Why are you calling them Trucks

Submitted: Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 21:54
ThreadID: 74521 Views:7683 Replies:35 FollowUps:54
This Thread has been Locked
Why do some people on this forum call their vehicles trucks. This is Australia, in Australia a truck is a LARGE Goods carrying vehicle, if you want to call a 4x4 wagon a truck then you should b*gger off to The Land Of The Free with your hand on your heart (USA for those who don't understand). I have 2 trucks, 3 cruiser utes and a Cruiser Wagon. Not 6 Trucks. I look forward to a liveley, hopefully amusing and intelligent debate.

Cheers Big Nick

Reply By: vk1dx - Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 21:58

Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 21:58
I can lend you a flack jacked and bent old army helmut if yoy want. I have a spare set.

I always laugh at the drivers (Mums in boots and jeans) standing besides the 4WD taxis and up comes this pretty little city AWD and one of the drivers says "Nice rig". You have to laugh. Its got to be an ego thing.

Duck - Incoming.
AnswerID: 395729

Follow Up By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 22:15

Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 22:15
I hate that add.
FollowupID: 664351

Follow Up By: Member - Lotzi (QLD) - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 11:23

Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 11:23
Yep, Me and Swambo like that advert.

FollowupID: 664428

Reply By: Dave... Adelaide (SA - Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 22:06

Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 22:06
"Why do some people on this forum call their vehicles trucks"

Because we can .....You say about buggering off to "The Land Of The Free", but i thought this country was already supposed to be a free country???

Actually, it begs the question, are you the same person who has started this debate on here a few times before?

Cheers & Merry Christmas .....Dave
AnswerID: 395731

Follow Up By: Member - Nick T (WA) - Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 22:18

Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 22:18
No I haven't started or seen this subject debated on the forum before just seeing how many possums I can stir.

merry Xmas
Big Nick
FollowupID: 664352

Follow Up By: Notso - Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 23:34

Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 23:34
If it looks like a truck, sounds like a truck and smells like a truck it probably is!
FollowupID: 664382

Reply By: Member - John D, Wandong (Vic) - Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 22:07

Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 22:07
Nick, I couldn't agree with you more, although I don't have 6 vehicles, I do drive a ute.

AnswerID: 395732

Reply By: get outmore - Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 22:17

Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 22:17
Its pretty simple - a truck you need a truck license to drive. I think an F350 is about the smallest truck you can buy
AnswerID: 395733

Follow Up By: Member - Nick T (WA) - Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 22:22

Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 22:22
Hi Get out
Very good point

Cheers Big Nick
FollowupID: 664353

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 22:32

Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 22:32
I've got an F350.... It's got a big tray and I have often felt that it was a 'truck'. Having just bought a Scania 30ft tray AND booked in to do a three day training course to get my Heavy Rigid Truck Licence.... the Effie is looking more like the farm forbie!
FollowupID: 664355

Follow Up By: nickb - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 09:25

Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 09:25
I hired a 3t removal truck on my standard C class licence.

Sorry, it can't be a truck, I haven't got my truck licence... hehehe
FollowupID: 664408

Reply By: Member - Scrubby (VIC) - Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 22:18

Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 22:18
Just because I damn well want to and I can. :-)

So what`s wrong with that ?

It`s a free world is it not ??

I hope you are just fishing coz I just took the bait Ha Ha.

Merry Christmas,

Scrubby
AnswerID: 395734

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 23:08

Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 23:08
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Chit Chat Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
FollowupID: 664374

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 12:16

Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 12:16
Oh no! NO CHIT CHAT! sad...
FollowupID: 664434

Reply By: kend88 - Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 22:19

Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 22:19
We have a small sedan as a runaround and a 4wd to tow the van and as a second car. both Mitsubishi's.
If I need to ask my wife which vehicle she wants on any day, much easier to refer to truck or car than to use many more syllables to describe them.
Think you are getting a bit precious worrying about whether they are technically trucks. More things than that to worry about in life thanks.

kenD
bris
AnswerID: 395735

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 22:20

Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 22:20
I'm guilty as charged your honour!!!

