Stuff happens I guess.. +Driving light mystery!

Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 20:26
ThreadID: 72852 Views:3233 Replies:6 FollowUps:3
Had a smash in my 75 series troopy (no one hurt thank goodness) after watching a mountain biker on the side of the road attending to his bike whilst parking his rear end over the white line - on a crest preceeded by a down hill red light. Not only was this moron too close to the road but he had a children's trailer attached to the back of his bike! Trying to keep an eye on the moron, an eye on the trailer and an eye on the road, I rear ended a liberty wagon and pretty much wrote his car off. The car I had hit had just missed the car in front of him and so on for about 6 cars ahead. A 5 ton tipper with an excavator in the back locked up behind me and somehow managed to miss me and the mountain biker ending up in the emergency lane next to me. Hearts pounding to say the least!! As it turned out, the moron just had luggage in his trailer however every car passing assumed a child/toddler may run out at any second.
Like I said, no one was hurt and that's the main thing. Troopy had leaf spring damage and a broken lens for a KC 4213 spotlight, I won't mention the state of the liberty. The repairer can't find a supplier let alone any specs so if anyone has any ideas on what watt etc it may be I'd be very grateful.
Just for the record- picked car up yesterday and someone has driven it into a carpark or similar bending and scratching my gutters and full length tradie's rack and ladder. Insurance jobs- god bless 'em!

Reply By: Member - Brad S (SA) - Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 20:58

Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 20:58
Bloomin' Two Wheeled Hoons

Should be oulawed.

Probably with 21 gears and lifted seat! 6" I'll bet!
...with modified front sprockets I reckon you'll find.

...and the way they get around in gangs...Lycra Pods I call 'em.

...and the colours they wear...hurt my eyes they do. Gives me a headache trying to read all the signage.

Can't wait until the new ADRs are bought in...that'll settle them down!

Anyway...I sorry to hear about your prang and damage all round.

Stuffed if I know why they only make the emergency stopping lane on the left one metre wide.

AnswerID: 386182

Follow Up By: Member - Effie C (NT) - Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 22:57

Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 22:57
For the push bikes to stop in :))
Live One Day at a Time for Tomorrow May Never Come.

FollowupID: 653769

Reply By: Crackles - Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 22:58

Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 22:58
I can just imagine this bloke over on the Bike forum talking about 8 cars & a truck that were travelling too close together over a blind crest not allowing enough space to stop that nearly wiped him out ;-))
Cheers Craig......
AnswerID: 386194

Reply By: Shaker - Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 23:32

Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 23:32
So the 'moron' is the one that didn't hit anything? Hello!

AnswerID: 386197

Follow Up By: wozzie (WA) - Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 02:22

Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 02:22
I'm with you on this one !
Dreamin' agin

FollowupID: 653780

Follow Up By: Member - Brad S (SA) - Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 08:44

Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 08:44
You know how it is...they are never in the accident...they just cause it.

FollowupID: 653797

Reply By: Lex M (Brisbane) - Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 23:45

Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 23:45
Re KC 4213
Try a google for "kc hilites" in Australia.
AnswerID: 386199

Reply By: Member - Paul B (WA) - Sunday, Oct 11, 2009 at 12:41

Sunday, Oct 11, 2009 at 12:41
Sorry troopy1 - your 'moron' has nothing to do with it. You are to blame here. Based on your post the Police will charge you for some culpable dirving offence and you will be guilty. Put youself in the position of the poor bastard in front of you who has no car because you were not being attentive enough. As drivers or larger vehicles on the road we can't just shirk our responsibilities and blame "morons' on the side of the road for our shortcomings as dirvers.

Not good enough mate.

Paul B Kalgoorlie
AnswerID: 386586

Reply By: troopy1 - Sunday, Oct 11, 2009 at 18:23

Sunday, Oct 11, 2009 at 18:23
Thanks for your replies- won't be calling anyone 'moron' for a while!
AnswerID: 386630