camping in Alice Springs & <span class="highlight">Broome</span>

Submitted: Thursday, May 27, 2010 at 14:29
ThreadID: 78819 Views:6245 Replies:14 FollowUps:11
Hi everybody,

this is the first time I've posted anything so please be gentle!
My wife and I are heading off on holiday in early July and will be stopping in Alice Springs then on to the Kimberleys. My first question is what is a good safe caravan park to stop at in Alice springs and second is that I know Broome will be busy so if I can't find a caravan pk that isn't booked out, is there somewhere within 100 k's of Broome to camp? I know we should have booked but we really don't know when we would arrive in Broome as there is so much to see on the way and we don't want to rush.
any help would be much appreciated.

cheers Henry

Reply By: Member - Ian W1 (QLD) - Thursday, May 27, 2010 at 14:38

Thursday, May 27, 2010 at 14:38
Hi Henry, I was booked in to Tarangau CP in Broome for a few days in July until I had to cancel my trip a few days ago. You could try them....very obliging and CP looks good on their website...just Google Tarangau Cravan Park
Have a great trip...wish I was still going!
AnswerID: 418413

Reply By: kend88 - Thursday, May 27, 2010 at 14:39

Thursday, May 27, 2010 at 14:39
can't help with Broome but the Macdonnel Ranges CP at Alice Springs is probably our favourite Oz wide. Less than ten minutes from centre of town, activities nearly every night, great amenities and pools. it's two years since we were last there so hopefully still good.
KenD
Bris
AnswerID: 418414

Follow Up By: Kanga1 - Thursday, May 27, 2010 at 15:09

Thursday, May 27, 2010 at 15:09
Hi Henry, the G'day Mate CP across the road from the one kend88 said is a good smaller park, with plenty of big shady trees. The cable Beach CP in Broome is my favorite for in town, and north of Willie Creek for bush camping. Cheers, Kanga.
Tempus Fugit

Kanga.

FollowupID: 688496

Follow Up By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Thursday, May 27, 2010 at 16:35

Thursday, May 27, 2010 at 16:35
Gday Mate is also one of the best priced parks in town where Mc Range is one of the dearest.Last time there(one year ago) they wanted $75/nite unpowered for a camp trailer, we stayed at Gday Mate for $35/nite.
FollowupID: 688515

Follow Up By: Member - Scrubby (VIC) - Thursday, May 27, 2010 at 20:37

Thursday, May 27, 2010 at 20:37
Another vote for the Gday Mate c/p, for most friendly, no frills, shady and good value for money I don`t hesitate in recommending it.

Enjoy the trip,

Scrubby
FollowupID: 688554

Reply By: Member - Barry (NT) - Thursday, May 27, 2010 at 14:44

Thursday, May 27, 2010 at 14:44
We're in the same baot in regards to Broome and so are our friends as we exit the NT about mid July.

I'm sure we will find bush spots and great company to boot so don't "sweat" it too much.

Some advice will be given I'm sure and if not we quizz those going East about where to bush camp.

Cheers Baz
AnswerID: 418415

Reply By: Member - John and Val - Thursday, May 27, 2010 at 14:55

Thursday, May 27, 2010 at 14:55
Hello Henry, welcome to the site and the forum. I will second both MacDonnell Ranges CP in Alice and Tarangau in Broome (although that is not the question you asked re Broome). Both are clean and safe.

The "northern beaches" around Broome offer great camping if you are self sufficient but getting a spot can be tricky. South of Broome there is Barn Hill but personally I actively disliked the place (which is very unusual for me). But Broome has so much on offer that you probably do need to spend a while in town, so its just a matter of traipsing around to see if there is a vacancy. I think that the showground is used for overflow accommodation too.

Have a great trip.

Val

AnswerID: 418416

Follow Up By: dennisliz - Friday, May 28, 2010 at 14:02

Friday, May 28, 2010 at 14:02
We free camped outside Broome at Nillibubbica about 105 ks out.Another option is Roebuck Plains roadhouse. 34 ks out so as to arrive in Broome very early.We arrived about 8-30 am at Roebuck Van Park and managed to gain a spot. Fab vanpark on the water. Were able to sit on grassed area and view the bay.Top spot.The overflow van park is very near if needed.
FollowupID: 688641

Reply By: david - Thursday, May 27, 2010 at 15:00

Thursday, May 27, 2010 at 15:00
Hi Henry

South of Broome is Port Smith CP...about 80k from memory. Just have to watch the midges.

