How Are <span class="highlight">Corrugations</span> Formed?

Submitted: Sunday, Aug 23, 2009 at 22:08
ThreadID: 71742 Views:4880 Replies:14 FollowUps:29
After looking at the videos on the Canning SR tonight, I am curious on how corrugations are formed?

Is it from vehicles or weather patterns?

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Sunday, Aug 23, 2009 at 22:43

Sunday, Aug 23, 2009 at 22:43
Quite often from idiots driving too fast for the type of road and the conditions.

AnswerID: 380209

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 06:23

Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 06:23
Rubbish. Nothing to do with it.
FollowupID: 647525

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 06:28

Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 06:28
Speed does contribute but not in the manner implied by this contentious comment. See my post further down.
FollowupID: 647526

Reply By: Travelin OZ - Sunday, Aug 23, 2009 at 22:52

Sunday, Aug 23, 2009 at 22:52
Sound waves from tyre's.
AnswerID: 380210

Reply By: xxx - Sunday, Aug 23, 2009 at 23:11

Sunday, Aug 23, 2009 at 23:11
Interesting question which has been asked before.

This has also been studied extensively by various scientists /engineers

If a wheel moves over a flat surface no matter how hard it may seem, the flat surface tends to act like a fluid. So this occurs on train tracks, and dirt roads alike. The wheel pushes a bow wave ahead of it until the wheel rides up and over the crest, and starts to build up a new bow wave.

The next wheel comes along and tends to amplify the wave that has formed.

In addition, when the wheel leaves the crest, it accelerates in the air. When it hits the ground again in the trough it bites, causing the surface in the trough to break down.

The nature of the cars suspension tends to amplify the bouncing effect once the corrugation has started to form.

How to prevent this happening? Lower tyre pressures, traction control, more driven wheels, any other tips?
AnswerID: 380212

Follow Up By: Member - Timbo - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 12:47

Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 12:47
That sounds like the most credible theory I've heard so far.

Note that vehicle speed, suspension frequency etc. are all variable depending on the driver (& their mood!) and the car itself - these should all be random enough that one car's corrugations would be cancelled by the next car (unless suspension frequency is identical and the car is being driven exactly the same way).

I don't know that you'll ever PREVENT corrugations, but you can reduce the speed at which they form as you've said: by lowering tyre pressures, more driven wheels (2 wheels are more likely to start 'skipping' on the corrugations than if all wheels are driven). Since most corrugations seem to be worse in the corners and/or up hills, I'd expect that avoiding hard acceleration would also help to slow the rate of formation of corrugations.
FollowupID: 647561

Follow Up By: henpecked - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 17:50

Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 17:50
So why are the corrugations basically parallel to each other and normally extend from gutter to gutter?
FollowupID: 647609

Follow Up By: Member - Timbo - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 18:17

Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 18:17
I'd suggest that because not everyone drives the same distance from the edge of the road, particularly as corrugations begin to form and most people try to avoid the worst ones (and end up making their own).

As you've rightly said, they often do seem to extend gutter to gutter and are parallel to each other. The suggestion that corrugations are formed by a "bow wave" building up in front of the wheel as it rolls along and that would tend to suggest that the spacing of corrugations would depend more on the material of the road (Note that for each vehicle, speed and suspension frequency vary yet the corrugations get bigger and bigger so if these were the biggest contributing factors, you'd expect the corrugations to be very random and even cancelled out by the varying traffic).
FollowupID: 647615

Follow Up By: viz - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 20:16

Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 20:16
I like this explanation too - it seems a little more "scientific" than some I have heard, a little more rational.

I would suggest that there is also a suspension resonance factor that also contributes and can be mitigated in a limited manner by tyre pressures, shock settings and spring stiffness.

Interestingly my Range Rover was little affected by corrugations, and the LandBruiser that I have now seems to jump and skip a bit. The rear air springs might have something to do with this behaviour - some say they "chatter" a bit on corrugations. I am about to find out! Simpson - here we come...

viz
FollowupID: 647645

Follow Up By: henpecked - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 20:25

Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 20:25
Yes Timbo, I imagine "bow waves" would cause random irregularities.
It was suggested to me some time ago by someone that the major cause of corrugations is rain water washing across the road, particularly on bends with a strong camber or where there is a reasonable crown in the road....What do you think?..( I don't know how long between rain & grader to fix or cause the corrugations)
FollowupID: 647647

Follow Up By: Member - Timbo - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 21:06

Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 21:06
I don't know that rainwater CAUSES corrugations, but it sure helps to make them worse! Obviously, the rainwater flows to the lowest point so it will find the troughs in the corrugations and it will flow to the downside of any road camber (usually the inside of a corner). As it flows, it takes bits of dirt with it (erosion), making each trough that deeper.

