AnswerID: 462897 Submitted: Thursday, Aug 18, 2011 at 19:51
Fatso
replied:
G'day Poppy Kevin
I haven't personally done or seen this, but I had an interesting conversation with a bloke that fitted a heater/air con fan to his ute canopy. That's the fan from under the dash.
He started with computer type fans and quickly found the volume of air was to low.
With the heater fan he found that the dust was not only kept out but was actually blown away from around the door seals.
I have forgotten most of the conversation, but he did mention his mate had fitted 2 heater fans to something bigger to keep the dust out. Can't remember what it was now.
This bloke had one of a fibreglass canopies that you see on full size 2 door trade utes & it was mounted on a cruiser cab chassis. When we met him at
Big Red he had gone East to West across the Simpson, down the Great Central, up the Canning, down the Tanami & West to East across the Simpson & had no dust in the back. So I would say from that that it might work.
I have looked at this situation for a long time & I reckon fitting a filter would be the go if not too difficult. This bloke never had a filter but travelled on his own.
Keeping the rain out would be another issue to consider as well .
Good luck & let us know how it goes in the future.
Thumbs UpThanks 0
Reply 7 of 7
FollowupID: 736777 Submitted:
Friday, Aug 19, 2011 at 14:57
Poppy Kevin posted:
Thanks for the encouragement. if I get it to work I'll gladly let you know.
Thumbs UpThanks 0
FollowUp 1 of 1