Diesel Pumps discusting

Submitted: Tuesday, Jan 03, 2012 at 19:31
ThreadID: 90992 Views:4055 Replies:20 FollowUps:17
I was filling my car with Diesel at Caltex and realised how filthy greasy and smelly the diesel handle was... and often is. No toilet to wash my hands, only the windscreen water container which of course is not ideal. After just returning from Thailand where they "fill er up for you", like the old days here, which is nice, I decided to say something.Well the attendant just glared at me and said a big fat nothing. I reckon it should be their responsibility to ensure the pumps are able to be handled without us having to drive away with a diesel smelling steering wheel. What do you think?

Reply By: Member - JohnBee (VIC) - Tuesday, Jan 03, 2012 at 19:45

Tuesday, Jan 03, 2012 at 19:45
Gday...

Know the problem .... so I carry a pair of cheap leather gardening gloves in the door bin of the 4X4 and when I get out to fill up and the pump handle appears "typical" I just whack on the gloves and never have any problem with my hands. For some reason the diesel smell does not seem to get through into the gloves.

Got the idea from watching a lot of truckies filling up their rigs.

AnswerID: 473976

Reply By: gbc - Tuesday, Jan 03, 2012 at 19:49

Tuesday, Jan 03, 2012 at 19:49
B.p. Has hand wipes.
Oz servos are only just getting used to the fact that cars can use diesel. Being a long time diesel user I get peeved when little cars take up space at my dirty stinky diesel pumps, of which there are usually hardly any. As more and more little cars try to use diesel in city's where there is usually 15 petrol pumps to 1 diesel pump, believe me, smelly hands will be the least of your problems.
Welcome to the world of diesel.
AnswerID: 473978

Follow Up By: Member - Rod N (QLD) - Tuesday, Jan 03, 2012 at 19:52

Tuesday, Jan 03, 2012 at 19:52
Most Shell have hand wipes and some servos have disposable gloves.
FollowupID: 748801

Follow Up By: white pointer - Tuesday, Jan 03, 2012 at 21:06

Tuesday, Jan 03, 2012 at 21:06
too right gbc then you have to wait an eternity for them to return to their vehicles with their shopping and cappacinos etc. i guess these days with so many drive offs you can't fill up and then move to another park then go in and pay & do the shopping or can you?
FollowupID: 748808

Follow Up By: gbc - Tuesday, Jan 03, 2012 at 21:33

Tuesday, Jan 03, 2012 at 21:33
The more I read this the more I laugh. 'Their responsibility' becomes your 10c extra a litre for your whinge. Would you winge about that too?
Maybe we should get some slavery happening again - keep costs down, and our hands and shoes clean?
Maybe I read the post wrong, but I don't think so.
Hey WP - the one and only?
FollowupID: 748810

Reply By: BarryMcKenzie - Tuesday, Jan 03, 2012 at 20:08

Tuesday, Jan 03, 2012 at 20:08
After you have just returned from Thailand mate I would think that a small issue such as discusting (sic) diesel pumps in Aus would be a fairly small issue relative to the state Bangkok and surrounds was and probably still is in due to flooding, disease and the homeless masses of recent events there........

Imagine the Diesel pumps in the southern Philippines are very clean also, if they can find them or anything else after the last typhoon.....

We all have our cross to bear......some are much heavier than others.....
AnswerID: 473979

Follow Up By: Steve M1 (NSW) - Wednesday, Jan 04, 2012 at 12:57

Wednesday, Jan 04, 2012 at 12:57
all the more reason for us to actually provide some "service" if these poor buggers can manage it with their problems but hey, let's not criticise the Aussie "service" eh?
FollowupID: 748877

Reply By: Val - Tuesday, Jan 03, 2012 at 20:29

Tuesday, Jan 03, 2012 at 20:29
I too carry leather gloves,1 pair in the motor home and another in the Suzuki. I know I shouldn't be, but I am amazed how soiled they get with diesel. My hands no longer smell like overripe peanut butter after filling up!
AnswerID: 473981

Follow Up By: Steve M1 (NSW) - Wednesday, Jan 04, 2012 at 12:58

Wednesday, Jan 04, 2012 at 12:58
I always have plenty of rags in the car and that does the trick for me
FollowupID: 748878

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian, SA - Tuesday, Jan 03, 2012 at 20:58

