What spares and tools to carry?

Had the morning off, and just asked a question (Thread ID: 82906) about the need to carry a HF radio, and it got me thinking I would ask here what others carry as spares and tools.

We tour in a short wheel base 07 Jeep Wrangler with the rear seats removed, cupboards and fridge on a slide in the back and we tow a Camprite off road trailer.

When we purchased the Jeep we had our mechanic put her up on the hoist and help us make up a tool kit wrap with every tool that suits the vehicle specifically as it saves carrying full kits with tools not needed. We then purchased the normal set of hoses, belts and filters. We packed half a litre of brake fluid, ATF and steering box oil, one litre of diff and transfer box oil, five litres of engine oil and bars leak for the radiator. We also found room to carry one of each different shock absorber, (including for the trailer) The trailer and Jeep use the same wheels and tyres so we have in effect two spares (one on the back door of the Jeep and one under the Camprite) We have a tyre repair kit, a spare tube, a windscreen repair kit, Selleys Knead it and a box of various nuts, bolts, fuses and electrical fittings.

That’s about it for what we started out with!

Event 1. Blew a starter battery up (yes it exploded) it was a factory fitted yellow top Optima. The Jeep was four months old. (Jeep said it was not covered under warranty because the Jeep was heavily modified with lots of not factory accessories connected to the battery - UHF radio and spotties) we had to borrow and cut up some jump starter leads to jury rig the house/aux batteries under the Jeep to the starter battery position to get her going.

Add one set of heavy duty battery jump leads.

Event 2. Blew a hole in the turbo hose (Jeep factory standard hoses are known for this – now) wrapped it with tape and limped into the nearest town. When we got home we purchased a aftermarket set of stainless steel hoses with silicone ends and special clamps.

Add one section of silicone hose and two spare clamps.

Event 3. Holed a sump (rock caught between front axle/diff assembly and sump when it was all going up when going through a severe creek crossing). Camped the night at the creek crossing to let her cool down and in the morning, used Selleys Kneed it to repair the hole and used the 5 litres of engine oil to refill.

Add 5 more tubes of Selleys kneed it (they have one for every different material).

Event 4. Major Fire, under the bonnet and eventually under the floor (aux battery compartment). It took five 1 kilo fire extinguishers and a 20ltr jerry of water to extinguish. Aux batteries destroyed, brake reservoir melted, extensive wiring burnt out, no wire for fridge, UHF, no headlights, blinkers, brake lights, Basically all vehicle wiring destroyed except the engine and transmission computers. So, after releasing the burnt on handbrake cable by cutting it loose from where it melted to the underside of the floor, we could start and drive the Jeep, slowly with no brakes at all. We found a camp site at and set up for a few days repairs. Used all the rolls of wire and electrical clips to rig what we needed to get us going (still with no brakes) to Birdsville where we purchased more wire and rewired the rest, incl patching the brakes temporarily.

Now carry 4 1kilo fire extinguishers, lots more electrical bitts and pieces and two big rolls of wire.

3 years and 76,000klms around Oz (the most interesting way we can find) in an American made 4x4 - some will say we are mad -but it has / continues to be fun. we just need to make sure we take the correct spares and tools.

Steve and Carol

Reply By: Member - Phil 'n Jill (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 14:49

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 14:49
Crikey Steve & Carol - looks like you are very well prepared - and resourceful. Think I would have been on the radio way back about event 1 or 2.

I don't know where on earth you find the room for all that gear but the old adage applies - "It is better to be looking at it, than looking for it'.

Keep on truckin'

Cheers - Phil
Phil 'n Jill (WA)

AnswerID: 438236

Follow Up By: Member - Mawso (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 15:11

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 15:11
Thanks Phill,

Resourcefulness comes from a life in motor sport, my son is still heavilly involved. Most around race cars and race tracks will not quit, its been many a long night before a race (the night before the race) when the engine or gearbox is out in peices trying to sort out a new problem and you learn to take along as many spares as you can fit. My son competes in the Targa Tasmania each year and being based in Perth you do have to plan well and be resourceful.

