LPG bottle Filling Confirmation/GAS question.

Submitted: Friday, Jun 18, 2010 at 16:43
ThreadID: 79447 Views:15379 Replies:6 FollowUps:14

At risk of getting some 'negative' responses back due to two recent threads running on the 'price of filling gas bottles', this is similar, ....but a bit different.

Recently I looked at buying an LPG bottle, that is filled yourself from the petrol station LPG filler.
I dont remember the actual size, but it was 60-70cm high and about 30cm across, having the same set up as a car lpg gas tank filler.
You basically pay the forecourt price of filling your gas bottle yourself, same as you would your car.

I use currently 'camping gaz' and for a N907 bottle, 3.00kg Butane blue bottle(cylinder). At usually around 20 euro to 'exchange' the bottle, it will soon pay for itself if using alot of gas.
I run my Cadac safari chef off this N907 and although our 3 way fridge can do, gas is too expensive to use on the fridge. our Cadac gets about 3 hours of continuous running out of a bottle.
I do like the idea of paying 0.60 euro cents a litre for gas though. !!

(Somewhere, there is info on the size of jet used and pressure used for equipment, (bbq/heater etc) and the different pressure. My cadac came with two different size jets.)

I understand there is no difference between car lpg and equipment lpg and the only difference is some form of filter used.
We looked at converting our petrol vw kombi to LPG and use the same tank for both engine and fridge/cooker. Was not possible to use same tank, but can use same LPG.

Are these cylinders available in Aust? anybody using?

The cost of the bottle, would soon pay for itself through refills I calculate.

Cheers Paul

Reply By: snapper49 - Friday, Jun 18, 2010 at 17:45

Friday, Jun 18, 2010 at 17:45
I have seen notices on lpg filler stations that bottles and fork lift type cylinders are not to be filled
AnswerID: 421331

Follow Up By: Member - Charlie M (SA) - Friday, Jun 18, 2010 at 18:09

Friday, Jun 18, 2010 at 18:09
Forklift bottles can only be filled from service station outlet same as car if fitted to forklikt, NOT taken in as loose bottle.
Chass
FollowupID: 691689

Follow Up By: snapper49 - Friday, Jun 18, 2010 at 19:27

Friday, Jun 18, 2010 at 19:27
Signs I have seen wont allow forklift bottles to be filled from bowser period
ie wether in forklift or not
This occurs in south australia maybe different in other states
Some early lpg systems particularly on F100's utilised fork lift gas bottles
A few years back they stopped filling them also
All the forklifts I know now use an exchange system
FollowupID: 691706

Follow Up By: dbish - Friday, Jun 18, 2010 at 20:23

Friday, Jun 18, 2010 at 20:23
Hi snapper, in country SA you drive in & fill the fork lift no changeover cylinders out here. Daryl
FollowupID: 691716

Follow Up By: snapper49 - Friday, Jun 18, 2010 at 21:35

Friday, Jun 18, 2010 at 21:35
From woolworths

FILLING OF FORKLIFTS
The filling of LPG bottles on the back of registered forklifts is not permitted at our sites. As per AS 1596, bottles must be fi tted with an automatic fill limiting valve and permanently mounted. Console operators must check this prior to filling. Our sites are unable to conduct this check, so filling isn't permitted.

FILLING PORTABLE CONTAINERS
Only approved containers can be filled (has Standard AS2906 label or mark) with petrol or other fuels. They must be metal or plastic containers and can be purchased from petrol stations.

Woolworths Petrol policy is that only containers up to 25 litres can be filled at petrol stations. Greater quantities can build up a static charge and cause a fire or explosion. By law, filling of larger containers such as 205 litres (44 gallon) drums is illegal.

When filling containers they must be placed firmly on the ground, in the open air, not in the boot of a car or ute, as this can increase the risk of fi re and explosion.
FollowupID: 691727

Follow Up By: Dion - Friday, Jun 18, 2010 at 21:46

Friday, Jun 18, 2010 at 21:46
Strewth, I mostly fill at Woolies/Caltex outlets, and never take the jerry out of the Kaymar rear bar. Never had an attendant/cashier tell me not too.