I personally don't think suspension resonance would be significant as almost every vehicle that drives along will have different suspension frequency (except perhaps in a mine where every vehicle is an identical 75-Series ute!).
FollowupID: 647662

Follow Up By: viz - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 21:19

Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 21:19
I am thinking more that resonance is not so different between various vehicles of the same weight and type - within a narrow range at best. Trucks for instance do not seem to be so affected (note: I am not an expert on outback truck driving), howecweI am told that unshockied and empty truck airsprings "chatter'.

viz
FollowupID: 647665

Reply By: rocco2010 - Sunday, Aug 23, 2009 at 23:34

Sunday, Aug 23, 2009 at 23:34
Gidday

I cant claim any of the vast experiece of some members here but there is no doubt to me that speed is a factor in causing corrugations.

My evidence? Last year i was part of a group that spent a couple of nights camped at well 34 on the CSR while working in the area. Our work involved travelling back and forth to the main track, a distance of a few ks. It was noticeable on the side track that the corrugations were much worse on the straight flat sections but when it came to crossing the low dunes, which usuallly involved a bend as well, the track smoothed out for a hundred metres or so as people had been forced to slow for the bend and then the dune. Then over the top it was smooth down the other side and then once the track went straight again the corrugations started again. This is a section that probably doesn't carry as much traffic as the main track

I have to agree with Mick O that the section around well 33 and 34 and south to well 23 and the Talawanna back to Cotton Creek was as bad as anything we experienced last year. The section south of well 23 to Durba and down to well 9, which I visited in 2007, didnt seem as bad then.

What I want to know is do the corrugations go away? For example I dont imagine there is much traffic on the CSR in summer so does the wind flatten the track out? Would it be better earlier in the season than later?

Rocco
AnswerID: 380214

Reply By: Flywest - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 01:39

Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 01:39
Happens at sea all the time!

Wish the shire would grade their damn ocean, I get tired a getting banged around by the corrugations all the time. Gonna stop paying my rates of they don't flatten it out soon!

AnswerID: 380219

Follow Up By: Member - graeme W (WA) - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 21:15

Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 21:15
Pity the ones at sea make me crook.

Cheers Graeme.
FollowupID: 647664

Reply By: vk1dx - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 06:32

Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 06:32
Read this: corrugations research
AnswerID: 380224

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 07:44

Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 07:44
With reference to the research and my comment to Grahame earlier. If we all drove at totally different speeds then the likelihood of corrugations occuring is severly limited. But we must have all speeds covered including both fast and slow speeds.

Thus it follows that if we all travelled at the same speed of say 15Km then the corrugations would be far worse.

FollowupID: 647529

Follow Up By: Nargun51 - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 10:48

Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 10:48
Whilst not disagreeing with the research, I consider that the conclusion that speed is not a factor a bit of a long bow to draw

My reading of the article is about the formation of corrugations, but doesn’t discuss the energy inherent on a wheel travelling at speed.

The faster a wheel is travelling, the more energy is contained within the wheel. When lifted off the surface (even momentarily), this energy will be transmitted to the surface in one spot when full weight is reinstated.

The practical application (excuse the pun) of this is that the faster the wheel is travelling and an obstacle encountered, the more energy is transmitted to the road surface in one spot when it lands. This has a greater capacity to move the road surface and more quickly form more severe corrugations

The harder the tyre (over inflated) there is less capacity for the tyre to absorb the wheel’s energy when it is confronted by an obstacle. Therefore, the some of the forward energy is transformed into a vertical energy and the wheel will go higher and come down harder when it resumes contact with the ground. This will also compact the leading face of the corrugation, making it harder and steeper, increasing the vertical component of the wheel travel

Does stiffer suspension assist in formation of worse corrugations? I think it might

It’s been over 30 years since I have done any Newtonian physics or force vectors, so, if my assumptions are wrong, please correct me
FollowupID: 647543

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 11:27

Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 11:27
So what do you want me to say. I am not a scientist now a physicist.

