The Thorny Devil - A prickly little chap with a face only a mother could love!

Submitted: Saturday, Feb 04, 2012 at 23:26
ThreadID: 91667 Views:9334 Replies:12 FollowUps:22
We are always on the lookout for the elusive Thorny Devil when we travel about the desert regions and every so often we are rewarded with a rare find. One such encounter occurred on the Anne Beadell on our April trip of last year. The ABH is a bit of a favourite for us when it comes to the TD and is yet to let us down (In 2006 I reckon we could have filled a bloody shoe box in a half a day there were that many around!). While wide spread in habitat, they are elusive and hard to spot.

Trying to build on our knowledge of these little chaps I've dug up a bit of info from the net and other sources which has been included in a blog along with a very short piece of video (Thanks Jaydub & Suze). If anyone else has some photos, please post them in and I'll link this post to the Reptiles Blog.

Thorny Devil Blog

Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Sunday, Feb 05, 2012 at 06:21

Sunday, Feb 05, 2012 at 06:21
Mick... Oh...MICK.
That would have to be the most beautiful and too short Video clip I have yet seen on EO, and the tender loving care in how you picked it up, actually the prickles are not prickly, it's for looks and looks that you and I love as well as it's Mother, I gave the little fella the same when I shifted him off the Hwy between Mt Isa and Camooweal.
Good one, needs a prize .

AnswerID: 476921

Follow Up By: Mick O - Sunday, Feb 05, 2012 at 07:49

Sunday, Feb 05, 2012 at 07:49
Thanks Doug. That was the hand of Jaydub lol. Great photo mate. Hopefully a few others will post or blog their encounters with our reptillian friends while out and about.

FollowupID: 752072

Reply By: Member - Richard W (NSW) - Sunday, Feb 05, 2012 at 06:31

Sunday, Feb 05, 2012 at 06:31
Mick,

Thanks for sharing.
Here's one on the Canning Stock Route in 2010:

AnswerID: 476922

Follow Up By: Mick O - Sunday, Feb 05, 2012 at 07:52

Sunday, Feb 05, 2012 at 07:52
Thanks Richard. That's three for three on the Hawthorn colours. I have seen one sporting Richmond livery (black and yellow) out on the ABH.

FollowupID: 752073

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Sunday, Feb 05, 2012 at 11:58

Sunday, Feb 05, 2012 at 11:58
That would probably why I have yet to see one - one eyed Cat supporter.
FollowupID: 752124

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Sunday, Feb 05, 2012 at 11:58

Sunday, Feb 05, 2012 at 11:58
doh! .....explain why
FollowupID: 752125

Follow Up By: Member - Richard W (NSW) - Sunday, Feb 05, 2012 at 14:07

Sunday, Feb 05, 2012 at 14:07
Here's a different one on display at the Wiluna gathering before being released from whence it came.

FollowupID: 752142

Follow Up By: Mick O - Sunday, Feb 05, 2012 at 16:04

Sunday, Feb 05, 2012 at 16:04
Thanks Richard, another nice looking example.

Mick

FollowupID: 752166

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Sunday, Feb 05, 2012 at 07:06

Sunday, Feb 05, 2012 at 07:06
Mick! I dont know how many times i have seen something on the road a few hundred metres up, pulled up in a screaming hurry and kicked one of our wonderful reptiles off the road. I guess we all have, knowing they will be back on the road a bit later.. We can only try to help!!! Michael

AnswerID: 476927

Follow Up By: Mick O - Sunday, Feb 05, 2012 at 07:55

Sunday, Feb 05, 2012 at 07:55
Yep, because these little chaps put their tails and heads up, they often look like a curled piece of bark on the track. No doubt a fearsome stance to a predator but makes them even harder to recognise from the road at 20-30 kph.

FollowupID: 752074

Reply By: Member - John and Val - Sunday, Feb 05, 2012 at 08:17

Sunday, Feb 05, 2012 at 08:17
Loved the video Mick, and like this idea of reptile blogs and threads. Here is our TD contribution, this one found between Jervois and Batten Hill. Taken late in the afternoon, so light not the best.

Val

AnswerID: 476937

Follow Up By: Mick O - Sunday, Feb 05, 2012 at 16:01

Sunday, Feb 05, 2012 at 16:01
Thanks J & V. I hope a few more will post some of their encounters with different reptiles as well. Our native reptiles are always a fascinating and rewarding (although often rare) find when travelling.