I drive a heavy (3500kg) Patrol dual cab with a fairly large donk (6.5 Chev V8 diesel).

I have a Subaru (which I call the car).

If we (the family) are about to go somewhere, I tell 'em either: "we're going in the truck"............ or..........."we're going in the car"......

It just doesn't seem right to call the Patrol a "car".

I could refer to it as "the SUV" or maybe the "4X4" or maybe even "the Patrol", but all those options are either too yankified (in the case of "SUV") or they use up too may syllables.

Anyway.....I'm the bloke who paid my dosh for my "truck", so I'll bloody-well call it whatever I bloody-well like and if you don't like it, then I guess you'll just have to jam it where your mum never kissed ya....hahahahahaha

AnswerID: 395736

Follow Up By: Dave... Adelaide (SA - Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 22:37

Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 22:37
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Foul Language Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
FollowupID: 664357

Follow Up By: Member - Nick T (WA) - Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 22:43

Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 22:43
Hi Roachie
Good point about SUV that is even worse than truck. The reason "truck" grates with me is that having been on a farm all my life one of my very early memories is of sitting on the back shelf in the cab of the Bedfordfdfdfd dad had just bought( that I used to drive( well, steer) while we carted hay out of the paddock as a 10 year old)and I thought it was sooo flash after the old Morris Commercial, that was a TRUCK. As an Aussie I really enjoy my Aussieness and although I can see how a fourby can seem like a truck to people who have not been around trucks all their lives. The term is very american and has been taken straight off TV and only in the last 10 years or less. I'm not Xenophobic ( ploise explain) I just hate yankisms.

Cheers Big Nick

FollowupID: 664363

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 23:15

Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 23:15
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Chit Chat Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
FollowupID: 664376

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 23:15

Nick

You can't really call something that ran on petrol a Truck? "Bedfordfdfdfd"

I drive a Troopy,,,, it came with that name.. LOL
FollowupID: 664377

Follow Up By: Member - Nick T (WA) - Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 23:29

Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 23:29
Hi Richard
Sorry for the confusion our bedfordfdfdfdfd was a diesel 466 cid and it converted fuel into heat and vibration almost as efficiently as a 4.2 Nissan or a Harley Hahahaha. You're right Bedfordfdfdfdfd actually and accurately describes the old J3 Bedford 30 cwt petrol that we also had and used as a fire fighting unit, usefull for both starting and fighting fires (now in the shed as a retirement project for the future)

Merry Xmas Big Nick
FollowupID: 664381

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 08:15

Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 08:15
Richard,

Good to see you're driving a BUS lol.

FollowupID: 664402

Follow Up By: raafy - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 08:29

Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 08:29
Having worked on Bedfords many years ago I came to the conclusion that the 466 wasn't a motor, it was a smoke generator. A lot of noise, heaps of smoke but no power.
FollowupID: 664403

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 12:09

Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 12:09
The other issue with the term "truck" , is where do you draw the line.

What about a Canter? Is that a truck in your eyes?

I guess most of us would agree that a bogie tipper or concrete aggitator are "trucks".....but then a bloke who drives a Kenworth/Western Star/Mack etc and hauls a semi trailer, might say that those blokes are dreamin' and that a 12 tonne tipper ain't really a truck in their eyes either.

Then you get a bloke (or lady) who drives a 200 tonne Haulpak for the mines and they reckon that those damn little Kenworths hauling 3 dogs along the Stuart Hwy are just toys....

It's all in the eye of the beholder.

In the case of my Patrol, you can't do anything really quick in it. You've got time to roll a smoke in between gears and cornering and slowing down for traffic lights are something that needs to be contemplated a couple of hundred meters earlier than what I do when I'm driving the Subaru.