I really do not care how they are formed but the obvious accusation that they are all caused by high speed racers I find quite the unintelligent blab you get from everyone. If speed was the caused of all road evils then why are the F1 drivers still alive. Yeah I know that's a long bow to draw.Well so is the statement that we should all slow down and therefore there won't be any corrugations.

I only know that I find our car with the load we have, the modofications to the suspension and the much lower tyre pressures it can comfortable at somewhere between 40 and 80 KPH. It has never been comfortable at 15KHP. Driving at 15KPH is quite noticeably teeth shaking as others have said.
FollowupID: 647547

Follow Up By: Member - Timbo - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 12:40

Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 12:40
I'd be suspicious of anyone saying that speed alone causes corrugations, particularly on outback roads where it seems no two vehicles (or convoys) ever travel at the same speed (ie. you often catch up to slower travellers and/or are overtaken by faster travellers).

From my experiences/observations, corrugations tend to be worst where a vehicle is accelerating (ie. out of a corner and/or up a hill). Perhaps it's not how fast the vehicle is travelling, but how hard it is accelerating that has a bigger effect on the formation of corrugations.
FollowupID: 647558

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 12:47

Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 12:47
vk1dx,
The speed that your vehicle travels comfortably at has nothing to do with how the corrugations are formed. Speed, wheel loading, tyre pressure all have a bearing on corrugation formation. F1 tyres have very little pressure and the vehicle is very light weight on an almost flat very even surface.
No one has even mentioned axle tramp yet !

KK
FollowupID: 647560

Follow Up By: Rolly - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 12:55

Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 12:55
Speed is a critical factor in the formation of corrugations.

No stationary vehicle can contribute to them.

Mixed traffic, traveling at a range of speeds, tends to slow the formation of them.

Corrugations are not simply a surface phenomenon.
During the remaking of damaged roads, evidence of regular compaction waves can be observed at significant depths.

They can sometimes contribute to the early onset of a corrugated surface on a remade road.

FollowupID: 647563

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 13:17

Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 13:17
Timbo Agreed. Thats quite possible.

Kiwi Kia Like I said I do not care how corrugations are formed. I was only saying how we drive. Also our axle tramp (IFS front and live axle rear) has been addressed with our suspension mods.

FollowupID: 647566

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 13:54

Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 13:54
Rolly. Exactly what I have been trying to point out but people are saying that going faster than 15KPH is wrong. Bad idea and therefore you are a threat to the community and should be banned.

Here is what you meet. Brainless woman. Not only women and thank heavens they are in the minority. On saturday 20th June this year at approx 7:50AM when leaving the Bungle Bungles, we passed a car that had stopped for us. We were doing 40KPH as we passed. Yes!! 40KPH. I was trying to stay just under and near 40KPH and that's what was on the GPS. The woman passenger had the hide to yell out on the CB "he looks like he is airborn". At 40KPH!!! You have to be kidding. The microphone went back on the cradle and they were not thanked for letting us through. We waved and said thanks to their mates up the road though. By the way the speed limit is 50. I have great difficulty with this ignorance.

Maybe its not the best idea for everyone to travel at 15KPH after all????

FollowupID: 647569

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 21:44

Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 21:44
In answer to the comment about F1 drivers I have this to say.

Firstly they know how to drive at the speeds they do

Secondly Nothing is coming the other way ( mostly anyway)

Speed does not kill bad driving does and at any speed.

The harping on by the various Governments that speed kills is absolute rubbish.

Incompetent driving at any speed kills.

The only difference is high speed does it quicker.

When I was young I lived in a remote part of NZ that was reached over 120k of gravel road.

We used to see how fast we could do it and am still alive 40 years later.

Why.

Because we learnt to drive properly.

Had we not I could have been dead several times.

The trouble today is that to many think driving is something you do whilst you are doing something else.

Like changing Cd's, looking at the birds at the bus stop, talking and texting whilst driving and my pet hate those who have to turn and look at the passenger when talking to them.

