Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
Section Image

Contaminated diesel

Submitted: Friday, Nov 06, 2009 at 13:38

TE's cruiser

Has any one heard of people receiving tainted fuel in their diesel direct from the bowser recently. Melbourne - South East suburbs.
ThreadID: 73566 Replies: 5
Views: 1008 FollowUps: 10
Thread Summary
Post Reply Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 390245   Submitted: Friday, Nov 06, 2009 at 14:06

Member - Graham H (QLD) replied:

Not there but was talking to an old guy in Albany on Tuesday who had a tank full and it cut out when it got to the van park.

Our new home away from home
Click Image to Enlarge
Another Kiwi that flew the coop

Reply 1 of 5
FollowupID: 658012   Submitted: Friday, Nov 06, 2009 at 14:39

Member - Dunworkin (WA) posted:

Hi Graham H, How are you finding Albany???? lovely weather down there.

Do you know where in Albany this elderly gentleman got his diesel from???
would be interested to know as we are often down that way and like to suss out the cheapest diesel.

Deanna
Simba our much missed baby
Click Image to Enlarge
Simba, our much missed baby.
Now we have had to say Goodbye to her Sister.
Into the family comes Simba's & Bonnie's Niece, Photo in my Gallery.
FollowUp 1 of 5
FollowupID: 658015   Submitted: Friday, Nov 06, 2009 at 15:06

Member - Graham H (QLD) posted:

Lovely weather?????? b#+**y thunder set off my car alarm this morning

MM me and I will tell you

Click Image to Enlarge

FollowUp 2 of 5
FollowupID: 658099   Submitted: Saturday, Nov 07, 2009 at 02:12

Damo1970 posted:

Graham, I have just arrived in Albany today so would be very grateful if you could advise which servo

Damo
FollowUp 3 of 5
FollowupID: 658116   Submitted: Saturday, Nov 07, 2009 at 10:17

Member - Graham H (QLD) posted:

Fill up at Woolworths Caltex in Chester pass road I did and car is still going.

The guy who told me about it said it was a certain brand up the hill from Middleton Park but I could only find a different brand.

However his 80 wouldnt start so I would avoid any in that area.

Graham site 73 Middleton Park
Click Image to Enlarge

FollowUp 4 of 5
FollowupID: 658334   Submitted: Sunday, Nov 08, 2009 at 22:26

Damo1970 posted:

Thanks Graham, i filled up at Woolworths
FollowUp 5 of 5
AnswerID: 390247   Submitted: Friday, Nov 06, 2009 at 14:31

Nargun51 replied:

Be a little bit more specific please.

SE suburbs can be any where within an area that extends anywhere from the CBD out Burwood Highway to Belgrave and in an arc down to Mount Eliza

Reply 2 of 5
FollowupID: 658014   Submitted: Friday, Nov 06, 2009 at 15:02

TE's cruiser posted:

Sorry, I dont want to name the servo but it is in the Waverley area
FollowUp 1 of 3
FollowupID: 658064   Submitted: Friday, Nov 06, 2009 at 18:34

Members Paul and Melissa (VIC) posted:

Cnr of stephenson/waverly rd???
1 of my 3 girls!
Click Image to Enlarge
Cheers Paul

FollowUp 2 of 3
FollowupID: 658369   Submitted: Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 12:15

TE's cruiser posted:

No it is not that one.
Definetly filled it from the diesel bowser. Receipt showed it and all 120 litres in the tank.
FollowUp 3 of 3
AnswerID: 390268   Submitted: Friday, Nov 06, 2009 at 16:06

Member - Malcolm (Townsville) replied:

Well I got a bad tank of fuel in my diesel Patrol one day. Managed to travel about 5km before it conked out. Looked at the fuel docket and it said Vortex.

Rang the server and was told it was Premium Unleaded.

How on earth I managed to do that I've been trying to fathom ever since. maybe it's the dark blue pump label that just looks black in the shadow.

Drained all the fuel I could and put a couple of jerrycans into the tank. As soon as it was going I went back to the servo and put the correct fuel into it.

Sure he used the right pump. How much fuel did he buy?

Malcolm

Home OFF the Range
Click Image to Enlarge
living the 'good life' - it's all I have left
Reply 3 of 5
FollowupID: 658071   Submitted: Friday, Nov 06, 2009 at 19:21

Dasher_Syme posted:

G'day TE,
Hope it sorts itself out.
I live in the Eastern 'Burbs of Melbourne and there have been a number of unleaded episodes but I haven't heard of any diesel probs.
good luck with it,
dasher.
FollowUp 1 of 2
FollowupID: 658107   Submitted: Saturday, Nov 07, 2009 at 07:35

Member - Mike DID posted:

"How on earth I managed to do that I've been trying to fathom ever since. "

Where you have several fuels within the pump housing, I always check that the HOSE is correct for the hole it's stored in.

If someone pulls out two hoses and then puts them back in the wrong hole, you'll have a Petrol Hose under the Diesel Label.

I ALWAYS collect a sample of fuel in a glass jar before putting the hose in the tank - if it's petrol insted of Diesel - I'll know before any goes in the tank.

If it's got water in it - I'll also know staright away - the bubbles fall instead of rise.
Mike R
FollowUp 2 of 2
AnswerID: 390310   Submitted: Friday, Nov 06, 2009 at 21:39

BuggerBoggedAgain replied:

Get a Mr Funnel from BCF, $49.90, no more probs.
Reply 4 of 5
Activities Index
Flying Trapeze Workshop For Two Flying Trapeze Workshop For Two
Sydney - NSW
Fly through the air with the greatest of ease!
Guided Kayaking Sydney Harbour with Lunch Guided Kayaking Sydney Harbour with Lunch
Sydney - NSW
Enjoy a guided kayak on magnificent Sydney Harbour, stopping along the way at various picturesque be
Abseiling Full Day for 12 People Abseiling Full Day for 12 People
Melbourne - VIC
To hang off a cliff with the feet against a vertical wall of rock is an adrenalin filled experience.
Private Surf Lesson Private Surf Lesson
Gold Coast - QLD
Have the ultimate one on one surf lesson with a real surfer.
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 390311   Submitted: Friday, Nov 06, 2009 at 21:40

BuggerBoggedAgain replied:

Buy a Mr Funnel from BCF @ $49.90, no more probs
Reply 5 of 5

Page Sponsors

WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd Premium Listing
Portable refrigeration provider WAECO, is celebrating 10 years in Australia in 2009. Established in high-technology headquarters in Germany 35 years ago, WAECO has developed a wide range of mobile technology for people on the move.
1 JOHN DUNCAN COURT   VARSITY LAKES, QLD, 4227
Phone: 1800 21 21 21
More info | Website | Driving Directions
ExplorOz ExplorOz
Become a Member of ExplorOz; buy or sell in Trader; buy Maps, Books, DVDs, camping accessories, and ExplorOz wheel covers, shirts, hats and stubby holders from the ExplorOz Shop; and book Activities &Tours or buy someone a gift certificate from our Activities section. Become an ExplorOz Member for just $60 in your first year, and $40 when you renew.
PO BOX 967  HILLARYS, WA, 6923
Phone: (08) 9403 3737
More info | Website