However, I must admit that after having driven a bogie tipper for a couple of days (a few months ago) while I went for my HR licence....I do now agree with you that there are trucks....and then there are TRUCKS. Driving a rig with a Eaton Fuller crash gearbox was a whole new experience to me.....double clutching and all that stuff. But I didn't have any issues with the cornering and slowing down for intersections etc, cos it was similar to what I already practice in the Patrol.
FollowupID: 664432

Follow Up By: Blaze (Berri) - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 13:08

Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 13:08
Gday to the Roachies,

I can totally except you calling that thing a truck, it has a truck motor and rattles like one, so yep its a truck... ;-)

FollowupID: 664451

Reply By: Member - Ed. C. (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 22:23

Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 22:23
Well, I don't call mine anything, but with a separate ladder-frame chassis, truck engine (TD42T), and truck gearbox, it's definitely more truck than car...

The term that leaves me cold, is "rig".....

Rig???? wassup wit dat?????

(Now I'm gunna cop it........;-))

Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

AnswerID: 395738

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 22:50

Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 22:50
Oh dear... an evening of education is on its way....

Rig Pic......something rigged up. A rolling chassis with a drive train and trailer(caravan) or alike, attached?.

My Rig is Rigged Up ('cos at first when it came out of the factory it was just an ordinary car, softroader, ute, wagon and dare I say it again...TRUCK) Now that I have added 1 ton of stuff to it, it has become a RIG!...................... ALL RIGGED UP!

Confucious say........." man who is in cold better move to FNQ "

:-)
FollowupID: 664366

Follow Up By: Member - Nick T (WA) - Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 23:01

Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 23:01
Willem
I think "Rig" is a very good term, we have Drilling rigs (on trucks, not the sea going kind) on the farm we have seeding rigs, I have no problem with Rig I dont feel it is a yankism at all.

Big Nick
FollowupID: 664370

Follow Up By: Blaze (Berri) - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 13:21

Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 13:21
Geeze, Willem,

Nick would have to allow me to call a little Mitsi Challenger a Truck to my missus by his way of thinking. LOL, The Goddam Yank say's when I open the back door its the Way Back...

So lotsa stuff we just have to except as being excepted as language that is excepted by all nationalities, due to the smallness of the world now with internet ect.

'Nick' Will you except recieving for pay or pension or goods the yankism "DOLLAR" or do you want to still collect pounds shillings and pence... LMAO

FollowupID: 664456

Reply By: zigdog - Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 22:25

Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 22:25
I have a 21 year old Toyota Landcruiser Ute which quite frankly drives like a truck so I call it just that. But really it's a paddock bashers on the farm.

Our 4x4 is a Jeep Wrangler & I certainly don't call it a truck.
AnswerID: 395739

Reply By: Member - Nick - Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 22:26

Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 22:26
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Foul Language Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
AnswerID: 395740

Reply By: Member - Wamuranman - Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 22:30

Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 22:30
My Landcrusier has a GVM of 4500kg - the same as some small Isuzu or Hino trucks. So why can't I call mine a truck?

AnswerID: 395741

Follow Up By: Dave(NSW) - Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 22:48

Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 22:48
According to the NSW RTA if a vehicle weights 4.5T to 8T you need a LR Licence to drive it, So your would be classed as a truck.
Cheers Dave..
GU RULES!!

FollowupID: 664365

Follow Up By: Member - Wamuranman - Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 23:00

Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 23:00
Good point Dave. I actually have a MR licence for other reasons but I think in Queensland you can still drive my Landcruiser on a a normal car licence.

Just to muddy the waters a little bit more on this topic - what about the new Audi Q9 released in Australia last month. It has 6 litre twin turbo DIESEL V12. It develops 368 Kw and 1000 Nm (that’s almost 495 HP to you truckies – same as some prime movers!). This diesel is derived from the V12 one in the R10 that has won Le Mons the past 3 years.
But for what it is – its reasonably economical - claimed 11.9 litres per 100Km.
So its actually got as much power as some prime movers - so would you call it a truck or not?