Lets face it its a full time job and anyone who doesnt treat it as such is as they say "A complete Idiot"

Just my rant
FollowupID: 647672

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 09:07

Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 09:07
At last someone understood what I was talking about when I mentioned the F1 scene. Everyone was making a blatant statement that speed kills. Yes Its the idiot behind the wheel etc who kills.

I first drove on public roads at 13. We used to drive the farm truck to town with a load of wheat for the trains. All was fine provided you stuck to the stock routes. No main street showing off. Dad actually had me driving competently at over 100 Miles PH before I got my licence. I did not say legally! My driving test was done without my knowledga on the way to a footy match. I didn't know the two in the back were the local Seargent and one of his offsiders. I just knew Dad asked me to stop and pick them up from the bowling club. I had only even spoken to the police when I got my "L" plates. And yes we did do the stop on a hill etc. Even picked the worst parking spot for me. It was a breeze. But that was the luxury of people being abl;e to be trusted and respected.

I wouldn't dare to try and change the CD's nor send a text message nor stuff around with the laptop nor the GPS. We don't talk much either when on the road. Just light chatter and diections. I lose all track of what we are talking about because I am concentrating on the corrugations and looking out for pot holes and fools etc etc. Plenty of them around too. Certainly not TAKING A VIDEO.

This is why we like isolated bush roads without the highway fools and without the city 4WD lot and the do gooders and the "private" police/vigilanties. On one track in the Kimberley in June we did not see anyone else for a whole day apart from a bloke rounding up his cattle. Just a smile, a wave, tip of the hat rim and we were on our way. Excellent day couldn't have been better. Six hours to do 132Km!!! And just the bush and us.

Just my rant and back to reality. And I don't feel like using the spell checker either this time. have a great day.

FollowupID: 647724

Reply By: Honky - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 10:10

Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 10:10
On a recent trip to parts of Kakadu and driving on dirt roads with corrugations
I stopped to take some photo's.
I had a look at the corrugations and they where not hard at all they where soft sand pushed into a small bump.
the slower you went the harder the pumps.

Honky
AnswerID: 380247

Reply By: austastar - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 13:55

Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 13:55
Dr Karl has a bit to say here

AnswerID: 380270

Reply By: austastar - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 13:58

Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 13:58
One way to stop them

AnswerID: 380272

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 15:03

Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 15:03
For those who do not believe in letting the pressure in your tyres down, check out the tyre shapes on the wagon towing the tyres
FollowupID: 647580

Follow Up By: Flywest - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 16:58

Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 16:58
We have a great number of govt vehicles that travel down corrugated roads.

The private citizen caught doing this on a public road likely would get charged with creating a traffic hazard despite the fact they are doing a public service!.

Also your fuel economy is going to suffer towing that resistance.

So - if the device was left along side the road - why couldn't the various govt vehicles (where its all of us paying for the extra fuel) simply hook on and tow it the length of the track, unhook at the end and it's the next govt employee guys turn to tow it back the other way?

Having actually built (and paid for) some roads in the past including bitumen ones, I can see a downside to the towing of tyres, compared to grading the road.

That is, that the accumulated gravel material, can flow around the outside of the towed device - and where it comes close to the edge of the road, the surplus material is thrown clear of the road verge where a road grader cannot pick it up and move it back onto the road syrface.

When you paid millions of $ to win cart and spread that gravel onto the road - you can't afford to have it thrown clear of the road surface, off into the bush where it can't be recovered for use grading and filling the road in future.

Even contract grading quickly destroys a road base surface - because the canny contractor - will grade the road with less passes of the grader - by pushing surplus material off the road and into the bush. Less passes with the grader equals less time and fuel - more profit to the contractor grader.

For this reason shires should own their own grader and employ their own grader driver. In the end it is cheaper because they can conserve their own purchased road base material.

A GOOD grader driver (who's not an independent contractor) can grade the verge first to win back road base thats been pushed off the road buy vehicular traffic & water wash from rain etc.

When that material is won back it is then graded to the center and the road re crowned and graded with it's original road base. This process can go on again and again, with minimal loss of road base material.

A contractor on the other hand can grade, deep from the middle of the road to the outer edge pushing the excess material off to the sides into the bush past the verge where it can't be recovered with less passes of the grader and less fuel & time - hence more profit.

Contract graders can seemingly cost less to maintain the road than your own grader and operator except when it comes time to BUY more road base to replace whats been pushed off into the bush and lost.