Our problem is we have chosen a Jeep, built in America and with little to no factory back up here in WA. We do feel we are on our own out in the bush but so far have coped well with the breakages.

We will keep on trucking, The Simpson crossing and home via Anee Beadell highway is planned for next May. (no camper this trip)

Regards Steve.

FollowupID: 709893

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 15:52

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 15:52
Cant resist the old adage Theres only one good Jeep and you didnt get it.

Must have been a Monday car for all that to go wrong.

We carried a full tool box 2 spares two tubes a tyre repair kit a compressor 10 l of oil, recovery gear an HF and Satfone, Radiator hoses spare belts, UHF, spare water and fuel and all we got was 2 stuffed van tyres in 55,000k.
Apart from services had no issues with car at all.

AnswerID: 438245

Follow Up By: Member - Mawso (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 16:17

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 16:17
Actually its been a great truck, has got us to many places that others fear to tread. The combined length of the Wrangler and the camper is 9mtrs and being a shorty it turns on sixpence. you wont find many 4x4s that can get to where we take our jeep (with the trailer) and add lockers and a winch and we do go anywhere the track takes us.

Monday car...well maybe, but they dont screw them together most of the rest of the week any better, or so we are told.

Yes what to carry is the reason for our thread. a HF and Satphone is interesting, can I ask why and have you had any reason to use them?

Steve.
FollowupID: 709902

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 16:42

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 16:42
Just in case was the reason Only used the satfone once and the HF never.

Was working on theory of "you cant use what you havent got if you need it"

FollowupID: 709911

Reply By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 16:00

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 16:00
Steve, odd you should mention about the Optima battery I had one (used as my Aux battery) that was only 6mths old start to vent sulphuric acid and warp. Battery and battery box were almost too hot to touch. This was a fortnight ago fortunately the battery was replaced under warrenty. Scary thing is that my aux battery is in the back of my car and not under the bonnet.

Having a Terracan I know what it's like being tight for space and juditial packing. Trouble is having to pack so tight sometimes means ......mm where did I put that so and so.

AnswerID: 438249

Follow Up By: Member - Mawso (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 16:30

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 16:30
It’s been a battle to find out, and not admitted by Jeep, but Chrysler Jeep in the US had a deal with Optima to make some to Jeeps spec for the CRD Wrangler (only in OZ, Asia and Europe) and these early models had lots blow up. When replaced with the genuine article there appears to be no more problems with the Optima.

They are suppose to be the best there is and made especially for off road conditions (corrugations and vibrations) The US defence forces use them? They are also suppose to be fully sealed and safe to be put inside your wagon (ours were underneath in a steel box – no room in the engine bay)
Optima will honour the warranty, they are a reputable company.

Hey Dunc, have we met? I think it was on a 4x4 driver training week end... if so Im sure you would remember the bright red Jeep?

Steve.
FollowupID: 709904

Follow Up By: Member - Phil 'n Jill (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 16:31

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 16:31
Hey Dunc

In my advancing years I take the precaution of noting down 'where I put that' - but when we get underway, do you think I can locate that darn notebook.... P
Phil 'n Jill (WA)

FollowupID: 709905

Follow Up By: Member - Mawso (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 16:42

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 16:42
After 75,000klms tripping around in the Jeep we now have AA batteries in the glove box,centre consoul, two drawers in the back and in the small kitchen drawer in the camper..... because each of those places we have been sure on different trips were where we put the spare batteries... before the last trip I bought a big pack from Dick Smiths, broke em up and put them everywhere we have looked before . Always find AA batteries "just where we put them"now.

Steve.
FollowupID: 709910

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 17:36

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 17:36
Hi Dunc

As you may or may not know, I live a little remote from just about anywhere. Two additional things I always carry are some tie wire and an old set of stocking. The tie wire has already come in handy heaps of times for holding minor breakages, and old stocking make a quick and easy fan belt, and they do work.

The one other things that I always have handy is a full roll of duct tape, and it is amazing how often I have used it.

Other than that my entire ute of my Hilux is Fuel, water and spares, plus a 7 drawer Sidchrome kit, but then I regularly go out to the Tanami or CSR to help the stranded and lost, and you would be surprised with the problems that some people have, normally things you would not plan for.

