thetford toilet chemicals

Hi Guys I am a new member with a 2 year old Ranger 19ft van. I have been using the blue chemicals in the bottom tank and the pink stuff in the flush tank and I have developed a terrible black scum in the top tank which is nearly impossible to get rid of. I read somewhere where the "experts" don't use the thetford stuff but use stuff from the supermarket. Could you please advise what to do about the scum and what to use in the future
Cheers, Bill M

Reply By: Fred G NSW - Thursday, Apr 05, 2012 at 14:04

Thursday, Apr 05, 2012 at 14:04
G'day Bill.

When I first got my thetford I used those chemicals and had the same problem with lots of black scale.

Like many of us here at EO, I now use, and have done so for a long time, the Homebrand Napisan. Very cheap and very effective, no nasty smells, chemical or otherwise. No need to put any in the top tank, although I add a tiny squirt of wash up detergent, which keeps the bowl and slide nice and clean.

To get rid of the scale, I would half fill the holding tank with a strong mix of napisan, and it will gradually flake off. Mine did after a while. Helps if your on the move, as the sloshing speeds things up.

Once you have tried napisan, you will never go back, and your pocket will be better off as well, as the homebrand stuff is very cheap.

Our member Motherhen has a good article on this on their website if you can get onto it. She may even respond to your post.

AnswerID: 482372

Reply By: baz&pud (Tassie) - Thursday, Apr 05, 2012 at 14:13

Thursday, Apr 05, 2012 at 14:13
G'day bill m,

The pink stuff is what causes the black scum, to get rid of the scum take the glass tube, that shows the water level, out of its holder and point it to the ground the flush the tank till it runs clear.

We use just plain water in the flusher, and use nappy sand from Coles/Woolies in the cassette with approx a litre of water.

Baz
Go caravaning, life is so much shorter than death.

AnswerID: 482373

Reply By: Member - Fred B (NT) - Thursday, Apr 05, 2012 at 14:29

Thursday, Apr 05, 2012 at 14:29
Bill,
here is the link to motherhensChemicals - toilet

Fred B
VKS 737: Mobile/Selcall 1334

AnswerID: 482376

Reply By: bill m - Thursday, Apr 05, 2012 at 19:40

Thursday, Apr 05, 2012 at 19:40
Thanks for the info guys. while it is a money saver I still can't believe that Thetford haven't addressed what seems an obvious problem with their flush chemicals. Cheers, Bill M
AnswerID: 482387

Follow Up By: Member - Peter M (QLD) - Friday, Apr 06, 2012 at 06:57

Friday, Apr 06, 2012 at 06:57
We use the Home Brand Napi San but I add 1 teaspoon Citric Acid & about a teaspoon of Eucalyptus Oil this helps keep the smell nicer. All added to 1 ltr water and then prior to rinsing the jug I add a ltr of water to it and pour that into the top tank.
Though from now on I will try the squirt of washing up liquid.
Stay safe and stay on the road
PeterM
FollowupID: 757637

Reply By: Lifetime Member-Heather MG NSW - Friday, Apr 06, 2012 at 05:57

Friday, Apr 06, 2012 at 05:57
Hi Bill,

I usually add a small amount of bleach to the top tank and it keeps the water clean, also helps to wash the bowl when flushed.

I tried using the nappy powder but it did not seem to be nearly as effective as the thetford chemicals, regardless of how much I added.....It was easier to dispose of when in the remote places though.
Other people on EO seem to be very happy with it.

regards,

Heather

Of all the paths you take in life, make sure a few of them are dirt. John Muir

AnswerID: 482405

Reply By: bill m - Friday, Apr 06, 2012 at 14:04

Friday, Apr 06, 2012 at 14:04
Theres no doubt about it - you guys are on the ball. The consensus seems to be the homebrand napisan so it will go in the toot tomorrow when the shops open. We are heading to SA for a month next week so the constant moving should also help to loosen up the black scum and hopefully when I get back it will all be gone.
Thanks once again for your help. Cheers, Bill M
AnswerID: 482438

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Friday, Apr 06, 2012 at 15:04

Friday, Apr 06, 2012 at 15:04
Hi Bill

Be aware of the need to thoroughly cleanse and soak to remove any traces of chemical as these will conflict with the different action of the sodium percarbonate.

FollowupID: 757667