Tuesday, Jan 03, 2012 at 20:58
I've been filling with diesel for about 13 years now - on rare occasions I've seen disposable gloves supplied at the bowser - but that is expecting far too much it seems, here in Oz - a thin box of disposable gloves is cheap and fits in the my door pocket... DIY. Couple of points - I'm more worried about standing in a pool of spilled diesel - common in many places - hard to keep that off your shoe soles and off the car's carpet (hence keeping some newspaper behind my seat). As for staff fixing tiny leaks and cleaning the bowser fittings ...........what staff ? The solo staff member is usually flat out inside at the console. But you are correct, in that they need to be told !
AnswerID: 473987

Reply By: Smiley Bill - Tuesday, Jan 03, 2012 at 21:31

Tuesday, Jan 03, 2012 at 21:31
Hi rossy,

I look around and grab a couple of feet of paper towel that usually hangs around on the forecourt in a dispenser. Fold it up, wrap it around the handle and throw it in their rubbish bin. Their stinky stuff, their problem.

SB
AnswerID: 473994

Follow Up By: Fatso - Tuesday, Jan 03, 2012 at 22:01

Tuesday, Jan 03, 2012 at 22:01
Same here SB

Another good way to beat it is get a petrol car. No complaints then.
FollowupID: 748818

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Tuesday, Jan 03, 2012 at 21:44

Tuesday, Jan 03, 2012 at 21:44

Before we came over from the dark side and bought one of the last 4.8 litre petrol Patrols I used to buy our Diesel from a servo that had disposable gloves on the pump.

The only problem was some people couldn't handle the high flow pumps and would leave diesel all over the driveway.

So you would have clean hands and diesel smelling shoes ect. that would end up on your floor mats.

AnswerID: 473998

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Wednesday, Jan 04, 2012 at 07:27

Wednesday, Jan 04, 2012 at 07:27
Daza! What sort of fuel ecomomy are you getting from the petrol Patrol with the van? And a t what speed do you travel on average? Thanks Michael

FollowupID: 748841

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Wednesday, Jan 04, 2012 at 09:54

Wednesday, Jan 04, 2012 at 09:54
G/Day Michael

We have only done a few short trips at this stage roughly 200ks each way.

As yet haven't calculated fuel usage over an extended trip.

Just going on a comparison with our old 2008 3ltr patrol which averaged around 22 ltres per 100ks and later when it got up to 26litres per100ks re: problems with the Common Rail and Fuel Injector Pump.

We have noticed that we are using less fuel with the 4.8 litre than the 3ltr motor.

When towing I sit on 95 to 100 ks per hour, but a vast difference in performance ect.

I put the better fuel usage down to the fact that the motor isn't struggling and we don't hesitate to overtake a vehicle when required.

Highway driving fuel usage is a lot better than stop start town or city driving.

We are fortunate that we don't do much of the latter.

In the next few days I will have a better indication on fuel usage as we are towing the van up north roughly a 2000k return trip.

FollowupID: 748849

Reply By: Begaboy - Tuesday, Jan 03, 2012 at 21:55

Tuesday, Jan 03, 2012 at 21:55
You hit the nail in the head with the word " Attendant" - best bet is to buy a box of disposable latex gloves - and use every time you fill up and then just throw into there bin ..
AnswerID: 473999

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Tuesday, Jan 03, 2012 at 22:25

Tuesday, Jan 03, 2012 at 22:25
The worst case I have experienced is when I was filling the vehicle and the bowser hose was filthy with diesel and dirt.

I didn't notice util it swiped the full length of my long trousers, beige of course.

They were trashed.

AnswerID: 474004

Reply By: dbish - Tuesday, Jan 03, 2012 at 23:09

Tuesday, Jan 03, 2012 at 23:09
Somebody actualy got there hands dirty filling up with fuel!! Welcome to the real world. try working as a mechanic.
AnswerID: 474008

Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Jan 04, 2012 at 10:16

Wednesday, Jan 04, 2012 at 10:16
Mechanics get dirty by choice & are paid to do so. I have also noticed a trend for SNAG mechanics to wear gloves themselves!
FollowupID: 748855

Follow Up By: Off-track - Wednesday, Jan 04, 2012 at 22:17

Wednesday, Jan 04, 2012 at 22:17
Owners also have the choice of buying a petrol vehicle if so concerned. Or carrying gloves/wet wipes etc.
FollowupID: 748947

Reply By: Member - Steve & Cecily W (QLD - Wednesday, Jan 04, 2012 at 06:39

Wednesday, Jan 04, 2012 at 06:39
I guess if that's the worst thing that happens to you that day, it's not such a bad day is it?
p.s. I like the servo system often seen in Europe where one fills up, then moves the car towards the exit and pays the console operator at the gate; no drive-offs, no waiting for shoppers or those visiting the toilet.
Haven't stopped smiling!