FollowupID: 664369

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 23:25

Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 23:25
I would call it a stupid waste of time and money. No truck though. Its a tractor - a Toorak Tractor.

Well not really. I suppose you could get a quid for selling those "pretty" city tyres.

Is this thing a 4WD? What are we coming to. It reminds me of that weird car from the states. I think its a chev or something. Looks like it came out of a chop shop from the 40's.

Gues what. I like this even less than VWs. Duck your head Phil Incoming.

FollowupID: 664379

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 12:17

Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 12:17
Quote: "I would call it a stupid waste of time and money"........ & ........"Its a tractor - a Toorak Tractor".....

GOLD.......!!!!!!!! Great comment Phil..... I love it mate!!!!!! hahahahahahaha
FollowupID: 664435

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 12:50

Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 12:50
Wamuranman
Just because an engine develops 495 HP does not mean it's like a truck engine, that little engine could not manage a KW with a Drake Float with a CAT D11N sitting on it. the engines also needs to develop Torque with phenominal lugging power.

FollowupID: 664444

Reply By: Willem - Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 22:31

Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 22:31
I s'pose like OMG (ad nausem) and Go Figure and Guys and Buddy....Truck is taken from the land of Nasal Hot Air.

Well, my old GQ isn't a CAR. And it isn't a WAGON (thats reserved for stretched cars like Falcoons and Dunnydoors) and it drives somewhat like a, a, a....dare I say it....a TRUCK!

Truck sort of rolls off the tongue. Maybe it is a MAN thing. I wanna TRUCK to look BIG in...especially at the traffic lights!!!!!!

.....and all I can afford is a busted old Datto GQ...

There ya go....................

AnswerID: 395742

Follow Up By: get outmore - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 13:08

Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 13:08
Not neccesarily Willem
- After working with alot of kiwis i think you will find they refer to 4bies as trucks more than the yanks.
even a hilux gets refered to as a truck
FollowupID: 664450

Reply By: WYSIWYG (Bundaberg Qld) - Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 22:36

Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 22:36
If it looks like one, smells like one and drives like one it must be dam close to being one , LOL

Truck 1
Definition: A small wheel, as of a vehicle; specifically (Ord.), a small strong wheel, as of wood or iron, for a gun carriage.

Truck 2
Definition: A low, wheeled vehicle or barrow for carrying goods, stone, and other heavy articles.

Truck 3
Definition: A swiveling carriage, consisting of a frame with one or more pairs of wheels and the necessary boxes, springs, etc., to carry and guide one end of a locomotive or a car; sometimes called bogie in England. Trucks usually have four or six wheels.

Truck 4
Definition: A small wooden cap at the summit of a flagstaff or a masthead, having holes in it for reeving halyards through.

Truck 5
Definition: A small piece of wood, usually cylindrical or disk-shaped, used for various purposes.

Truck 6
Definition: A freight car.

Truck 7
Definition: A frame on low wheels or rollers; used for various purposes, as for a movable support for heavy bodies.

Truck 8
Definition: To transport on a truck or trucks.

Truck 9
Definition: To exchange; to give in exchange; to barter; as, to truck knives for gold dust.

Truck 10
Definition: To exchange commodities; to barter; to trade; to deal.

Truck 11
Definition: Exchange of commodities; barter.

Truck 12
Definition: Commodities appropriate for barter, or for small trade; small commodities; esp., in the United States, garden vegetables raised for the market.

Truck 13
Definition: The practice of paying wages in goods instead of money; called also truck system.

truck 14
Definition: a handcart that has a frame with two low wheels and a ledge at the bottom and handles at the top; used to move crates or other heavy objects

truck 15
Definition: an automotive vehicle suitable for hauling

truck 16
Definition: convey (goods etc.) by truck; "truck fresh vegetables across the mountains"

AnswerID: 395744

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 23:28

Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 23:28
I like truck 7. About the right one for "DOH" Simpson and those of like frame.

