeed a sad day, our condolences to the footloose family. Make you realise how short a time we are here for
Live One Day at a Time for Tomorrow May Never Come.

AnswerID: 377030

Reply By: jdwynn (Adelaide) - Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 19:51

Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 19:51
It was very sad to hear this news. My condolences to Footy’s family and friends.

Footy's posts were always interesting to read, and he was a great help to many of us regarding HF radio issues and the like. But I always remembered his view on climate change:

Thread 51799
“Is it or isn't it ?
I look at it this way.
Lets suppose it isn't, and we clean the planet up a bit. The result is we have a better place to leave behind.
Now lets suppose it is, and we do nothing. The results COULD be catastrophic for many (according to the UN report).
So what to do?
I have insurance on my vehicle, even though I have no plans to have an accident.
I rekkon that the planet "cleaning up it's act " might be good insurance. “

A wonderful way of looking at the problem. RIP Footy

AnswerID: 377041

Reply By: Member - greg S (QLD) - Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 20:19

Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 20:19
I for one am privileged to have met Jim. I met up with him at his house when I hired an HF from him for our trip last year. Bloody great bloke and a genuinely nice person all round. We talked for around an hour or two and that was just having a chat, and not about the hire unit, that was another half hour or so.

Condolences to Jan and Family.

RIP Jim (Footy). Your quips on here will be sorely missed.

AnswerID: 377046

Follow Up By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Sunday, Aug 02, 2009 at 19:55

Sunday, Aug 02, 2009 at 19:55
Greg,
I can relate to that, that's exactly how we met him...... and then there was the hour or so when we returned the unit to him at the end of the hire.... time well spent listening to an extremely likeable fellow with a seemingly endless supply of "yarns"... each one more interesting than the one before......

FollowupID: 644635

Reply By: Blaze (Berri) - Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 21:36

Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 21:36
My deepest and most sincere condolences go out to Footy's family.

Like most other members on here, I never had the privilege of meeting "Jim", but have always appreciated his words of wisdom and also member msg's. Having lived through a loss similar to this from a simple accident I can only feel for for all his family and everyone who knew this man.

RIP Footy.........

AnswerID: 377062

Reply By: shane adelaide - Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 21:59

Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 21:59
I don't get on here a lot and didn't know Jim (footloose) myself but my old man member borgy and my little bro little borgy spoke to him a fair bit on here and i believe over the phone. i spoke to them today and told them the sad news and they would like to send there condolences to his wife jan and his family they both say RIP Jim you will be sadly missed.
AnswerID: 377065

Follow Up By: shane adelaide - Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 22:01

Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 22:01
Forgot to also add my condolences to jims wife and family.

cheers shane
FollowupID: 644436

Reply By: Canvas Charisma - Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 22:02

Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 22:02
Hi Everyone,

What terrible news.

To Jim's family my condolences.

RIP

AnswerID: 377066

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Thoughtfully- Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 22:17

Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 22:17
Hey David, I too wish to pass on my condolences for Jims family, knowing loss only too closely I can feel some of what they are going through.

I know that the thread on this site dragged me through the lowest times in the lowest part of my life.

RIP Footloose, I guess you are Footloose and fancy free now mate!

AnswerID: 377068

Reply By: Best Off Road - Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 22:18

Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 22:18
Sad and a great loss.

Jim and I used to chat on the phone from time to time.

He was on old (40 years ago) friend of another bloke I knew. By chance (courtesy of this forum) I happened to put them back in touch.

I'll call Glen tomorrow and inform him that his old mate from the radio station has passed.

Jim was a really nice chap. I feel for his family.

AnswerID: 377069

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Saturday, Aug 01, 2009 at 21:01

Saturday, Aug 01, 2009 at 21:01
Should Jan ever get to see this,

I spoke to Glen Knight today to tell him of Jim's passing.

Glen and Jim worked together some 40 years ago.

Glen was deeply moved at hearing the news, he got to chat with Jim a few months back and was looking to catch up with him in the next few months.

Sadly, it never happened.

Life can be too short.

Jim Best.

FollowupID: 644508

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 22:23

Friday, Jul 31, 2009 at 22:23
Our condolences to Jan and the family. Jim proudly showed Heather and I a photo of Jan when he said to meet the guy dressed like a trucky in the Maccas near their home.

Jim Potts was a gentleman and we chatted from time to time on the phone too especially when a hirer was a little slovenly returning his satellite phone. We did the research together and found the connections. The phone was returned
AnswerID: 377070

Reply By: Member - Tony S (WA) - Saturday, Aug 01, 2009 at 00:23

Saturday, Aug 01, 2009 at 00:23
Only spoke to Jim once, what started off as a 2 minute conversation ended up taking just over an hour.
I certainly learnt alot about HF radio and some things as well. Jim certainly did not hesitate to help if you were in trouble.
To me he was a real gentleman.

My deepest sympathy to Jan and his family.