Why travel overseas, you could travel Australia your entire life, and not see it all.

FollowupID: 709928

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 18:53

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 18:53
Hi Steve I had a suspision that it was you. Yes I remember your set-up quite well, very impressive and where you've got the 2nd battery is very imaginative.

The auto sparky said he'd never seen an Optima do what mine did and when they tested it it was charging and delivering nicely. Thing just boiled, possible over charging issue, who knows? Fortunately the original one was a replacement battery that died under warrenty due to an electrical fault under the bonnet and was replaced under warrenty so I only had a small outlay to cover the extra cost of the Optima.

FollowupID: 709946

Reply By: Member - peter f (VIC) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 18:27

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 18:27
how are ?
its not uncommon to hear of an underbonnet fire in a jeep , there only 20yrs
behind the jap 4wds . make sure you carry enough oil to do a complete oil change
. as for yellow optima batteries !!!!!. they should be all thrown in the river . we ran them in ambulances in vic a few years ago . everyone had the top bulge up , strange an all as it seems , the battery people said no its not a battery fault its a vehicle problem , never heard that response before .?????????
cheers mechpete
AnswerID: 438269

Follow Up By: Member - Mawso (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 18:48

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 18:48
Yes I have noticed how modern all the new Jap 4x4s are. When I climbed under a few of them recently to attach my snatch strap /winch rope to give them a little help, I noticed how modern their front ends were! looked just like my car back home! they are all IFS it seems. ;)

I have dealt with Jeep dealers for the last three years there is no excuse i have not heard.
FollowupID: 709945

Reply By: BrownyGU - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 18:54

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 18:54
S&C

I reckon you can sometimes carry to much stuff (spares etc) with all the added weight can add to problems, ya hear stories of early 40 series off roaders who used to carry spare axles along with heaps of other stuff just in case they snapped an axle, and guess what they did!

For what it's worth, I reckon taking six "spare" shockies is over kill, Mate surely you can just fit a GOOD after market set and at most carry One spare? And 4x 1 kilo fire extinguishers? I know you needed them once, but man I don't know how you mentaly handle heading off on a trip in a vehicle that might just spontaniously combust!!

I know it's good to be self reliant and be able to get yourself going in certain situations, but just wonder if the added stressof the extra weight on any vehicle can add to breakdowns.

Sounds like you've done some great trips though!

Cheers.........Browny
AnswerID: 438276

Follow Up By: Member - Mawso (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 19:40

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 19:40
Yes I was not clear re the shocks, I carry two spares in the Jeep (the front and rear are different) and one spare in the tool box of the trailer.

I hear what you say about too much, and I suppose thats why I posed the question "What spares and tools to carry"

I have added to my spares a stub axle and uni joint after having heard about Wranglers that chew through them on a regular basis and carry that extra weight.

All I can do is add stuff every time I hear about another weakness in the model vehicle or I find something I don't have that I need when out there and leave behind gear that I find over time we don't need/use (the same for camping gear) its a game really.

We weigh in (local weigh bridge) before our big trips and have, so far, come in just under max legal weight for combined Jeep and Camprite. The Wrangler is all coil suspension with short wheel base so it feels the weight so we are careful how we pack.
FollowupID: 709970

Follow Up By: Member - Mawso (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 19:54

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 19:54
For instance we have (at last count) six different ways to cook a meal, a gas two burner stove built into the campers kitchen, a Cob with all its attachments, a cast iron camp oven, a bbq plate with attachable sides and back, two butane gas little single stoves in a drawer in the back of the Jeep and a dick smith 12volt oven. I say every time we pack to go "surly we don't need all this" Most of it wall stay home in future to make way for more spares and tools :)

I have a $80.00 Frisks log splitter (wonderful tool) packed away safe in the back of the Jeep and in 75,000klms and nearly every night with a camp fire, I have yet to use it. Its so nice it will stay in the Jeep along with my oil skin coat (dry as a bone) and wellys (gum boots) all not needed as yet (even in Tassie)

As I said : its all a game!

