New Toyota

Submitted: Tuesday, Apr 19, 2011 at 23:50
ThreadID: 85755 Views:3280 Replies:17 FollowUps:17
Caught a glimpse of the new Toyota FJ today at Bridge Toyota on the way out of Darwin.....WOW . same color as the one shown.

Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Tuesday, Apr 19, 2011 at 23:57

Tuesday, Apr 19, 2011 at 23:57
Just looking at the spec's, no diesel, ....yet

AnswerID: 451836

Follow Up By: Kimba10 - Wednesday, Apr 20, 2011 at 00:02

Wednesday, Apr 20, 2011 at 00:02
Apprantly running the same gear as V6 prado, look good but, I reckon they will sell and probably more so if diesel but they seriously need to put a bigger tank in for the V6 petrol and even a disel if we get one, think I read 75L, I may be wrong on that but if so 75L wont go far especially if in the outback and petrol..............
FollowupID: 724464

Follow Up By: Kimba10 - Wednesday, Apr 20, 2011 at 00:05

Wednesday, Apr 20, 2011 at 00:05
Still remeber that video clip you did of your old mate, still brings a tear to the eye when I picture it, one lucky mans best friend that was for sure.........Cant believe its been over a year already...........
FollowupID: 724465

Follow Up By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Wednesday, Apr 20, 2011 at 01:28

Wednesday, Apr 20, 2011 at 01:28
would you really take that "outback" ..... it will cruise around the citys for about 5 years before anyone is game enough to go to far in it .....
FollowupID: 724466

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Wednesday, Apr 20, 2011 at 09:32

Wednesday, Apr 20, 2011 at 09:32
Joe n Mel n kids
YES, I would and why not, as been stated it's on a Prado base , people take Prado's Outback, My only gripe would be the fact that it has no diesel option at this time, but if that situation changes I feel this 4x4 will be a winner.

FollowupID: 724478

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Wednesday, Apr 20, 2011 at 10:10

Wednesday, Apr 20, 2011 at 10:10
Its a strange mix ??? No diesel, no longe range tank, part-time 4WD with rear diff lock AND traction control as standard, go figure. I reckon Toyota must have borrowed a bingo machine to get that list of options out, just cannot see the logic.

FollowupID: 724484

Follow Up By: Mr Pointyhead - Wednesday, Apr 20, 2011 at 10:23

Wednesday, Apr 20, 2011 at 10:23
I guess if a diesel was released they should call it a "BJ Cruiser" :)

I have been for a ride in one and they are very nice to ride in. The friend who has one is averaging around 12l/100 K in it which is good for a petrol. He said it also has suprisingly good engine breaking for a petrol auto as well.

FollowupID: 724486

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Wednesday, Apr 20, 2011 at 10:37

Wednesday, Apr 20, 2011 at 10:37
This is posted with T.I.C

FollowupID: 724489

Follow Up By: Crackles - Wednesday, Apr 20, 2011 at 10:38

Wednesday, Apr 20, 2011 at 10:38
For the target market they are set up pretty well. Most wont venture too far from home but for those that do there is a huge space under the rear for a long range tank up to 140 litres so plenty of range for outback trips. The petrol engine uses only 2L per 100 more than equivelant diesels & with 200KW available will be pretty impressive in the sand.
Will be checking out my mates FJ this Easter which already has 35" tyres squeezed under the guards. I think you will be surprised how many will be fitting them out for serious offroad & desert touring particually seeing they have been available in the US for five years with plenty of assesories available (Good exchange rate too).
While the FJ is certainly not set up for Oz use straight off the showroom floor, it has the ability to be customised into a serious performer (despite it's looks).
Cheers Craig................
FollowupID: 724490

Follow Up By: Mr Pointyhead - Wednesday, Apr 20, 2011 at 10:53

Wednesday, Apr 20, 2011 at 10:53
Hi Crackles,
I think we are talking about the same FJ. It is very impressive to ride in and looks great !

FollowupID: 724494

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Apr 20, 2011 at 01:27

Wednesday, Apr 20, 2011 at 01:27
Ask Mick O about these vehicles.
He did a Toyota test drive program as a rep of EO in the Flinders Ranges recently.
Mick is in the desert atm but is back soon.
I thought he did a blog on the program but appears not at this stage??