Tony
The rig

AnswerID: 377089

Reply By: AdrianLR (VIC) - Saturday, Aug 01, 2009 at 17:40

Saturday, Aug 01, 2009 at 17:40
My condolences to Jim's family. Like many on EO, I enjoyed getting a glimpse of Jim's knowledge and humour.

Adrian
AnswerID: 377105

Reply By: warfer69 - Saturday, Aug 01, 2009 at 19:30

Saturday, Aug 01, 2009 at 19:30
R.I.P Jimbo ,See ya at the Exploreoz Forum on the otherside someday...

Condolences to Family.
AnswerID: 377126

Reply By: Member - Dick (Int) - Saturday, Aug 01, 2009 at 20:06

Saturday, Aug 01, 2009 at 20:06
What terrible news. My sincere condolences to his wife Jan and his family.

RIP Footy
Dick

AnswerID: 377134

Reply By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Sunday, Aug 02, 2009 at 11:13

Sunday, Aug 02, 2009 at 11:13
My darling and I send our deepest sympathies to theFootloose family .
" Muzbry " Murray Hannah

AnswerID: 377227

Reply By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Sunday, Aug 02, 2009 at 11:58

Sunday, Aug 02, 2009 at 11:58
Have jus come on the forum and read the bad news, I like most of the others never met Footloose but always enjoyed his posts/replies. Bevan and I send our condolences to his wife and family, he will be missed on this forum.
RIP Jim.

Deanna & Bevan

Simba, our much missed baby.

AnswerID: 377235

Reply By: Rolly - Sunday, Aug 02, 2009 at 13:40

Sunday, Aug 02, 2009 at 13:40
Bugga.

Why is it always the real gentlemen who seem to go before their time.

So much to offer and so much given so freely.

My condolences to Jan & family.

AnswerID: 377248

Reply By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Sunday, Aug 02, 2009 at 13:52

Sunday, Aug 02, 2009 at 13:52
What a terrible shock

I've shared many email conversations with Jim over the past year. He was always handy with advise and humour. A sad loss to us all. My deepest sympathies to Jan and his family.

AnswerID: 377249

Reply By: Robin Miller - Sunday, Aug 02, 2009 at 14:01

Sunday, Aug 02, 2009 at 14:01
So Sad

C U Footy.

AnswerID: 377250

Reply By: Member - Russnic [NZ] - Sunday, Aug 02, 2009 at 15:22

Sunday, Aug 02, 2009 at 15:22
While I never met Footy face to face we had made contact through this media,
I am doubly saddened to find we also lost Jim, of Jim's 4x4 & Radio, the one and the same person.
I am now even more disappointed I did not catch up with him on his recent trip to New Zealand and thinking our tracks will cross in Qld some time.
Another great guy gone.
Russ
AnswerID: 377255

Reply By: Member - Matt & Julie (VIC) - Sunday, Aug 02, 2009 at 16:53

Sunday, Aug 02, 2009 at 16:53
Our thoughts are with Footy's family at this very sad time.
RIP Footy.

Matt & Julie

AnswerID: 377263

Reply By: Stu & "Bob" - Sunday, Aug 02, 2009 at 17:52

Sunday, Aug 02, 2009 at 17:52
I also had never met Jim face to face, but felt that I knew him quite well through EO and the Codan Forum. We also chatted sporadically on the phone and via HF.

RIP Jim, I will miss you mate.

Stu
AnswerID: 377276

Reply By: Member - Poppy (QLD) - Sunday, Aug 02, 2009 at 19:30

Sunday, Aug 02, 2009 at 19:30
Just got the sad news
Condolences to Jan and family
R.I.P Jim
AnswerID: 377291

Reply By: blue one - Sunday, Aug 02, 2009 at 20:15

Sunday, Aug 02, 2009 at 20:15
It is very sad news.

Footy was a true gentleman.

Condolences to the Family.

Sincerely

AnswerID: 377299

Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Sunday, Aug 02, 2009 at 22:03

Sunday, Aug 02, 2009 at 22:03
My condolences to Jim's family. I never met Jim - but felt I had thru his posts here.

RIP Jim aka Footloose

(Captain)
AnswerID: 377323

Reply By: Wherehegon - Sunday, Aug 02, 2009 at 22:33

Sunday, Aug 02, 2009 at 22:33
Hi there David, I have been away for a while and flat out with reno's at home and just reading some old posts, WOW this is such bad news, I never met the bloke but feel for his family and close friends. Very very sad news. My condolences to Jim's family and friends, Thankyou for the update, appreciated. I hope he got a few cards that were sent to him to know we were all thinking of him.......... sad news. Regards Steve M
AnswerID: 377331

Reply By: The Landy - Monday, Aug 03, 2009 at 18:22

Monday, Aug 03, 2009 at 18:22
Geez, been off for a few days.....

Good luck mate!

AnswerID: 377405

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 04, 2009 at 20:11

Tuesday, Aug 04, 2009 at 20:11
Very sad news indeed and the world is a poorer place for Jim's passing. My feelings go out to his family for their loss.

Rest in Peace Footy.
AnswerID: 377562