FollowupID: 752161

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Feb 05, 2012 at 09:40

Sunday, Feb 05, 2012 at 09:40
Gday Mick,
Nice blog. Here's a couple more photos:

AnswerID: 476950

Follow Up By: Mick O - Sunday, Feb 05, 2012 at 16:03

Sunday, Feb 05, 2012 at 16:03
Thanks for the double whammy Phil. Two in one. Perhaps there was a bit of courtship going on lol.

FollowupID: 752164

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Feb 05, 2012 at 20:19

Sunday, Feb 05, 2012 at 20:19
Gday Mick,
Yes, this pair was found by some eagle-eyed people in our group in the GVD off the Anne Beadell Hwy. I think the male was the darker, smaller camouflage guy and the female was the larger colourful one - sounds familiar I guess :-))

Yes, hopefully a bit of courtship.....come to think of it, we've caught a few animals who were seriously courting on recent trips - a bunch of princess parrots were videotaped last year making babies! Came across a pair of dung beetles on the Voakes Hill Rd as well - but they were just hard at work - pushing bleep up hill :-)

phil
FollowupID: 752205

Follow Up By: Member - Des Lexic - Sunday, Feb 05, 2012 at 21:10

Sunday, Feb 05, 2012 at 21:10
The camouflaged one took a bit of spotting.
I've seen a few around and often wondered how many didn't I see and very sadly may have driven over them.

Cheers Alpaca
FollowupID: 752207

Follow Up By: Mick O - Sunday, Feb 05, 2012 at 22:27

Sunday, Feb 05, 2012 at 22:27
Phil,

near spat my drink over the keyboard then. I used to think I was an office manager but now I know I'm a dung beetle lol.

We've seen a bit of interesting stuff over the years. A couple of snakes near Wyndham, some loved up whales off Narooma (that was a big event!), camels at Mt Worsnop (man that was noisy!) oh and these two......

Mick

FollowupID: 752219

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Feb 05, 2012 at 23:04

Sunday, Feb 05, 2012 at 23:04
Gday Mick,
Yep, lots of interesting stuff out there. Always see something new - thats why I keep going out into the desert!
Here's my Dung beetle pushing the proverbial - on the Voakes Hill Rd back in 2005 in the GVD:
FollowupID: 752235

Reply By: Member - Murray R (VIC) - Sunday, Feb 05, 2012 at 10:36

Sunday, Feb 05, 2012 at 10:36
Mick
Great blog and post about one amazing lizard. My brother lives in Alice and his next door neighbour had one as a pet. One of the problems that they had with it was keeping up and finding the ants that they eat. Their looks are deceiving as you would have found out with their thorns and skin been quite soft and their robotic style of walking is quite unique. As to now I've not seen one in the wild, but maybe one day.
Murray
Another Mexican

AnswerID: 476960

Follow Up By: Mick O - Sunday, Feb 05, 2012 at 16:05

Sunday, Feb 05, 2012 at 16:05
Thanks Murray. They are hard to find but I'm sure you'll pick one up. The ABH is a favourite if you're out that way.

FollowupID: 752167

Reply By: The Explorer - Sunday, Feb 05, 2012 at 13:12

Sunday, Feb 05, 2012 at 13:12

Heres one I found recently on the east side of Lake Lefroy near Kambalda WA late last year.

AnswerID: 476981

Follow Up By: Mick O - Sunday, Feb 05, 2012 at 15:59

Sunday, Feb 05, 2012 at 15:59
Struth that one has been sitting on a good ant hill! Thanks Greg

FollowupID: 752158

Reply By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Sunday, Feb 05, 2012 at 16:13

Sunday, Feb 05, 2012 at 16:13
Gday MickO
I had one in my hand about 3hrs west of Alice . Sister in law had a squat and the stick moved . She almost fell on it backwards .

AnswerID: 477002

Follow Up By: Mick O - Sunday, Feb 05, 2012 at 16:27

Sunday, Feb 05, 2012 at 16:27
Ha Ha ha, now that would have been a photo worth including in a blog lol.

Cheers Muz

Mick

FollowupID: 752171

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Sunday, Feb 05, 2012 at 17:04

Sunday, Feb 05, 2012 at 17:04
Hi Mick

Great story, thanks. We have looked for years and have only ever seen them twice. The first was north of Kalka Aboriginal Community years ago, well before the invention of digital camera, and our second time was 3 years ago out on the Sydney Yeo Range Track, east of the Connie Sue.

Went for a walk one night and found this little fellow. I do not know if it was sick or night, but it was very inactive. After the photo, I placed it back under a bush near where I found it. I went back an hour later and it was still as I had left it. I felt very sorry for the little fellow, and was happy next morning when I went back and it was gone. We hope that it did go off by itself and did not come Dingo Bush Tucker.

