Helicopter dust mat

Submitted: Thursday, Jan 21, 2010 at 07:54
ThreadID: 75369 Views:6813 Replies:10 FollowUps:6
Morning all,
Does anyone have information on a product that was reviewed last year on this forum. It is a light weight dust suppresion mat that the Yanks use for helo ops.

I can't find it in the archives.

Reply By: putrol - Thursday, Jan 21, 2010 at 08:13

Thursday, Jan 21, 2010 at 08:13
cgear multi mat www.cgear.com
AnswerID: 400418

Reply By: madcow - Thursday, Jan 21, 2010 at 08:18

Thursday, Jan 21, 2010 at 08:18
Very good stuff!
AnswerID: 400419

Reply By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Thursday, Jan 21, 2010 at 08:25

Thursday, Jan 21, 2010 at 08:25
Shade cloth works just as well and a whole lot cheaper ;-)
AnswerID: 400420

Reply By: Member - Carl- Thursday, Jan 21, 2010 at 08:27

Thursday, Jan 21, 2010 at 08:27
Hi Steve,

All it is is 2 sheets of 60% shade cloth stitched together. One above the other. Then with a edging tape (30mm) sewn around the edges. Get this from UDA (Upholstry Distributors Australia) they are in every state and on the web. You can also get it from Spotlight but more expensive there.

Go to Bunnings and get the shade cloth there or also from UDA. At UDA it is called "Polyfx" shade cloth. Bunnings will be cheaper for this.

Good luck.
AnswerID: 400421

Follow Up By: Krakka - Thursday, Jan 21, 2010 at 14:35

Thursday, Jan 21, 2010 at 14:35
You have tried both, and speaking from experience I presume, NOT!!!!
FollowupID: 669609

Follow Up By: Member - Carl- Thursday, Jan 21, 2010 at 16:26

Thursday, Jan 21, 2010 at 16:26
In fact I have both. One was a gift form the manufacturer and the other I made. This is because I had a canvas manufacturing business, making boutigue caravan annexes for expensice caravans.

I use both now that I have retired. Want some pictures emailed? Just send the email address.
FollowupID: 669629

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Thursday, Jan 21, 2010 at 09:01

Thursday, Jan 21, 2010 at 09:01
Hi Steve
Like others have said above, it is the Cgear matting. It is not cheap, but well worth every cent. It does come back to that old saying, you only get what you pay for.

I tried to resist buying it, having in the past used a large piece of shade cloth that works very well, well most of the time. In the real sandy conditions, sand would still make its way through the shade cloth. With Cgear you have no such problem and it is unreal. Sand will pass through the Cgear, but does not work its way back up.

Great gear and a satisfied owner.

AnswerID: 400423

Reply By: Notso - Thursday, Jan 21, 2010 at 09:29

Thursday, Jan 21, 2010 at 09:29
The other thing with shade cloth it gets very slippery when wet, if it ever rains??
AnswerID: 400428

Follow Up By: Shaker - Friday, Jan 22, 2010 at 10:53

Friday, Jan 22, 2010 at 10:53
I found out the hard way, shade cloth has two sides, one is slippery, the other side is much better!
FollowupID: 669747

Reply By: Karen & Geoff - Thursday, Jan 21, 2010 at 13:33

Thursday, Jan 21, 2010 at 13:33
Hi Steve, hubby brought some of this cgear matting stuff, and after he picked me up after telling me the price, I told him to take it back and why would you pay so much for a peice of shade cloth.

I dont think it is the same as shadecloth, and it is great stuff. The sand and dirt doesn't come up through it, and it is so easy to sweep and keep clean. Friends and us were camping and it rained heaps. They had to lift their shade cloth up off the ground, it was like a mud hole. We had water under our cgear matting, and the water didn't come up through it. It will not kill grass either like shade cloth does. We had ours down for an extra week, and whenw e pulled it up the grass was flat, but not yellow underneath. The friends with the shade cloth, the grass under there's had gone all yellow.

Might be expensive, but worth every cent, I now say.

You get what you pay for, the old saying goes.

Karen
AnswerID: 400448

Reply By: Tricky Dicky - Thursday, Jan 21, 2010 at 14:40

Thursday, Jan 21, 2010 at 14:40
Hi Steve

they are worth every penny, sand and dirt falls through them no more sand through the van. we have used it on the beach worked well.

Tricky
AnswerID: 400456

Reply By: Member - Joe F (WA) - Thursday, Jan 21, 2010 at 17:42

Thursday, Jan 21, 2010 at 17:42
G'day blue one

The "Helicopter dust mat" as you call it is an extreamly good bit of gear, sadly the price is a tad much, but you can buy it from Camec, who are a caravan parts and accessories outlet ~ in WA at least.

We use a 2.5 x 4 metre roll of it as the "Lawn" for the caravan when we are camped up in sandy or heavily twigged areas, no sand or leaves make it into the van, it can be pegged down or just simply laid onto the ground as it is reasonably weighty on its own.

AnswerID: 400475

Reply By: blue one - Friday, Jan 22, 2010 at 10:03

Friday, Jan 22, 2010 at 10:03
Thanks all.

I actually need it for Helo OPS.

Casey Station
Antarctica
AnswerID: 400567

Follow Up By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Friday, Jan 22, 2010 at 12:21

Friday, Jan 22, 2010 at 12:21
Is that you're actual location? If so Id reckon that's a first for EO!
FollowupID: 669756

Follow Up By: blue one - Saturday, Jan 23, 2010 at 19:36

Saturday, Jan 23, 2010 at 19:36
Yep,
Been down here since the start of November and we leave on the 17th of Feb.

FollowupID: 669982

Follow Up By: travelmate2 - Saturday, Jan 23, 2010 at 19:59

Saturday, Jan 23, 2010 at 19:59
Mr B

he also posted this old post

FollowupID: 669986