AnswerID: 474016

Follow Up By: Graham C3 - Wednesday, Jan 04, 2012 at 09:17

Wednesday, Jan 04, 2012 at 09:17
I know this has little to do with diesel and more to with shopping at servos but it pertains to some people's total lack of indifference and selfishness. I was at a pump recently behind two other vehicles and the woman in front went in to pay. She suddenly discovered that when she got inside she didn't have her discount card and came back to the car to get it. Back to the store. She was gone a long time I thought so when another pump became available I backed off and moved over to that one.

I watched as I could now see her shopping and browsing up and down the shelves. I was filling two tanks (180l) so I was there a while. When she had finally emerged the guy behind her had now been locked in by another car that had pulled in behind him. I reckon she was gone for about 10 minutes at this time and as she entered her car he started his engine and moved closer to her thinkling that she was about to pull out.

Wel what do you reckon? Her mobile rang so she answered it. When I came out from paying she was still sitting in the driveway talking as I drove away and the two blokes at the back were still sitting there.
FollowupID: 748846

Follow Up By: Fatso - Wednesday, Jan 04, 2012 at 10:09

Wednesday, Jan 04, 2012 at 10:09
Graham, I'm sure I have come across that lady as well.
FollowupID: 748854

Follow Up By: AlanTH - Wednesday, Jan 04, 2012 at 14:23

Wednesday, Jan 04, 2012 at 14:23
Wait until she spots a friend pull up to a pump just after she's finished gobbing off on the phone.
Ah the joys of modern motoring.
AlanTH.
FollowupID: 748886

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Thursday, Jan 05, 2012 at 08:23

Thursday, Jan 05, 2012 at 08:23
...and then she decides to wash her whole car with the window squeegee and bucket.
FollowupID: 748977

Follow Up By: Graham C3 - Thursday, Jan 05, 2012 at 09:50

Thursday, Jan 05, 2012 at 09:50
The best bit was whe she went inside and found that her discount card was still in the car. She just marched out like there was no one in the world but her, took her time finding it and strolled back in and then began to shop.

I don't know why I got angry as she was not holding me up but I was simply amazed at the way the poor bloke waiting held his temper. I would have had to say something.

There should be a wating zone or something when people want to shop. Why they would want to anyway simply astonishes me as the product is so expensive. How about drivng to the closest supermarket?

These are the ploys that Woolworths and Coles use to recoup the discount.
FollowupID: 748990

Reply By: Rockape - Wednesday, Jan 04, 2012 at 09:10

Wednesday, Jan 04, 2012 at 09:10
rossy,
diesel is nearly impossible to keep of the pump handle. Look at it and it will crawl from one spot to another.

It is just the same as penetrating fluid and will creep everywhere. Many times a day people filling will spill a small amount on the ground that then grows and grows. The splash back from the nozzle will also creep up the handle and keep your hands lubricated.

As others have said a bit of paper does the trick.

Many years ago I used to fill a D9 at the end of the day by hand with a quart stroke pump. I would lose count of the strokes and next minute I woukld have diesel all over my head. At this point I would just stamp my feet and throw a tantrum, then mutter something about getting the electric transfer pump fixed. All the time just throwing in the odd swear word.

RA.
AnswerID: 474019

Reply By: vk1dx - Wednesday, Jan 04, 2012 at 09:17

Wednesday, Jan 04, 2012 at 09:17
We have a box of disposable medical gloves that we carry in case of a problem with me. I am very toxic straight after chemo so we just play it safe.

They also come in handy at the diesel pump if it looks filthy.

We now only use the slow flow pumps. The fast flow seem to be the main offenders and I won't go into the "why is it so" as I do not want to offend anyone. They are just not as clean as the slow flow pumps. We also have a 100 series that will not accept the fast flow nozzles comfortably. Maybe that's a bonus.

AnswerID: 474021

Reply By: Shaker - Wednesday, Jan 04, 2012 at 10:21

Wednesday, Jan 04, 2012 at 10:21
I tend to agree with the OP, diesel users are treated as second class citizens, although we invariably buy more & are reamed with the price.

