First Impressions of new Isuzu D-MAX

Submitted: Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 15:30
ThreadID: 73292 Views:11053 Replies:6 FollowUps:8
I've been lucky enough to (just) afford buying a brand new Isuzu D-MAX LS 4X4 Diesel Auto ute.

I actually bought it from a dealer in Redcliffe (Brisbane) and had to wait a month or so for it to be delivered.

At the same time I ordered the following accessories (followed by my comments):

ARB Colour coded canopy with lift up windows - Terrific. Can even get to the frig through the side window - Pity about the dust and metal filings still inside it.

Tub liner - What can I say, it's a tub liner (could have been cleaned)

Heavy duty towbar with large 7 pin plug to suit Kimberley Kamper - Supplied Hayman Reese TB with SMALL 7 pin Narva plug. I now have to use a small to large adapter. Birds nest of wiring where they spliced into the rear wiring loom. Cable for brake controller?? not even cable tied along the chassis.

Prodigy P3 electric brake controller. Little did I know that is two models that I quoted. What I should have asked for was a Tekonsha P3 controller. I ended up with the cheaper one - Prodigy. (Still a good product though.)

Dual battery setup with deep cycle battery. Asked for HD wiring NOT that lightweight stuff they generally use. ("These guys know what they're doing. Do it all the time" was the reply). Result, thin stuff, two BLACK cables to the Anderson plug on the back TB. Battery IS deep cycle and is mounted in ute tub. No problems with that. I still have to check where the cables run through the front wall of the tub. I suspect NO grommet. The hole in the tub liner was not sealed (I would have used silicone) and I suspect the first bit of water will see inside the tub wet. The dual battery regulator looks OK and well mounted next to the ECU under the bonnet.

Safari snorkel. Snorts a bit when you put the foot down. Suppose that's normal. Don't know how to stop that.

Colour coded steel winch bar. I said I would be mounting a winch later and was not worried about the hole where the winch goes in the short term. Result, "RAD 4x4 Products" steel bar. I'm not even sure if I can even mount a winch to it when the time comes. My brother asked me where my original bumper bar is. They most probably put it back into stock. There was certainly no allowance made for that sort of thing. When they wired up the indicator and parking lights in the bull bar I now see where they have just cut a cable, each side, and left it with absolutely no termination at all. Not even a bit of insulation tape at the end of the bare wires.

Good quality Driving Lights. IPF Sport XS with 2 spread beams. Absolutely terrific. Normally they fit one spread beam and one long distance. I wanted two spread beams. The Kangaroos on the side of the road along the Marlboro stretch at two in the morning were easy to see.

Rubber Floor Mats. 4X4 deep side mats.Well for $165 they looked like they came from a SC sale.

da good news. I've got it. 8.8 l/100km coming back home.

da bad news.....

Had to have a wheel alignment the first working day after delivery. Steering wheel was off centre. Also one bolt was completely missing from the sump plate and another was cross threaded and wouldn't tighten. They fixed that by retaping the threads and fitting new bolts.

I'm about to send them an email and ask for the name of the company that did the after market work. Then, if they are represented up here, I will present the vehicle to them to fix the shoddy workmanship.

I may even ask for my front bumper back. Just in case I want to remove the steel bar. What do you think?

The vehicle I have no complaints - so far. Just can't believe the lack of after market quality workmanship these days.

Malcolm

living the 'good life'

Reply By: Isuzumu - Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 15:59

Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 15:59
So far the D.Max is what it is suppose to be.....8.8LP100 all ready what is it going to be like when its run in.
AnswerID: 388634

Follow Up By: Member - Malcolm (Townsville) - Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 16:46

Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 16:46
Yes Bruce

They tell me it will get better as the rings bed in. Just love that little gauge that can show various things but mainly: current fuel usage and AVE fuel usage. Both can be in l/100km or km/l. even asks what time I want my cuppa served in the morning ;-)

Funny thing, I accidentally held the button down too long and the readings changed from l/100km to km/l. I use a feathered foot and it was still going UP. 13.x had me worried until I saw what I had done. LOL.

Malcolm

living the 'good life'

FollowupID: 656314

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 16:59

Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 16:59
Mate these Isuzus are a good truck....we had to go down to Newcastle for a funeral last weekend and we drove the Wizard down managed 10.65kpl/9.39lp100, not bad for a vehicle with over 200Ks and 13 years old, plus being an auto with me driving it pretty hard lol.
Pity about the after market stuff though, it is so hard these days to get good work men ship, hope it all turns out ok
FollowupID: 656315

Reply By: D200Dug- Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 16:58

Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 16:58
I have the rodeo version and I am pretty happy with that

Main complaint would be the air vents on the dashboard don't seem to deliver as much as my toyotas did.

I had a few teething problems with brake lights and cruise control and still one bug in the intermittent wipers but all in all an OK tow vehicle.
AnswerID: 388646

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 18:54

Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 18:54
Gday Malcolm,

Don't let a bit of shoddy local workmanship stop you from enjoying your new vehicle. You're pretty handy, judging by your efforts with the Patrol, so if it were me, I'd just fix it myself and enjoy!!! The DMax does well with the reviews, and can't complain about the lack of fuel consumption :-))

phil
AnswerID: 388664

Follow Up By: Member - Malcolm (Townsville) - Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 19:06

Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 19:06
G'Day Phil

Yes I am handy and can do every bit of the work that I am complaining about done by others.

But, heah, if nobody complains then those people who can't do it for them self have no option but have to pay to get it done - properly.

I'm just putting them on notice - through a public forum!

Thanks for your kind words re the D-MAX. I'm sure we will have many happy days touring oz. First BIG trip already being planned by SWMBO for October next year.

