Advice needed from SE Toad country residents please........

Submitted: Saturday, Aug 01, 2009 at 20:05
ThreadID: 71137 Views:3556 Replies:11 FollowUps:4
G'day all you Toadies,

I'm after some local info please.

After the St George gathering, I have promised Annette and the boys that a trip to the Gold Coast theme parks is on the agenda. (BTW: I think the call it "Gold Coast" because there's no point going there unless you have a truck-load the the damn stuff.... "gold" that is).

I'm reasonably confident I'd be right in assuming that some mongrel will come along and give me my marching orders if I try to set the Ultimate up on the beach for a few days... So the question arises: Where does one camp in close proximity to these damned theiving theme parks without me having to leave my first born child with them as payment, please?

Reply By: Ross H (QLD) - Saturday, Aug 01, 2009 at 20:13

Saturday, Aug 01, 2009 at 20:13
Hi Bill

This place is central to everything and a nice spot to. Not sure how muck it costs???

http://www.caravancampingnetwork.com.au/qld/gcoast/broadwater_tourist_park.html

Close to all the important stuff like shops and maccas ect. Kids can swim, Nett can shop and will be great for your morning run LOL.

Regards Ross
AnswerID: 377136

Reply By: Member - Lotzi (QLD) - Saturday, Aug 01, 2009 at 20:38

Saturday, Aug 01, 2009 at 20:38
Hi Roachie

This is the place, on the north end of the coast, with good access to all the Theme Parks. I used to take groups into this park.

http://www.treasureisland.com.au/

Plenty of facilities for the kids, good shopping nearby, you can purchase combined admittance tickets through state motoring organisations.

or

Tallebudgera Creek Tourist Park

or

Southport Tourist Park

AnswerID: 377140

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Saturday, Aug 01, 2009 at 20:58

Saturday, Aug 01, 2009 at 20:58
Lotzi

I have to agree with you on Treasure Isl. We have stayed ther a few times and have always been looked after.Great place for the kids too,cheers.
FollowupID: 644507

Follow Up By: Member - Bytemrk(VIC) - Saturday, Aug 01, 2009 at 23:33

Saturday, Aug 01, 2009 at 23:33
We stayed at treasure island too.... when the kids got me at a moment of weakness on the way to Fraser Island..

Was a good spot for a short stop over and get the park thing done before moving on to the real holiday ;-)

We would stay there again if I had to go to the gold coast.

Cheers, Mark
FollowupID: 644534

Reply By: Robert HL (SEQ)(aka zuksctr) - Saturday, Aug 01, 2009 at 20:55

Saturday, Aug 01, 2009 at 20:55
Bill,plae called Jacobs Well, 'tis about 15-20 mins drive to several of the said parks.
It is nice well shaded c/park & would i amagine cheaper than the others as it is not a tourist park (yet).
Not much in the way of shopping centres,they are also 20-30 mins drive,but a short stroll at the back gate of the park is a jetty & boat ramp if you wanted to launch your Ultimate.(joking) ould try your hands @ fishing if you like that sort of thing to relax & give th boy's some thing else to do.
I do not have the contact no. but a Google search should reveal all.

AnswerID: 377144

Reply By: Isuzumu - Saturday, Aug 01, 2009 at 21:06

Saturday, Aug 01, 2009 at 21:06
Hi Roachie, if you would like to stay out of the hustle and bustle of the Goldie, thats what the locals call it hahaha, and a drive of less than 30 minutes to the attractions is not a bother then a place up near Canungra called James Sharpe Park, no 703 in the 5th edition of Camps Aus will be very peaceful and a lot less expensive, sorry no showers or power but can use genny, $10 for two but a good rate for families. Binna Burra is not far away as well.
PS you can have a camp fire as well.
Failing that Nanango is only 3 hours from the Goldie LOL
AnswerID: 377146