North of Broome are a number of spots. We stayed at Point Quondong? a few years back. Free camping & overlooking the beach.

I think there is a CP on the way into Broome at Roebuck roadhouse, no idea if it is any good.

cheers David
AnswerID: 418417

Follow Up By: nighttrain - Thursday, May 27, 2010 at 15:30

Thursday, May 27, 2010 at 15:30
Thanks Henry for asking that question because we were thinking the same thing as we hope to heading off sometime in August, might see you on the road and good luck.
FollowupID: 688499

Follow Up By: Members Pa & Ma. - Thursday, May 27, 2010 at 16:28

Thursday, May 27, 2010 at 16:28
Hi nighttrain,
You may have trouble in the Alice end August because of the Trucking Hall of fame celebrations. I've been told that the council is opening up the but there's no power.
Ross River campground is about an Hours drive from Alice. It's nice and the drives around there are nice.
After all the rain, most waterholes should be full, there are somme gorges on the way out worth looking at but no camping at them.
Take care, safe travels.
Regards, Ma
FollowupID: 688512

Follow Up By: Members Pa & Ma. - Thursday, May 27, 2010 at 16:33

Thursday, May 27, 2010 at 16:33
Sorry,
That should read that the council is opening up the showground and the footy oval and yes, welcome to the Forum Henry.
Regards Ma
FollowupID: 688513

Reply By: hazo - Thursday, May 27, 2010 at 15:39

Thursday, May 27, 2010 at 15:39
Henry
At that time of year Broome is literally " buzzing" with cravanners and travellers all trying to locate that elusive spot.
Most parks are booked out well in advance and usually the overflows are full too.
The usual routine is to rock up to the tourist bureau first and they will aim you at any possible vacancies.

Broome shire in general, have a really bad attitude to " free campers" and dog owners ! and the rangers are very vigilant.

As said Quondong is ok if you can get i, but the road in can be bad, or Port Smith, we tend to give Broome the flick now as it gets really expensive and the tourists are an easy target.

Roebuck R/house is just that, a roadhouse with a caravan park to the rear and even that can become full pretty quick.

Was at 80 mile beach last year and there was a notice advising tourists not to go to Broome unless they had accommodation booked ! as the whole place was full.
AnswerID: 418424

Follow Up By: Member - Boeing (PER) - Thursday, May 27, 2010 at 16:41

Thursday, May 27, 2010 at 16:41
Hazo, Don't agree about the bad attitude to the free camping. What you must remember is the population explodes over the dry and if everyone was trying to get a free spot in Broome the system would fail. Backpackers are the worst as they know when the rangers start and finish. The go down to Cable Beach and the race course to stay the night free and then get up and sort out their vans. They are a pain in the butt.

FollowupID: 688518

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian, SA - Thursday, May 27, 2010 at 15:49

Thursday, May 27, 2010 at 15:49
MacDonnel Ranges CP in the Alice is always our pick - pristine throughout and a reasonable tariff (you can save $ a bit further out, but we only stay a day or two in town anyway). Re Broome - on our only visit, we drifted into town mid morning (after camping about 100km out) - much better chances then - we tried the nearest CP to the road in (Tarangau CP - second rung, but good enough) and got a space on the spot, under a spreading mango tree (had to pinch ourselves !). Won't always be that easy, but early to mid morning is the key I think. It would seem that no time is good for arriving at the high demand CP's. Agreed re not booking ahead - too restrictive on travel plans for anything less than a considerable stay.
AnswerID: 418425

Reply By: Rick (S.A.) - Thursday, May 27, 2010 at 16:41

Thursday, May 27, 2010 at 16:41
Re Alice Springs:

You could always try the serene Temple Bar Caravan Park, Ilparpa Road, Alice Springs Ph (08) 8952 2533 Fax (08) 8952 2533.

It's a few short km south-west of the town, funnily enough near Temple Bar - aka Honeymoon Gap. Just 5 minutes from the above mentioned parks.

No way I'm going back to those parks - too loud, too suburban, too expensive.
AnswerID: 418437

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Thursday, May 27, 2010 at 19:05

Thursday, May 27, 2010 at 19:05
I'm with you Rick - Temple Bar suited us, being very safe, quiet and out of town in a nice location. It would not suit those who expect five star amenities.