Chuckle.
FollowupID: 664380

Follow Up By: Member - The Bushwhackers -NSW - Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 23:59

Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 23:59
Methinks most of these descriptions are American too...lolololol
FollowupID: 664383

Follow Up By: xcamper - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 14:17

Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 14:17
I call item 14, a sack truck.
When I was, trucking, carting, freighting, moving sacks involved using a
"sack truck "
pete
FollowupID: 664468

Reply By: kend88 - Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 22:47

Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 22:47
Aha, now we are getting down to it. It seems from the two Nicks, in their minds, there is some sort of badge of honour for driving a real truck with real gear boxes etc.
Get a life "guys" or should I say "good ol boys".

kenD
bris
AnswerID: 395745

Follow Up By: Member - Nick T (WA) - Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 22:56

Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 22:56
G'Day Kend
Now I have to admit that my big old truck (Acco) as opposed to the little older truck (Dodge) has an Auto transmission and my wife has been driving it for Harvest (finished yesterday, you beauty)

Cheers Big Nick
FollowupID: 664367

Reply By: Member - Flynnie (NSW) - Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 22:52

Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 22:52
Yeah the cricket was a bit of a let down. Have to wait for tomorrow. Got a few minutes to waste. Marginally better than the latest on Tiger Woods.

Definitions of truck on the Web:

* an automotive vehicle suitable for hauling

Seems broad enough to cover nearly anything.

Yawn!

If you have a hang-up about "truck" what do you think of the increasing use of "pickup".

Yawn!

Lost interest in this thread.

Bye

AnswerID: 395747

Reply By: Member - Kroozer (WA) - Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 22:57

Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 22:57
Its fair enough, but we can call whatever we like, whatever we like, cant we?

Suppose we better not call them chariots, rigs, rides, tugs, wheels, cars, because they are none of that either. Best refer to them as Automobiles or Modes of transportation.

I would be more worried about the fact of where there made then where the term come from. Petty really. We have had a better past with the yanks then the japs matey.

I see your Truck is wearing BF Goodrich. Dont you know you CAN buy AUSSIE made tyres. Hate people who wear Yank tyres on there trucks. So you wont use there lingo but you will support there economy. What a knob.

AnswerID: 395750

Follow Up By: Member - Nick T (WA) - Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 23:10

Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 23:10
G'Day Kroozer
Did you notice at all, the last line of my first post where I said that I looked forward to a liveley, intelligent and amusing debate. Calling me a Knob is hardly in the spirit of my post or this forum.

Merry Christmas Big Nick
FollowupID: 664375

Follow Up By: Member - Kroozer (WA) - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 00:16

Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 00:16
Sorry matey, it isnt in the spirit of the forum , i must apologise.

You said it, your fat, your ugly but your not stupid. At least you tell it like it is.
I respect a man who tells it like it is, and this debate is very interesting. Seems the Chrissie spirit gets the emotions up high. Been alot of debating lately.

Merry Christmas to you too Big Nick
FollowupID: 664385

Follow Up By: Graham Watson - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 08:51

Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 08:51
Sorry Can't buy Aussie made tyres any more, the last factory here in Adelaide closed down about a month ago.

Graham
Graham Watson

FollowupID: 664404

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 08:56

Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 08:56
If it is closed down why are they still hiring staff??

FollowupID: 664405

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 12:22

Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 12:22
The one I don't like (but it's a free country, so I don't really care if other people use it), is ...."4by"....or...."4bee". It just sounds wrong to me.

Should people who drive a commodore call that the "2bee"....or...."2by"???? hahaha
FollowupID: 664437

Follow Up By: Blaze (Berri) - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 13:34

Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 13:34
Mornin again Mr Roach.