Reply By: The Geriatric Gypsies - Saturday, Aug 01, 2009 at 21:25

Saturday, Aug 01, 2009 at 21:25
goodday bill
we are currently in a lovely park called advancetown park but we have macca with us
the publication you need is Qld caravan parks and touring accomadation
www.caravanqld.com.au
it lists almost every c/p in qld with prices and what they have there are lots of parks within 20-30 minutes of the parks where we are doesnt have the madness of the coast and is only 8min from nerang anyway try the above addy

AnswerID: 377152

Reply By: Simon C - Saturday, Aug 01, 2009 at 21:26

Saturday, Aug 01, 2009 at 21:26
If you are after bush and a creek to camp on......try Spring Gully Stays out near Cunagra. You camp right next to Cunagra Creek. A bit of a drive to the theme parks (35 TO 40 mins), but is a majic spot after the bull sh#t of the Gold Coast. $10.00 a camp site per night.....no power or showers, but drop dunnies. Or you can camp on the other side of the creek, and get showers, power, camp kitchens etc. Not sure of the price, but not much more.

http://www.springgullystays.com.au/

Good Luck.
AnswerID: 377153

Reply By: Mrbrush - Saturday, Aug 01, 2009 at 21:59

Saturday, Aug 01, 2009 at 21:59
I would Go Jacobs Well Tourst Park if you want a quiet and a cheap place to stay and close to theme parks, no traffic,shops and snack bars across the road,next to the water,park and swings etc .

AnswerID: 377161

Reply By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 01, 2009 at 22:01

Saturday, Aug 01, 2009 at 22:01
Hi Roachie,
Just a heads up mate. Some of the parks are doing bag checks and you are NOT allowed to take food in, either bought or home made. Unless you can prove you have special dietary needs.
There was a story on the news the other night. People were throwing it the bin or eating there and then in the car park.

Just thought I'd mention it.

Cheers, Hope you guys have a blast.

AnswerID: 377162

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Aug 02, 2009 at 07:01

Sunday, Aug 02, 2009 at 07:01
They will allow fruit and water only. Yet another way to make "Bank Style" profits by ripping the paying customer off.

As someone said the other day, ask them for a temp pass out of the park and eat your lunch in your vehicle ;))

FollowupID: 644541

Reply By: RV Powerstream P/L - Sunday, Aug 02, 2009 at 07:56

Sunday, Aug 02, 2009 at 07:56
Two January's ago we took some of our grandchildren to the Gold Coast and we stayed at the Gold Coast Caravan Park just north of Helensvale and just before Coomera and it even is dog friendly and is a short run to dreamworld and just over the Highway from the main parks where you would spent most time.
Then to me the only one you tarvel to is Seaworld once.

AnswerID: 377183

Reply By: Atta Boy Luther - Sunday, Aug 02, 2009 at 09:29

Sunday, Aug 02, 2009 at 09:29
If you go to seaworld just get yourself a pass out at lunch and drive back down the road to the fish markets , where the trawlers are and get yourself some fish and chips . Return to sea world and then at the end of the day drive down to the spit (sea wall) and try your luck at fishing for a while . Dont let anyone else know about this .
AnswerID: 377209

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Aug 02, 2009 at 14:15

Sunday, Aug 02, 2009 at 14:15
Wow, thanks to everybody who has replied with such a great range of ideas.

Whilst we would normally like to bush camp, I realise this is not really feasible to do so close to "civilisation" as I don't think there would be much of my gear (or even the camper trailer) left when we got back from a day of sight-seeing and fun & games etc.

I will get my map book out and try to get a "feel" for where all these places are that you have mentioned and then let my fingers do the walking.....

Thanks once again.

AnswerID: 377251

Follow Up By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Sunday, Aug 02, 2009 at 20:05

Sunday, Aug 02, 2009 at 20:05
How long are you staying Roachie?
Sharpe Park at Canungra is a nice place, not too far away from it all. The CP north of Helensvale is also a nice park, but in close to suburbia.
Perhaps we can catch up for a cuppa if you have time......

FollowupID: 644638