Henry, check out my review on Badger's:
Badger's Caravan Park Reviews

We were devastated when we got there last year to find Temple Bar booked out. Show weekend and a long weekend was coming up and they were fully booked so we went into town and hated it. We had to stay in town to order and wait for an essential bolt before continuing our travels, and the long weekend made the wait even longer.

I understand that the old Wanngardi CP which is just across the creek from Temple Bar and right on Ilparpa Road is now open for business too.

FollowupID: 688539

Follow Up By: Rick (S.A.) - Thursday, May 27, 2010 at 23:50

Thursday, May 27, 2010 at 23:50
I went past that caravan park - i.e. Wanngardi. There was work being done which appeared to be upgrade type work, but I did not call in ; thus cannot vouch for it. It also looks to be a small park away from the hustle & bustle
FollowupID: 688576

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Friday, May 28, 2010 at 13:04

Friday, May 28, 2010 at 13:04
Re Wanngardi

This was discussed recently on the caravaners forum.

Caravaners Forum on Wanngardi

Read the second last post as this is a report from someone who checked out the park whilst staying at Temple Bar.

We loved the scenic and quiet location of Temple Bar; well off the road across the creek bed, grassed roomy sites, and the safety of out of town and with a lot of permanents and semi permanents which made a nice community atmosphere.

Mh

FollowupID: 688638

Reply By: Member - Henry L (SA) - Thursday, May 27, 2010 at 17:33

Thursday, May 27, 2010 at 17:33
Thanks to everybody who has replied.
lots of good suggestions and ideas.
I as usual we give it all to my good wife and let her make the decision as where she would like to camp. that way I can't get into trouble.
I hope to see a few members out on the track.

Thanks again
Henry.
AnswerID: 418442

Reply By: gjcumming - Thursday, May 27, 2010 at 19:24

Thursday, May 27, 2010 at 19:24
Hello henry.

We were in the same position as you in 2008 (hate pre-booking constraints). We rocked up to Broome without a booking (phone calls revealed nobody took bookings anyway, most just lined up & hoped for the best). We just went to the visitor centre, who display a vacancies board for all CV parks and the numerous overflow parks such as speedway, pistol club, PCYC etc etc. We got unpowered at the PCYC leading up to restricted powered later on ($20 - 25pn). You must like close company though. Did'nt worry us and the amenitys were as good as a CV park. And right in town too. Roll in and check them all out.
Regards: Grant
AnswerID: 418452

Reply By: yakodi - Thursday, May 27, 2010 at 19:57

Thursday, May 27, 2010 at 19:57
How long are you in Alice for? We have lived at the MacDonell Range van park twice in the last 6 years (3-5 month stays). While we were there a lot of the residents moved into the Gday mate cvan pk. Whatever their reasoning behind their decisions to move on - we had a great time. It's typical Big4 and Big$ for a big powered/unpowered site and resort style ammenities.

If we were camping in Alice we'd stay in town for a couple of nights and then get out of town - All of the listed places you can get a camper trailer into- some are free or about $4-10 per person Trephina Gorge, Ross River resort, Old Ambalindum Station, Ruby Gap, Redbank water hole, Owen springs, Birthday waterhole, Palm Valley, Redbank Gorge, Chambers Pillar, Glenn Helen resort, Rainbow Valley, Boggy Hole & Gem-tree.

The PCYC is not a bad spot as mentioned above in Broome - small sites but close to town beach and town.
Happy travels
AnswerID: 418460

Reply By: Member - Royce- Thursday, May 27, 2010 at 22:38

Thursday, May 27, 2010 at 22:38
I've stayed at the Heavy Tree Gap Caravan park dozens of times. I have no idea how nice the other ones are because this one feels like home! Rock wallabies come down to visit in the evening.
AnswerID: 418477

Reply By: Member - David C2 (VIC) - Thursday, May 27, 2010 at 23:43

Thursday, May 27, 2010 at 23:43
Hi Henry, Just a reminder that August will be a busy month in Alice with the Transport Hall of Fame reunion. I know you mentioned July but some will be travelling early so phone ahead.

Happy Travels Dave
AnswerID: 418482

Reply By: bruce - Friday, May 28, 2010 at 14:49

Friday, May 28, 2010 at 14:49
Just recently stayed at G,Day Mate at the Alice and while we did have a top spot near the amenities block and the hosts are top people ....I reckon at night one car went up and down the road outside 100 times or 100 cars went along the road at 5 to 10 min intervals....up the back of the park would not have heard it....cheers
AnswerID: 418544