Baby seat in new landcruiser ute

Hi i have the choice of getting a new landcruiser ute or the troop carrier in the 4 door series i really want the ute but i am worried about putting the baby seat in there will it fit in the new landcruiser ute with my wife sitting next to the baby capsule .P.s my wife is small

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Oct 22, 2011 at 16:18

Saturday, Oct 22, 2011 at 16:18
If the new Ute has airbags then I think you will find it illegal to have a baby capsule in the front.

AnswerID: 468344

Follow Up By: snoopyone - Saturday, Oct 22, 2011 at 17:27

Saturday, Oct 22, 2011 at 17:27
Definitely.
FollowupID: 742580

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Oct 22, 2011 at 17:54

Saturday, Oct 22, 2011 at 17:54
Found the official wording on it

"Children being seated in the front passenger seat
There are laws that cover this and it depends on both the age of the child and the vehicle being travelled in.

If the vehicle has only one row of seats (eg a utility):
• a child regardless of age can sit in the front seat provided they are properly restrained. If the vehicle has a passenger airbag fitted, a rearward facing child restraint should not be used as engagement of the airbag could cause injury.

If the vehicle has two or more rows of seats:
• a child under the age of four years cannot sit in the front seat of a vehicle that has more than one row of seats, even if the child is large enough to usually sit properly restrained in a booster seat
• a child aged between four and seven year of age cannot sit in the front seat of a vehicle that as more than one row of seats, unless all other available passenger seats are occupied by children under the age of seven years."

FollowupID: 742583

Follow Up By: nicholas h - Saturday, Oct 22, 2011 at 18:25

Saturday, Oct 22, 2011 at 18:25
Thanku for the follow up Sir Kev and Darkie i was just checking the same site actually my wife found it so it is official you can im so relieved i am going to buy the gx series which still has the old manual windows but it almost has the 2 seats next to the drivers seat well one and a half seats .thanku for your help woohoo good buy 100 series back to the utes .ps i love my 100 series though it is special will be a sad day when she goes
FollowupID: 742586

Reply By: Livin On The Road - Saturday, Oct 22, 2011 at 21:43

Saturday, Oct 22, 2011 at 21:43
When my first baby (who is now 10) was born, the car I had was only a two seater car (a little Daihatsu handivan). His baby capsule went in the front next to me. It was actually really really convenient because he was happy in the car looking up at mummy ... and I was happy because I could see that he was OK.
AnswerID: 468365

Follow Up By: nicholas h - Saturday, Oct 22, 2011 at 21:46

Saturday, Oct 22, 2011 at 21:46
Hi Livin on the road yes she is due next year she is small my wife she will fit in there next to the capsule be good to drive around with my child next to me, will be very cautious though when travelling
FollowupID: 742609

Follow Up By: Livin On The Road - Saturday, Oct 22, 2011 at 21:53

Saturday, Oct 22, 2011 at 21:53
I have to say that I find a child screeming in a car to be far more distracting than anything else can possibly be. As you are describing, the child will most likely be a lot happier because they can hold Mum's hand and see both parents. It is a more dangerous position if you do have an accident, but maybe you will find it easier to concentrate on the road if the baby is happier?

Glass half full?
FollowupID: 742610

Reply By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Saturday, Oct 22, 2011 at 23:40

Saturday, Oct 22, 2011 at 23:40
dont get me wrong but even a "small" wifey still seems to take up the same width ....... girls just seem to have wider bums.....
Oh so glad me missus dont read this as i would be shot hahha
Joe
AnswerID: 468371

Follow Up By: nicholas h - Sunday, Oct 23, 2011 at 11:05

Sunday, Oct 23, 2011 at 11:05
Your in trouble mate when the girls read this hahaha
FollowupID: 742642

Reply By: Member - John G- Sunday, Oct 23, 2011 at 10:00

Sunday, Oct 23, 2011 at 10:00
G'day Nicholas

This may be a red herring, but we were advised that it was illegal to fit a centre child restraint to the middle rear seat of our Hilux. There is provision for a child restraint anchor for the outside seats but nothing in the middle, and despite what seemed to me to be some solid potential points, no-one would touch it. May be worth just checking with Toyota.

AnswerID: 468381

Follow Up By: nicholas h - Sunday, Oct 23, 2011 at 11:03

Sunday, Oct 23, 2011 at 11:03
Hi John G yes yes they are ringing me tomorrow toyota to see what options i want im going to see if they can fabricate something for me in the workshop before i can pick it up other wise i was going to use the outside seatbelt with a anchor hopefully they can manufacture something for me
FollowupID: 742640

Follow Up By: garrycol - Sunday, Oct 23, 2011 at 12:10

Sunday, Oct 23, 2011 at 12:10
Any work related to child restraint installation will have to be done by an authorised restraint installer - if your Toyota dealer has that accreditation all well and good, if not you will need to go elsewhere.

Garry
FollowupID: 742646

Follow Up By: nicholas h - Sunday, Oct 23, 2011 at 12:20

Sunday, Oct 23, 2011 at 12:20
Thanks Garry for the info will have to check
FollowupID: 742647

Follow Up By: Bigfish - Sunday, Oct 23, 2011 at 17:22

Sunday, Oct 23, 2011 at 17:22
Dont want to sound negative but there is no way I would be prepared to travel around witha baby capsule and an adult in the front 1 &1/2 seats of any ute. I would opt for the wagon and place the capsule on the rear seat. . What happens if 1 year down the track the missus is pregnant again? Purely for safety sake and convenience the ute wouldn,t enter into the equation. You have to put their needs before your own.
FollowupID: 742671

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Sunday, Oct 23, 2011 at 21:05

Sunday, Oct 23, 2011 at 21:05
Agree with Bigfish, about the safety issue.

