Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
Section Image

Water storage - clear or black jerry cans?

Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 04, 2009 at 10:17

ben_gv3

I have a clear Willow water jerry can but am now wondering if the black ones are better for long-term water storage due to algae growth.

Or is it just the case of filling the jerry can to the brim thereby excluding as much air as possible and even storing it somewhere out of the light?
ThreadID: 73519 Replies: 11
Views: 772 FollowUps: 2
Thread Summary
Post Reply Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 389939   Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 04, 2009 at 10:54

Member - Tony V (NSW) replied:

The suggestion is that water storage should not be in clear containers as sunlight can affect the water, promote algae or bacteria growth.

How long are you going to store the water? And I suppose why?

There are a number of good web sites that will be better to read through
Storable foods
How Stuff works
Long Term water storage

Google search page

LC100 v8 on LPG. - 2" OME lift - ARB Safari bar - IPF lights - Cooper STT Built for crusing
Click Image to Enlarge
Tony,
Reply 1 of 11
AnswerID: 389945   Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 04, 2009 at 12:05

Shaker replied:

The Khaki coloured ones from Aussie Disposals are excellent.

Reply 2 of 11
AnswerID: 389948   Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 04, 2009 at 12:27

garrycol replied:

Potable (food grade) water plastic jerries are blue.

Garry
Reply 3 of 11
FollowupID: 657690   Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 04, 2009 at 13:02

Shaker posted:

Some are, some aren't!

FollowUp 1 of 2
FollowupID: 657761   Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 04, 2009 at 19:36

Member - John and Val posted:

We have just carried 25l of tank water for 20,000km and 4 months - from home and back again in a clear square plastic container. It originally had wine in it! We have been using these containers for years without any problems - but they travel under our bed in the back of Troopy so they are out of the light and reasonably cool.

For our everyday water containers we use 10 ordinary 3 litre juice containers. They are easy to fill and to use, and the big plus is that if you have to take some poor quality water on board you can keep it separate from your bulk water supply, and ditch it when better water is available. But these too travel in a cool(ish) and dark place.

Filling a bottle right up doesn't really reduce the amount of oxygen in the water, because there will be air dissolved in the water.

Val
Indian Ocean sunset Middle Lagoon
Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 2 of 2
AnswerID: 389959   Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 04, 2009 at 12:56

Member - Timbo replied:

I've never had a problem with storing water in clear(ish) containers for my trips - of course I put fresh water in before I leave home, and it's not on the top of the load so probably not in direct sunlight most of the time.

My biggest concern with using a black jerry for water is that black jerries are most commonly used for fuel and you should always reduce the possibility of confusing the two!
King Edward River (Mitchell Plateau) WA
Click Image to Enlarge

Happiness is life in lo-range.
Reply 4 of 11
Activities Index
Limestone Coast & Coonawarra 2 Day Wine Tour Limestone Coast & Coonawarra 2 Day Wine Tour
Limestone Coast - SA
For Wine or Reason specialize in personalized guided Wine Tours, perfect for corporate clients or th
Exclusive Jet Boat Charter Exclusive Jet Boat Charter
Gold Coast - QLD
Experience the buzz of an extreme jetboat ride for you and up to 13 friends.
Bondi Private 1.5 Hour Surfing Lesson Bondi Private 1.5 Hour Surfing Lesson
Sydney - NSW
Experience Australia's greatest surf school on Australia's Bondi beach!
Victorian High Country 4WD Tour Victorian High Country 4WD Tour
Melbourne - VIC
Jump aboard our luxury 4 wheel drive vehicle and journey with us through the rich farming country of
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 389967   Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 04, 2009 at 14:18

Member - Tony S (WA) replied:

We use the square 20 litre black hydrochloric acid containers. Wash out well before use. Dont fall over and are solid too.The other thing is you can normally get them for just about nix from hardware stores - not Bunnings!
Out from Lake Grace
Click Image to Enlarge
The rig
Lifetime Member: My Profile  My Blog  Send Message
Reply 5 of 11
AnswerID: 389968   Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 04, 2009 at 14:22

handy replied:

the clear ones dont last as long as the black one ethier. cheers
Reply 6 of 11
AnswerID: 389972   Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 04, 2009 at 14:38

Member - Phil G (SA) replied:

I've used the blue willow 20l jerries for the past 20 years, and not had a problem with algae. The good thing is that you can easily see the water level.
Mt Finke
Click Image to Enlarge
LandCruiser HDJ79
Reply 7 of 11
AnswerID: 389974   Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 04, 2009 at 14:46

Rangiephil replied:

I use the blue ones , but must admit I always run a file over the lip of the thread to stop leaks.
The black ones should be AOK as they would be HDPE which is the same as what many caravan water tanks are made of.

Regards Philip A
Reply 8 of 11
AnswerID: 389997   Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 04, 2009 at 18:14

Member - Duncs replied:

Mine are yellow.

Eric the Emu at home
Click Image to Enlarge
Content with where I am but looking for somwhere else to go. Pic 1 Eric the Emu at home Pic 2 camped on Cooper Cr
Reply 9 of 11
AnswerID: 390013   Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 04, 2009 at 19:54

equinox replied:

I can't really comment about algae or water quality but can comment on Jerry Quality.

I bought 10 Blue Willow Jerries for a trip in 2003 and took them on subsequent trips. None at all have survived due to fatigue or sun damage.

I now have (and will purchase more for next year) the Green Army Style ones, which look and feel stronger than the blue ones, pretty much the same quality as that which is used for fuel.

Time will tell if they stand the test of time.

I also tested out two flexible blue containers last year (by forced choice). These are good for one trip only in back of ute conditions.

Red Rock
Click Image to Enlarge
Red Rock,
Great Victoria Desert
Reply 10 of 11
AnswerID: 390057   Submitted: Thursday, Nov 05, 2009 at 10:38

Maîneÿ . . . replied:

I used 20Lt clear plastic containers for a few years, till they developed fatigue cracks in the top area, so I dumped them, they were in sunlight at some times.
I believe all under caravan/campertrailer water containers are black?

Their colour may have some relevance, either better quality materials or to avoid light ingress, to stop algee maybe?

Maîneÿ . . .
wake behind the Stacer 420 SeaHorse
Click Image to Enlarge

* check-out how SÔLAR PÔWER & ¹² Vølt Batteries will work *

click-> "My Profile"
below

Reply 11 of 11

Page Sponsors

WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd Premium Listing
Portable refrigeration provider WAECO, is celebrating 10 years in Australia in 2009. Established in high-technology headquarters in Germany 35 years ago, WAECO has developed a wide range of mobile technology for people on the move.
1 JOHN DUNCAN COURT   VARSITY LAKES, QLD, 4227
Phone: 1800 21 21 21
More info | Website | Driving Directions
ExplorOz ExplorOz
Become a Member of ExplorOz; buy or sell in Trader; buy Maps, Books, DVDs, camping accessories, and ExplorOz wheel covers, shirts, hats and stubby holders from the ExplorOz Shop; and book Activities &Tours or buy someone a gift certificate from our Activities section. Become an ExplorOz Member for just $60 in your first year, and $40 when you renew.
PO BOX 967  HILLARYS, WA, 6923
Phone: (08) 9403 3737
More info | Website