Baumr-AG chainsaws

Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 28, 2010 at 20:06
ThreadID: 80379 Views:29214 Replies:7 FollowUps:1
Wondering if anyone has any experience with these chainsaws.A friend of mine has just bought 2, 72cc jobs with 24inch bars off ebay for $250 and the sthil is around $1200 for that size .Guess they are made in china but does this mean they are of a inferior quality.Like a lot i stick to name brands and tend to look after equipment and keep it for the long haul.Will this gear last.

Cheers Graeme.

Reply By: dbish - Wednesday, Jul 28, 2010 at 22:27

Wednesday, Jul 28, 2010 at 22:27
Hi Graeme, Checked them out on Ebay & seem ok for the money. But I have owned a Stihl for 25 Yrs & seen a lot of work (4 bars & 8 chains 2 carby kits 2 spark plugs & repair kit for chain oiler pump) & original motor & still going. Recently purchased a GMC chain saw, mechanicly OK But a lot of breakable plastic used & so will need to be treated carefully. Daryl.
AnswerID: 425609

Reply By: Hairs & Fysh - Thursday, Jul 29, 2010 at 07:02

Thursday, Jul 29, 2010 at 07:02
Hi Graeme,
Hi just purchased one, a 18"bar 42ccto take camping. Cost $139.00, a buy now price with delivery included. and then I bought a case from the local Still dealer for $75.00.
I only use it for small stuff and not very often. Assembled it, stuck some fuel mix in, Bar lube and off she went. Cut a few old fence posts up, then put it away. Got it out the other day, started second pull, cut up an other fence post.
All up, $213.00, can't complain.
Before I bought it I had found a forum, A Lawn maintenance forum or something like that, where they were talking about their brshs cuttesr, Chainsaws, post hole borers. and a lot of guys were happy with them, a common comment was, that they are not to be used day in, day out. If you need something for that continual kinda work, spend the money on a Still. I figured the guys that weren't happy were using it pretty hard. Hmm
I think this was the Forum.
Baumr-AG chainsaw
For something I'm only going to use a few times a year, it will do me.

AnswerID: 425623

Reply By: Member - Barnray (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 29, 2010 at 08:15

Thursday, Jul 29, 2010 at 08:15
I have had one for 18mths now and they do work well and start easy, but there is a weak link in the air cleaner. I have heard of some saw's wearing out very quickly because the cleaner is not fine enough and leaks around the edge. Barnray
AnswerID: 425626

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Thursday, Jul 29, 2010 at 08:27

Thursday, Jul 29, 2010 at 08:27
I did notice that it seemed to be not fine enough, the air filter, I'll double check it. I wonder if I might be able to use a piece of filter foam over a fine mesh, something like what a Briggs & Stratton ride on mower uses for a pre cleaner wrapped around the paper filter?.
Cheers for the heads up.

FollowupID: 696116

Reply By: Rainman WA - Thursday, Jul 29, 2010 at 11:06

Thursday, Jul 29, 2010 at 11:06
A mate of mine bought a Baumr AG chainsaw for $120 off Ebay so he could start cutting several hundred tons of Wandoo that had been dumped on his property nearly a 100 year ago when the district was cleared.

Wandoo makes Jarrah look like balsa, especially when its been seasoned for 100 years. His Baumr is currently in it second season of almost continuous cutting every week end and has not let him down, cutting ton after ton without complaint. The only issue has been the need to keep resharpening, but it would be the same with any saw you were using under the conditions the wood is that hard.

I spent a day out there last spring and I worked it for well over eight hours almost non stop. In that one day alone I reckon it more than made up for the $120 price tag.

He has been so impressed he's bought a second one so one can be worked while the other is being sharpened. He has that much wood he estimates he's probably got another two seasons of cutting to get rid of it all.

I would have to say its probably the best thing I've ever seen bought off Ebay. His was made in Italy by the way. I have no affiliation.
AnswerID: 425634

Reply By: Member - bungarra (WA) - Thursday, Jul 29, 2010 at 11:38

Thursday, Jul 29, 2010 at 11:38

Purchased my first one... a small lighter weight for overhead pruning etc about b4 years ago..works a treat

Purchased another one 2 weeks ago a larger unit the 4.1hp..very happy again..already cut heaps of jarrah

and for the record I have always owned Stihl and purchase the first Baumr-Ag as an experiment ..so hapy that when my Stihl Farm Boss needed replacement I decided to go Baumr again as explained above

They might be a copy but they are getting darn good at copying !

go for it

Life is a journey, it is not how we fall down, it is how we get up.
VKS 1341

AnswerID: 425639

Reply By: Road Warrior - Thursday, Jul 29, 2010 at 14:16

Thursday, Jul 29, 2010 at 14:16
Hi guys, have a read of this thread on Whirlpool:

Baumr AG thread
AnswerID: 425646

Reply By: pdm3006 - Thursday, Jul 29, 2010 at 22:57

Thursday, Jul 29, 2010 at 22:57
Hi.
I too bought one off eBay a couple of years back. Only gets used about 10 times per year and so couldn't justify the cost of a Stihl or similar.
So far it hasn't missed a beat.
Peter.
AnswerID: 425702