AnswerID: 477011

Follow Up By: Mick O - Sunday, Feb 05, 2012 at 22:51

Sunday, Feb 05, 2012 at 22:51
Vale!

I'm afraid he does look very unwell Stephen. Absolutely no posture and the head is down which is a real rarity from my encounters (and quite a few other photos here today). The portents are bad.

Thanks for the photo. Mick

FollowupID: 752227

Reply By: Member - Noel K (NT) - Sunday, Feb 05, 2012 at 17:33

Sunday, Feb 05, 2012 at 17:33
G'day Mick,
We had them as pets while growing up in Geraldton WA, they were known as "Mountain Devils" then. They can actually change colour to blend in with the different surroundings. We had one tethered by ten metres of string once, it was the only way we could find him, by following the string. We weren't too popular with the old man though, when he found out.
Fantastic little creatures.

Noel K.
AnswerID: 477018

Follow Up By: Mick O - Sunday, Feb 05, 2012 at 22:54

Sunday, Feb 05, 2012 at 22:54
Thanks Noel. We had the bearded dragons as kids but only for a week or so at a time. After that, the old man would make us let them go again. We used to dream of finding a Thorny Devil lol. Just too far south.

FollowupID: 752229

Reply By: Life Member - Phil B (WA) - Monday, Feb 06, 2012 at 01:10

Monday, Feb 06, 2012 at 01:10
Hi Mick, thanks for a very thought provoking thread.

I've had a lot of experience with these guys over the years, not only the full sized reptile but the eggs as well.

The eggs are laid usually near a green leafed plant that looks a bit like a double gee plant/three cornered jack to you guys over east, I believe.

Because the eggs have points on them people think they are the seed of a double gee - wrong double gees don’t have seeds, they are all thorny devil eggs.

This camouflage keeps the eggs safe because most animals that would normally eat the eggs think it’s a prickle and keep away.

So the next time you see a double gee plant, proceed with caution and protect the eggs. Don't pull the plant out - you are destroying thorny devil eggs and habitat - they're scare enough now!

Truthful Phil
There is a lot of difference between
‘Human Being’ and ‘Being Human’.

AnswerID: 477065

Follow Up By: Member - Noel K (NT) - Monday, Feb 06, 2012 at 10:10

Monday, Feb 06, 2012 at 10:10
Hey TRUTHFUL..... Phil,
Wooden eggs...yeah right! LOL.

Noel K.
FollowupID: 752259

Follow Up By: Mick O - Monday, Feb 06, 2012 at 19:50

Monday, Feb 06, 2012 at 19:50
Oh man I'm going to have to do some practice before I start swapping yarns around a fire with you Phil ;-)

FollowupID: 752313

Follow Up By: Life Member - Phil B (WA) - Monday, Feb 06, 2012 at 20:04

Monday, Feb 06, 2012 at 20:04
Hi Mick and the gang,

I forgot to add that you can incubate the eggs away from the parent plant. Apparently the temperature in your sleeping bag when sleeping at night will get the desired results.

But do grab a good hand full and spread them around evenly in the sleeping bag so they all get even warmth - that way they'll have the desired effect in more ways than one.

Truthful
There is a lot of difference between
‘Human Being’ and ‘Being Human’.

FollowupID: 752316

Reply By: pop2jocem - Monday, Feb 06, 2012 at 01:20

Monday, Feb 06, 2012 at 01:20
Hi Mick,

Yeah we were lucky enough to find one on the track when we were travelling down the CSR in '98, the good lady wife has a video of me picking him up rather gingerly only to find they are more soft than spikey. I think they are rather cute little guys. Speaking of reptiles I disturbed a reasonable size "race horse' goanna sunning him (her???) self on our back patio today. The lizard in question made a very hasty exit into a clump of shrubs in the garden. Some time later it re-emerged and casually walked across to another garden bed. The unusual way it held its tail curled up like a scorpions tail rather than being dragged along the ground behind it caught my eye as I have seen lots of them but never one holding its tail in that manner. It didn't appear to be injured in any way. Where is a camera when you need one.
Love your blogs by the way even if you do ride the wrong brand of Yanky ATV..LOL.

AnswerID: 477067

Follow Up By: Mick O - Tuesday, Feb 28, 2012 at 18:23

Tuesday, Feb 28, 2012 at 18:23
Arctic Cat - accept no substitutes ;-) Only brand making a diesel at the moment.

FollowupID: 754448