Sunday History Photo / Au

Submitted: Sunday, May 30, 2010 at 05:00
ThreadID: 78889 Views:8845 Replies:8 FollowUps:1
DARWIN'S most famous export the iconic Darwin Stubby celebrated its 50th birthday back in 2008.
The 2.25L Darwin Stubby was conceived by Carlton and United Brewery in 1958 to satisfy the hearty appetite of Territory beer drinkers, whose love of the amber fluid could not be confined to 750ml, the largest grog vessel at the time. It quickly became the drink of choice for thirsty locals and tourists alike who were quick to get on board.
Although the NT Draught Darwin Stubby has had many incarnations over the years, it continues to be a much sought-after product and sells around 24,000 bottles each year.
The Darwin Stubby gives us a presence around the world, everyone knows about it. No one else has anything that big - it's as big as the Territory and everyone mentions it wherever you go, It’s now sold largely as a tourist gimmick, but very successfully.
Although no longer brewed in the Territory, many old-time Darwin locals can remember the days when the old Bishop St site pumped out hangovers as big as the bottle - by the dozen.
Beer has not been brewed in the Territory since Carlton United made NT Draught. The brewery closed in the late 1980s, taking the iconic Darwin Stubby to Queensland.

Below is some history about beer and the brewers.

The oldest brewery still in operation is the Cascade Brewery, established in Tasmania in 1824.
With exception of the family owned Coopers Brewery, all of the large Australian breweries are now owned by either the Foster's Group or Lion Nathan.

The first (official) brewer in Australia was John Boston who brewed a beverage from Indian corn bittered with cape gooseberry leaves.

By 1871 there were 126 breweries in Victoria alone which at the time had a population of only 800,000.

1824 – Peter Degraves starts the Cascade brewery in Tasmania. The brewery is still operating and is Australia’s oldest surviving brewery.
1835 – Tooth brewery is established in Sydney

1859 The South Australian Brewing Company was founded . There were two breweries, one in the West End of the Adelaide city centre (producing "West End" beers), and the other at Thebarton on the banks of the River Torrens north-west of the city centre (producing "Southwark" beers , The West End brewery was closed between the wars, and the operations consolidated with the Southwark brewery operations at the Thebarton site.
1837 – James Stokes establishes The Swan Brewery in central Perth, Australia . From 1879, it occupied riverside premises below Mount Eliza, This later became the Emu brewery.
1838 – Mr Moss establishes the first brewery in Melbourne.
1862 – Thomas Cooper establishes the Coopers Brewery. The brewery is still owned and operated by the Cooper family and is Australia’s largest independent brewery.
1864 – Carlton brewery opens in Melbourne
1881 - James Boag and his son James Boag II open the Esk Brewery (Aka Boag's Brewery) in Launceston.
1885 – Gambrinus brewery in Melbourne becomes the first brewery in Australia to brew Lager.
1886 – Fosters It was founded in Melbourne by two American brothers, William and Ralph Foster of New York, who happened to own a refrigeration plant, which was necessary to brew beer in Australia's hot climate. They sold the brewery the following year and returned to the United States 1889 – Lager is first brewed in Queensland at the Castlemaine and Quinlan brewery.

Sorry if I missed your favorite drop of amber fluid.

Reply By: Member - Nick - Sunday, May 30, 2010 at 05:13

Sunday, May 30, 2010 at 05:13
Doug,

Thanks again for another Sunday morning history lesson.
That should be the sort of history taught in schools!

Keep it up Doug.

Regards Nick
AnswerID: 418723

Follow Up By: Member - Patrick (QLD) - Sunday, May 30, 2010 at 07:40

Sunday, May 30, 2010 at 07:40
Another winner Doug, keep them coming.

FollowupID: 688863

Reply By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Sunday, May 30, 2010 at 09:22

Sunday, May 30, 2010 at 09:22
Enjoyed that read, thanks Doug.
Brought back memories of the Kiwi Flagon.

Used to watch the ol' boys struggling home with them after the 6 o'clock swill.
Even had cases especially designed to carry them, looked a bit like lawn bowls cases.

Remember my first beer when I was about 10 years old. Spent the day stacking firewood with dad. He reckoned I'd earned it.

Bloody beaudy......never tasted anything like it since.

Cheers.......Lionel.
AnswerID: 418735

Reply By: Member - Scoot (SA) - Sunday, May 30, 2010 at 09:33

Sunday, May 30, 2010 at 09:33
Thanks Doug another ripper.

Keep up the great work.

Scoot. :-)
AnswerID: 418739

Reply By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Sunday, May 30, 2010 at 10:39

Sunday, May 30, 2010 at 10:39
Thanks for another interesting read Doug. Always look forward to them.
We went round Australia in 1981 from Wollongong clockwise.(did it in 6 weeks school holidays) We were surprised to find them made in Bundaberg at that time. Missed seeing them in Darwin so bought one in Bundy as a souvenier. Still have it UNOPENED to this day. I'm not sure if it is a bomb now or what. Regards, Bob.

AnswerID: 418746

Reply By: Member - Brian (WA) - Sunday, May 30, 2010 at 11:51

Sunday, May 30, 2010 at 11:51
Hi Doug
Back in late 70's used to run the Friday night chook raffles for my football club.
I got hold of 6 carton's of them, I think there were 4 to a carton. I gave
these a go instead of the chooks one Friday and could not sell enough tickets,
Had people coming to me instead of me going round the club selling tickets.
Yes I can well remember those.
AnswerID: 418759

Reply By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Sunday, May 30, 2010 at 14:40

Sunday, May 30, 2010 at 14:40
Hi Doug, yes we remember them, did a trip to Darwin in 81, picked up two, one for ourselves, still unopened, and one to run as a raffle for the Kindegarten, we raised $100 with that stubby on the night, actually the night was a good fundraiser, hubby paid $36 for a pavlova (I make pavlovas), in his defence he did stop bidding at $12 but the auctioneer of the night kept bidding for him.
Good memories there Doug.

Deanna

Simba, our much missed baby.

AnswerID: 418775

Reply By: Member - Damien L (Cairns) - Sunday, May 30, 2010 at 15:18

Sunday, May 30, 2010 at 15:18
Thanks for that Doug. The Darwin stubby was produced here in Cairns for awhile with Cairns Draught. I think now days it is VB.
Glad to see you put the BEST beer in Australia next to it in your firs picture.

Regards Damien
Love the bush

AnswerID: 418778

Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Sunday, May 30, 2010 at 17:10

Sunday, May 30, 2010 at 17:10
What a shameful waste, I read where some of you bought a Darwin Stubby many years ago and you say it's still unopened, Shame....shame....Shame,
I bought a set of 4 back in the 80s, each one was a carton, set them up with a different side of the carton and it formed a panoramic view of Ayres Rock,
NOW READ THIS, I drank the contents and refilled them with WATER,

Damien
I knew I forgot to do something ....I forgot to run that photo through the Photo editing software and cut that small bottle out..

AnswerID: 418802