Steve.
FollowupID: 709977

Follow Up By: BrownyGU - Friday, Dec 10, 2010 at 01:15

Friday, Dec 10, 2010 at 01:15
Mawso,

Orrrr a log splitter, man your a beauty! A Master Chef Kitchen, stub axels,

Great Stuff
FollowupID: 710164

Reply By: roberttbruce - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 19:48

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 19:48
good onya' S&C, there is just no adventure in ringing the RACQ...
AnswerID: 438287

Follow Up By: Member - Mawso (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 20:06

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 20:06
Now thats another story:

We have platinum cover with RAC WA (highest cover you can have and includes recovery of vehicle and trailer) When we had the big fire on the Strzelecki track I was overcome with extinguisher powder for a while and we did use the satellite phone to call RACSA for help. Made a mistake when we told them we had had a fire and they said they cant help as it was an insurance problem not a break down. we thought if only we could get a tow into Lyndhurst we could get the Jeep going again. RACSA said no, so we rang Shannons who said if we can get it going again we could (if we really wanted to) continue our holiday. Thats what we did.

So I have rang RAC for help to no avail. havn't bothered to renew.

Steve.
FollowupID: 709980

Reply By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 23:36

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2010 at 23:36
i admit in advance i have had a quick read but exactly how or what caused the fire, that is my BIGGEST fear in my car, i have fuses and breakers in as many places as possible due to my "fear" of fire .....
AnswerID: 438326

Follow Up By: Member - Mawso (WA) - Thursday, Dec 09, 2010 at 02:26

Thursday, Dec 09, 2010 at 02:26
One result of a fire is the destruction of the evidence of the cause of the fire.

There were many theories:

There was an oil (or something) fire under the brake master cylinder (near the turbo) in the engine bay followed by electrical wires melting and igniting on the other side of the engine bay followed by an enormous fire in the batteries under the floor that burnt through the floor, through the carpet and burnt the bottom swab out of the passenger’s seat.

It started in the turbo charger area of the engine bay as other fires in Jeeps have been reported as starting resulting in total destruction of many jeeps as shown on TV news often. There is reports of transmission oil expanding up the dip stick tube and spilling out over the turbo, but we have no evidence of this as the start of the fire.

Once it took hold it burnt through major electrical wires carrying power forward to the winch and backwards to the Anderson plug on the rear bumper sending charge to the trailer batteries. In the process, it appears, the earth cables were charged with positive as they showed the worst melted/burnt condition. Charge was being supplied from the jeeps starter battery, the auxiliary batteries under the car floor and the battery in the trailer. We had fuses on all the positive lines at every battery positive terminal but none on the earth (negative) line terminals. The fuse in the trailer battery box blew and the Anderson plug melted on the bumper protecting the trailer battery, the fuse blew at the cranking battery positive terminal (just before the Redarc Isolator that was totalled) protecting that battery but the two auxiliary batteries under the Jeep caught fire in a big way (and were very difficult to fight).

Two auto electricians who examined the mess after we returned home, suggested the fire burnt through the insulation on the large wires serving the winch and charging power around the vehicle and where the earth (negative = black) cable that went past the auxiliary batteries was melted by the positive (active = red) beside it, it shorted on the positive terminal of the aux batteries, and as the negative side was not fused it continued to be a source of an ever increasing electrical fire.

Five fire extinguishers later (2 from our jeep, 1 from our trailers kitchen and 2 from other vehicles that pulled up to help us) plus a 20 litre jerry of water poured in behind the passenger’s seat finally put the fire out.

I did keep fighting because it is a diesel so I was not afraid of it exploding, but I did end up sick from the extinguishers powder from having my head in the vehicle trying to put the fire out under the passenger’s seat.

The damage was $15,000 and Shannon’s gladly paid out as they said most fires are a right off as most people do not / cannot fight a vehicle fire. So they said my efforts saved them money.

Its fixed as good as new now as we had it rewired with a new DCDC charger that only needs 30 amp wires and we have installed fuses on both positive and negative terminals everywhere. I have also invented a way of locking down our dip stick. ?

Steve.
FollowupID: 710050