Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
You have 2 items in your shopping cart
Section Image

Dual batterries

Submitted: Saturday, Oct 31, 2009 at 18:56

rare

Article Overview - Battery Power
In this article we explain why you might need an additional power source independent of the starting battery installed into your vehicle and we look in detail at types of batteries, how and where to mount them, the role of isolators and the different View Full Article...
I recently bought a 100 series which has three batteries. I know these came standard with 2 batteries and although I dont know how the third is installed(Wireing) it has a dedciated line for a fridge.

Im wondering if the cruiser can be wired to only crank from one battery while the other one is used in tanderm for the fridge. I,m told with the Aussie climate 100 series dont need 2 batteries to crank the turbo diesel motor,

I,d be interested in your thoughts?

Advertisement
ThreadID: 73432 Replies: 5
Views: 748 FollowUps: 9
Thread Summary
Post Reply Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 389534   Submitted: Saturday, Oct 31, 2009 at 19:10

ABR - SIDEWINDER replied:

Hi rare

Best you post some pictures of what you have.

It may already be set up in the best way.

Please post a picture of the isolator and interconnecting cables from each battery.

Derek from ABR
ABR - SIDEWINDERABR - SIDEWINDER
Business Member: My Profile
Reply 1 of 5
AnswerID: 389582   Submitted: Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 10:12

rare replied:

Thanks.

I can upload photos at the moment but their is a "Sure Power Industries p?battery separator" connected in the setup

The positive from the smaller battery is connected to a separator, A positive cable then links from the separator to the positive on one of the main batteries. Another smaller cable also leads back form the sepatayor back into the vechile so I suspect this is the dedicated fridge line. The negative from the auxiliary is connected direct to the negative on the main battery which in turn is connected directly to the other main battery.
Reply 2 of 5
FollowupID: 657407   Submitted: Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 23:56

ABR - SIDEWINDER posted:

Hi Rare

Best to use the follow-up link and not the reply otherwise you are talking to your self and I don't get the response unless I return to this thread.

Sure-Power make diode and relay type isolators and also make isolators for ARB. (Not me ABR). ARB don't have their own isolator like me ABR, Piranha and Redarc.

Please email me those pictures, battery specs and the isolator part number.

I can't offer any advice without ALL the information.

Derek from ABR
ABR - SIDEWINDERABR - SIDEWINDER
Business Member: My Profile
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 389659   Submitted: Monday, Nov 02, 2009 at 06:52

Member - Myles F (QLD) replied:

G’day Rare,
I can assure you from firsthand experience that the 100 series turbo diesel does need two batteries for at least the first crank. I had a crank battery collapse while in the Simpson and could not self start in the morning. Second and further starts throughout the day were ok.
Myles.
Fresh Water Lagoon Bribie Island
Click Image to Enlarge
Tow an "Imperial" Modcon off road camper.
Still wanting sliders.
Reply 3 of 5
AnswerID: 389660   Submitted: Monday, Nov 02, 2009 at 07:10

Muddie replied:

I changed from 3 a battery system to running 2 big batteries in my 2005 100 IFS 2 years ago, I have had no problems cranking from 1 750cca, the originals are a pair of 450cca.
The problem I had was the ARB tray and 3rd battery was small as there is not enough room in an IFS for a full size setup.
Reply 4 of 5
FollowupID: 657422   Submitted: Monday, Nov 02, 2009 at 07:51

Member - Myles F (QLD) posted:

G’day Muddie,
I have two 760cca’s as cranking and a 620cca as the auxiliary battery. Would not start on cold desert mornings with one battery. Again, that’s my first hand experience.
Myles.
Click Image to Enlarge
Still wanting sliders.
FollowUp 1 of 7
FollowupID: 657427   Submitted: Monday, Nov 02, 2009 at 08:15

Sir Kev & Darkie posted:

Myles,

You also added that one battery had collapsed so there lies the problem. A single battery in good condition will start a T/D

The Pyrenees
Click Image to Enlarge
I am NOW living in Chinchilla, the Australian Melon Capital ;)
Lifetime Member: My Profile  My Blog  Send Message
FollowUp 2 of 7
FollowupID: 657433   Submitted: Monday, Nov 02, 2009 at 09:26

G’day Kev,
Yep you could well be right…. All the charge from the good may have been being drained by the dead battery. I made a similar enquiry as Rare on this very forum when I first bought my new 100 series in 2006. The consensus then was that there will be times when both batteries are required for starting.
Myles.
Click Image to Enlarge
Still wanting sliders.
FollowUp 3 of 7
FollowupID: 657435   Submitted: Monday, Nov 02, 2009 at 09:58

