Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
Section Image

Trailor Hitches

Submitted: Friday, Apr 05, 2002 at 00:00

Johno

I am getting my first camper trailor and am undecided about whether to have a Treg or Orac hitch fitted. Any suggestions of which is the best or experiences with these would be much appreciated. It will be towed by a 2.8 Patrol on a 2 year trip aound the country visiting as many places as possible
ThreadID: 916 Replies: 4
Views: 891 FollowUps: 2
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 2642   Submitted: Friday, Apr 05, 2002 at 00:00

Wayne replied:

Johno

There have been several comments on this recently Refer the following thread which started about 20 March "Fabian asked about towing hitches - ORAC and/or treg"

Rgds

Reply 1 of 4
AnswerID: 2649   Submitted: Friday, Apr 05, 2002 at 00:00

DennisN replied:

G'day Johhno, I have an Orac and am quite happy with the setup. If you go to the O'Brien trailer website you can see just how versatile they are when compared to the Treg [I do not have an O'Brien camper trailer - just an Orac coupling on the one I've go - so its not an ad for O'Briens.]. One thing I have noticed is that apart from the fact they are easy to put on/off by adjusting the height of the jockey wheel - they can prove quite a pain if there is any fore/aft pressure between tow vehicle and trailer. There must be NO stress on the coupling from ANY angle - otherwise you can just sit there and swear all day. Having put in a good word for Orac couplings, I can remember that Treg were making top quality trailers and couplings when I grew up in Adelaide a bloody long time ago. Personally I dont think you will go wrong with either choice mate. Enjoy making your decision.
Reply 2 of 4
FollowupID: 1159   Submitted: Sunday, Apr 21, 2002 at 00:00

Johno posted:

Thanks mate, I have now decided to go with the Treg. Seems they are most popular and available
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 2675   Submitted: Monday, Apr 08, 2002 at 00:00

Nigel replied:

We had a treg on our old camper and our new trailer came with an orac. Once I got used to the orac system it's easier to hitch up, but keep a rag handy to wipe off the grease. The treg is easier to unhitch when there is some weight still on the hitch.
Reply 3 of 4
FollowupID: 1016   Submitted: Tuesday, Apr 09, 2002 at 00:00

Ross posted:

We have a treg hitch which I curse now and then. The best way to hitch it is to back the car to a position a bit to the side of the hitch and swing the trailer around to locate it while adjusting the height with the jockey wheel at the same time. this works great if the ground is relatively smooth and flat to permit this, but if the wheels are in mud or soft sand it can be hard to do.

All is forgiven though when I read about trailers flipping and not dragging the car over because a treg hitch was fitted.
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 2964   Submitted: Sunday, Apr 21, 2002 at 00:00

Johno replied:

Thanks for the info, now decided on the Treg hitch
Reply 4 of 4
Activities Index
Massage For Men - 60 Minutes Massage For Men - 60 Minutes
Canberra - INT
Man, oh man, have we got a gift for you!
Historic Outback Trails & Pubs 2010 Historic Outback Trails & Pubs 2010
Outback NSW / Bourke - NSW
Join us for a 7 Day Adventure Tag Along Tour, well will travel from Broken Hill through to Southern
Surf Lesson on Bondi Beach - 2 Hours Surf Lesson on Bondi Beach - 2 Hours
Sydney - NSW
What better place to learn to surf than on world-famous Bondi Beach?
5 Day Sydney to Byron Bay Learn to Surf Adventure 5 Day Sydney to Byron Bay Learn to Surf Adven
Sydney - NSW
The ULTIMATE way to travel from Sydney to Byron Bay !
Book Now - Things To Do

Page Sponsors

WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd WAECO Pacific Pty Ltd Premium Listing
Portable refrigeration provider WAECO, is celebrating 10 years in Australia in 2009. Established in high-technology headquarters in Germany 35 years ago, WAECO has developed a wide range of mobile technology for people on the move.
1 JOHN DUNCAN COURT   VARSITY LAKES, QLD, 4227
Phone: 1800 21 21 21
More info | Website | Driving Directions
ExplorOz ExplorOz
Become a Member of ExplorOz; buy or sell in Trader; buy Maps, Books, DVDs, camping accessories, and ExplorOz wheel covers, shirts, hats and stubby holders from the ExplorOz Shop; and book Activities &Tours or buy someone a gift certificate from our Activities section. Become an ExplorOz Member for just $60 in your first year, and $40 when you renew.
PO BOX 967  HILLARYS, WA, 6923
Phone: (08) 9403 3737
More info | Website