I answered in the Diesel/Petrol debate about bait for fishing, just found another bait it seems for the fish plague of (fourby flathead) excuse the use of fourby, but when naming this new species, it flowed well with flathead LOLOLOLOL

FollowupID: 664461

Reply By: D200Dug- Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 22:59

Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 22:59
2 vehicles

Margo's peugeot AKA Pug

My ute AKA Truck

It is simple and easy,

Keep on truckin'
AnswerID: 395751

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 23:04

Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 23:04
If you want to be pedantic I have to fit light truck tyres on it so it must be a light truck :-)

I hate the terms SUV and RV if I had to pick an Australian term it would be a "tilly"

Short for Utility.
FollowupID: 664371

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 23:06

Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 23:06
Pickup or pickup truck sucks unless you live in Uhmerica
FollowupID: 664372

Follow Up By: gbc - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 13:23

Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 13:23
cruiser utes were always called tilleys where I come from.

I drive the ute (colorado), the misses driver the go-cart (B4 liberty) in our family.
FollowupID: 664457

Follow Up By: garrycol - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 13:27

Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 13:27
A Sports Utility Vehicle (SUV) is something like a Holden Dunny Door SS Ute or a Ford Birdie XR8 Ute - not a 4wd or 4x4 or a Softroader or an AWD.

A truck is what you want it to be - my landie is a truck.

Garry
FollowupID: 664459

Reply By: Member - KC (TAS) - Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 23:12

Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 23:12
Nick T..Gotta agree to a point, but, an "MG" is smaller than your average
Holden or Ford, thus is called a " sports car". My cruiser is smaller than a
Mack or Kenworth, and bigger than a Holden, so it must be a " sports truck".
Well that's my opinion, and I'm gunna run with it..haha
AnswerID: 395752

Reply By: howesy - Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 23:15

Who knows why and whats more who cares, call it Martha for all I care. (I call mine "the 4wd or the cruiser") and whats more whats worse someone giving their vehicle a name other than what it is for their own gratification or someone who would seek to impose their views and beliefs on others and ridicule them for not conforming with their own beliefs.
Anyway enough of my crapolla babble and please take it light heartedly but you did say you wanted to see debate (lol) Honestly mines either the 4wd or the cruiser and thats just my preference.
AnswerID: 395753

Follow Up By: pmk03 - Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 23:23

Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 23:23
Who knows why and whats more who cares, call it Martha for all I care. (I call mine "the 4wd or the cruiser") and whats more whats worse someone giving their vehicle a name other than what it is for their own gratification or someone who would seek to impose their views and beliefs on others and ridicule them for not conforming with their own beliefs.

X 2 ................ Yawn!!!
PMK
FollowupID: 664378

Follow Up By: Member - Tony S (WA) - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 02:01

Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 02:01
My old Series 3 Landrover was called Gertrude/Gert or the Landy never a truck.
The old girl would have most probably thrown a couple of rods out of spite!
my Discoveries are usually called Discovery or Disco.
Calling a 4x4 a truck is a Yankee term no matter what size it is.
The rig

FollowupID: 664393

Follow Up By: Member - Tony S (WA) - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 02:04

Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 02:04
Got CRAFT these days, forgot to add Merry Christmas to all
The rig

FollowupID: 664394

Follow Up By: Member - Nick T (WA) - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 10:15

Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 10:15
Tony
A mate of mine has a very old, early sixtys, Landy ute at his beach shack. It is called "Hurtle" a very apt name as you can imagine.

FollowupID: 664417

Reply By: vk1dx - Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 23:30

Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 23:30

Forum Moderation Team
AnswerID: 395755

Reply By: Gramps - Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 23:37

Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 23:37
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Inappropriate Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
AnswerID: 395756

Reply By: Motherhen - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 01:09

Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 01:09
Hi Nick - Sounds like you are celebrating a good harvest - i hope you got a good yield. Not so good our way.

It does amuse and sometimes annoy me to hear those 4wd drivers from that other side of the country refer to their 4wds as trucks. A truck to me has a big tray back for goods carrying. Some of those easterners even refer to a Patrol wagon as a truck - gee ours is a family wagon. The trayback Cruiser is a Ute. The trucks are much bigger and i don't have licence to drive them. Get outmore is spot on - if you don't need a truck licence to drive it, it isn't a truck. Even our F250 isn't a truck - i can drive it (if i sit on a thick pillow LOL).