Malcolm
living the 'good life'

FollowupID: 656349

Follow Up By: Member - Timbo - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 13:07

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 13:07
I agree Phil - I have always done all the after-market wiring on my vehicles so that I know they are done right the first time. I've seen too much shoddy stuff to be able to trust someone else near it, and if they are going to remain competitive on price they simply can't afford to do it properly.

I've heard/read a lot of good stuff about the D-Max - I just wish Isuzu would bring another WAGON to Oz for when I come to replace the Jackaroo...
FollowupID: 656457

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 17:25

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 17:25
Timbo, I was checking out the D-Max at the Brisbane 4X4 and Tackle Show about six months ago and was telling one of the guys about owning an MU and MU Wizard and was asked if I thought the MU7 would sell like here. They have the same front end as the D-Max and are little bigger than the old Frontera four door. I said if the D-Max goes alright then the MU7 would be a good seller as they is not much around in that size any more. Our Wizard being the same size is quite roomy and is a very comfortable vehicle to drive.
So we are waiting to see what happens.

FollowupID: 656501

Follow Up By: Member - Timbo - Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 15:04

Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 15:04
I'm waiting to see as well Bruce! I thought I'd sent an email (but I couldn't find the email or reply when I looked for it) asking Isuzu if they'd be bringing any of their other vehicles to Oz in the future and their response was that they had no plans currently to introduce anything other than the ute. I guess they wouldn't have called themselves IsuzuUTE if they were going to be selling wagons too!

The MU-7 looks okay, it looks like the closest thing to a replacement Jackaroo that I've seen (despite Holden telling me the Captiva was the replacement LOL!) - and if it shares a bit of running gear etc. with the D-Max/Colorado, it would be similar to the Jackaroos that always shared a lot of the same running gear with the Rodeos (right from their introduction to Oz in 1981).
FollowupID: 657142

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 16:45

Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 16:45
We will just have to set back and wait I think, they will see how the sales go on the D.Max first I imagine. Our MUs are getting a little long in the tooth but as far as I am concerned they is nothing else out there to replace them with and plus my MU is producing as much power as a Nissan Pathfinder anyway.
FollowupID: 657156

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 19:57

Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 19:57
Malcolm,

I have the Colorado version of the same vehicle and I love it.
A couple of comments and suggestions I can make for other people's reference.

Adding accessories is not exactly an easy process. All cable looms are such that it is all but impossible, or impractical to tap into and running cables from front to back (or vica versa) does not allow "neat" cable tying or running them inside the chassis rails.

I solved the "cable tapping" solution in a neat, non obtrusive and unique way.
Holden (GM) supply a "fuse adaptor" which works really well although they are not exactly cheap. The part no is GM-92148980 and the RRP is $28.74.
When I required a power supply for the two way transceiver and an ignition sensing circuit for the in-car charging kit for the Thumper, the fuse adaptor enabled me to utilise an existing circuit from the under bonnet fuse block (ignition sensing circuit) and the in-cabin fuse block (for transceiver power supply) to connect to without tapping into any wires.

Basically you select an existing circuit such as the cigarette lighter/power socket.
Remove the existing fuse and insert the adaptor in its place.
The adapter has a pig tail to run to your new circuit and has two blade fuse sockets on the side. One fuse is inserted to protect the original circuit and a second fuse protects the new circuit via the pig tail.

Although the fuse adaptor sits over the top of adjacent fuses in the fuse block it is easy to unplug should you need to replace a "covered" fuse then simply plugged back in.
A very neat, safe and non obtrusive solution.

As far as the vehicle itself is concerned I have "racked up" about 8000km since new and not experienced any problems whatsoever.

As far as your canopy is concerned, ARB have recently released a "canopy vent" which I have installed. This vent can be installed at the front or rear of the canopy roof and lifts up and locks in place to provide a positive airflow to pressurise the inside of the canopy/tub area to reduce the ingress of dust.

Enjoy your new investment.

Bill.

AnswerID: 388674

Follow Up By: Member - Malcolm (Townsville) - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 19:35

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 19:35
Hi Bill

Thank you for your comments.

I now know who the National company is and the local manager has inspected the work. He is absolutely 'gobsmacked'.. "Don't judge us all by this standard!", I certainly don't. He has spoken to the National MD and they are all now bending over backwards to make me happy.

They certainly know what they are talking about and I'm sure there will be a good outcome.

As I said to him, and my advice to anybody buying a brand new vehicle:

1. Buy the vehicle, no accessories.
2. Buy one accessory and have it fitted.
3.Check the quality of the workmanship.
4. Repeat from #2

Malcolm

living the 'good life'

FollowupID: 656732

Reply By: Member - Mfewster(SA) - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 17:52

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 17:52
Interesting post. This vehicle is on my list to consider in due course when I get around (perhaps never) to replacing the toyo 60 series.
A question. A couple I have seen when really loaded up look very soft in th rear suspension which looks as though it is sagging a bit. Have you had it really loaded up as yet?
AnswerID: 388816

Reply By: Member - TonBon (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 08:04

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 08:04
Hi Malcolm, i have put 16,500 Km on my DMAX so far with only one hiccup, an engine cut out at 3k which was put down to a EMS "glitch", it hasn't done it since and i have done some pretty rough day and weekend trips with it. So far, daily mileage is 8l/100km with an approx extra 150kg of weight and 4x4 mileage around 10l/100km with added weight for weekend trip gear, food, clothes, etc.

I couldn't be happier with her at the moment and i am confidant she will do me proud for many years to come. I too had some after market gear put on and again, the workmanship left a lot to be desired, but being me i just quietly tidied it up myself.

Good luck and congratulations on your purchase. Tony and Miss Turtle.
AnswerID: 388907