An observation...

Submitted: Friday, Nov 14, 2003 at 12:45
ThreadID: 8525 Views:2208 Replies:5 FollowUps:5
Just looking at recent posts and it struck me as kinda funny that the post that has generated by far the most chat recently was about turkish delights and chocolate. Also, one of the most often discussed topics on this forum is fridges to keep the beer and wine (oh, and food) cool. So am I right in thinking that our order of priorities is 1) beer/wine, 2) chocolates/munchies then 3) 4WDriving/touring????

:o) MelissaPetrol 4.5L GU Patrol &
Camprite TL8 offroad camper
http://members.westnet.com.au/flatdog

Reply By: Willem - Friday, Nov 14, 2003 at 13:08

Friday, Nov 14, 2003 at 13:08
Hi Melissa,
Unfortunately the beer thing seems to be synonymous with 4wdriving and has been since the 4by became popular in the '70s. I suppose it is a form of stress relief for some and a bit of Ockerism for the majority. Been there and done that.....it is only later in life that you start to realise it is not worth it especially when all kinds of ailments appear. I would rate beer right at the bottom of my list and very seldom drink the stuff. Munchies we have to have and the majority of us see the results of excessive munchie munching remain in our waistline :o). I would put 4WDriving/Touring and camping as my number 1 priority and try to get out as often as financial constraints allow. From what I see on a previous thread however a lot of 4WDriving gets done in Shopping Centre carparks!!!
Willem

Always going somewhere
AnswerID: 37296

Reply By: Arkay - Friday, Nov 14, 2003 at 13:33

Friday, Nov 14, 2003 at 13:33
Sorry Melissa, not going there.
AnswerID: 37298

Reply By: diamond(bendigo) - Friday, Nov 14, 2003 at 13:46

Friday, Nov 14, 2003 at 13:46
gday mellisa.
the order would be.
go 4wdriving enjoy your self.
after a great day have a beer(that your legally allowed to have)or wine/soft drink.
then on the way home have your chocky.
im only relaying an answer lol.back by popular demand
:-)
AnswerID: 37300

Follow Up By: Member - Des Lexik(SA) - Friday, Nov 14, 2003 at 15:53

Friday, Nov 14, 2003 at 15:53
Diamond, did you always do as your mum tells you to do. If you're seeing her on the weekend, give her a hug from me and pour her another Mud pot. It's a Baileys and coke and she stocked up.LOLne cede malis
FollowupID: 27033

Follow Up By: diamond(bendigo) - Friday, Nov 14, 2003 at 17:52

Friday, Nov 14, 2003 at 17:52
hug mum.
yuck lolback by popular demand
:-)
FollowupID: 27046

Follow Up By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Friday, Nov 14, 2003 at 18:51

Friday, Nov 14, 2003 at 18:51
boo hoo...and I'm stocked up with Baileys and Coke...don't I get a hugnemo me impune lacessit

FollowupID: 27049

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Nov 14, 2003 at 19:50

Friday, Nov 14, 2003 at 19:50
Cuddles Lyn 21 years young hehehe, Baileys and Coke for you and Tequila for me
Laterally Literal
Seriously Cerebral
FollowupID: 27056

Follow Up By: Andrew - Saturday, Nov 15, 2003 at 07:43

Saturday, Nov 15, 2003 at 07:43
Baileys on Vanilla Icecream is pretty special.......
FollowupID: 27081

Reply By: Member - Eskimo - Friday, Nov 14, 2003 at 17:54

Friday, Nov 14, 2003 at 17:54
I dont think any order is relevant....just as long as theres a 4wd,chocies and alcohol (of some description) Wow! am I cute
If yer ain't fishing, Yer ain't livin
AnswerID: 37326

Reply By: JohnR - Friday, Nov 14, 2003 at 22:34

Friday, Nov 14, 2003 at 22:34
Melissa, you are spot on. Not always in the products that are mentioned by you there but just think of the fact we all look for quality that delights us. Not always the cheapest beer these days. Not to excess but like to try some local product. Well most times.

Taking it to the directions of the posts, off to the York Peninsula for the summer or Tasmania instead of the inland. My wife searches her homework in Gourmet Traveller to see what delicacies are available. It has been to my peril if i am unaware of where she is taking me!! (That is another story too)

I just reckon it is nice to get the fresh fish or shellfish locally and the local brew if there is one otherwise substitute Coopers, scallop pies in eastern Tassie perhaps or a dozen of local oysters, Pacific or native.

There is nothing new in this development is there, but your observation is spot on. Michilin built their brand on the back of the food industry in France and built the food industry too for people seeking quality. We all seek it our own way now and to minimise the risk of dissapointment.

You got the order right drink, food and getting to the place, and of course the people to share the experience with. They all make it one with the other and none we want to avoid.

Like your web site too Melissa.

Cheers john
AnswerID: 37359