from Jim Potts( Footies) family

Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 18:56
ThreadID: 71600 Views:3906 Replies:6 FollowUps:4
recieved this email today

Dear Steve

On behalf of our family I would like to thank you so much for attending Jim's funeral service. It was so good to see so many of his friends
attend and at such short notice. I think the variety of people who came to the service really highlighted Jim's interests and experiences
in his life.He kept in touch with so many people of diverse backgrounds, all friends.

I would also like to thank you and your partner for having a drink in Jim's memory at Twin Towns.
You are both warm and beautiful people and I feel as though I have known you forever.Your smiling faces and wonderful stories helped to ease our pain that day and we shall be forever grateful.
Thank you for being Jim's friend and keeping alive his memory in your own.

Please keep in touch as I'm sure we shall meet up down the track soon.

David and Stephen and Mark Potts at Twin Towns

Ps: Please pass on out thanks to all Jim's friends at Explore Oz for the kind tributes that posted on the net and then provided to us. Jim's wife Jan has read them repeatedly and passes her personal thanks to all those kind folk who knew Jim for the many accolades and kind words.
Jim is missed by many and we shall always remember him as just a great guy who was always willing to help in any way he could.

Thanks again and please keep in touch.

Reply By: Fred G NSW - Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 19:07

Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 19:07
Steve, I'm lost for words at the moment...I'll just say thanks for being there for us. Thank's mate. In old Navy terms, Bravo Zulu mate. I think somewhere down the track we should make up a "resume" of Jim's participation on this forum, and forward it to Jan. What a read that will make for reminiscing. We may give her further support. RIP Jim.

Fred & Chris.
AnswerID: 379502

Reply By: Member - Fred B (NT) - Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 19:46

Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 19:46
Thanks again Steve,
I think I can say from all of us EO members, thanks for doing what we couldn't do, and that was to be there for Jan and the family.
thanks,
Fred B
VKS 737: Mobile/Selcall 1334

AnswerID: 379509

Reply By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 21:47

Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 21:47
Can someone fill me in on what happened etc I've been away for a short while so I'm in the dark?

AnswerID: 379524

Follow Up By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 22:47

Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 22:47
Click Here for the original post when ExplorOz found out Jim was in hospital.

Click here for the second page

Click here for the third page

Click here for the fourth page

Click here for the fifth page

Click here for the sixth page

That's pretty much the whole thing.

A sad turn of events.

FollowupID: 646890

Reply By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 22:50

Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 22:50
Steve,

Got a similar email from David this morning as well..... I haven't replied as yet but will do when I can find the words. Thanks for posting here.... hope all is well with you and Denny mate.

AnswerID: 379535

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 23:30

Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 23:30
Brian thanks very much for providing the above links.

My memories of a man I never met but knew through this forum are fond. I like many who have written before me will miss the man. My condolences to his family.

FollowupID: 646896

Follow Up By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Wednesday, Aug 19, 2009 at 06:53

Wednesday, Aug 19, 2009 at 06:53
Duncan,

You're very welcome.

FollowupID: 646901

Reply By: Member - John T (Tamworth NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 19, 2009 at 06:13

Wednesday, Aug 19, 2009 at 06:13
G'day Steve

Thanks for being there for Jim's service and for being there on behalf of all his friends on the EO Forum.

See you and Denny at St George

John T (Lifetime Member)
VKS-737 Mobile 2619
Selcall 2619
"Argue for your limitations and sure enough they're yours" - Richard Bach in "Illusions"

AnswerID: 379541

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Wednesday, Aug 19, 2009 at 06:30

Wednesday, Aug 19, 2009 at 06:30
Steve,

Can you let them know we will be thinking of Footy in St George and may even have a few ales for him when there.

AnswerID: 379542

Follow Up By: The Geriatric Gypsies - Wednesday, Aug 19, 2009 at 11:04

Wednesday, Aug 19, 2009 at 11:04
goodday kev
we discussed this at drinks after the funeral and family thought it was a great idea
that he would be remembered this way
FollowupID: 646922