AnswerID: 395764

Follow Up By: Member - Nick T (WA) - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 10:23

Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 10:23
Hi Motherhen
Harvest was well below average but could have been worse. have heard some horror storys.

Merry Xmas Big Nick
FollowupID: 664418

Reply By: Wilk0 - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 07:54

Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 07:54

I don't call my ute a truck or pick up I call it a ute, even if its a wagon its still the ute. Dont know why but thats what i call it.

I don't really care what other people call their rigs trucks or pick ups, don't have anything against the US of A but they can be egotistical knobs some times.

Cheers Wilko

p.s. My BIL is a septic and he's basically an Aussie with a US accent
AnswerID: 395776

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 08:44

Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 08:44
G/Day Nick

We have had that many 4wd"s over the year that I have lost count, and for some reason or another I have always called them Trucks, I can't stand any Yanky terms used to describe Australian things or what ever, but the early 4wd"s had big Gearboxes / Transfer Cases / Engines ect, and the term built like a Truck comes to mind, but I'm not sorry we don't call them Lorries like the Poms.

AnswerID: 395780

Reply By: The Landy - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 09:30

Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 09:30
'Fender drivers don't have this dilemma....after all it is a "Landy"..........

But, imagine calling a Patrol a "Patrolly" or a Cruser a "Cruisey". I guess "truck" was the next best thing for Toyo and Nissan drivers...........

Tongue firmly in cheek, but still reaching for the flak jacket!

AnswerID: 395787

Reply By: Member - Nick T (WA) - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 10:09

Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 10:09
Thanks to everyone who was involved in this thread. Can't believe how many got moderated. It certainly livened up a quiet saturday night while The Boss (Wifey) was at bookclub. I'll now crawl back into the bunker with my flack Jacket and dented old helmet. lol

Merry Xmas Big Nick
AnswerID: 395790

Reply By: Member - Kevin J (Sunshine Coa - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 10:24

Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 10:24
Let's talk about something important.

What are you having for dinner???

Kevin J
AnswerID: 395796

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 12:22

Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 12:22
Oh oh! Chit chat!
FollowupID: 664436

Reply By: nowimnumberone - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 10:53

Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 10:53
and you know whats more annoying?
when customers come in and say
i need a set of boots for my truck.
there not boots there tyres.
its not a truck its a patrol/cruiser etc.
AnswerID: 395801

Reply By: _gmd_pps - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 11:25

Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 11:25
Because my 4x4 is a NB2 truck and requires a "truck license".
A bit bigger than your narrow mind!
have fun
gmd
AnswerID: 395803

Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 12:37

Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 12:37
Nick
As an old Truckie I did raise this issue around 2 years ago, while I agree with you I don't see the need to being a US basher/knocker,
I think it probably makes 'em feel a little bigger in the head than car drivers, now "Ya'll knows what I mean there eh"

Sorry I just could'nt resist the sign...

AnswerID: 395811

Reply By: Member - Mike DID - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 12:42

Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 12:42
. . . because of the way they handle on road compared with a car.
AnswerID: 395813

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 13:00

Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 13:00
Ego ,the mines bigger than yours bleep envy .
AnswerID: 395815

Reply By: jabiru340 - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 13:16

Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 13:16
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Moderation Complaints Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
AnswerID: 395819

Reply By: jabiru340 - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 14:05

Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 14:05
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Moderation Complaints Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
AnswerID: 395825

Reply By: Member -Tukka (WA) - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 14:12

Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 14:12
what a stupid thread. Just writing stuff to make people argue! have you not got anything better to do?
AnswerID: 395828

Follow Up By: jabiru340 - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 14:27

Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 14:27
Good on you Tukka exactly what I am getting at.

It is all chit chat and the rule is being used ad hoc
FollowupID: 664469