AnswerID: 451839

Reply By: cycadcenter - Wednesday, Apr 20, 2011 at 02:26

Wednesday, Apr 20, 2011 at 02:26
Mick O attended the Launch here is his Blog:

Mick O's FJ Cruiser Blog

Bruce
AnswerID: 451841

Reply By: patsproule - Wednesday, Apr 20, 2011 at 05:32

Wednesday, Apr 20, 2011 at 05:32
ARB have had an imported one of these at their show stands for the last couple of years. They are even more ugly in the flesh.

Pat
AnswerID: 451845

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Wednesday, Apr 20, 2011 at 09:26

Wednesday, Apr 20, 2011 at 09:26
Looks don't get you over the bog or sand dune, it's grunt and driver experience, the ugliest woman or man might just be the most faithful partner.

FollowupID: 724476

Follow Up By: The Landy - Wednesday, Apr 20, 2011 at 11:21

Wednesday, Apr 20, 2011 at 11:21
And don't Landy drivers know that, the bog or sand bit that is...

Cheers, The Landy
FollowupID: 724499

Reply By: OzTroopy - Wednesday, Apr 20, 2011 at 10:21

Wednesday, Apr 20, 2011 at 10:21
I hope they never, ever, ever, bring out a diesel variant.

Calling the thing an FJ is sacrilege enough .....

.... but having to refer to it as a HJ would be sheer blasphemy.

The cutesy soft suspension and shiny bling interior did nothing to hide the fact my old 47 had better visibility and more useable interior than the kindergarten art class designed " FJ " I sat in.
AnswerID: 451863

Follow Up By: bruce b2 - Wednesday, Apr 20, 2011 at 17:37

Wednesday, Apr 20, 2011 at 17:37
OzTroopy - you're right on the ball

cheers - bb
FollowupID: 724519

Reply By: Axle - Wednesday, Apr 20, 2011 at 10:41

Wednesday, Apr 20, 2011 at 10:41
Wonder how it will affect the kluger sales, which at the moment looks a good thing with the v6, getting to look a lot larger than all the other soft roaders as well,.. Toyo want it all....LOL

Cheers Axle,
AnswerID: 451866

Reply By: Kimba10 - Wednesday, Apr 20, 2011 at 13:33

Wednesday, Apr 20, 2011 at 13:33
Dont like how the rear cargo door opens the other way !!! Might be ok for US but not here, Would much prefer it to open like the prados do. Wonder if they will change that or doesnt possibly bother anyone else ?? ...............
AnswerID: 451878

Reply By: bruce b2 - Wednesday, Apr 20, 2011 at 17:34

Wednesday, Apr 20, 2011 at 17:34
it's a tojo - but it's b....y ugly, any one seen the other new tojo called the "RUCKUS". also not too pretty

cheers - bb
AnswerID: 451904

Follow Up By: disco driver - Wednesday, Apr 20, 2011 at 19:59

Wednesday, Apr 20, 2011 at 19:59
Yes, I Agree
It really is b....y ugly, even uglier than the Landrover Defender............and that's saying something!

Mind you "Ugly" does not make it any more capable than a Defender or even a Series Landrover.

It looks like it was built by a couple of hyped up students who ran totally out of ideas about when they reached the windscreen, the RSend is repulsive.

Can't see me ever considering one.

Disco
aka Tony
FollowupID: 724536

Reply By: Mark S (cns) - Wednesday, Apr 20, 2011 at 19:43

Wednesday, Apr 20, 2011 at 19:43
Reportedly no Bull Bar available due to 20kg weight restriction. nudge bar only.
AnswerID: 451916

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Wednesday, Apr 20, 2011 at 20:25

Wednesday, Apr 20, 2011 at 20:25
IT'S BUTT UGLY!!! It looks like it is made up of left over panels of different models through the ages!! To each his own i guess!! ;~)) Michael

AnswerID: 451926

Reply By: RobAck - Wednesday, Apr 20, 2011 at 21:09

Wednesday, Apr 20, 2011 at 21:09
The FJ will surprise plenty as it is a very competent all rounder. LR tank is already available as is suspension with a dual battery kit from TJM.

