<span class="highlight">Bucky</span> & Lyns Canning and Kimberley Report

Submitted: Wednesday, Sep 02, 2009 at 11:59
ThreadID: 71971 Views:3241 Replies:6 FollowUps:0
Have had a ball with Vivien C and Ray, and also my workmate "Bailes"

Just done the Bottom 1/2 from Carnegie Station, to Kunawaratji, including the Calvert Ranges.
Brilliant is the best way to describe it.

Carried heaps of spares, including towinig our Track Shak..
Dunes were only a slight challenge, just could not afford to relax, or would get caught. And this happened to all of our party of 3 vehicles, at various times.
Vivien & Ray , and Bailes, ( in his V8 Brunswick Diesel Wow has that thing got some power)

We used 240 lts diesel ( took 340 lts) from Carnegie Station to Well 23 fuel drop, where 3 of us emptied two 44's, of which Ray & I took 120 lts each, and gave the little extra to Bailes. That extra got us over to Marble Bar, Via Curragine Gorge, and to Nullagine via the Skul Springs Road.

We had ...Air pressure, 12 front... 15 rear.... 12 Camper... ( No punctures )
Aet up dunes really easy, and as I said we too got caught, with the problem between the steering wheel and the seat... Just taking it too easy, and got caught on one dune only.
Avoid the alternative long run ups, they are only set up for DH's that run high pressure on their tyres, and want to knock about their rigs where the tracks meet, you will surly loose momentum.
We just waddled up to the start of the dune propper, and shifted from first (4X4 low range) to second and just nailed every dune, keeping revs under 3000.

We are at present at Home Valley Homestead, by the Pentecost River, near Kununurra, and just lovong it. This place is a credit to The Indigenous Land Council.
Cant wait to Get back to Hall's Creek and our return trip down the Canning to Well 33 again, where on the up journey we cut out to the Pilbra, Marble Bar, the 80 Mile Beach, Broom, Derby, the Horizontal Falls, and the Gibb River Road

Have swam in heaps of Gorges, and as yet only seen the "freshies" ,, No Salties yet.

El Questro Tomorrow

Bucky And Lyn

Reply By: Member - Phil B (WA) - Wednesday, Sep 02, 2009 at 14:48

Wednesday, Sep 02, 2009 at 14:48
Hi Bucky And Lyn

Glad you had a great trip.

Well done on letting your tyres down, I wish everyone else would take the same notice and realise how easy it makes the travelling up dunes and on corrugations.

There is a lot of difference between
‘Human Being’ and ‘Being Human’.

AnswerID: 381604

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Sep 02, 2009 at 15:11

Wednesday, Sep 02, 2009 at 15:11
Good you get your report Bucky...... glad you're having a ball and hope the rest of the trip is great too.

AnswerID: 381606

Reply By: Member - Lance S (VIC) - Wednesday, Sep 02, 2009 at 16:31

Wednesday, Sep 02, 2009 at 16:31
G'day mate, glad everyone and everything is going great guns. Get the private camping sites down beside the penticost when you get to EQ, there great sites. Ditto with Home Valley, its a great spot as all the spots on and off the gibb. Wish i was still up there.

All the best and safe travels,

Lance
Home Away from Home

AnswerID: 381623

Reply By: Richard W (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 02, 2009 at 16:35

Wednesday, Sep 02, 2009 at 16:35
Sounds like you are having a great time.
Can't wait to do the CSR next year.
AnswerID: 381624

Reply By: Traveller - Wednesday, Sep 02, 2009 at 18:24

Wednesday, Sep 02, 2009 at 18:24
All the BIG dunes are north of Kunawarritji. You did the kiddies slopes :-)
AnswerID: 381646

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Wednesday, Sep 02, 2009 at 20:36

Wednesday, Sep 02, 2009 at 20:36
Gday Bucky And Lyn,
Sounds like a great trip so far!
Watch out for those mungrel camels as you come across the middle and stay safe...
Hairy
AnswerID: 381675