Also, in the long term, you'll find you won't have enough room in the front, as bub grows, and the baby seat gets bigger. You wouldn't be able to swing a cat in the front.

Also all your gear has to go in the tray, where it can get hot, wet and lifted. Reckon those "4 door troopies" look pretty good anyway, and you can even camp in them, out of the weather. And they hold a $hitload of gear too, all out of the weather, and secure.

But in the end, its your loot your spending, but I'd be buying what my head said, not my heart.

Good luck,

FollowupID: 742682

Follow Up By: Pebble - Monday, Oct 24, 2011 at 09:50

Monday, Oct 24, 2011 at 09:50
My Dear Husband had a beautiful 79 series ute but we ended up selling it because with 2 kids we can't use it to go traveling as a family and use it to the full potential of the 4x4 it is.
I have sat in the front with one of the kids, I'm not tiny or huge, probably just average I don't think it would have been comfortable on long trips and I'd hate to even think about having a child seat in there let alone how to get into the car if it happened to be on the passenger window side! And don't forget the toys and food that would be sitting at the passengers feet as well for that in car entertainment as the child gets older!

We just recently went to one of the gxl troopies with the 2nd row of seats..(coming from a 4 door jeep wrangler) and couldn't be happier, I think they have more carrying capacity than the 4 door style, something to consider. But for you I can see the negative would be getting the baby in and out because access is only through the passenger door. For us with the two kids now aged 7 & nearly 9 it's great.
FollowupID: 742702

Follow Up By: Bigfish - Monday, Oct 24, 2011 at 17:45

Monday, Oct 24, 2011 at 17:45
i BELIEVE THAT YOU CAN GET AN EXTRA DOOR FITTED ON THE PASSENGER SIDE. wHY TOYOTA HAS NOT MADE A VERSION OF THE TROOPY LIKE THIS IS BEYOND ME AS i RECKON THEY WOULD SELL HEAPS MORE TROOPIES.
tHE 4 DOOR CARRIES NO WHERE NEAR WHAT A TROOPY DOES.
CHEERS
FollowupID: 742737

Follow Up By: nicholas h - Monday, Oct 24, 2011 at 20:41

Monday, Oct 24, 2011 at 20:41
Thanks everyone just got back from toyota i signed the contract on a 4 door version its my choice yes the larger troopy is huge but i decided on the 4 door version at l;east there will be room for everyone ill be back later need to have a few beers after losing my ute but much better than losing my child if in a bad accident thanku everyone
FollowupID: 742746

Follow Up By: Pebble - Sunday, Oct 30, 2011 at 22:18

Sunday, Oct 30, 2011 at 22:18
Ha ha, I'm sure my Husband would commiserate with you but hey on the up side at least you're still in a Toyota, we did replace the ute with a Jeep Wrangler before eventually going back to Toyota, I tell you with the troopy he's just so much happier already and we've barely had it for a week (Jeep was petrol though, but apart from that he quite liked the styling etcn, it was probably the closest thing to a toyota you can get without buying a toyota llol).

Anyway be sure to check out LCOOL if you haven't already (Landcuiser Owners Online Website) only thing is that you have to join to actually read any of the forum.
Quite a few people on there seem to love the 76es. And if it's any comfort in a thread I've read that even some of the utes seem to go over the GVM quite quickly if one's not careful with the accessories etc. Just goes to show that it can add up no matter what the stated carrying capacity is. I guess adding a tray for a start takes up some of what extra load capacity a ute may have over a 76 or a troopy for example. So in reality it may not be as bad as it sounds on paper!
FollowupID: 743230

Reply By: Fatso - Monday, Oct 24, 2011 at 20:15

Monday, Oct 24, 2011 at 20:15
A 2 door will give you the bleeps in no time.
Go the 4 door.
If you put the capsule against the door where it is easier to put the baby in the wife has to climb in & out through the drivers side.
If you put the capsule in the middle the small wife you have has to lean over into the middle of a high car to get the baby in. Plus it will be in the drivers way. The shape of capsules makes them awkward to work around.
To ramble on.
There is more shade protection in the back of the 4 door from the sun. The windscreen is a whole row of seats away & the rear window is a whole cargo area away.
Plus, like some posters have already said "there is a heap of accessories that accompany a baby". The most demanding of those is the little brother or sister mod.
AnswerID: 468472

Follow Up By: nicholas h - Monday, Oct 24, 2011 at 21:04

Monday, Oct 24, 2011 at 21:04
I went the 4 door good choice i think
FollowupID: 742750

Follow Up By: Fatso - Monday, Oct 24, 2011 at 22:20

Monday, Oct 24, 2011 at 22:20
Good choice Nicholas. You won't regret it in times to come.
By the way, I would disregard the previous comment about screaming kids distracting you while driving for 2 reasons. Firstly they rarely make much noise & secondly, only other peoples kids scream.
FollowupID: 742762

Follow Up By: Pebble - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2011 at 09:52

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2011 at 09:52
Yes I reckon you made a good choice. I've got a friend with 3 kids who brought one as well and they're really happy with it, they love the turbo v8 compared to their old cruiser wagon!
Screaming kids...I think babies are easier than most people imagine, they sleep, they wake up, they eat, play for a bit and then it's back to sleep. When they're older the arguing and screaming starts (if you have only one that might not be a problem). But that's when a portable game console becomes a good investment for an hour of peace and quiet on the road.
FollowupID: 742784

Follow Up By: nicholas h - Sunday, Oct 30, 2011 at 17:54

Sunday, Oct 30, 2011 at 17:54
Pick the four door up tomorrow woohoooo cant wait
FollowupID: 743206