As always - there's a right and a wrong way to do the job and the wrong way is the fast easy cheap way.

FollowupID: 647596

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 17:13

Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 17:13
What on earth brought that on. I just wated to get some types of people to check out heavily lowered tyres. And you come up with some tirade that is totally off the track. On sand its fine.

Are you seriously thinking I condone the towing of tyres. Come on mate get a life.

Feel better now that you have wrongly cajowled me.

Gee its good to see you have paid for your roads as well. So do we all pal.

Fair dinkum and aren't the twits in the photos are yanks not aussies.

?????

FollowupID: 647598

Follow Up By: Horacehighroller - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 17:50

Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 17:50
Gday Flywest,

I never would have thought there was anything technical about grading a road.

Thanks for that input - you learn something everyday.
(I too believe that the use of outside contractors by councils/shires and Govt. depts. is not necessarily beneficial.)

FollowupID: 647610

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 17:59

Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 17:59
In this case perhaps we can put the tyre towing thing to rest, they are smoothing the surface so that they can see footprints left by illegals attempting to cross the boarder.

FollowupID: 647612

Reply By: funnyfarm - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 20:09

Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 20:09
tyre pressures, speed, suspension....

if this is the case, why is it that when we maintain roads in the unincorporated area of nsw (some of which some only have 1 vehicle every few days), when are often confronted with corrugations from table drain to table drain?

I would suggest that they are formed as a result of wind (some of which is generated by vehicular movement). Much in the same way that sand dunes are formed by wind, on a larger scale though.

Corrugations are like miniature sand dunes. If you see the dunes across the simpson or near cameron corner or south of broken hill at popiltah, you will notice they are evenly spaced, just like corrugations.

Maybe a huge truck formed these many thousand years ago travelling at some enormous speed :)
AnswerID: 380329

Reply By: BuggerBoggedAgain - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 21:16

Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 21:16
Thank-you one an all for your comments.

Curiosity has been fulfilled, plus, I have made Karls Trac a favourite, very informative person.

Its nice to learn something different everyday, like last week, I learned that the earth will be swallowed up by the sun in 5 billion years, should I paint the kitchen?
AnswerID: 380344

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 10:30

Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 10:30
Probably but if you do, do it slowly or you may put corrugations in the paint.

Interesting thought Vertical corrugations LOL
FollowupID: 647735

Reply By: austastar - Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 13:11

Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 13:11
a bit on the New Inventors earlier on this year.

here

AnswerID: 380421

Follow Up By: Member - Ed. C. (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 13:49

Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 13:49
I made one o' them about 30 years ago (from railway line) for errm, 'groomimg' farm tracks...

Worked very well too, if I say so meself...............

;-))

Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

FollowupID: 647758

Reply By: xxx - Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 22:05

Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 22:05
"Roger spent some time working on a remote community. Every 2 or 3 weeks he had to travel 200km on rutted roads. He soon realised it was taking a terrible toll on his car. Electric windows were breaking, screws were rattling loose and falling out, tyres and suspension were quickly damaged. The cost of replacing parts was starting to become exorbitant."

Roger obviously drives a Toyota ;-)
AnswerID: 380494

Follow Up By: Member - Ed. C. (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 22:30

Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 22:30
Roger is obviously a member of the 'Skip over the top' brigade, I'd say........

;-))

Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

FollowupID: 647847

Reply By: bgreeni - Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 12:36

Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 12:36
I have had some experience with corrugations in rail. Here their is often some minor irregularity such as a weld that acts as an initiator, with the corrugations spreading from that point. In the rail situations there are 2 types - short wave - about 25mm top to top. These usually form where there is light high speed traffic such as on passenger railways. this is often heard as "roaring rails". In heavy freight railways the corrugations can have a much longer wave length of 100mm to 300mm.

In the rail situation they can be removed by grinding. this must be done to sufficient depth in the rail to remove the hard spots that develop below the surface or they will occur again very quickly.
AnswerID: 380539

Follow Up By: BuggerBoggedAgain - Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 22:01

Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 22:01
Yes, I saw that type of rail whilst working as a traffic controller at a rail-crossing, it was hard to believe, that it looked like it was melting, not much to do while waiting for traffic ( vehicles or a train) so I was just wandering up and down the tracks when I came upon what you described, thanks for the update
FollowupID: 648168