The retailer has a duty of care to keep the area, in particular the ground, clean & free of fuel. I am sure that we have all noticed the effect that diesel has on the soles of our shoes when using the brake pedal on a wet day.
AnswerID: 474023

Reply By: ross - Wednesday, Jan 04, 2012 at 13:13

Wednesday, Jan 04, 2012 at 13:13
Its pointless criticising the staff at a service station. Their job is to stay behind the counter ,grab the money and nothing else.
If your upset with the cleanliness and maintenance of the facilities(and I agree with you ,some of them are bad) write a letter to the owners.

My pet hate is when I want to fill up with fuel,and that sometimes means 150 litres,and the catch that holds the bowser lever doesnt work and my poor old worn out hand has to squeeze the lever hard to maintain the flow until full.
God only knows what women do in this situation as some of them require a fair amount of strength
AnswerID: 474030

Follow Up By: Nargun51 - Wednesday, Jan 04, 2012 at 14:14

Wednesday, Jan 04, 2012 at 14:14
Most servos have removed the pin that holds the lever up for continued flow, however a long shanked rivet (or something like it) is the perfect size to put in. I haven't used one myself, but I know someone who has a piece of wire about this size on his key ring purely for that purpose.

In my current car (and the previous 2), the fuel cap is the right size to be wedged under the handle to ensure full flow until it cuts out when full.

Our nearest garage (and the cheapest in the Dandenongs) supplies latex gloves at the bowser, however this does not ensure that my wife will actually put fuel in it when she uses it!
FollowupID: 748885

Reply By: Member - Sn00py2 (NSW) - Wednesday, Jan 04, 2012 at 16:58

Wednesday, Jan 04, 2012 at 16:58
Hi Rossy,

Yes, the Diesel pumps, especially the high flow ones, often have diesel on them however a packet of disposable latex gloves iv very cheap and you only need one. For the better fuel economy, it is a cheap price to pay.

I've noticed that some servo's supply them which is great and I use their gloves if available but I always keep a packet of the latex ones in the drivers door.

AnswerID: 474038

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Wednesday, Jan 04, 2012 at 20:49

Wednesday, Jan 04, 2012 at 20:49
Rossy,

You haven't got much to complain about until you've used a high-flow pump at a truck stop.

If the truckie before you has filled tanks on both sides of the prime mover, then likely he has dragged the hose across the chassis, and picked up heaps of excess grease, from the turn table.

Now that's something that will really arc you up!!! Especially at night, when it's difficult to see the grease, on the black hose.

AnswerID: 474058

Reply By: rossy - Wednesday, Jan 04, 2012 at 23:03

Wednesday, Jan 04, 2012 at 23:03
Why thank you for all your responses especially the kind practical ones and the funny stories much appreciated. At the end of the day these are my thoughts...
. The servo is providing a service and bear some responsibility to provide a safe clean product.
. If the pumps are always filthy then handwashing facilities should be handy.
. Upon valid complaints to the attendant a helpful response would have been appreciated rather than being ignored.
. In Thailand I overwhelmingly experienced polite friendly locals bending over backwards to try and help with any problems verbalised.
. We pay very good money already for fuel and And a bit more service wouldn't go astray for the customer rather than making the oil companies richer.
. I will get some disposable gloves.
AnswerID: 474079

Follow Up By: Capt. Wrongway - Thursday, Jan 05, 2012 at 09:38

Thursday, Jan 05, 2012 at 09:38
About 5 - 6 years ago, there was a very small indepentant service station in the back streets of North Sydney. It was opperated by two brothers. They provided full driveway service. They would fill it up, check oil, water, wiper bottle ect.... They did a very well for themselves for a couple of years, as all the ladies around the area went there.
Caltex caught on, bought them out ... now it's a large Caltex station.
Capt.
FollowupID: 748989

Reply By: Steve63 - Friday, Jan 06, 2012 at 16:20

Friday, Jan 06, 2012 at 16:20
Take care with diesel. It is quite toxic and can be absorbed by breathing the fumes or absorbed through the skin. If you happen to be sensitive or get a large enough exposure it can cause acute renal failure. This usually resolves but may need dislysis support. Use gloves or protect your skin in some other way. Never use it to clean your hands etc. There are quite a few documented cases of this happening but like most things it does not happen all the time or even regularly.

AnswerID: 474223

Reply By: Bernie C - Monday, Jan 09, 2012 at 11:17

Monday, Jan 09, 2012 at 11:17
What do I think, toughen up will ya or bring a Thai out here with you to fill your car up.

AnswerID: 474456