Muddie posted:

I was starting with one OE 450cca for 2 years and it died 2 weeks after starting no worries on a 3 day snow camping trip which we had 75mm of snow overnight and the temp dropped to -6.
When they are dead they are dead.
FollowUp 4 of 7
FollowupID: 657436   Submitted: Monday, Nov 02, 2009 at 10:34

Yep Muddie, people are the same…. There is no half dead.
Although others on the forum convinced me to maintain the two starting batteries, with the benefit of hindsight I may well have been able to start if I had completely disconnected the failed battery.
Myles.
Click Image to Enlarge
Still wanting sliders.
FollowUp 5 of 7
FollowupID: 657439   Submitted: Monday, Nov 02, 2009 at 10:51

Member - Graham H (QLD) posted:

If you want to be sure, do as I did and put a relay in that hooks both together

for starting and drops out agian when you let the key go.

Otherwise just press the button on the dash to link them.

(You do have one dont you)
Our new home away from home
Click Image to Enlarge
Another Kiwi that flew the coop

FollowUp 6 of 7
FollowupID: 657442   Submitted: Monday, Nov 02, 2009 at 11:23

G'day Graham,
Sure do, but it still didn’t get enough to the starter motor…. The dead battery was sucking up all the charge from the other two. At the time I didn’t know which battery had failed and I actually thought there may be a fault with the earth to the starter motor and not a battery problem at all. I now carry a good quality multimeter. I had a week of getting jump started and on the last morning needed three vehicles to get me going….. very embarrassing as one was a Patrol. Stopped in at Alice for supplies half way through our trip and diagnosed the failed battery which was replaced with no further issues. I was amazed the dead battery drained so much of the charge.
That problem won’t happen again because with my new beaut multimeter I will know where the problem is.
Live and learn.
Myles.
PS That's me with the hat.
Bugger
Bugger
Click Image to Enlarge
Still wanting sliders.
FollowUp 7 of 7
Activities Index
	Day Spa Relaxation Massage - Ringwood Day Spa Relaxation Massage - Ringwood
Melbourne - VIC
A relaxing day spa experience in one of Melbourne's most renowned salons.
Helicopter Flight - The Ultimate Helicopter Flight - The Ultimate
Darwin and the Top End - NT
The ultimate helicopter adventure!
Nimbin and Byron Bay Day Trip Nimbin and Byron Bay Day Trip
Far Nth Coast / Byron - NSW
Head from Brisbane to Byron Bay and well known Nimbin Hippy Village.
9 Day Cape York Fly / Drive Accommodated Tour 9 Day Cape York Fly / Drive Accommodated Tour
Cairns and Tropical North QLD - QLD
Experience a 9 day fully accommodated tour from Cairns to Cape York.
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 389681   Submitted: Monday, Nov 02, 2009 at 10:54

Maîneÿ . . . replied:

I'm asking a question, will the 100 series start reliably every time and in all conditions with just one larger 700+ CCA battery ??

if so, use a Cranking battery of that size, or even a tad larger to be safe, (760cca) then use the other two batteries as 'storage batteries' for running your appliances till they die and then replace them both with identical AGM DC's.

Have them isolated appropriately and you will have no problems because you can easily and safely add the two AGM's into the starting circuit to jump start at any time they are required.

Maîneÿ . . .
wake behind the Stacer 420 SeaHorse
Click Image to Enlarge

* check-out how SÔLAR PÔWER & ¹² Vølt Batteries will work *

click-> "My Profile"
below

Reply 5 of 5
FollowupID: 657445   Submitted: Monday, Nov 02, 2009 at 13:03

Muddie posted:

As I have said for 2 years I have had no issues starting from 1 750cca, I did boil my 115 ah deep cycle aux in the Simpson this year so have replaced it with hybrid exide which will start the TD.
FollowUp 1 of 1

Page Sponsors

ExplorOz ExplorOz
Become a Member of ExplorOz; buy or sell in Trader; buy Maps, Books, DVDs, camping accessories, and ExplorOz wheel covers, shirts, hats and stubby holders from the ExplorOz Shop; and book Activities &Tours or buy someone a gift certificate from our Activities section. Become an ExplorOz Member for just $60 in your first year, and $40 when you renew.
PO BOX 967  HILLARYS, WA, 6923
Phone: (08) 9403 3737
More info | Website