(yeah, I know, nothing to do with lpg)

regards,
Dion.
FollowupID: 691729

Follow Up By: CruisinDub - Saturday, Jun 19, 2010 at 01:23

Saturday, Jun 19, 2010 at 01:23
This is the link to the cylinders I was mentioning:

http://www.tinleytech.co.uk/acatalog/Camping_Accessories.html
FollowupID: 691739

Follow Up By: CruisinDub - Saturday, Jun 19, 2010 at 01:23

Saturday, Jun 19, 2010 at 01:23
This is the link to the cylinders I was referring to:

FollowupID: 691740

Follow Up By: Member - david m2 (SA) - Saturday, Jun 19, 2010 at 22:19

Saturday, Jun 19, 2010 at 22:19
what about the 150l tank in my boat Im sure as hell not lifting that out to fill it
FollowupID: 691853

Reply By: CruisinDub - Saturday, Jun 19, 2010 at 01:06

Saturday, Jun 19, 2010 at 01:06

As a follow up, here is a website of the 'camping' LPG cylinders.

Looks good value, cant see that it would take too long to reclaim your money back at the LPG per-litre prices.

I was thinking of getting one of these for running our 3 way fridge.

By all accounts getting it filled in Aus could be an issue?

Cheers Paul
AnswerID: 421382

Follow Up By: Ianw - Saturday, Jun 19, 2010 at 19:21

Saturday, Jun 19, 2010 at 19:21
Those cylinders would not have Australian certification and therefore illegal here.

It is also, I believe, illegal to fill a cylinder from a service (petrol) station which are the only common LPG filling stations with cheap gas.

FollowupID: 691819

Reply By: Pushy - Saturday, Jun 19, 2010 at 08:07

Saturday, Jun 19, 2010 at 08:07
It is a bit difficult to understand what you are asking but I offer the following advice. Car gas is different to camping gas. Camping gas which you get decanted into cylinders at the hardware or camping store is 100% Propane whilst car gas is a mixture, from memory, of Propane and Butane.

You must make sure you are using the right gas for each piece of equipment.
AnswerID: 421384

Follow Up By: Member - DOZER- Saturday, Jun 19, 2010 at 09:27

Saturday, Jun 19, 2010 at 09:27
Car gas has a certain percentage of Butane in it..60/40 is it??..camping gas is 100% propane One is called LP-gas, the other LPG....100% propane as in camping gas has more octane or jewles to Butane, so motor goes better, small outback servos get 100% propane and sell it for more as car gas..hence one reason gas is more expensive off the beaten track.
FollowupID: 691755

Follow Up By: snapper49 - Saturday, Jun 19, 2010 at 13:38

Saturday, Jun 19, 2010 at 13:38
hmm depends on where you buy your lpg as to what mixture you get
One servo at bellchambers road Elizebeth SA sells 100% propane for use in cars (advertisers it as well) and Im told on Eyre peninsula that it is also pure propane although I cant confirm that
FollowupID: 691774

Follow Up By: Member - DOZER- Saturday, Jun 19, 2010 at 20:27

Saturday, Jun 19, 2010 at 20:27
Yep, its easier for the smaller chains to have one tank for both uses, but you will pay more for 100% propane gas....
FollowupID: 691828

Reply By: bobsabobsa - Saturday, Jun 19, 2010 at 09:26

Saturday, Jun 19, 2010 at 09:26
Hi, Cruisindub

You are talking in euro and reference to Uk site for the gas bottle .
Here in Australia the Law would be different to that in Europe regarding gas filling and maybe even the propane ratio could be different in the mixture of LPG.
Regards Bob
AnswerID: 421391

Follow Up By: RovingOz (QLD) - Saturday, Jun 26, 2010 at 00:02

Saturday, Jun 26, 2010 at 00:02
(sorry to intrude on the post here folks)
G'day Bob,
How did you go with that Truma LPG space heater? Did it meet your expectations? I'm thinking of fitting one in the van. Could you advise where you purchased it?
FollowupID: 692522

Reply By: Fatso - Saturday, Jun 19, 2010 at 20:13

Saturday, Jun 19, 2010 at 20:13
Snapper49 hit the nail on the head when he posted woolworths policy
"As per AS 1596, bottles must be fitted with an automatic fill limiting valve and permanently mounted"
Because of the huge difference in the price of home delivered gas for my hot water system & the gas at the bouser I looked into taking the bottle down to the servo & filling it.
I thought I would only have buy or make an adaptor.
How wrong I was.
Fatso
AnswerID: 421461

Follow Up By: Member - david m2 (SA) - Saturday, Jun 19, 2010 at 22:25

Saturday, Jun 19, 2010 at 22:25
i know people that fill their home gas bottles at the servo. No problems with a home made adaptor and a hiace van ( bottle in the side door) It burns a bit sootier on the hot plates but heater and hot water service is no difference
FollowupID: 691855

Reply By: fisho64 - Saturday, Jun 26, 2010 at 02:30

Saturday, Jun 26, 2010 at 02:30
no one else seems to have asked-so I suspect I have missed something and will be ragged for it-

why are you quoting "euro cents" for gas?
AnswerID: 422158