Very comfortable and competent on and off-road and the electric rear diff lock certainly makes life much simpler. As the car has very little electickery there's less to go wrong. With excellent approach, ramp over and departure angles and 70 series tyres it is more than competent out of the box

No diesel as yet but I suggest in around 2 years or less there will probably be something in the offing

We've had a lot of windscreen time on and off road and for those not into a lot of off-roading I reckon it will sell quite well. Durability should not be in question given it's based on a 150 Prado chassis and running gear

RobA
AnswerID: 451934

Reply By: Outbacktourer - Wednesday, Apr 20, 2011 at 21:19

Wednesday, Apr 20, 2011 at 21:19
Checked one out at the weekend. Space in the rear is deverely limited. Great curiosity item but if you were serious about something a little smaller why not a Prado shorty? IMHO Toyota are doing it to have something to talk about and create showroom traffic Like when they started bringing in the so called 4 door troopy a couple of years back when they had a gap between the 100 and 200 (and what a winner that proved to be!).

OBT
AnswerID: 451936

Reply By: Member - Bruce C (NSW) - Wednesday, Apr 20, 2011 at 21:26

Wednesday, Apr 20, 2011 at 21:26
Yep I agree, it has received a very serious whack from the ugly stick. In fact I think it has been abused by the ugly stick.
I would have to refuse one if it was given to me I reckon.

It is hard to fathom their thinking isn't it.

Now why don't they reproduce the 80 series.

Cheers all, Bruce
At home and at ease on a track that I know not and
restless and lost on a track that I know. HL.

AnswerID: 451937

Reply By: Mudripper - Wednesday, Apr 20, 2011 at 22:22

Wednesday, Apr 20, 2011 at 22:22
Still nothing better than the old 40 series. They even had more character than this....this...thing. It's got a face like the back end of a bus.

I think I'd feel more confident going out bush in an old rusty Holden...hehehe

AnswerID: 451945

Reply By: Member - Stuart P (WA) - Wednesday, Apr 20, 2011 at 22:30

Wednesday, Apr 20, 2011 at 22:30
no bull bar available, looks and drives like a hummer, rear tail lights $7 - $800 to replace, uglier than a dugite c'mon usa rejects thrown our way again , without a diesel option. do we really need another lemon
AnswerID: 451948

Reply By: Member - Andrew L (QLD) - Thursday, Apr 21, 2011 at 06:22

Thursday, Apr 21, 2011 at 06:22
"Outbacktourer replied:
........ IMHO Toyota are doing it to have something to talk about and create showroom traffic Like when they started bringing in the so called 4 door troopy a couple of years back when they had a gap between the 100 and 200 (and what a winner that proved to be!)."

Toyota did what...?..Can someone show us a Toyota made 4 door Troopy that was sold as a gap between the 100 and 200 series...please.
AnswerID: 451957

Follow Up By: jrzoo - Thursday, Apr 21, 2011 at 09:12

Thursday, Apr 21, 2011 at 09:12
Andrew L

I think he was referring to the 76 series. Very similar to a "4 door troopy" if you squint your eyes. Inside very basic and 'troopy' like.

By all accounts a very competent 4wd - factory lockers, long range tanks etc. A lift and maybe improved underbopdy protection and what a vehicle. Also blessed by the ugly stick unfortunately or they may be more popular.

FollowupID: 724589

Follow Up By: Outbacktourer - Friday, Apr 22, 2011 at 20:44

Friday, Apr 22, 2011 at 20:44
Yes that's the one. Great excitement here at the time but have you seen one lately?
FollowupID: 724787

Reply By: PeteS - Saturday, Apr 23, 2011 at 07:20

Saturday, Apr 23, 2011 at 07:20
G'day Doug

Toyota released a parts bulletin on the 29th December stating there is a strict mass limit of 20kg to the front of the FJ Cruiser In doing so neither Steel nor Alloy bull bars can be developed within their mass constraint. Toyota will be offering an Alloy nudge bar finished in the same powder coat finish as the roof rack.

I know the overseas market has bull bars, it must be the ADR restrictions.

PeteS

AnswerID: 452108

Follow Up By: Bruce P2 - Saturday, Apr 23, 2011 at 12:35

Saturday, Apr 23, 2011 at 12:35
The ARB one which has been round for a while has a bull bar on it and ARB are offering them on their web site and also state that it will take a 9000lb warne winch etc.

ARB Bull Bar for FJ Toyota
FollowupID: 724815

Follow Up By: PeteS - Saturday, Apr 23, 2011 at 12:50

Saturday, Apr 23, 2011 at 12:50
Hi Bruce P2,
I know ARB and the units sold overseas have bars for them. I'm just stating what Toyota's official take is. It would be interesting to know why.

They only have a 510kg carrying capacity (GVM less Kerb) so that does not allow a lot of weight overall as most now come in at 600kg.

PeteS
FollowupID: 724816